DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 10, 11, 14-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choi et al (US 2014/0349433).
Regarding claim 1. The prior art of Choi et al teaches a deposition apparatus comprising: a chamber; a deposition source 10 disposed in the chamber 60 and including nozzles 11 arranged in a first direction; and a deposition angle limiter disposed on the deposition source in the chamber, wherein the deposition angle limiter 20/70/20a/20b includes: a low-incident angle limiting plate 21/71/21a/21b disposed between adjacent first and second nozzles among the nozzles and spaced apart from the first nozzle by a first height in a height direction intersecting the first direction; and a high-incident angle limiting plate 22/72/22a/22b surrounding at least a portion of the first nozzle and spaced apart from the first nozzle by a second height in the height direction, wherein the first nozzle extends in the height direction. See Figs. 4A, 5A, 7A, 7B of Choi et al.
Regarding claim 2. The deposition apparatus of claim 1, wherein the second height is greater than the first height. See Figs. 4A, 5A, 7A, 7B of Choi et al.
Regarding claim 3. The deposition apparatus of claim 1, wherein the low-incident angle limiting plate and the high-incident angle limiting plate have a first length and a second length in the height direction, respectively, and the second length is shorter than the first length. See Fig. 11 of Choi et al.
Regarding claim 4. The deposition apparatus of claim 1, wherein the deposition angle limiter further includes an angle limiting plate disposed at opposite sides of the nozzles in a second direction intersecting the first direction and extending in the first direction. See Figs. 4A, 5A, 7A, 7B of Choi et al.
Regarding claim 5. The deposition apparatus of claim 4, wherein The angle limiting plate includes a first plate and a second plate disposed at a first side and a second side of the nozzles, respectively, in the second direction. See Figs. 4A, 5A, 7A, 7B of Choi et al.
Regarding claim 6. The deposition apparatus of claim 4, wherein the angle limiting plate, the low-incident angle limiting plate, and the high-incident angle limiting plate are spaced apart from a center of the first nozzle by a first distance, a second distance, and a third distance in a plan view, respectively, the first distance is greater than the second distance, and the second distance is greater than the third distance. See Figs. 4A, 5A, 7A, 7B of Choi et al.
Regarding claim 10. The deposition apparatus of claim 1, wherein the high-incident angle limiting plate includes a first portion and a second portion separated along the first direction. See Figs. 4A, 5A, 7A, 7B of Choi et al.
Regarding claim 11. The deposition apparatus of claim 10, wherein the first portion and the second portion of the high-incident angle limiting plate are each semi-cylindrical. See Figs. 7A and 7B of Choi et al.
Regarding claim 14. The deposition apparatus of claim 1, wherein the high-incident angle limiting plate has a cylindrical shape. See Fig. 11 of Choi et al.
Regarding claim 15. The prior art of Choi et al teaches a deposition apparatus comprising: a chamber 60 configured to accommodate a substrate and a mask 40 therein; a deposition source disposed in the chamber and including a first nozzle 11 and a second nozzle 11 arranged in a first direction; and a deposition angle limiter disposed between the deposition source and the mask to control an incident angle of particles emitted from the first nozzle and the second nozzle with respect to a major surface plane of the mask, wherein the deposition angle limiter includes: an angle limiting plate disposed at opposite sides of the first nozzle and the second nozzle in a second direction intersecting the first direction and extending in the first direction; a low-incident angle limiting plate disposed between the first nozzle and the second nozzle to extend in the second direction; and a high-incident angle limiting plate surrounding at least a portion of the first nozzle and disposed closer to a center of the first nozzle than each of the angle limiting plate and the low-incident angle limiting plate. See the rejections of claims 1 and 6 above and the marked up Figs of Choi et al.
Regarding claim 16. The deposition apparatus of claim 15, wherein the low-incident angle limiting plate and the high-incident angle limiting plate are spaced apart from the nozzle by a first height and a second height, respectively, in a third direction intersecting the first direction and the second direction, and the second height is greater than the first height. See Fig. 11 of Choi et al.
Regarding claim 17. The deposition apparatus of claim 16, wherein the low-incident angle limiting plate and the high-incident angle limiting plate have a first length and a second length, respectively, in the third direction, and the second length is shorter than the first length. See Fig. 11 of Choi et al.
Regarding claim 18. The deposition apparatus of claim 15, wherein the angle limiting plate is disposed farther than the low-incident angle limiting plate from a center of the first nozzle in a plan view. See Figs, of Choi et al.
Regarding claim 20. The deposition apparatus of claim 15, wherein the high-incident angle limiting plate includes a first portion and a second portion separated along the first direction, and the first portion and the second portion are each semi-cylindrical. See Figs. 7A and 7B of Choi et al.
Fig. 1 of Choi et al
Fig. 4A of Choi et al
Fig. 7A of Choi et al
Fig.11 of Choi et al
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al (US 2014/0349433) in view of Kim Jang Mi (KR 20190081600A using the machine generated English translation provided herewith)
The teachings of Choi et al were discussed above.
Choi et al fails to teach a radiation protection plate, more specifically, Choi et al fails to teach:
Regarding claim 8. The deposition apparatus of claim 4, wherein the deposition source further includes a radiation protection plate defining openings therein into which the nozzles are inserted, and the low-incident angle limiting plate and the high-incident angle limiting plate each are spaced apart from the radiation heat protection plate.
Regarding claim 9. The deposition apparatus of claim 8, wherein the angle limiting plate is in contact with the radiation heat protection plate.
The prior art of Kim Jang Mi teaches a glass deposition apparatus where Fig. 4 illustrates linear sources 100a-100c (deposition sources) include crucible 130 and a top shield 114 (radiation heat protection plate). Kim Jang Mi also teaches angle limiting plate 160, first angle limiting plate 176, and horizontal angle restricting plate 162. According to Kim Jang Mi the shield prevents the deposition material from accumulating in the block housing 110 and enhances temperature control. See Fig. 4 where the nozzles 132 are inserted into. Thus, it would have been obvious for one before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the apparatus of Choi et al with the radiation heat protection plate of Kim Jang Mi.
Fig. 4 of Kim Jang Mi
Claims 7, 12, 13, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al (US 2014/0349433) in view of Kawato et al (US 2018/0119268).
The teachings of Choi et al were discussed above.
Choi et al fails to teach a connector specifically –
Regarding claim 7. The deposition apparatus of claim 4, wherein the deposition angle limiter further includes a connector connecting the high- incident angle limiting plate and the low-incident angle limiting plate.
Regarding claim 12. The deposition apparatus of claim 11, wherein the deposition angle limiter further includes an adjacent high-incident angle limiting plate surrounding at least a portion of the second nozzle, and the first portion or the second portion is connected to the adjacent high-incident angle limiting plate by a connector.
Regarding claim 13. The deposition apparatus of claim 12, wherein the connector is connected to the low-incident angle limiting plate.
Regarding claim 19. The deposition apparatus of claim 15, wherein the low-incident angle limiting plate is connected to the angle limiting plate, and the deposition angle limiter further includes a connector connecting the high- incident angle limiting plate and the low-incident angle limiting plate.
The prior art of Kawato et al teaches a vapor deposition device where the limiting plate unit 20 which includes a plurality of limiting plates 22 are connected by screws see [0095] or a solder joint see [0041] where the screws or joint is interpreted as connectors to hold and connect the limiting plates. Thus, it would have been obvious for one before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the apparatus of Choi et al with the connectors as suggested by Kawato et al.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim (US 2016/0214133) teaches a deposition source with nozzles and first and second restriction plates (angle limiting plates) where the heights of the plates relative to each other and the nozzles are different (can be higher or lower).
Yoon et al (US 8,211,233) teaches a deposition source with nozzles and angle limiting components therebetween.
/SYLVIA MACARTHUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716