DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/23/2026 have been fully considered are addressed below:
Applicant’s amendment’s overcome the claim objection. The objection to claim 1 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments regarding the 103 rejections have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that JP2005221391A by Sugiura is nonanalogous art, it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, although Sugiura does not teach gas turbine blade inspection, Sugiura does teach surface flaw inspection which is the same function the claimed invention performs on the blades. Specifically, the applicant's specification states the disclosure is directed to an optical inspection system for fan blades utilizing light projection and light polarization ([0001]). Sugiura teaches an optical inspection system utilizing light projection and light polarization (Abstract). The intended used of the claim invention to inspect gas turbine blade inspection does not mean that the surface inspection of similar structures, such as flat metal sheets, would not be contemplated by one of ordinary skill in the art. Thus it is analogous art because it is still reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor is involved. Only the illumination source operation techniques from Sugiura are used to modify the device of Fin/Yacoubian which already include the structure for inspecting gas turbine blades. Additionally, the limitation addressed by Sugiura appears to be a physical phenomenon that occurs when using linearly polarized light which would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (see references cited in Conclusion of office action mail 3/24/2026).
Further, the applicant argues that the cited prior art does not teach “wherein the sensor system comprises a CMOS sensor”. The applicant argues that Yacoubian was cited to teach a CMOS sensor, however, Yacoubian was cited to teach a polarization camera in claims 4 and 20 which did not specifically require a CMOS sensor. Although Fin and Yacoubian do not explicitly teach the use of CMOS sensors, these devices are well known and commonly used for capturing high speed images. Finn teaches the sensor 12 may include an image capture device, such as an optical device having an optical lens, such as a camera, mobile video camera or other imaging device or image sensor, capable of capturing 2D still images or video images ([0035]). Owen (US20050231713A1; previously cited) teaches the use of a CMOS sensor as imaging device ([0061]). The advantages of a CMOS camera include at least high-sensitivity measurements and a low cost ([0095]). As such, claims 1 and 11 are now rejected in view of Fin, Yacoubian, Sugiura, and Owen. Further, dependent claims 5, 7-11, 14, 16-18 are argued with respect to claims 1 and 11 and are therefore addressed by the same response.
Claim Objections
Claims 5 and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 5, the claims recites “wherein the sensor system comprises a CMOS sensor manufactured with a built-in IR cut-off filter”. Claim 1 already recites “wherein the sensor system comprises a CMOS sensor”, thus claim 5 should be amended further limit the CMOS sensor. For example, “wherein the CMOS sensor is manufactured with a built-in IR cut-off filter”.
Regarding claim 11, the claim recites “the sensor” in at least lines 7, 13, and 19 instead of “the CMOS sensor”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “light interference devices” in claims 7 and 16.
Regarding claims 7 and 16, the claims recite “light interference devices” which uses the generic placeholder “device” that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Accordingly, the limitation on “light interference devices” is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as corresponding to slits, holes (applicant’s specification [0060]) or other structures that produce light interference.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 10, 11, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20190338666A1 by Fin et al. (hereinafter Fin; previously cited) in view of US20220214286A1 by Yacoubian, JP2005221391A by Sugiura et al. (hereinafter "Sugiura"; previously cited), and US20050231713A1 by Owen et al. (hereinafter "Owen"; previously cited).
Regarding claim 1, Fin teaches an in-situ system for a gas turbine engine blade inspection comprising (at least Fig. 1; [0001]) :
a sensor system (sensor 12) configured to capture images of a forward surface (forward surface 32) of at least one gas turbine engine blade (blade 34; [0055]);
a processor coupled to the sensor system (processor 16), the processor configured to determine damage to the at least one gas turbine engine blade based on video analytics ([0056] "determine damage to the gas turbine engine blade 34 based on video analytics");and
a tangible, non-transitory memory configured to communicate with the processor, the tangible, non-transitory memory having instructions stored therein that ([0039]), in response to execution by the processor, cause the processor to perform operations comprising:
receiving, by the processor, data for the forward surface of at least one gas turbine engine blade from the sensor system ([0039] "Processor 16 may receive data 14 about component 20 captured and transmitted by the sensor(s) 12"); and
determining, by the processor, surface damage ([0039] "process data 14 from sensors 12 to determine if damage or defects are present on the component 20").
Although Fin does not explicitly teach image analytics in this embodiment, Fin teaches another embodiment wherein the processor configured to determine damage to the at least one gas turbine engine blade based on image analytics ([0013]; [0035]). Further, Fin teaches that the video camera captures image data ([0055]). Thus, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, video analysis would be considered image analysis since it is the analysis of a series of images.
Although Fin does not explicitly teach wherein the sensor system comprises a CMOS sensor, Finn teaches the sensor 12 may include an image capture device, such as an optical device having an optical lens, such as a camera, mobile video camera or other imaging device or image sensor, capable of capturing 2D still images or video images ([0035]).
Further, Owen does address this limitation. Owen and Fin are considered to be analogous to the present invention as they are in the same field of defect inspection.
Owen teaches wherein a sensor system comprises a CMOS sensor ([0061] CMOS detectors can be used to image reflected radiation of one or more wavelengths).
It would have been well known to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a CMOS sensor as an imaging device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Fin to include wherein the sensor system comprises a CMOS sensor as suggested by Owen as CMOS sensors are highly sensitive low cost imaging devices (Owen [0095]).
Although Fin does not explicitly teach an illumination source in operative communication with the forward surface of at least one gas turbine engine blade and surface damage responsive to the illumination source, wherein the illumination source is configured to emit linearly polarized light; a polarization filter in operative communication with the sensor system for blocking light polarized by an undamaged surface, Fin does teach in reference to other embodiments the mobile video camera system 12 can include lighting within a visible spectrum and/or an infrared spectrum ([0058]) and source illumination may be ambient illumination not specifically associated with or designed for the 2D sensor or the illumination may be specifically designed and installed to provide a good quality 2D image ([0037]).
Further, Yacoubian does address this limitation. Yacoubian and Fin are considered to be analogous to the present invention as they are in the same field of defect inspection.
Yacoubian teaches (Fig. 3; [0032]) a sensor system (camera 303; sensor head 101 [0022]) configured to capture images of a surface (specimen 304);
an illumination source in operative communication with the surface (light source 301; [0032])
receiving, by a processor, data for the surface from the sensor system (Fig. 1; [0022]; processor 119)
determining, by the processor, surface damage responsive to the illumination source ([0022] display also shows the location of defects 114), wherein the illumination source is configured to emit linearly polarized light ([0032] light source 301 can be polarized; [0055]; [0110]); a polarization filter (Fig. 3 polarizer 302; [0032]) in operative communication with the sensor system (camera 303) for blocking light polarized by an undamaged surface ([0055]).
Further, Yacoubian even if does not explicitly teach an embodiment that uses an illumination source is configured to emit linearly polarized light, Yacoubian does teach that the light source 301 can be polarized, randomly polarized or circularly polarized ([0032]). It appears that “polarized” in this context could refer to basic linear polarization in the context of random or circular polarization. Yacoubian also teaches that polarization measurements can distinguish between different types of surface finish or surface angle and reveal damaged coating or distinguish a coated surface and an area with coating removed. Parallel and perpendicular polarized light have different reflectivity for a dielectric surface, and this difference depends on the angle of incidence. Using two polarization states, such as vertical- and horizontal-linear polarization states, or right- and left-handed circular polarization states, will reveal differences in surface finish and defects, particularly when images obtained from the two states are subtracted as demonstrated ([0055]). Further, Yacoubian teaches in alternative embodiments, sensor arrangements described herein use linear, circular, or elliptical polarization states, or a combination thereof ([0110]).
Thus, it would have been well known to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Yacoubian to use an illumination source configured to emit linearly polarized light to accurately distinguish different or damaged finishes on a surface.
Further, it would have been well known to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a polarization filter in operative communication with the sensor system for blocking light polarized by an undamaged surface. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Fin to include an illumination source in operative communication with the forward surface of at least one gas turbine engine blade and surface damage responsive to the illumination source, wherein the illumination source is configured to emit linearly polarized light; a polarization filter in operative communication with the sensor system for blocking light polarized by an undamaged surface as suggested by Yacoubian in order to increase detection of variations in a surface ([0003]).
Further, Yacoubian and Fin are silent as to the linearly polarized light being turned into an elliptically polarized light responsive to reflection off of surface damage.
However, Sugiura does address this limitation. Sugiura and Fin are considered to be analogous to the present invention as they are in the same field of defect inspection.
Sugiura teaches wherein the illumination source is configured to emit linearly polarized light, the linearly polarized light being turned into an elliptically polarized light responsive to reflection off of the surface damage ([0028] linearly polarized light reflected by the steel plate is generally elliptically polarized based on Jones matrix; [0032] "The linearly polarized light incident on the steel plate surface is converted into elliptically polarized light as described above. For detection of wrinkles, it is possible to detect the contrast of reflected light using the difference in polarization characteristics between the normal part and the wrinkle part").
It would have been well known to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an illumination source configured to emit linearly polarized light and that the linearly polarized light is turned into an elliptically polarized light responsive to reflection off of the surface damage due to the Jones matrix. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Fin to include wherein the illumination source is configured to emit linearly polarized light, the linearly polarized light being turned into an elliptically polarized light responsive to reflection off of the surface damage as suggested by Sugiura in order to increase the contrast of the defect thus improving detection ([0045]; [0032]).
Regarding claim 5, Fin modified by Yacoubian, Sugiura, and Owen teaches the in-situ system for gas turbine engine blade inspection of claim 1, but Fin is silent as to wherein the sensor system comprises a CMOS sensor manufactured with a built-in IR cut-off filter, wherein the IR cut-off filter is disabled from a CMOS sensor.
However, Owen does address this limitation. Owen and Fin are considered to be analogous to the present invention as they are in the same field of defect inspection.
Owen teaches wherein an IR cut-off filter is disabled from a CMOS sensor ([0057] removal of a mainstream imaging device's infrared cut-off filter, which filters typically are found in mainstream solid state imaging devices)
It would have been well known to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to remove the IR cut-off filter from a CMOS sensor. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Fin to include wherein the sensor system comprises a CMOS sensor manufactured with a built-in IR cut-off filter, wherein the IR cut-off filter is disabled from a CMOS sensor as suggested by Owen in order to increase sensitivity generally through the previously blocked infrared wavelengths ([0057]).
Regarding claim 10, Fin modified by Yacoubian, Sugiura, and Owen teaches the in-situ system for gas turbine engine blade inspection of claim 1, and Fin further teaches wherein said gas turbine engine blade is selected from the group consisting of a fan blade ([0030] fan blade or an airfoil (e.g., a vane)) a vane, a compressor blade, a compressor vane, a turbine blade ([0055] gas turbine engine blade 34), and a turbine vane ([0055] blade of a fan, a vane, a blade of a compressor, a vane of a compressor, a blade of a turbine, or a vane of a turbine).
Regarding claim 11, Fin teaches a method for in-situ inspection of a gas turbine engine fan (at least Fig. 1; [0001]), comprising:
positioning a sensor (sensor 12) to capture images of a surface (forward surface 32) of at least one gas turbine engine fan blade (blade 34; [0055] image data);
coupling a processor to the sensor (processor 16), the processor configured to determine damage to the at least one gas turbine engine fan blade based on video analytics ([0056] "determine damage to the gas turbine engine blade 34 based on video analytics"); wherein the processor performs operations comprising:
receiving, by the processor, imaging data for the forward surface of at least one gas turbine engine fan blade from the sensor system ([0039] "Processor 16 may receive data 14 about component 20 captured and transmitted by the sensor(s) 12"); and
determining, by the processor, surface damage ([0039] "process data 14 from sensors 12 to determine if damage or defects are present on the component 20").
Although Fin does not explicitly teach image analytics in this embodiment, Fin teaches another embodiment wherein the processor configured to determine damage to the at least one gas turbine engine blade based on image analytics ([0013]; [0035]). Further, Fin teaches that the video camera captures image data ([0055]). Thus, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, video analysis would be considered image analysis since it is the analysis of a series of images.
Although Fin does not explicitly teach wherein a CMOS sensor, Finn teaches the sensor 12 may include an image capture device, such as an optical device having an optical lens, such as a camera, mobile video camera or other imaging device or image sensor, capable of capturing 2D still images or video images ([0035]).
Further, Owen does address this limitation. Owen and Fin are considered to be analogous to the present invention as they are in the same field of defect inspection.
Owen teaches a CMOS sensor ([0061] CMOS detectors can be used to image reflected radiation of one or more wavelengths).
It would have been well known to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a CMOS sensor as an imaging device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Fin wherein the sensor is a CMOS sensor as suggested by Owen as CMOS sensors are highly sensitive low cost imaging devices (Owen [0095])
Although Fin does not explicitly teach positioning an illumination source in operative communication with the surface of at least one gas turbine engine blade, configuring the illumination source to emit linearly polarized light, blocking light polarized by an undamaged surface by operatively coupling a polarization filter with the sensor and surface damage responsive to the illumination source, Fin does teach in reference to other embodiments the mobile video camera system 12 can include lighting within a visible spectrum and/or an infrared spectrum ([0058]) and source illumination may be ambient illumination not specifically associated with or designed for the 2D sensor or the illumination may be specifically designed and installed to provide a good quality 2D image ([0037]).
Further, Yacoubian does address this limitation. Yacoubian and Fin are considered to be analogous to the present invention as they are in the same field of defect inspection.
Yacoubian teaches (Fig. 3; [0032]) positioning a sensor (camera 303; sensor head 101 [0022]) to capture images of a surface (specimen 304);
positioning an illumination source in operative communication with the surface (light source 301; [0032]);
receiving, by a processor, imaging data for the surface from the sensor system (Fig. 1; [0022]; processor 119);
configuring the illumination source to emit linearly polarized light ([0032] light source 301 can be polarized; [0055]; [0110]);
blocking light polarized by an undamaged surface by operatively coupling a polarization filter (Fig. 3 polarizer 302; [0032]) with the sensor (camera 303; [0055])
determining, by the processor, surface damage responsive to the illumination source ([0022] display also shows the location of defects 114); wherein capturing images are created during gas turbine engine operational conditions selected from the group consisting of coasting, spool-up, and spool-down, including at least one complete revolution ([0055])..
Further, Yacoubian even if does not explicitly teach an embodiment that uses an illumination source configured to emit linearly polarized light, Yacoubian does teach that the light source 301 can be polarized, randomly polarized or circularly polarized ([0032]). It appears that “polarized” in this context could refer to basic linear polarization in the context of random or circular polarization. Yacoubian also teaches that polarization measurements can distinguish between different types of surface finish or surface angle and reveal damaged coating or distinguish a coated surface and an area with coating removed. Parallel and perpendicular polarized light have different reflectivity for a dielectric surface, and this difference depends on the angle of incidence. Using two polarization states, such as vertical- and horizontal-linear polarization states, or right- and left-handed circular polarization states, will reveal differences in surface finish and defects, particularly when images obtained from the two states are subtracted as demonstrated ([0055]). Further, Yacoubian teaches in alternative embodiments, sensor arrangements described herein use linear, circular, or elliptical polarization states, or a combination thereof ([0110]).
Thus, it would have been well known to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Yacoubian to use an illumination source configured to emit linearly polarized light to accurately distinguish different or damaged finishes on a surface.
Further, it would have been well known to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a polarization filter in operative communication with the sensor system for blocking light polarized by an undamaged surface. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Fin to positioning an illumination source in operative communication with the surface of at least one gas turbine engine blade, configuring the illumination source to emit linearly polarized light, blocking light polarized by an undamaged surface by operatively coupling a polarization filter with the sensor and surface damage responsive to the illumination source as suggested by Yacoubian in order to increase detection of variations in a surface ([0003]).
Further, Yacoubian and Fin are silent as to turning the linearly polarized light into an elliptically polarized light responsive to reflection off of surface damage.
However, Sugiura does address this limitation. Sugiura and Fin are considered to be analogous to the present invention as they are in the same field of defect inspection.
Sugiura teaches wherein the illumination source is configured to emit linearly polarized light, the linearly polarized light being turned into an elliptically polarized light responsive to reflection off of the surface damage ([0028] linearly polarized light reflected by the steel plate is generally elliptically polarized based on Jones matrix; [0032] "The linearly polarized light incident on the steel plate surface is converted into elliptically polarized light as described above. For detection of wrinkles, it is possible to detect the contrast of reflected light using the difference in polarization characteristics between the normal part and the wrinkle part").
It would have been well known to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an illumination source configured to emit linearly polarized light and that the linearly polarized light is turned into an elliptically polarized light responsive to reflection off of the surface damage due to the Jones matrix. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Fin to include wherein the illumination source is configured to emit linearly polarized light, the linearly polarized light being turned into an elliptically polarized light responsive to reflection off of the surface damage as suggested by Sugiura in order to increase the contrast of the defect thus improving detection ([0045]; [0032]).
Regarding claim 14, Fin modified by Yacoubian, Sugiura, and Owen teaches the method for in-situ inspection of a gas turbine engine fan of claim 11, but Fin is silent as to disabling an IR cut-off filter from a CMOS sensor.
However, Owen does address this limitation. Owen and Fin are considered to be analogous to the present invention as they are in the same field of defect inspection.
Owen teaches disabling an IR cut-off filter from a CMOS sensor ([0057] removal of a mainstream imaging device's infrared cut-off filter, which filters typically are found in mainstream solid state imaging devices)
It would have been well known to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to remove the IR cut-off filter from a CMOS sensor. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Fin to include wherein disabling an IR cut-off filter from a CMOS sensor as suggested by Owen in order to increase sensitivity generally through the previously blocked infrared wavelengths ([0057]).
Claims 7-9 and 16-18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Fin in view Yacoubian, Sugiura, and Owen as applied to claims 1 and 11, and further in view of US4629319A by Clarke et al. (hereinafter “Clarke”; previously cited).
Regarding claim 7, Fin modified by Yacoubian, Sugiura, and Owen teaches the in-situ system for gas turbine engine blade inspection of claim 1, but Fin is silent as to at least one of a combination of optical lens and light interference devices operatively coupled to the illumination source, wherein the combination of optical lens is either an array of cylindrical lenses or a combination of one or more Powell lenses; and the at least one of the combination of optical lens and the light interference devices are configured to produce laser lines.
However, Clarke does address this limitation. Clarke and Fin are considered to be analogous to the present invention as they are in the same field of defect inspection.
Clarke teaches at least one of a combination of optical lens and light interference devices operatively coupled to the illumination source (col 3 lines 25-28 "linear lamp 1 enclosed in housing 2 having a slit opening 3 is used as an illumination line or slit source for a surface of a panel 5 to be examined"; a slit is a light interference device), and
at least one of the combination of optical lens and the light interference devices (slit opening 3) are configured to produce laser lines (col 3 line 26 "illumination line"; see Fig. 1; the lines are focused thus, laser lines).
Further, Clarke teaches in another embodiment (Fig. 3F) that a cylinder lens 280 is used with laser 201 to scan the surface 205 (col 11 line 55).
Although Clarke is silent as to wherein the combination of optical lens is either an array of cylindrical lenses or a combination of one or more Powell lenses, the examiner takes official notice that it would have been well known and obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a an array of cylindrical lenses or a combination of one or more Powell lenses operatively coupled to the illumination source to produce laser lines because that is the function that Powell lenses, also known as laser line generators, were designed to perform. One would be motivated to use a Powell lens to make the device more compact.
It would have been well known to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to couple optical lens and light interference devices or other devices in order to produce laser lines. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Fin to include at least one of a combination of optical lens and light interference devices operatively coupled to the illumination source, and laser lines produced by an array of cylindrical lenses or a combination of one or more Powell lenses operatively coupled to the illumination source as suggested by Clarke in order to inspect a large surface for defects, thus increasing efficiency.
Regarding claim 8, Fin modified by Yacoubian, Sugiura, Owen and Clarke teaches the in-situ system for gas turbine engine blade inspection of claim 7, but Fin is silent as to wherein the illumination source is configured to produce a mesh or a series of lines projected onto the forward surface of the at least one gas turbine engine blade.
However, Clarke does address this limitation.
Clarke teaches wherein the illumination source is configured to produce a mesh or a series of lines projected onto the surface (Fig. 1a-d show the series of lines on surface 5), further, Clarke teaches that a grid pattern can also be used (col 3 lines 17-21).
It would have been well known to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a mesh or series of lines on a surface for defect inspection. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Fin to include wherein the illumination source is configured to produce a mesh or a series of lines projected onto the forward surface of the at least one gas turbine engine blade as suggested by Clarke in order to measure the contour of a surface to detect flaws with increased accuracy (col 1 line 35).
Regarding claim 9, Fin modified by Yacoubian, Sugiura, Owen and Clarke teaches the in-situ system for gas turbine engine blade inspection of claim 8, but Fin is silent as to wherein the illumination source creates a kink or discontinuity on a smooth curve of the mesh or lines responsive to illumination of the surface damage.
However, Clarke does address this limitation.
Clarke teaches wherein the illumination source creates a kink or discontinuity on a smooth curve of the mesh or lines responsive to illumination of the surface damage (Fig. 1b shows an example of a kin in the smooth curve; col 3 lines 38-46 "However, when a low spot, ding, dimple or what have you appears, the lines distort as is shown in FIG. 1b. This distortion can be characterized by determining slopes or positioned changes of the deviated line image. Defect parameters are put on as a function of the slope of the panel distortion, and/or its width, lengths, etc. Such defect indications can be obtained from the width "w" of the distorted lines or the change of frequency of the lines, or the like.").
It would have been well known to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that a kink or discontinuity would be created on the smooth surface due to a surface defect or damage. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Fin to include wherein the illumination source creates a kink or discontinuity on a smooth curve of the mesh or lines responsive to illumination of the surface damage as suggested by Clarke in order to quickly, efficiently and visually detect damage to a surface.
Regarding claim 16, Fin modified by Yacoubian, Sugiura, and Owen teaches the method for in-situ inspection of a gas turbine engine fan of claim 11, but Fin is silent as to operatively coupling the illumination source to at least one of a combination of optical lens and light interference devices, wherein the combination of optical lens is either an array of cylindrical lenses or a combination of one or more Powell lenses; and producing laser lines with at least one of the combination of optical lens and the light interference devices.
However, Clarke does address this limitation. Clarke and Fin are considered to be analogous to the present invention as they are in the same field of defect inspection.
Clarke teaches operatively coupling the illumination source to at least one of a combination of optical lens and light interference devices (col 3 lines 25-28 "linear lamp 1 enclosed in housing 2 having a slit opening 3 is used as an illumination line or slit source for a surface of a panel 5 to be examined"; a slit is a light interference device) and
and producing laser lines with at least one of the combination of optical lens and the light interference devices (col 3 line 26 "illumination line"; see Fig. 1; the lines are focused thus, laser lines).
Further, Clarke teaches in another embodiment (Fig. 3F) that a cylinder lens 280 is used with laser 201 to scan the surface 205 (col 11 line 55).
Although Clarke is silent as to wherein the combination of optical lens is either an array of cylindrical lenses or a combination of one or more Powell lenses, the examiner takes official notice that it would have been well known and obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a an array of cylindrical lenses or a combination of one or more Powell lenses operatively coupled to the illumination source to produce laser lines because that is the function that Powell lenses, also known as laser line generators, were designed to perform. One would be motivated to use a Powell lens to make the device more compact.
It would have been well known to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to couple optical lens and light interference devices or other devices in order to produce laser lines. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Fin to include operatively coupling the illumination source to at least one of a combination of optical lens and light interference devices, and laser lines produced by an array of cylindrical lenses or a combination of one or more Powell lenses as suggested by Clarke in order to inspect a large surface for defects, thus increasing efficiency.
Regarding claim 17, Fin modified by Yacoubian, Sugiura, Owen and Clarke teaches the method for in-situ inspection of a gas turbine engine fan of claim 16, but Fin is silent as to configuring the illumination source to produce a mesh or a series of lines projected onto the forward surface of the at least one gas turbine engine blade.
However, Clarke does address this limitation.
Clarke teaches configuring the illumination source to produce a mesh or a series of lines projected onto the surface. (Fig. 1a-d show the series of lines on surface 5), further, Clarke teaches that a grid pattern can also be used (col 3 lines 17-21).
It would have been well known to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a mesh or series of lines on a surface for defect inspection. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Fin to include configuring the illumination source to produce a mesh or a series of lines projected onto the forward surface of the at least one gas turbine engine blade as suggested by Clarke in order to measure the contour of a surface to detect flaws with increased accuracy (col 1 line 35).
Regarding claim 18, Fin modified by Yacoubian, Sugiura, Owen and Clarke teaches the method for in-situ inspection of a gas turbine engine fan of claim 17, but Fin is silent as to creating a kink or discontinuity on a smooth curve of the mesh or lines with the illumination source responsive to illumination of the surface damage.
However, Clarke does address this limitation.
Clarke teaches creating a kink or discontinuity on a smooth curve of the mesh or lines with the illumination source responsive to illumination of the surface damage (Fig. 1b shows an example of a kin in the smooth curve; col 3 lines 38-46 "However, when a low spot, ding, dimple or what have you appears, the lines distort as is shown in FIG. 1b. This distortion can be characterized by determining slopes or positioned changes of the deviated line image. Defect parameters are put on as a function of the slope of the panel distortion, and/or its width, lengths, etc. Such defect indications can be obtained from the width "w" of the distorted lines or the change of frequency of the lines, or the like.").
It would have been well known to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that a kink or discontinuity would be created on the smooth surface due to a surface defect or damage. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Fin to include creating a kink or discontinuity on a smooth curve of the mesh or lines with the illumination source responsive to illumination of the surface damage as suggested by Clarke in order to quickly, efficiently and visually detect damage to a surface.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KAITLYN E KIDWELL/Examiner, Art Unit 2877
/TARIFUR R CHOWDHURY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877