DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 5:
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the spacer" in claim 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of prosecution on the merits, examiner is interpreting this limitation to mean "the spacer plate".
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Regarding claim 5:
Claim 5 recites “wherein the flow control ring is in direct contact with the spacer”. However, claim 1, from which claim 5 depends, already sets forth “a flow control ring positioned in direct contact with the spacer plate” [line 10]. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 10-11, 14-16, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verbaas (US 2019/0051544) in view of Tan et al (US 2018/0233326).
Regarding claim 1:
Verbaas teaches a reaction chamber (reactor, 400) [fig 4 & 0039], comprising: an interior space (interior of 400) defined by a sidewall (wall, 430), a bottom panel (bottom wall of 400) coupled to the sidewall (430), and a showerhead (showerhead, 401) arranged opposite the bottom panel (bottom wall of 400) and coupled to the sidewall (430), wherein the sidewall (430) comprises an interior-facing surface (interior surface of 430) that forms a circular shape having a first circumference (see fig 15) [fig 4, 15 & 0045]; a spacer plate (plate supporting 435) integrated in the sidewall (430), and comprising a lip (interior extending portion of plate supporting 435) that extends outwards from the sidewall and into the interior space (interior of 400), and extends along the entire first circumference of the interior-facing surface of the sidewall (see fig 4 and 15) [fig 4, 15 & 0052]; and a flow control ring (flow control ring, 435) positioned in direct contact with the spacer plate (plate supporting 435), wherein the flow control ring (435) extends along an entire outer edge of the spacer plate (plate supporting 435) [fig 4 & 0052].
Verbaas does not specifically disclose a spacer plate comprising a heating element.
Tan teaches a spacer plate (spacer, 212) comprising a heating element (heating element, 216) [fig 1-2C & 0029].
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the spacer plate of Verbaas to comprise a heating element, as in Tan, to maintain the sidewall of the spacer at an optimal thermal condition thereby resulting in minimizing stress and peel off of depositions, improving plasma flow contours, and enhancing particle performance [Tan – 0022].
Regarding claim 2:
Modified Verbaas teaches the heating element (216) is embedded within the spacer plate (embedded in the groove 214 of 212) [Tan – fig 1-2C & 0029].
Regarding claims 3-4:
Verbaas teaches the flow control ring (435) extends outwards from the spacer plate (plate supporting 435) and into the interior space (interior of 400) [fig 4 & 0052]; and wherein the flow control ring (435) has a circumference that is less than (see fig 4) the circumference of the spacer plate (plate supporting 435) [fig 4 & 0052].
Regarding claim 5:
Verbaas teaches the flow control ring (435) is in direct contact with the spacer plate (plate supporting 435) [fig 4 & 0052].
Regarding claim 6:
Modified Verbaas teaches the heating element (216) comprises a resistive heating element (resistor coil) [Tan - fig 1-2C & 0049].
Regarding claim 7:
Modified Verbaas teaches the heating element (216) is a single element (coil) that extends along the entire circumference of the spacer plate (212) [Tan - fig 1, 2A-2C & 0049].
Regarding claim 10:
Verbaas teaches a reaction chamber (reactor, 400) [fig 4 & 0039], comprising: an interior space (interior of 400) defined by a sidewall (wall, 430), a bottom panel (bottom wall of 400) coupled to the sidewall (430), and a showerhead (showerhead, 401) arranged opposite the bottom panel (bottom wall of 400) and coupled to the sidewall (430), wherein the sidewall (430) comprises an interior-facing surface (interior surface of 430) that forms a circular shape having a first circumference (see fig 15) [fig 4, 15 & 0045]; a spacer plate (plate supporting 435) extending from the interior-facing surface of the sidewall (interior surface of 430) into the interior space (interior of 400) and having a second circumference (see fig 4 and 15) [fig 4, 15 & 0052]; and a flow control ring (flow control ring, 435) positioned in direct contact with the spacer plate (plate supporting 435), wherein the flow control ring (435) extends along an entire outer edge of the spacer plate (plate supporting 435) and has a third circumference that is less than the second circumference (circumference of 435 is less than the circumference of the plate supporting 435) [fig 4 & 0052].
Verbaas does not specifically disclose a heating element embedded within the spacer plate.
Tan teaches a heating element (heating element, 216) embedded within the spacer plate (embedded in the groove 214 of 212) [fig 1-2C & 0029].
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the spacer plate of Verbaas to comprise a heating element embedded therein, as in Tan, to maintain the sidewall of the spacer at an optimal thermal condition thereby resulting in minimizing stress and peel off of depositions, improving plasma flow contours, and enhancing particle performance [Tan – 0022].
Regarding claim 11:
Modified Verbaas teaches the heating element (216) is a single element (coil) that extends along the entire circumference of the spacer plate (212) [Tan - fig 1, 2A-2C & 0049].
Regarding claim 14:
Modified Verbaas teaches the heating element (216) comprises a resistive heating element (resistor coil) [Tan - fig 1-2C & 0049].
Regarding claim 15:
Verbaas teaches a system (apparatus depicted in figure 4) [fig 4 & 0039], comprising: a reaction chamber (reactor, 400) comprising an interior space (interior of 400) defined by: a sidewall (wall, 430) comprising an interior-facing surface (interior surface of 430) that forms a circular shape having a first circumference (see fig 15) [fig 4, 15 & 0039]; a bottom panel (bottom wall of 400) coupled to the sidewall (430) [fig 4 & 0039]; and a showerhead (showerhead, 401) arranged opposite the bottom panel (bottom wall of 400) and coupled to the sidewall (430) [fig 4 & 0045]; a spacer plate (plate supporting 435) extending from the interior-facing surface of the sidewall (interior surface of 430) into the interior space (interior of 400), wherein the spacer plate (plate supporting 435) extends along the entire first circumference of the interior-facing surface of the sidewall (interior surface of 430) [fig 4, 15 & 0052]; a flow control ring (flow control ring, 435) positioned in direct contact with the spacer plate (plate supporting 435), wherein the flow control ring (435) extends from an outer edge of the spacer plate into the interior space and has a second circumference (see fig 4) [fig 4 & 0052]; a susceptor (base, 420) disposed in the interior space (interior of 400) and adjacent to the flow control ring (435), the susceptor (420) comprising a top surface (top surface of 420) [fig 4 & 0043]; and a cap (cap, 422) disposed on and entirely covering the top surface of the susceptor (top surface of 420), wherein the cap (422) is adjacent to and spaced apart from the flow control ring (435) [fig 4 & 0043-0044].
Verbaas does not specifically disclose a heating element embedded within the spacer plate.
Tan teaches a heating element (heating element, 216) embedded within the spacer plate (embedded in the groove 214 of 212) [fig 1-2C & 0029].
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the spacer plate of Verbaas to comprise a heating element embedded therein, as in Tan, to maintain the sidewall of the spacer at an optimal thermal condition thereby resulting in minimizing stress and peel off of depositions, improving plasma flow contours, and enhancing particle performance [Tan – 0022].
Regarding claim 16:
Modified Verbaas teaches the heating element (216) is a single element (coil) that extends along the entire first circumference (see fig 2A-2C) [Tan - fig 1, 2A-2C & 0049].
Regarding claim 19:
Verbaas teaches the second circumference of the flow control ring is less than the first circumference of the sidewall (circumference of 435 is less than the circumference of 430) [fig 4 & 0052].
Regarding claim 20:
Modified Verbaas teaches the heating element (216) comprises a resistive heating element (resistor coil) [Tan - fig 1-2C & 0049].
Claim(s) 8-9, 12-13, and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verbaas (US 2019/0051544) in view of Tan et al (US 2018/0233326) as applied to claims 1-7, 10-11, 14-16, and 19-20 above, and further in view of Fodor et al (US 8,444,926).
The limitations of claims 1-7, 10-11, 14-16, and 19-20 have been set forth above.
Regarding claims 8-9:
Modified Verbaas does not specifically disclose the heating element comprises a plurality of heating elements, wherein the heating elements are spaced equidistant from each other; and wherein each heating element is configured to be independently controlled relative to the other heating elements.
Fodor teaches a heating element comprises a plurality of heating elements (plurality of heating elements, 402), wherein the heating elements (402) are spaced equidistant from each other (see fig 4A) [fig 4A-4B & col 5, lines 44-60]; and wherein each heating element is configured to be independently controlled relative to the other heating elements (each heating element 402 may be individually controlled) [fig 4A-4B & col 5, lines 44-60].
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the heating element of modified Verbaas to comprise a plurality of heating elements, as in Fodor, to produce a predetermined temperature profile to compensate for areas of increased heat transfer [Fodor - col 5, lines 44-60].
Regarding claims 12-13:
Modified Verbaas does not specifically disclose the heating element comprises a plurality of heating elements, wherein the heating elements are spaced equidistant from each other; and wherein each heating element is configured to be independently controlled relative to the other heating elements.
Fodor teaches a heating element comprises a plurality of heating elements (plurality of heating elements, 402), wherein the heating elements (402) are spaced equidistant from each other (see fig 4A) [fig 4A-4B & col 5, lines 44-60]; and wherein each heating element is configured to be independently controlled relative to the other heating elements (each heating element 402 may be individually controlled) [fig 4A-4B & col 5, lines 44-60].
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the heating element of modified Verbaas to comprise a plurality of heating elements, as in Fodor, to produce a predetermined temperature profile to compensate for areas of increased heat transfer [Fodor - col 5, lines 44-60].
Regarding claims 17-18:
Modified Verbaas does not specifically disclose the heating element comprises a plurality of heating elements, wherein the heating elements are spaced equidistant from each other; and wherein each heating element is configured to be independently controlled relative to the other heating elements.
Fodor teaches a heating element comprises a plurality of heating elements (plurality of heating elements, 402), wherein the heating elements (402) are spaced equidistant from each other (see fig 4A) [fig 4A-4B & col 5, lines 44-60]; and wherein each heating element is configured to be independently controlled relative to the other heating elements (each heating element 402 may be individually controlled) [fig 4A-4B & col 5, lines 44-60].
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the heating element of modified Verbaas to comprise a plurality of heating elements, as in Fodor, to produce a predetermined temperature profile to compensate for areas of increased heat transfer [Fodor - col 5, lines 44-60].
Conclusion
/Benjamin Kendall/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896