DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang US 2021/10351162 A1 in view of Otake et al. US 2002/0011606 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Yang discloses:
A semiconductor structure (10), comprising:
a substrate (120), having a first surface (top) and a conductive trace (128; para 0046) extending above the substrate;
a semiconductor device (100/110), disposed on the first surface of the substrate having edge pads (RP2); and
a plurality of bonding wires (BW3), electrically connected between the substrate and the plurality of edge pads (Fig. 1A).
Yang does not disclose:
A semiconductor device, comprising:
a semiconductor die; and
a redistribution layer, formed on the semiconductor die, the redistribution layer comprising:
a plurality of center pads;
a plurality of edge pads; and
a plurality of conductive wires, electrically connecting the plurality of center pads to the plurality of edge pads;
wherein each of the plurality of conductive wires comprises at least two turning points, and an inner angle at each turning point is greater than a predetermined angle.
Otake discloses a publication from a similar field of endeavor in which:
A semiconductor device (Fig. 14), comprising:
a semiconductor die (210); and
a redistribution layer (700, 211, 710), formed on the semiconductor die, the redistribution layer comprising:
a plurality of center pads (700);
a plurality of edge pads (211); and
a plurality of conductive wires (710), electrically connecting the plurality of center pads to the plurality of edge pads;
wherein each of the plurality of conductive wires comprises at least two turning points, and an inner angle at each turning point is greater than a predetermined angle (710 with angular bends).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to employ the redistribution layer of Otatke on the surface of the semiconductor die/device of Yang to provide a semiconductor integrated circuit that can decrease the adverse influence upon the operation of the internal circuit and effectively prevent a high frequency component of source current change from generating an electromagnetic wave (see Otake paras 0006-0026).
(claim 2) Otake: a first row and a second row (Fig. 14; inner 2 columns of 700); a first direction (vertical).
(claim 3) Otake: Fig. 14.
(claim 4) Otake: a first region and a second region (211 shown on leftmost and rightmost sides in a column formation).
(claim 5) Otake: a second direction (horizontal).
(claim 6) Otake: Fig. 14; 710 shown with several angular bends.
(claim 7) Otake: Fig. 14.
(claim 8) Otake: Fig. 14.
(claim 11) Yang: a plurality of first bonding wires (Fig. 1A: left BW3s on top surface of 110); a plurality of second bonding wires (right BW3s on top surface of 110).
(claim 12) Yang: a molding compound (Fig. 1A: 140).
(claim 13) Yang: a conductive bump (Fig. 1A: EC2 para 0048).
Regarding claim 9, although Otake does not specifically disclose “wherein the conductive wires comprises power lines, ground lines, and signal lines, and a first width of the power lines and the ground lines is greater than a second width of the signal lines”, Otake does gives insight, in para 0075, that the pads 211 include power supply functions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to understand that such external chip pads customarily include signal and ground pads as well for full functionality. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to determine the claimed relationship between the widths of the power/ground and signal lines since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272,205USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 10, although Otake does not specifically disclose “wherein the predetermined angle is between 136 degrees and 179 degrees”, Otake does offer various examples of angular wiring in Fig. 14. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to determine the claimed wiring angle range when referencing Otake’s similar structures since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Conclusion
/ERROL V FERNANDES/Primary Examiner, AU 2893