DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-11 are pending.
The examiner would like to note that a foreign priority application No.2021-045282 filed on March 18, 2021 has not been made of record in the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 4-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hirano et al. (JP 2009-086358 A, with machine translation provided by the applicant on October 11, 2023).
With regard to claims 1, 10, and 11, Hirano et al. teach a resist composition comprising the resin A-31 and the photoacid generator B-72 (Example 35 in in Table 2, par.0377), wherein the resin A-31 is represented by the formula:
(par.0161).
Hirano et al. further teach a resist composition comprising the resin A-34 and the photoacid generator B-27 (Example 37 in Table 1, par.0377), wherein the resin A-34 is represented by the formula:
(par.0161).
Hirano et al. further teach a resist composition comprising the resin A-35 and the photoacid generator B-34 (Example 38 in Table 1, par.0377), wherein the resin A-35 is represented by the formula:
(par.0161).
The resin A-31 of Hirano et al. is a polymer comprising a structural unit of formula (1) in claims 1 and 10, wherein R1 is a methyl group, L is a single bond, R2, R3, and R4 are hydrogen atoms, and R5 is a monovalent organic group with 6 carbon atoms.
The resin A-34 of Hirano et al. is a polymer comprising a structural unit of formula (1) in claims 1 and 10, wherein R1 is a methyl group, L is a single bond, R2, R3, and R4 are hydrogen atoms, and R5 is a group of formula -CH=CH-C(=O)-CH3 (monovalent organic group with 4 carbon atoms).
The resin A-35 of Hirano et al. is a polymer comprising a structural unit of formula (1) in claims 1 and 10, wherein R1 is a methyl group, L is a single bond, R2 and R3 are hydrogen atoms, R4 is a methyl group (monovalent organic group with 1 carbon atom), and R5 is a group of formula -CH=CH-C(=O)-CH3 (monovalent organic group with 4 carbon atoms).
The monomer producing the repeating unit of formula:
in the resin A-31 of Hirano et al. is a compound of formula (1’) in claim 11, wherein R1 is a methyl group, L is a single bond, R2, R3, and R4 are hydrogen atoms, and R5 is a monovalent organic group with 6 carbon atoms.
The monomer producing the repeating unit of formula:
in the resin A-34 of Hirano et al. is a compound of formula (1’) in claim 11, wherein R1 is a methyl group, L is a single bond, R2, R3, and R4 are hydrogen atoms, and R5 is a group of formula -CH=CH-C(=O)-CH3 (monovalent organic group with 4 carbon atoms).
The monomer producing the repeating unit of formula:
in the resin A-35 of Hirano et al. is a compound of formula (1’) in claim 11, wherein R1 is a methyl group, L is a single bond, R2 and R3 are hydrogen atoms, R4 is a methyl group (monovalent organic group with 1 carbon atom), and R5 is a group of formula -CH=CH-C(=O)-CH3 (monovalent organic group with 4 carbon atoms).
Therefore, the resist composition in Examples 35, 37, and 38 of Hirano et al. anticipate the radiation-sensitive resin composition in claim 1.
The resins A-31, A-34, and A-35 anticipate the polymer in claim 10.
The monomers producing the repeating units above anticipate the compound in claim 11.
With regard to claims 4-6, the resin A-31 of Hirano et al. is a polymer comprising a structural unit of formula (1), wherein R3 and R4 are hydrogen atoms, and R5 is a monovalent hydrocarbon group with 6 carbon atoms.
With regard to claim 7, the first repeating unit of the resins A-31, A-34, and A-35 of Hirano et al. is a structural unit comprising a phenolic hydroxyl group.
With regard to claim 8, the second repeating unit of the resins A-31, A-34, and A-35 of Hirano et al. is a structural unit comprising an acid-labile group (see definition in par.0064-0065 and the structural unit (3-1-5) in par.0088 of the specification of the instant application).
With regard to claim 9, Hirano et al. teach a method comprising the steps of:
-applying the positive resist composition solution onto a wafer and drying the obtain a resist film;
-exposing the resist film; and
-developing the exposed resist film (par.0365).
Claims 1-6 and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takeuchi et al. (US 2001/003640).
With regard to claims 1, 10, and 11, Takeuchi et al. teach a resist composition comprising a polymer and a photoacid generator, wherein the polymer is represented by the formula:
(Example 36 in par.0412-0413 and Example 42 in par.0431).
The polymer above comprises a first structural unit of formula (1) in claims 1 and 10, wherein L is a single bond, R1 is a methyl group, R2 is a methyl group (monovalent organic group with 1 carbon atom), R3 and R4 are hydrogen atoms, and R5 is a monovalent organic group with 10 carbon atoms.
The monomer producing the first repeating of the polymer above is a compound of formula (1’) in claim 11, wherein L is a single bond, R1 is a methyl group, R2 is a methyl group (monovalent organic group with 1 carbon atom), R3 and R4 are hydrogen atoms, and R5 is a monovalent organic group with 10 carbon atoms.
Therefore, the resist composition in Example 42 of Takeuchi et al. anticipates the radiation-sensitive resin composition in claim 1.
The polymer in Example 42 of Takeuchi et al. anticipates polymer in claim 10.
The monomer producing the first repeating unit of the polymer in Example 42 of Takeuchi et al. anticipates the compound in claim 11.
With regard to claims 2 and 3, the polymer above is a polymer comprising a first structural unit of formula (1), wherein R2 is a methyl group (monovalent hydrocarbon group with 1 carbon atom).
With regard to claims 4-6, the polymer above is a polymer comprising a first structural unit of formula (1), wherein R3 and R4 are hydrogen atoms, and R5 is a monovalent hydrocarbon group with 10 carbon atoms.
With regard to claim 8, the second repeating unit of the polymer above is a third structural unit comprising an acid-labile group (see definition in par.0064-0065 and the structural unit (3-1-5) in par.0088 of the specification of the instant application).
With regard to claim 9, Takeuchi et al. teach a method comprising the steps of:
-applying a resist composition solution onto a wafer and drying the obtain a resist film;
-exposing the resist film; and
-developing the exposed resist film (par.0414).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Fukushima et al. (US 2021/0096465) teach a polymer comprising recurring units (a) having an acid labile group comprising a multiple bond (par.0015-0016). The recurring units (a) having an acid labile group may be represented by the formulas:
or
(par.0050), wherein RA is each independently hydrogen, fluorine, methyl, or trifluoromethyl (par.0042).
/ANCA EOFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722