DETAILED ACTION
In response to the Restriction Requirement mailed on 10/22/2025, the Applicant elected without traverse Species A encompassing claims 1-15. Non-elected Species B and Species B have been withdrawn from examination.
Currently, claims 1-33 are pending and the elected claims 1-15 are examined below.
Information Disclosure Statement (IDS)
Two information disclosure statements submitted on 08/23/2023 ("08-23-23 IDS") and 04/16/2024 (“04-16-24 IDS”) are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the 03-22-23 IDS and the 04-16-24 IDS are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: DISPLAY DEVICE HAVING SHIELDING LINE OVERLAPPING REPAIR LINE
A. Prior-art rejection based on Chen
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 1021
Claims 1-4 and 7-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pub. No. US 2018/0294443 A1 to Chen (“Chen”).
Fig. 4 and 5 of Shim have been provided to support the rejection below:
[AltContent: textbox (P1)][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding independent claim 1, Chen teaches a display device (see Figs. 1 and 2; see also Figs. 4 and 5) comprising:
a pixel electrode 509 (para [0037] - “anode 509”; para [0007] - “…connecting the first route end of the transistor on the display pixel required to be repaired and the second route end, and applying the second reference voltage continuously to the anode of the OLED on the display pixel required to be repair.”);
a pixel circuit T7 (para [0013] - “FIG. 4 is a schematic view of a TFT and peripheral circuits of the embodiment shown in FIG. 2.”; para [0014] - FIG. 5 is a schematic view of the TFT T7 of the embodiment shown in FIG. 4.”) connected to the pixel electrode 509;
a repair line 504 (para [0034] - “The gate 504 may be broken down within an interval area between the first pattern area 506 of the semiconductor pattern 501 and the scanning line 505.”) overlapping at least a part of the pixel circuit T7; and
a shielding line 508 (para [0035] - “A second end of the first pattern area 506 connects with the anode via the drain 503, and a second end of the second pattern area 508 connects with the power supply wires 507 via the source 502. “ A limitation of “shielding” is a statement of an intended use so it may not structurally distinguish the claimed line over the line 508 taught by Chen.) overlapping at least a part of the repair line 504 and connected to a constant power source 507.
Regarding claim 2, Chen teaches the shielding line 508 that overlaps at least a part of a remaining portion of the repair line 504 for a repair short portion of the repair line (A limitation of “for a repair short portion of the repair line” is a statement of intended use that may not structurally distinguish the claimed display device over the display device taught by Chen, because the repair short portion is operationally optional as the repair line may never short.).
Regarding claim 3, Chen teaches the shielding line 508 that overlaps an entire remaining portion of the repair line 504 except for the repair short portion (A limitation of “for the repair short portion” is a statement of intended use that may not structurally distinguish the claimed display device over the display device taught by Chen, because the repair short portion is operationally optional as the repair line may never short.).
Regarding claim 4, Chen teaches the shielding line 508 comprises:
a line portion extending in a first direction (up); and
a protrusion extending in a second direction (right) crossing the first direction and overlapping at least a part of the repair line 504.
Regarding claim 7, Chen teaches the part P1 of the shielding line 508 that is disposed between the repair line 504 and the pixel electrode 509.
Regarding claim 8, Chen teaches the part P2 of the shielding line 508 that is disposed between the repair line 504 and the pixel electrode 509 in an overlapping area between the repair line 504 and the pixel electrode 509.
Regarding claim 9, Chen teaches the shielding line 508 and the repair line 504 that are disposed in different layers from each other.
Regarding claim 10, Chen teaches a power line 507 electrically connected to the pixel circuit T7,
wherein at least a part of the shielding line 508 further overlaps the power line 507.
Regarding claim 11, Chen teaches the shielding line 508 that extends in a direction crossing the power line 507.
Regarding claim 12, Chen teaches the constant power source (of the power supply wire 507) provides a reference voltage Vi (para [0039] - “…wherein the first route end 604 of the transistor T7 connects with the power supply wires 605 and connects to the second reference voltage Vi via the power supply wires 605.”; see Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 13, Chen teaches the shielding line 508 that is electrically connected to the pixel circuit T7.
B. Prior-art rejection based on Shim
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-9, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or 35 U.S.C. (a)(2) as being anticipated by Pub. No. US 2023/0209894 A1 to Shim et al. (“Shim”).
Fig. 3 and Fig. 4 of Shim have been provided to support the rejection below:
Regarding independent claim 1, Shim teaches a display device (see Fig. 1; see also Figs. 3 and 4) comprising:
a pixel electrode ANO (para [0052] - “…and the driving drain electrode DD may be connected to an anode electrode ANO of the light emitting diode OLE.”);
a pixel circuit ST and/or DT (para [0052] - “The driving thin film transistor DT may play a role of driving the light emitting diode OLE of the selected pixel by the switching thin film transistor ST.”) connected to the pixel electrode ANO (via contact hole PH);
a repair line RP (para [0082] - “The repair element RP may be referred to an element that cuts connectivity with a thin film transistor allocated on an anode electrode of a detective pixel, and connects to a driving thin film transistor allocated to an neighboring normal pixel, when a defect occurs.”) overlapping at least a part of the pixel electrode ANO; and
a shielding line SHL (para [0076] - “a repair shield layer SHL”) overlapping at least a part of the repair line RP and connected to a constant power source VDD (A limitation of “connected to a constant power source” can be reasonable construed as a statement of intended capability or use. When the repair element RP and the repair shield layer SHL becomes welded together as described in para [0070], then the SHL will be at the voltage level that the DD1 is at. para [0079] - “The first repair electrode RT1 may be connected to the first driving drain electrode DD1 connected to the first anode electrode ANO1 disposed at the first pixel P1.”).
Regarding claim 2, Shim teaches the shielding line SHL that overlaps at least a part of a remaining portion RL of the repair line RP for a repair short portion of the repair line (A limitation of “for a repair short portion of the repair line” is a statement of intended use that may not structurally distinguish the claimed display device over the display device taught by Shim, because the repair short portion is operationally optional as the repair line may never short.).
Regarding claim 3, Shim teaches the shielding line SHL that overlaps an entire remaining portion RL of the repair line RP except for the repair short portion (A limitation of “for the repair short portion” is a statement of intended use that may not structurally distinguish the claimed display device over the display device taught by Shim, because the repair short portion is operationally optional as the repair line may never short.).
Regarding claim 6, Shim teaches a part of the shielding line SHL that overlaps the pixel electrode ANO.
Regarding claim 7, Shim teaches the part of the shielding line SHL that is disposed between the repair line RP and the pixel electrode ANO.
Regarding claim 8, Shim teaches the part of the shielding line SHL that is disposed between the repair line RP and the pixel electrode ANO in an overlapping area between the repair line RP and the pixel electrode ANO.
Regarding claim 9, Shim teaches the shielding line SHL and the repair line RP that are disposed in different layers from each other.
Regarding claim 14, Shim teaches the pixel circuit ST, DT or DT connected to a pixel connection electrode DD (para [0071] - “The driving drain electrode DD”), and
the repair line RP at least partially overlaps the pixel connection electrode DD of the pixel circuit ST, DT or DT.
Regarding claim 15, Shim teaches the repair line RP that is connected to the pixel connection electrode DD of the pixel circuit ST, DT or DT.
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 5 is objected to for depending on a rejected base claim 1 and the intervening claim 4, but would be allowable if it is rewritten in independent form to include all of the limitations of the base claim 1 and the intervening claim 4 or the base claim 1 is amended to include all of the limitations of claim 5 and the intervening
claim 4.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Pub. No. US 2023/0209914 A1 to Shim et al.
Pub. No. US 2019/0302556 A1 to Shin et al.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Eliseo Ramos-Feliciano can be reached on (571) 272-7925. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/MICHAEL JUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817 05 February 2026
1 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status