DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 15 and 17 are canceled. Claims 1-14, 16, 18-20 are pending in the application and have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-14, 16, 18-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14, 16, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huff et al. (US 2023/0102029 A1) hereinafter Huff, Messina et al. (US 2023/0256849 A1) hereinafter Messina, Hirano et al. (US 2023/0021364 A1) hereinafter Hirano, and Dryer et al. (US 11,276,890 B2) hereinafter Dryer.
Claim 1:
Huff discloses a battery-swapping support system comprising: a lifting system configured to carry a battery pack [Fig. 19, Item 250; Fig. 32, Item 3100]; a load securing tool configured to secure the battery pack [3199]; and a cooling system configured to cool down the battery pack [¶167].
Huff doesn’t explicitly disclose an interface connection supported by the lifting system, including: a battery charging adapter; a low voltage communication system; and wherein the interface connection connects the battery-swapping support system to a mobile equipment, enabling the mobile equipment to increase a charge of the battery pack during transportation of the battery pack; wherein the interface connection defines a point of attachment between the battery-swapping support system and the battery pack for transfer of power, chemicals, and communication data.
However, Messina does disclose an interface connection supported by the lifting system, including: a battery charging adapter; wherein the interface connection connects the battery-swapping support system to a mobile equipment, enabling the mobile equipment to increase a charge of the battery pack during transportation of the battery pack [¶¶22-23, 27; Figs. 1-2].
Further, Hirano discloses a low voltage communication system [¶¶41-42; Fig. 2, Items 42, "EL"].
Finally, Dryer discloses wherein the interface connection defines a point of attachment between the battery-swapping support system and the battery pack for transfer of power, chemicals, and communication data [col. 4, line 64 to col. 5, line 50; col. 8, lines 12-19; Fig. 1].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the battery swapping support system of Huff by including the charging capabilities of Messina on the portion of the apparatus which supports the battery in order to ensure the battery stays within an optimal state of charge window.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the vehicle and battery pack handling unit of Huff and Messina with the electronics of Hirano to provide a means of control between the vehicle and battery.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the vehicle and battery pack handling unit of Huff, Messina, and Hirano with the combined connector of Dryer to reduce attachment points thus increasing efficiency and reducing parts complexity.
Claim 2:
Huff, Messina, Hirano, and Dryer as shown in the rejection above, disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Huff also discloses wherein the battery-swapping support system is powered by the mobile equipment [¶123].
Claim 3:
Huff, Messina, Hirano, and Dryer as shown in the rejection above, disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Huff also discloses wherein the battery-swapping support system is controlled through the mobile equipment [¶¶76, 142-143].
Claim 4:
Huff, Messina, Hirano, and Dryer as shown in the rejection above, disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Huff also discloses wherein the battery-swapping support system is configured to retrieve the battery pack from a bottom of the battery pack [Fig. 30, Items 3006, 3015; the battery is supported from the bottom by the lower cage portion].
Claim 5:
Huff, Messina, Hirano, and Dryer as shown in the rejection above, disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Huff also discloses further comprising a frame configured to support the battery pack [Fig. 30, Item 3012], wherein the frame includes: a body [portion that surrounds battery on lower cage 3012]; and two arms extending from the body [3030-3032], wherein each of the two arms includes a first end, joined to the body, and a second end [near 3022].
Claim 6:
Huff, Messina, Hirano, and Dryer as shown in the rejection above, disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Huff also discloses further comprising a platform configured to carry the battery pack [Fig. 30, bottom of 3012].
Claim 7:
Huff, Messina, Hirano, and Dryer as shown in the rejection above, disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Huff also discloses further comprising a compartment to store one or more batteries of the battery pack [Fig. 30, Items 3010, 3012].
Claim 8:
Huff, Messina, Hirano, and Dryer as shown in the rejection above, disclose all the limitations of claim 7.
Huff also discloses wherein the compartment is configured to transport hazardous materials [¶66].
Claim 9:
Huff, Messina, Hirano, and Dryer as shown in the rejection above, disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Huff also discloses wherein the battery-swapping support system is detachable from the mobile equipment [Fig. 33 shows joints which could be removed thus taking the system off the vehicle].
Claim 10:
Huff, Messina, Hirano, and Dryer as shown in the rejection above, disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Huff also discloses further comprising a locking mechanism, wherein the locking mechanism connects and secures the battery-swapping support system to the mobile equipment [¶171].
Claim 11:
Huff, Messina, Hirano, and Dryer as shown in the rejection above, disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Huff also discloses wherein the lifting system includes: a handling arm configuration; and a lifting device connected to the handling arm configuration [¶171].
Claim 12:
Huff, Messina, Hirano, and Dryer as shown in the rejection above, disclose all the limitations of claim 11.
Huff also discloses wherein the lifting device is a crane [Figs. 46-58].
Claim 13:
Huff, Messina, Hirano, and Dryer as shown in the rejection above, disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Huff doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the battery charging adapter is wireless.
However, Hirano does disclose wherein the battery charging adapter is wireless. [¶53]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the vehicle and battery pack handling unit of Huff and Messina with the electronics of Hirano to provide a means of control between the vehicle and battery.
Claim 14:
Huff discloses a battery-swapping support system comprising: a lifting system configured to carry a battery pack [Fig. 19, Item 250; Fig. 32, Item 3100], including: a handling arm configuration; and a lifting device connected to the handling arm configuration, a load securing tool including at least one of a mounting point and an attachment area configured to secure the battery pack [3199] to the load securing tool; a cooling system configured to cool down the battery pack [¶167], a locking mechanism to secure the battery-swapping support system to the mobile equipment [¶171], wherein: the battery-swapping support system is selectively detachable from the mobile equipment [Fig. 33 shows joints which could be removed thus taking the system off the vehicle], and the battery-swapping support system is powered by the mobile equipment [¶123].
Huff doesn’t explicitly disclose an interface connection supported by the lifting system, including: a battery charging adapter; a low voltage communication system configured to operate within a range of about negative twenty volts to about twenty volts to transmit information from the battery pack to another device; and wherein the interface connection connects the battery-swapping support system to a mobile equipment increasing a charge of the battery pack during transportation of the battery pack to a battery charger; wherein the interface connection defines a point of attachment between the battery-swapping support system and the battery pack for transfer of power, chemicals, and communication data.
However, Messina discloses an interface connection supported by the lifting system, including: a battery charging adapter; [¶¶22-23, 27; Figs. 1-2]; wherein the interface connection connects the battery-swapping support system to a mobile equipment increasing a charge of the battery pack during transportation of the battery pack to a battery charger [¶¶22-23, 27; Figs. 1-2].
Further, Hirano discloses a low voltage communication system configured to operate within a range of about negative twenty volts to about twenty volts to transmit information from the battery pack to another device [¶¶41-42, 49; Fig. 2, Items 42, "EL"; the voltage of the auxiliary battery being between 12-48 V would be the voltage used for communication, see ¶¶41, 49].
Finally, Dryer discloses wherein the interface connection defines a point of attachment between the battery-swapping support system and the battery pack for transfer of power, chemicals, and communication data [col. 4, line 64 to col. 5, line 50; col. 8, lines 12-19; Fig. 1].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the battery swapping support system of Huff by including the charging capabilities of Messina on the portion of the apparatus which supports the battery in order to ensure the battery stays within an optimal state of charge window.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the vehicle and battery pack handling unit of Huff and Messina with the electronics of Hirano to provide a means of control between the vehicle and battery.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the vehicle and battery pack handling unit of Huff, Messina, and Hirano with the combined connector of Dryer to reduce attachment points thus increasing efficiency and reducing parts complexity.
Claim 16:
Huff, Messina, Hirano, and Dryer as shown in the rejection above, disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Huff also discloses wherein the lifting device is a crane [Figs. 46-58].
Claim 18:
Huff discloses a mobile equipment comprising a battery-swapping support system that includes: a lifting system configured to carry a battery pack [Fig. 19, Item 250; Fig. 32, Item 3100], a load securing tool configured to secure the battery pack [3199]; a cooling system configured to cool down the battery pack [¶167], and a locking mechanism to secure the battery-swapping support system to the mobile equipment [¶171].
Huff doesn’t explicitly disclose an interface connection supported by the lifting system to connect the battery pack to the mobile equipment, including: a battery charging adapter; a low voltage communication system; and wherein the interface connection selectively connects the battery-swapping support system to the mobile equipment to increase a charge of the battery pack during transportation of the battery pack to a battery charger; wherein the interface connection defines a point of attachment between the battery-swapping support system and the battery pack for transfer of power, chemicals, and communication data.
However, Messina does disclose an interface connection supported by the lifting system to connect the battery pack to the mobile equipment, including: a battery charging adapter; [¶¶22-23, 27; Figs. 1-2] wherein the interface connection selectively connects the battery-swapping support system to the mobile equipment to increase a charge of the battery pack during transportation of the battery pack to a battery charger. [¶¶22-23, 27; Figs. 1-2]
Further, Hirano discloses a low voltage communication system [¶¶41-42; Fig. 2, Items 42, "EL"].
Finally, Dryer discloses wherein the interface connection defines a point of attachment between the battery-swapping support system and the battery pack for transfer of power, chemicals, and communication data [col. 4, line 64 to col. 5, line 50; col. 8, lines 12-19; Fig. 1].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the battery swapping support system of Huff by including the charging capabilities of Messina on the portion of the apparatus which supports the battery in order to ensure the battery stays within an optimal state of charge window.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the vehicle and battery pack handling unit of Huff and Messina with the electronics of Hirano to provide a means of control between the vehicle and battery.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the vehicle and battery pack handling unit of Huff, Messina, and Hirano with the combined connector of Dryer to reduce attachment points thus increasing efficiency and reducing parts complexity.
Claim 19:
Huff, Messina, Hirano, and Dryer as shown in the rejection above, disclose all the limitations of claim 18.
Huff also discloses wherein the lifting system includes: a handling arm configuration; and a lifting device connected to the handling arm configuration [¶171].
Claim 20:
Huff, Messina, Hirano, and Dryer as shown in the rejection above, disclose all the limitations of claim 18.
Huff also discloses wherein the battery-swapping support system is detachable from the mobile equipment [Fig. 33 shows joints which could be removed thus taking the system off the vehicle].
Conclusion
KURT P. LIETHEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3747
/KURT PHILIP LIETHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747