DETAILED ACTION
This application, 18/238,646, attorney docket AD9667-US, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This application is assigned to Shanghai Huali Integrated Circuit Corp, and claims foreign priority to 202310146658.2, filed 02/21/2023 Claims 1-8 are pending and are considered below. Note that examiner will use numbers in parentheses to indicate numbered elements in prior art figures, and brackets to point to paragraph numbers where quoted material or specific teachings can be found.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the via connection and the transistor and gate recited in claim 6 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Claim 3 recites “each of the leads and each of the metal lines are placed perpendicular to each other in the same plane” There is no support for leads that are perpendicular to each other. Examiner notes that the first lead maybe perpendicular to the first line in the key, or may be colinear.)
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 4 recites “at each winding point.” It is not clear what defines a winding point.
Claims 2-8 depend from claim 1 and include the same defect.
Claim 1 recites “a test key” it is not clear what defines a test key or if it is an intended use of a structure. The disclosure describes the function of the structure as a heat dissipation structure.([0016 and 0034]).
Claims 2-8 depend from claim 1 and include the same defect.
Claim 4 recites, “downward suspending via structure” It is not clear if “suspending” is a limitation or the meets and bounds of “suspending.” “Downward” direction is a relative term not defined by the structure.
Claims 5-8 depend from claim 4 and include the same defect.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2 and 4-6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1/a2 as being anticipated by Johnson (U.S. 2020/0388570).
As for claim 1,
Johnson teaches in figure 1 a bottom layer metal interconnection line structure (metal layers shown in figure 6), at least comprising:
a test key (60) and leads (10212/11/122) connected to the test key;
the test key being composed of a plurality of metal lines (sides of the octagon) connected end-to-end;
the plurality of metal lines being arranged in a same plane in a winding manner, wherein at least one suspending via structure is provided (Vias 422 are shown in figure 6 at winding points);
and two leads (61/62) are provided and respectively connected to ends of the metal lines located at a head end and a tail end in the test key.
As for claim 2,
Johnson teachers the bottom layer metal interconnection line structure according to claim 1,
wherein the plurality of metal lines have a same length (each ring is a regular octagon having substantially the same length sides); and the plurality of metal lines have a same width. (shown with a continuous regular width)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson in view of Cheng-Hsien et al. (U.S. 2024/0387362, parent filed 8/31/2021).
As for claim 3,
Johnson teachers the bottom layer metal interconnection line structure according to claim 1, but does not teach that each of the leads and each of the metal lines are placed perpendicular to each other in the same plane.
However, Cheng-Hsien teaches in figure 2, a winding structure with all segments perpendicular to the adjoining segments in a plane.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of this application form the winding structure in the shape of Cheng-Hsien since it has been held by the courts that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device, and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984). Here the arrangement of segments would perform the same for the intended purpose. One skilled in the art would have combined these elements with a reasonable expectation of success.
As for claim 4,
Johnson teaches the bottom layer metal interconnection line structure according to claim 1, and teaches that at least one downward suspending via structure is provided at each winding point.(Vias 422 extend downward toward the substrate from the winding structure).
As for claim 5,
Johnson teaches the bottom layer metal interconnection line structure according to claim 4, and Johnson teaches that interlayer dielectric (425) fully fills between the downward suspending via structures.
As for claim 6.
Johnson teaches the bottom layer metal interconnection line structure according to claim 5, and teaches that the test key and the leads are covered with an intermetallic dielectric. (425).
Claims 7 and 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson.
As for claim 7,
Johnson teaches the bottom layer metal interconnection line structure according to claim 4,
And Johnson teaches that another end of the downward suspending via structure is connected to a gate of a device (extends to the transistor 470), but is silent on the longitudinal depth of the downward suspending via structure does not exceed a half of a depth of the gate of the device.
However, the thickness of the ILD and the resulting longitudinal depth of the downward suspending via structure is a result dependent variable that is adjusted to optimize dielectric insulation, parasitic capacitance with via length and the associated resistance and etching limitations. The optimization of the longitudinal depth of the downward suspending via structure would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. because the general conditions are disclosed in the prior art is it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955).
As for claim 8,
Johnson teaches the bottom layer metal interconnection line structure according to claim 5, and teaches that the intermetallic dielectric is covered with an upper layer metal (410) , but does not teach that a depth of the downward suspending via structure does not exceed a half of a depth of the upper layer metal.
However, the thickness of the ILD and the resulting longitudinal depth of the downward suspending via structure is a result dependent variable that is adjusted to optimize dielectric insulation, parasitic capacitance with via length and the associated resistance and etching limitations. The optimization of the longitudinal depth of the downward suspending via structure would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. because the general conditions are disclosed in the prior art is it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955).
Conclusion
/JOHN A BODNAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893