DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election with traverse of Species I-Figure 3 (claims 1-7) in the reply filed on February 20, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 8-13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Note. Claims 11 and 13 are withdrawn since they depend on withdrawn claims 8 and 12.
The traversal is on the ground(s) that the search and examination of the entire application would not place a serious burden on the Examiner. This is not found persuasive because the search and examination of the entire application would place a serious burden on the Examiner since the search required for the features of the elected species is not co-extensive with the search required for the features of the non-elected species.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Okumura et al. (U.S. 5,015,330).
Referring to Figures 1-2 and column 4, line 40-column 5, line 52, Okumura et al. disclose a plasma processing apparatus comprising: a processing container 40 (col. 4, lines 45-48); a substrate holder 43, 44 configured to dispose a plurality of substrates 52 in multiple tiers and be inserted into the processing container (col. 4, lines 48-56); a rotary shaft 45 configured to rotate the substrate holder (col. 4, lines 57-64); a gas supply 46 configured to supply a processing gas into the processing container (col. 4, lines 65-68); an exhaust 48 configured to exhaust an inside of the processing container (col. 5, lines 5-9); a plurality of electrodes 50, 51 disposed on an outer side of the processing container and arranged in a circumferential direction of the processing container (col. 5, lines 14-57); and a radio-frequency power supply 53 configured to apply a radio-frequency power to the plurality of electrodes and generate capacitively coupled plasma in the processing container (col. 6, lines 11-22).
With respect to claim 3, the plasma processing apparatus of Okumura et al. further includes wherein the plurality of electrodes 50, 51 are disposed in a wider range than a range in a height direction of the plurality of substrates disposed in the substrate holder 43, 44 (Fig. 1).
With respect to claim 4, the plasma processing apparatus of Okumura et al. further includes wherein the plurality of electrodes 50, 51 are arranged at equal intervals in the circumferential direction of the processing container (Fig. 1).
With respect to claim 5, the plasma processing apparatus of Okumura et al. further comprising: a heater 49 configured to surround the processing container 40 and the plurality of electrodes 50, 51 (Fig. 1, col. 5, lines 10-13).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okumura et al. (U.S. 5,015,330) in view of Morisako (U.S. 6,033,586).
The teachings of Okumura et al. have been discussed above.
Okumura et al. disclose a radio-frequency power supply; however, is silent on the radio- frequency power supply is configured to vary a voltage and a phase of the radio-frequency power applied to each of the plurality of electrodes.
Referring to Figure 2 and column 2, line 64-column 3, line 32, Morisako teach a plasma processing apparatus wherein the radio-frequency power supply 16, 18 is configured to vary a voltage and a phase of the radio-frequency power applied to each of the plurality of electrodes 15, 17 in order to effectively improve plasma generation (col. 1, lines 44-48). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of Okumura et al. the radio- frequency power supply is configured to vary a voltage and a phase of the radio-frequency power applied to each of the plurality of electrodes as taught by Morisako in order to effectively improve plasma generation.
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okumura et al. (U.S. 5,015,330) in view of Gallagher et al. (U.S. 4,576,698) or Shimada et al. (U.S. 5,383,984).
The teachings of Okumura et al. have been discussed above.
Okumura et al. fail to teach a shield configured to surround the processing container, the plurality of electrodes, and the heater.
Referring to Figure 1 and column 3, lines 23-30, Gallagher et al. teach a plasma processing apparatus wherein a shield 14 configured to surround the processing container, the plurality of electrodes, and the heater to act as a thermal shield and as a ground path. Referring to Figure 1 and column 3, lines 64-67, Shimada et al. teach a plasma processing apparatus wherein a shield 10 configured to surround the processing container, the plurality of electrodes, and the heater. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of Okumura et al. with a shield configured to surround the processing container, the plurality of electrodes, and the heater as taught by Gallagher et al. or Shimada et al. since it provides a thermal shield and as a ground path during plasma processing.
With respect to claim 7, the plasma processing apparatus of Okumura et al. in view of Gallagher et al. or Shimada et al. further includes wherein the shield is grounded (Gallagher et al.-col. 3, lines 25-30, Shimada et al.-col. 3, lines 64-67).
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 5 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 11 of copending Application No. 18/388,974 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Referring to claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/388,974, copending Application No. 18/388,974 disclose a plasma processing apparatus comprising: a processing container; a substrate holder configured to dispose a plurality of substrates in multiple tiers and be inserted into the processing container; a rotary shaft configured to rotate the substrate holder; a gas supply configured to supply a processing gas into the processing container; an exhaust configured to exhaust an inside of the processing container; a plurality of electrodes disposed on an outer side of the processing container and arranged in a circumferential direction of the processing container; and a radio-frequency power supply configured to apply a radio-frequency power to the plurality of electrodes and generate capacitively coupled plasma in the processing container.
With respect to claim 5, the plasma processing apparatus of copending Application No. 18/388,974 further comprising: a heater configured to surround the processing container and the plurality of electrodes (claim 11).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/935,537 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Referring to claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/935,537, copending Application No. 18/935,537 discloses a plasma processing apparatus comprising: a processing container; a substrate holder configured to dispose a plurality of substrates in multiple tiers and be inserted into the processing container; a rotary shaft configured to rotate the substrate holder; a gas supply configured to supply a processing gas into the processing container; an exhaust configured to exhaust an inside of the processing container; a plurality of electrodes disposed on an outer side of the processing container and arranged in a circumferential direction of the processing container; and a radio-frequency power supply configured to apply a radio-frequency power to the plurality of electrodes and generate capacitively coupled plasma in the processing container.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/935,538 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Referring to claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/935,538, copending Application No. 18/935,538 disclose a plasma processing apparatus comprising: a processing container; a substrate holder configured to dispose a plurality of substrates in multiple tiers and be inserted into the processing container; a rotary shaft configured to rotate the substrate holder; a gas supply configured to supply a processing gas into the processing container; an exhaust configured to exhaust an inside of the processing container; a plurality of electrodes disposed on an outer side of the processing container and arranged in a circumferential direction of the processing container; and a radio-frequency power supply configured to apply a radio-frequency power to the plurality of electrodes and generate capacitively coupled plasma in the processing container.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 19/242,912 in view of Okumura et al. (U.S. 5,015,330).
Referring to claim 1 of copending Application No. 19/242,912, copending Application No. 19/242,912 disclose a plasma processing apparatus comprising: a processing container; a substrate holder configured to dispose a plurality of substrates in multiple tiers and be inserted into the processing container; a rotary shaft configured to rotate the substrate holder; a plurality of electrodes disposed on an outer side of the processing container and arranged in a circumferential direction of the processing container; and a radio-frequency power supply configured to apply a radio-frequency power to the plurality of electrodes and generate capacitively coupled plasma in the processing container.
copending application No.19/242,912 is silent on a gas supply configured to supply a processing gas into the processing container; an exhaust configured to exhaust an inside of the processing container;
Referring to Figure 1 and column 4, line 65-column 5, line 9, Okumura et al. teach that it is conventionally known in the art to use a gas supply 46 configured to supply a processing gas into the processing container (col. 4, lines 65-68); an exhaust 48 configured to exhaust an inside of the processing container (col. 5, lines 5-9) since they are essential components used in plasma processing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of copending application No.19/242,912 since they are essential components used in plasma processing.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hur et al.’17, Ko et al.’128, Takeda et al.’067, Takeda et al.’705, Masuyama et al.’529, Takashima et al.’396, Kurono et al.’560, and Takeda et al.’212 teach a plurality of electrodes disposed on an outer side of the processing container and arranged in a circumferential direction of the processing container. Kawamura et al.’768, Nakahata et al.’502, Setoyama et al.’482, Yamazaki et al.’508, Chu’939, and Nishio’206 teach a voltage and phase control.
/Michelle CROWELL/Examiner, Art Unit 1716
/SYLVIA MACARTHUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716