CTNF 18/235,924 CTNF 75663 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: The claims recites ” wherein the substituted or unsubstituted aromatic ring structure having 5 to 30 ring atoms which gives Ar 1 in the formula (1) is a substituted or unsubstituted aromatic hydrocarbon ring structure having 6 to 30 ring atoms”, however this appears to be written in a way that presents a range within a range, when it is clear applicant intended to limit the Ar1 ring from 5 to 30, to 6-30. Applicant should remove the reference to 5-30, and recite “wherein the substituted or unsubstituted aromatic ring structure which gives Ar 1 in the formula (1) is a substituted or unsubstituted aromatic hydrocarbon ring structure having 6 to 30 ring atoms” . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ongayi et al (9,182,669) . Onguyi et al disclose a resist composition comprising a base polymer and a PAG, wherein the base polymer comprises a unit having a group meeting the limitations of the instant formula (1) and (3-1): PNG media_image1.png 308 288 media_image1.png Greyscale PNG media_image2.png 298 278 media_image2.png Greyscale PNG media_image3.png 112 120 media_image3.png Greyscale The reference formulas meet the claim limitations wherein the group of instant formula (1) replaces a hydrogen of a carboxy group, R1 and R2 are alkyl (examples at C1-C4; instant claim 3), and the group Ar1 is phenyl or naphthyl (instant claims 1 and 2 for 6 to 30 carbon atoms). The examples further included a fluorinated polymer surfactant (column 24, lines 35-45), which has a high percentage of fluorine atoms, greater than that of the base polymer (instant claim 7). The method includes steps as instantly claimed . PNG media_image4.png 92 290 media_image4.png Greyscale Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-3 and 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takemura et al (8,968,979) . Takemura et al disclose a positive resist and patterning method, wherein the resist comprises a polymer having a monomer falling within the scope of the instant first structural unit comprising an end group of the instant formula (1). PNG media_image5.png 258 280 media_image5.png Greyscale PNG media_image6.png 336 406 media_image6.png Greyscale Wherein in the instant formula the leaving group substituting a carboxy group, with the instant R1 is a straight, branched, or cyclic C1 to C12 alkyl or aromatic group, and R2 is a straight, branched, or cyclic C1 to C12 alkyl group. Preferred units in examples include R1 and R2 as methyl or ethyl groups (examples, claims 1, 8, 10, 11, 12, 14; instant claim 1, 3, 5 for (3-1)) PNG media_image7.png 144 126 media_image7.png Greyscale PNG media_image8.png 134 120 media_image8.png Greyscale The ring includes groups having 6 to 14 carbon atoms (column 12; instant claims 1, 2). The polymer further includes a unit comprising a phenolic hydroxyl group (as seen above; examples; instant claim 6). The resist further comprises a fluorinated polymer as an additive as is known in the art to segregate to the surface and form a water-repellent surface region. The polymer has a higher fluorine content than the base polymer (column 181; instant claim 7). The composition comprises a photoacid generator, preferably a sulfonium salt, wherein the reference suggests those having structures falling within the scope similar to that of instant claim 4, wherein 4-methylphenyl(or naphthyl when n1 is 1) diphenyl sulphonium cations, 4-t-butylphenyl, hydroxy phenyl (wherein R4 or R6 is alkyl or hydroxyl and a-c is at least 1). The method of patterning includes the steps as claimed, wherein the resist is applied, dried/ pre-baked, exposed, and developed (claim 3; instant claim 8). Given the teachings of the reference, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to prepare the material of Takemura et al, wherein the polymer includes a unit as described above, wherein the Ar-containing group form reference formula (1) meeting the limitations of the instant claims . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hidenori et al (2010/0248143) . Hidenori et al disclose a resist composition and patterning method including a base polymer and a PAG, wherein the base polymer includes a unit having a structure similar to that of the instant claims (formulas (1), (3-1), and (3-2)). PNG media_image9.png 256 324 media_image9.png Greyscale PNG media_image10.png 138 332 media_image10.png Greyscale PNG media_image11.png 86 322 media_image11.png Greyscale As seen above, R1 is alkyl (preferably C1-C4), R2 and R3 are H, alkyl, cycloalkyl, or aryl, with alkyl groups being preferably C1 to C4 (See examples below) and rings being preferably within the range of 6 to 3, with aryl / phenyl rings contemplated (instant claims 1-3). Examples of structures appear below, wherein when the cyclohexyl ring is phenyl, the structures meet the claim limitations, including for those of instant formulas (3-1) and 3-2): PNG media_image12.png 94 184 media_image12.png Greyscale PNG media_image13.png 136 266 media_image13.png Greyscale The units include those wherein a carboxy hydrogen or phenolic -OH hydrogen is replaced by a group of the instant formula (1), with the end group in the above non-limiting examples is -C(CH3)2-Cyclohexyl, wherein the cyclohexyl group can be replaced by phenyl. Wherein for (3-1), the instant formula (1) is the group of Z. Furthermore Wherein for the following, the units would meet the limitations for (3-1) and (3-2) when similar to above, R2 is also alkyl. PNG media_image14.png 282 300 media_image14.png Greyscale Additional examples include those of (3-2) wherein a -C(=O)O- linking group in the instant R13 position (instant claims 1-3 and 5). Preferred examples of the resin further include phenolic hydroxy group-containing units (see [0166]; instant claim 6). The composition further comprises a solvent, and may comprise a fluorinated polymer surfactant, which would have a higher fluorine content percentage that the base polymer ([0225]-[0230]; instant claim 7). The polymer further comprises an acid generating unit anion, wherein the composition further comprises a cation compound. Triphenylsulfonium salts are preferred, and examples include those wherein a-c is 1 to 3, and fluorine (instant claim 4, (2-1); compound P-16, 46). The method of the reference meets the limitations of the instant claims. PNG media_image15.png 70 308 media_image15.png Greyscale Given the teachings of the reference, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to prepare the material of Hidenori et al, choosing to prepare the polymer comprising a nit as described above, wherein the acid-labile group comprises two alkyl groups and an aromatic ring, thus meeting the limitations of the instant formula (1) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over any of Onguyi et al, Takemura et al, or Hidenori et al in view of Fujiwara et al (2021/0149301) . Each reference has been discussed above and includes a PAG either in the polymer and/or as a separate sulfonium cation-containing PAG. The references broadly teach that known cations may be used, and provide non-limiting exmaples of those similar to those of the instant formulas(2-1) and (2-2). Fujiwara et al disclose resist composition comprising a sulfonium PAG, wherein the reference teaches cations as taught by the reference, and further teaches that those compounds are known to include F, alkyl fluoroalkyl, and hydroxy substituents. The structure below demonstrate the exemplified cations, including that they are known and interchangeable with those of the primary references. The compounds meet the limitations of the instant (2-1) and (2-2), for at least one ring including a F of fluoroalkyl substituent (when a-c is at least 1 and a is 1). PNG media_image16.png 248 274 media_image16.png Greyscale PNG media_image17.png 258 250 media_image17.png Greyscale PNG media_image18.png 308 280 media_image18.png Greyscale PNG media_image19.png 138 140 media_image19.png Greyscale PNG media_image20.png 120 294 media_image20.png Greyscale PNG media_image21.png 130 230 media_image21.png Greyscale PNG media_image22.png 124 128 media_image22.png Greyscale Given the teachings of the references, it would have been obvious to any of Onguyi et al, Takemura et al, or Hidenori et al, choosing as the sulfonium cation, that taught by Fujiwara et al as known in the art and interchangeable with those broadly taught by the primary references . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over any of Onguyi et al, Takemura et al, or Hidenori et al in view of Nishikori et al (2021/0124263) . Each reference has been discussed above and includes a PAG either in the polymer and/or as a separate sulfonium cation-containing PAG. The references broadly teach that known cations may be used, and provide non-limiting exmaples of those similar to those of the instant formulas (2-1) and (2-2). PNG media_image23.png 404 282 media_image23.png Greyscale PNG media_image24.png 154 130 media_image24.png Greyscale PNG media_image25.png 132 106 media_image25.png Greyscale PNG media_image26.png 172 162 media_image26.png Greyscale PNG media_image27.png 188 146 media_image27.png Greyscale Given the teachings of the references, it would have been obvious to any of Onguyi et al, Takemura et al, or Hidenori et al, choosing as the sulfonium cation, that taught by Nishikori et al et al as known in the art and interchangeable with those broadly taught by the primary references . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Additional references cited on the PTO-892 include those broadly teaching limited examples of similar monomers and PAGs, such as the polymers and monomers taught by Yoshii et al (2020/0166837) which are cumulative to the rejections above . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to AMANDA C WALKE whose telephone number is (571)272-1337. The examiner can normally be reached Monday to Thursday 5:30am to 4pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Niki Bakhtiari can be reached at 571-272-3433. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /AMANDA C. WALKE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722 Application/Control Number: 18/235,924 Page 2 Art Unit: 1722 Application/Control Number: 18/235,924 Page 3 Art Unit: 1722 Application/Control Number: 18/235,924 Page 4 Art Unit: 1722 Application/Control Number: 18/235,924 Page 5 Art Unit: 1722