DETAILED ACTION
This Action is responsive to the submission filed on 12/15/2025.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheong (US 2011/0249214), in view of Yamazaki (US 2024/0107861).
Regarding claim 1, Cheong (see, e.g., FIG. 2A, FIG. 3) discloses a display device comprising:
a substrate 10 (Para 0032, Para 0033);
a light-emitting element 50 disposed on the substrate 10 (Para 0032, Para 0033); and
a light control pattern 100, including an inclined outer side surface 105A, 105B and defining an air layer 111 having a thickness which is variable, e.g., varied thickness (Para 0032, Para 0033, Para 0040),
Although Cheong shows substantial features of the claimed invention, Cheong fails to expressly teach a capping layer disposed on the light-emitting element, a light control pattern disposed on the capping layer.
Yamazaki (see, e.g., FIG. 1) teaches a capping layer 33 disposed on the light-emitting element 20 for the purpose of preventing the diffusion of impurities thereby increasing the reliability of the display device (Para 0110, Para 0111, Para 0115, Para 0116).
The combination of Cheong (see, e.g., FIG. 2A, FIG. 3) / Yamazaki (see, e.g., FIG. 1) teaches the light control pattern 100 (as taught by Cheong) disposed on the capping layer 33 (as taught by Yamazaki).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the capping layer as described by Yamazaki to the light emitting element of Cheong for the purpose of preventing the diffusion of impurities thereby increasing the reliability of the display device (Para 0115).
Regarding claim 18, Cheong (see, e.g., FIG. 2A, FIG. 3) teaches the display device of claim 1, further comprising: an encapsulation substrate 180 disposed on the light control pattern 100 (Para 0045).
Regarding claim 20, Cheong (see, e.g., FIG. 2A, FIG. 3) teaches the display device of claim 18, further comprising: a sealing member 130 disposed between the substrate 10 and the encapsulation substrate 180 (Para 0044, Para 0045).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheong (US 2011/0249214), in view of Yamazaki (US 2024/0107861), and further in view of Barrows (US 2015/0097951).
Regarding claim 19, although Cheong/Yamazaki show substantial features of the claimed invention, Cheong/Yamazaki fail to expressly teach the display device of claim 18, wherein the encapsulation substrate includes glass.
Barrows (see, e.g., FIG. 1C) teaches the encapsulation substrate 171 includes glass for the purpose of selecting an optically transparent material for the optical sheet (Para 0087).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the material of the encapsulation substrate of Cheong/Yamazaki to include glass as described by Barrows for the purpose of selecting an optically transparent material for the optical sheet (Para 0087).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ANTONIO B CRITE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817