DETAILED ACTION/EXAMINER’S COMMENT
This Office action responds to the amendments filed on 05/14/2026.
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for a rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Amendment Status
Applicant’s response filed on 05/14/2026 in reply to the non-final rejection mailed on 02/27/2026, has been entered. The present Office action is made with all previously suggested amendments being fully considered. Accordingly, pending in this Office action are claim(s) 1-20.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: “atop surface” in line 5. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 3, 5, 6, 7, 8, & 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ching (US 20220148979) in view of Boja (US 10764996).
Regarding Claim 1, Ching (see, e.g., figs. 15-16) shows a chip package assembly comprising:
a package substrate 500 (see, e.g., para.0079) coupled with an integrated circuit die 100 (see, e.g., para.0079);
a stiffener 600b (see, e.g., para.0079, para.0081) attached to a top surface 500T of the package substrate 500 outward of the integrated circuit die 100;
functional circuitry 124 & 140 (see, e.g., para.0034, para.0037, para.0071) of the integrated circuit die 100
a circuitry 530 (see, e.g., para.0049) of the package substrate 500
Ching, however, fails to show
and a connector assembly integrated with the stiffener and communicatively coupled with the functional circuitry of the integrated circuit die through a circuitry of the package substrate,
wherein the connector assembly comprises
a bracket attached to the package substrate
and a connector coupled to the bracket,
the connector attached to the stiffener.
Boja (see, e.g., fig. 1, annotated figure 1, para.0026), in a similar device to Ching, shows a configuration wherein
and a connector assembly (lower portion of 156 & 158) integrated with the stiffener 156,
wherein the connector assembly comprises
a bracket (lower portion of 156) attached to the package substrate
and a connector 158 coupled to the bracket, the connector attached to the stiffener 156 (attached by the bracket, the lower portion of 156).
Boja uses the configuration of the connector assembly (lower portion of 156 & 158) to attach the stiffener 156 to the package substrate 122. Similarly the device of Ching uses adhesive 710 to attach the stiffener 600b to the package substrate 500. Boja (see, e.g., para.0025-0026) states the stiffener 156 and the connector assembly (lower portion of 156 & 158) would enhance the resistance of the device to out of plane deformation.
The configuration of the connector assembly of Boja is incorporated into the device of Ching.
It would have been obvious at the time of filing the invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the configuration of Boja in the device of Ching to enhance the resistance of the device to out of plane deformation, and because the combination is a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results – the simple substitution of one configuration of attaching a stiffener to a package substrate via an adhesive for a configuration of a connector assembly attaching a stiffener to a package substrate.
The combination of Boja and Ching (see, e.g., annotated figure 2) shows
and a connector assembly (lower portion of 600b & 158) integrated with the stiffener 600b and communicatively coupled (see following paragraph) with functional circuitry 124 & 140 of the integrated circuit die through the circuitry 530 of the package substrate,
wherein the connector assembly comprises
a bracket (lower portion of 600b) attached to the package substrate 500
and a connector 158 coupled to the bracket, the connector 158 attached to the stiffener 600b (attached by the bracket to 600b).
Ching (see, e.g., para.0071, para.0079, para.0081) states “semiconductor die 100 disposed on and electrically connected to the substrate 500, the ring structure 600B, and the lid 800B.” The stiffener 600b is electrically connected to the package substrate 500 via the incorporated connector assembly, lower portion of 600b and connector 158, and is electrically connected to the functional circuitry 124 & 140 of the die 100 through circuitry 530 of the package substrate. Therefore, the connector assembly is communicatively coupled with functional circuitry of the integrated circuit die through the circuitry of the package substrate.
Regarding Claim 2, Ching (see, e.g., fig. 16), in view of Boja, shows the chip package assembly according to claim 1,
wherein both the connector assembly (lower portion of 600b & 158) and the stiffener 600b are disposed at a peripheral area of the top surface 500T (left and right side of 500T, see, e.g., annotated figure 2, fig. 16).
Regarding Claim 3, Ching (see, e.g., figs. 15-16), in view of Boja, shows the chip package assembly according to claim 2,
wherein the connector assembly (lower portion of 600b & 158) and the stiffener 600b are configured to substantially enclose the integrated circuit die (see, e.g., figs. 15-16).
Regarding Claim 5, Ching, in view of Boja, shows the chip package assembly according to claim 1,
wherein the bracket (lower portion of 600b) is formed by a cavity (cavity formed from the opening where 158 is located) of the stiffener 600b (see, e.g., annotated figure 1, annotated figure 2).
Regarding Claim 6, Ching, in view of Boja, shows the chip package assembly according to claim 5,
wherein the cavity is configured to retain the connector (the cavity is the opening where the connector 158 is connected and therefore retains the connector).
Regarding Claim 7, Ching, in view of Boja, shows the chip package assembly according to claim 1,
wherein the bracket (lower portion of 600b) is attached to the top surface 500T of the package substrate 500 (see, e.g., annotated figure 2).
Regarding Claim 8, Ching, in view of Boja, shows the chip package assembly according to claim 7,
wherein the bracket (lower portion of 600b) and the stiffener 600b are coupled to each other directly (see, e.g., annotated figure 2).
Regarding Claim 10, Ching, in view of Boja, shows the chip package assembly according to claim 8,
The current embodiment of Ching (see, e.g., fig. 15), in view of Boja, however, fails to show
wherein the stiffener comprises cantilever extensions configured to engage with the bracket.
Ching (see, e.g., fig. 22, para.0091) in another embodiment teaches a stiffener 600c with cantilevered extensions P1 of the stiffener 600c. Ching states by forming the cantilevered extension P1 along with cantilevering the portion P2 of the top lid 800bc contact surface area would increase contact between the two elements and improve adhesion. The cantilevered extensions P1 of the embodiment of fig. 22 is incorporated into the device of Ching, in view of Boja, to improve adhesion between the lid 800b and the stiffener 600b.
The combination of the fig. 22 embodiment and the device of Ching, in view of Boja shows
wherein the stiffener 600b comprises cantilever extensions P1 (on the left and right side of the stiffener) configured to engage with the bracket (lower portion of 600b, see, e.g., annotated figure 3).
It would have been obvious at the time of filing the invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Ching, in view of Boja, to include the cantilever extensions P1 of the embodiment of fig. 22 to improve adhesion between the lid 800b and the stiffener 600b
Claims 9 & 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ching (US 20220148979) in view of Boja (US 10764996) and further in view of Lim (US 20250054819).
Regarding Claim 9, Ching, in view of Boja, shows the chip package assembly according to claim 8,
Ching, in view of Boja, however, fails to show
wherein the bracket comprises a first part of a retaining mechanism,
the stiffener comprises a second part of the retaining mechanism,
and the first part and the second part engage with each other.
Lim (see, e.g., fig. 2c, para.0074-0076), in a similar device to Ching, in view of Boja, shows
a first part 230 & 230a of a retaining mechanism (elements 230, 230a, 240, & 240a combined form the retaining mechanism),
a second part 240 & 240a of the retaining mechanism,
and the first part and the second part engage with each other (first part of 240 & 240a enters the second part 230 & 230a, see, e.g., fig. 2c).
The configuration of the retaining mechanism 230, 230a, 240, & 240a of Lim would further secure the connection by increasing the contact area, and Lim (see, e.g., para.0076) states the retaining mechanism would facilitate insertion and detachment due to the geometry of the first and second part of the retaining mechanism.
The combination of the configuration of Lim and the device of Ching, in view of Boja, shows
wherein the bracket comprises a first part 230 & 230a of a retaining mechanism,
the stiffener 600b comprises a second part 240 & 240a of the retaining mechanism,
and the first part and the second part engage with each other (connection between the first part and the second part, see, e.g., annotated figure 4).
It would have been obvious at the time of filing the invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Ching, in view of Boja, to include the cantilever extensions P1 of the embodiment of fig. 22 to improve adhesion between the lid 800b and the stiffener 600b
Regarding Claim 11, Ching, in view of Boja, shows the chip package assembly according to claim 7,
Ching, in view of Boja, however, fails to show
wherein the connector comprises retainers that secure the connector to the stiffener.
Lim (see, e.g., fig. 2c, para.0074-0076), in a similar device to Ching, in view of Boja, shows
the connector 220 comprise retainers 240a (which hold 230a of the stiffener) that secure the connector to the stiffener 210
Lim (see, e.g., para.0076) states the retainers 230a & 240a, protrusions and recesses respectively, would facilitate insertion and detachment of connection and secure the connection further by increased surface contact.
The combination of the retainers of Lim is incorporated into the device of Ching, in view of Boja, and shows
wherein the connector 158 comprises retainers 240a (which hold protrusions 230a) that secure the connector 158 to the stiffener 600b
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ching (US 20220148979) in view of Boja (US 10764996) and further in view of Ganesan (US 20140217571).
Regarding Claim 12, Ching, in view of Boja, shows the chip package assembly according to claim 1,
Ching, in view of Boja, however, fails to show
wherein the bracket is coupled to the stiffener by a frame,
wherein the frame comprises
a cutout configured to allow the connector to go through,
and the frame is attached to atop surface of the stiffener.
Ganesan (see, e.g., fig. 2, para.0020), in a similar device to Ching, in view of Boja, teaches a load plate 181 would secure physical connections by locking the device and ensure electrical connections are maintained by applying a downward force. The load plate 181 is incorporated into the device of Ching, in view of Boja, as a frame, to secure physical connections and ensure electrical connections by maintaining a downward force.
The combination of Ganesan and Ching, in view of Boja, shows
wherein the bracket (lower portion of 600b) is coupled to the stiffener 600b by a frame 181,
wherein the frame comprises
a cutout (u shaped region surrounding where the lower portion of 600b and connector 158 are in physical contact, see, e.g., annotated figure 6) configured to allow the connector 158 to go through,
and the frame is attached to atop surface of the stiffener 600b (see, e.g., annotated figure 6).
It would have been obvious at the time of filing the invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the load plate of Ganesan as a frame in the device of Ching, in view of Boja, because the combination would secure physical connections and ensure electrical connections by maintaining a downward force.
Claims 1, 2, 3, & 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamasaki (US 20060050493) in view of Ching (US 20220148979).
Regarding Claim 1, Hamasaki (see, e.g., fig. 1) shows a chip package assembly comprising:
a package substrate 6 (see, e.g., para.0062) coupled with an integrated circuit die 2 (see, e.g., para.0067);
a stiffener 10 (see, e.g., para.0063) attached to a top surface of the package substrate 6 outward (to the right and left of) of the integrated circuit die 2 (see, e.g., fig. 1);
and a connector assembly 11, 12, & 13 (see, e.g., para.0063-0064) integrated with the stiffener
wherein the connector assembly comprises
a bracket 13 (see, e.g., para.0064) attached to the package substrate 6
and a connector 11 & 12 (see, e.g., para.0063-0064) coupled to the bracket 13, the connector attached to the stiffener 10 (see, e.g., fig. 1).
Hamasaki, however, fails to show
and the connector assembly communicatively coupled with functional circuitry of the integrated circuit die through a circuitry of the package substrate
Ching, in a similar device to Hamasaki, teaches a configuration wherein
and the stiffener 600b communicatively coupled with functional circuitry 124 & 140 of the integrated circuit die 100 through a circuitry 530 of the package substrate 500
Ching (see, e.g., para.0071, , para.0079, para.0081) states “semiconductor die 100 disposed on and electrically connected to the substrate 500, the ring structure 600B, and the lid 800B.”
The stiffener (ring structure interpreted as a stiffener) 600b is electrically connected to the package substrate 500 and electrically connected to the functional circuitry 124 & 140 of the integrated circuit die 100 through circuitry 530 of the package substrate. Ching states the stiffener 600b, the package substrate 500, lid 800b, and the adhesives 720 & 710 are all electrically connected and thus form an EMI shielding structure that encloses integrated circuit die 100. The EMI shielding structure improves reliability of the package assembly of Ching by suppressing external electromagnetic waves.
The electrical connections between the elements enclosing the die are incorporated into the device of Hamasaki to form an EMI shielding structure. The connector assembly 11, 12, & 13 of Hamasaki is connected to the stiffener 10 and fosters the connection to the integrated circuit die 2 and the package substrate 6.
The combination of Ching and Hamasaki, teaches
and the connector assembly 11, 12, & 13 communicatively coupled with functional circuitry 5 of the integrated circuit die 2 through a circuitry (internal connections of 6) of the package substrate 6
It would have been obvious at the time of filing the invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the EMI shielding structure of Ching in the device of Hamasaki because the combination would improve reliability of the package assembly by suppressing external magnetic waves.
Regarding Claim 2, Hamasaki (see, e.g., fig. 1), in view of Ching, shows the chip package assembly according to claim 1,
wherein both the connector assembly 11, 12, & 13 and the stiffener 10 are disposed at a peripheral area of the top surface (see, e.g., annotated figure 7).
Regarding Claim 3, Hamasaki, in view of Ching, shows the chip package assembly according to claim 2,
wherein the connector assembly 11, 12, & 13 and the stiffener 10 are configured to substantially enclose the integrated circuit die 2 (the stiffener and connector assembly surround side and top surfaces of die 2, see, e.g., fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 4, Hamasaki (see, e.g., fig. 1, para.0063), in view of Ching, shows the chip package assembly according to claim 3,
wherein the connector assembly 11, 12, & 13 is configured to connect to an optical cable 8 (see, e.g., para.0063).
Claims 19 & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ching (US 20220148979) in view of Boja (US 10764996).
Regarding Claim 19, Ching shows a method of assembling a chip package assembly, the method comprising:
mounting one or more integrated circuit dies 100 (see, e.g., para.0079) to a substrate 500 (see, e.g., para.0079);
and mounting a stiffener 600b (see, e.g., para.0079, para.0081) to the substrate 500 outward of the one or more integrated circuit dies 100;
functional circuitry 124 & 140 (see, e.g., para.0034, para.0037, para.0071) of the one or more integrated circuit dies 100
Ching, however, fails to show
and securing a connector assembly to the chip package assembly via the stiffener,
the connector assembly electrically coupled to the functional circuitry of the one or more integrated circuit dies via the substrate,
wherein securing the connector assembly comprises
attaching a bracket to the substrate,
coupling a connector to the bracket,
and attaching the connector to the stiffener.
Boja (see, e.g., fig. 1, annotated figure 1, para.0026), in a similar method to Ching, shows a configuration wherein
and securing a connector assembly (lower portion of 156 & 158) to the chip package assembly via the stiffener 156,
wherein the securing the connector assembly comprises
attaching a bracket (lower portion of 156) attached to the substrate 122
coupling a connector 158 coupled to the bracket,
and attaching the connector 158 to the stiffener 156 (attached by the bracket, the lower portion of 156).
Boja uses the configuration of the connector assembly (lower portion of 156 & 158) to attach the stiffener 156 to the package substrate 122. Similarly the method of Ching uses adhesive 710 to attach the stiffener 600b to the package substrate 500. Boja (see, e.g., para.0025-0026) states the stiffener 156 and the connector assembly (lower portion of 156 & 158) would enhance the resistance of the device to out of plane deformation.
The configuration of the connector assembly of Boja is incorporated into the method of Ching.
It would have been obvious at the time of filing the invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the configuration of Boja in the method of Ching to enhance the resistance of the device to out of plane deformation, and because the combination is a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results – the simple substitution of one configuration of attaching a stiffener to a package substrate via an adhesive for a configuration of a connector assembly attaching a stiffener to a package substrate.
The combination of Boja and Ching (see, e.g., annotated figure 2) shows
and securing a connector assembly (lower portion of 600b & 158) to the chip package assembly via stiffener 600b
the connector assembly (lower portion of 600b & 158) electrically coupled (see following paragraph) to functional circuitry 124 & 140 of the one or more integrated circuit dies via the substrate,
wherein securing the connector assembly comprises
attaching a bracket (lower portion of 600b) attached to the substrate 500
coupling a connector 158 coupled to the bracket,
and attaching the connector 158 attached to the stiffener 600b (attached by the bracket to 600b).
Ching (see, e.g., para.0071, para.0079, para.0081) states “semiconductor die 100 disposed on and electrically connected to the substrate 500, the ring structure 600B, and the lid 800B.” The stiffener 600b is electrically connected to the package substrate 500 via the incorporated connector assembly, lower portion of 600b and connector 158, and is electrically connected to the functional circuitry 124 & 140 of the die 100 through circuitry 530 of the package substrate. Therefore, the connector assembly is electrically coupled with functional circuitry of the integrated circuit die via the substrate.
Regarding Claim 20, Ching, in view of Boja, shows the method of claim 19,
Ching, in view of Boja, however, fails to show
wherein securing the connector assembly further comprises:
attaching cantilever extensions of the stiffener to the connector.
Ching (see, e.g., fig. 22, para.0091) in another embodiment teaches a stiffener 600c with cantilevered extensions P1 of the stiffener 600c. Ching states by forming the cantilevered extension P1 along with cantilevering the portion P2 of the top lid 800bc contact surface area would increase contact between the two elements and improve adhesion. The cantilevered extensions P1 of the embodiment of fig. 22 is incorporated into the method of Ching, in view of Boja, to improve adhesion between the lid 800b and the stiffener 600b.
The combination of the fig. 22 embodiment and the method of Ching, in view of Boja shows
wherein securing the connector assembly further comprises:
attaching cantilever extensions P1 (on the left and right side of the stiffener) of the stiffener 600b to the connector 158 (the claim language is broad such that indirectly attaching the cantilever extensions through the bracket, lower portion 600b, to the connector 158 renders the limitation obvious, see, e.g., annotated figure 3).
It would have been obvious at the time of filing the invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Ching, in view of Boja, to include the cantilever extensions P1 of the embodiment of fig. 22 to improve adhesion between the lid 800b and the stiffener 600b.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 13 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 14-18 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding the limitation “wherein the connector assembly comprises a bracket attached to the package substrate and a connector coupled to the bracket, the connector attached to the stiffener… a remoted integrated circuit die disposed outside of the chip package assembly” the prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious the claimed limitation in the entirety of the subject matter of Claim 14.
The closest combination of prior art, Ching, in view of Boja, shows a similar invention but does not have the support to show the combination of the bracket and connector of the connector assembly along with a remote die disposed outside of the chip package assembly.
Claims 15-18 are allowed as being dependent on Claim 14.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-7, filed 05/14/2026, with respect to the prior art rejection of claim 14-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The prior art rejection of claims 14-20 has been withdrawn.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/F.R.D./ Examiner, Art Unit 2818
Examiner, Art Unit 2818
/STEVEN H LOKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2818