DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Regarding the amendment filed 01/21/2026: Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Objection to the Specification
Applicant's arguments regarding the objection to the disclosure regarding the acronym/term/symbol/variable “MM”, “t”, and “W” have not been presented and therefore still stand.
Rejection Under 35 USC 101
Applicant's arguments regarding the rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 101 have been fully considered and are not persuasive. Regarding claims 1, 9, and 15, Applicant argues: “Claims 1-20 have been rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101, as being directed to a judicial exception without significantly more. Specifically, the Examiner argues that the claims are mere data gathering. See Office Action, page 5. However, Applicant respectfully disagrees because the alleged mere data gathering is necessary and required for the claims to operate. In addition, there is no abstract replacement for acquiring such measurements in a subterranean region. Thus, the claims are not mere data gathering. Applicant therefore requests that the Examiner withdraw the 35 U.S.C. § 101 rejection of claims 1-20.”.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees, the determining of the signal as claimed is merely mathematical operations, such mathematical formulas use a data processing device such as a processor, controller, etc to perform a set of computations. The claimed NMR machine merely relate to well-understood, routine, and conventional data collection in this type of NMR well-bore logging. This is evidenced by the Speier reference. See at least Par 0047-0048 and Fig. 7.
Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea and therefore, the rejection stands.
Rejection Under 35 USC 103
Applicant's arguments regarding the rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reiderman et al (US 11,422,283 B1, cited in IDS, heretofore referred to as Reiderman) in view of Speier et al (US 2003/0132749 A1, heretofore referred to as Speier) have been fully considered and are persuasive. However, a new rejection has been formed in view of Jachmann et al (US 2016/0018555 A1, heretofore referred to as Jachmann).
Objections
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
3.1) the acronym/term/symbol/variable “MM” should be spelled out on its first appearance.
3.2) the acronym/term/symbol/variable “t” should be spelled out on its first appearance.
3.3) the acronym/term/symbol/variable “W” should be spelled out on its first appearance.
Appropriate correction is required. The examiner appreciates the assistance of the Applicant(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. as set forth below.
The following analysis is performed as set forth in the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance (hereinafter 2019 PEG), as set forth in MPEP § 2106. (Note: the claim limitations below considered to fall within an abstract idea are highlighted in bold font; the remaining features are "additional elements.")
Step 1
Step 1 of the 2019 PEG asks whether a claim is directed to a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter.
Claim 1-8 and 15-20 is directed to a method, and therefore fall within a statutory category.
Claims 9-14 are directed to a machine, and therefore fall within a statutory category.
Claim 1 recites:
" A method to perform nuclear magnetic resonance measurements, and nuclear magnetic resonance tools, the method comprising:
acquiring, using an NMR sensor a first NMR signal from a volume in the subterranean region, wherein the first NMR signal is acquired using a first acquisition window;
acquiring, using the NMR sensor a second NMR signal from a volume in the subterranean region, wherein the second NMR signal is acquired using a second acquisition window different from the first acquisition window;
determining, using the first NMR signal and the second NMR signal, a motion indicator data;
estimating a motion multiplier vector from at least the motion indicator data; and correcting the first NMR signal or the second NMR signal with the motion multiplier vector."
Claim 9 recites:
" A NMR tool for use in a wellbore in a subterranean region, the NMR tool comprising:
a magnet assembly configured to produce a magnetic field in a volume in the subterranean region;
an antenna assembly configured to produce an excitation in the volume, and to receive NMR signals from the volume; and
an acquisition system coupled to the antenna assembly and configured to:
acquire a first NMR signal using a first acquisition window having a first duration; and
acquire a second NMR signal using a second acquisition window having a second duration, wherein the second duration is different than the first duration; and
a processor coupled to the acquisition system and configured to:
acquire using an NMR sensor a first NMR signal from a volume in the subterranean region, wherein the first NMR signal is acquired using a first acquisition window;
acquire using the NMR sensor a second NMR signal from a volume in the subterranean region, wherein the second NMR signal is acquired using a second acquisition window different from the first acquisition window;
determine using the first NMR signal and the second NMR signal, a motion indicator data;
estimating a motion multiplier vector from at least the motion indicator data; and correcting the first NMR signal or the second NMR signal with the motion multiplier vector."
Claim 15 recites:
"15. A non-transitory storage medium comprising instructions, which when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform operations comprising:
acquiring using an NMR sensor a first NMR signal from a volume in the subterranean region, wherein the first NMR signal is acquired using a first acquisition window;
acquiring using the NMR sensor a second NMR signal from a volume in the subterranean region, wherein the second NMR signal is acquired using a second acquisition window different from the first acquisition window;
determining using the first NMR signal and the second NMR signal, a motion indicator data;
estimating a motion multiplier vector from at least the motion indicator data; and correcting the first NMR signal or the second NMR signal with the motion multiplier vector."
The highlighted portion of claim 1 comprises subject matter that falls within the abstract idea judicial exception. Specifically, "… determining, using the first NMR signal and the second NMR signal, a motion indicator data;
estimating a motion multiplier vector from at least the motion indicator data; and correcting the first NMR signal or the second NMR signal with the motion multiplier vector." is a series of abstract process steps that, under a broadest reasonable interpretation, covers mathematical concepts/mental processes performed in the human mind and/or with pen and paper.
Nothing in the claim, other than the generically recited computer elements, precludes the identified abstract process steps from practically being performed in the mind and/or with pen and paper.
The highlighted portion of claim 9 comprises subject matter that falls within the abstract idea judicial exception. Specifically, " determining, using the first NMR signal and the second NMR signal, a motion indicator data;
estimating a motion multiplier vector from at least the motion indicator data; and correcting the first NMR signal or the second NMR signal with the motion multiplier vector." is a series of abstract process steps that, under a broadest reasonable interpretation, covers mathematical concepts/mental processes performed in the human mind and/or with pen and paper.
Nothing in the claim precludes the identified abstract process steps from practically being performed in the mind and/or with pen and paper.
The highlighted portion of claim 15 comprises subject matter that falls within the abstract idea judicial exception. Specifically, "determining, using the first NMR signal and the second NMR signal, a motion indicator data;
estimating a motion multiplier vector from at least the motion indicator data; and correcting the first NMR signal or the second NMR signal with the motion multiplier vector." is a series of abstract process steps that, under a broadest reasonable interpretation, covers mathematical concepts/mental processes performed in the human mind and/or with pen and paper.
Nothing in the claim precludes the identified abstract process steps from practically being performed in the mind and/or with pen and paper.
Step 2A, Prong Two
Step 2A, Prong Two of the 2019 PEG asks whether a claim recites additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. In view of the various considerations encompassed by the Step 2A, Prong Two analysis, claims 1-20 do not include additional elements that integrate the recited abstract idea into a practical application. Based on the individual and collective limitations of claims 1-20 applying a broadest reasonable interpretation, the most significant of such considerations appear to include: improvements to the functioning of a computer, or to any other technology or technical field (MPEP 2106.05(a)); applying the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine (MPEP 2106.05(b)); adding a specific limitation other than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field (MPEP § 2106.05(d)); and applying or using the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception (MPEP 2106.05(e)).
Regarding improvements to the functioning of a computer or other technology or technical field, claims 1-20 do not include any such improvements.
Regarding applying the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine, claims 1-20 do not apply the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine. Claims 9-14 recite generic computer elements, but this is not sufficient to say that the judicial exception is applied with, or by use of, a particular machine.
Regarding adding a specific limitation other than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field, claims 1-20 do not appear to contain such a limitation.
Regarding applying or using the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment (MPEP 2106.05(e)), claims 1-20 do not apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way.
claims 1-20 thus require further analysis under Step 2B.
Step 2B
Step 2B of the 2019 PEG asks whether the claim recites additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
With regards to claim 1: the additional element of acquiring, using an NMR sensor a first NMR signal from a volume in the subterranean region, wherein the first NMR signal is acquired using a first acquisition window merely relates to insignificant extra-solution activity (data gathering). The additional element of acquiring, using the NMR sensor a second NMR signal from a volume in the subterranean region, wherein the second NMR signal is acquired using a second acquisition window different from the first acquisition window merely relates to insignificant extra-solution activity (data gathering). These elements thus fail the "significantly more" test under Step 2B. Claim 1 therefore constitutes ineligible subject matter.
With regards to claim 9: the additional element of a magnet assembly configured to produce a magnetic field in a volume in the subterranean region; an antenna assembly configured to produce an excitation in the volume, and to receive NMR signals from the volume; and an acquisition system coupled to the antenna assembly and configured to: acquire a first NMR signal using a first acquisition window having a first duration; and acquire a second NMR signal using a second acquisition window having a second duration, wherein the second duration is different than the first duration; and a processor coupled to the acquisition system merely relates to conventionally known equipment for using an NMR tool for data gathering, as evidenced by Reiderman et al (US 11,422,283 B1, referenced below, see Fig. 1A). The additional elements of acquire using an NMR sensor a first NMR signal from a volume in the subterranean region, wherein the first NMR signal is acquired using a first acquisition window merely relate to insignificant extra-solution activity (data gathering). The additional elements of acquire using the NMR sensor a second NMR signal from a volume in the subterranean region, wherein the second NMR signal is acquired using a second acquisition window different from the first acquisition window merely relate to insignificant extra-solution activity (data gathering). These elements thus fail the "significantly more" test under Step 2B. Claim 9 therefore constitutes ineligible subject matter.
With regards to claim 15: the additional element of acquiring using an NMR sensor a first NMR signal from a volume in the subterranean region, wherein the first NMR signal is acquired using a first acquisition window merely relates to insignificant extra-solution activity (data gathering). The additional element of acquiring using the NMR sensor a second NMR signal from a volume in the subterranean region, wherein the second NMR signal is acquired using a second acquisition window different from the first acquisition window merely relates to insignificant extra-solution activity (data gathering). These elements thus fail the "significantly more" test under Step 2B. Claim 15 therefore constitutes ineligible subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-11, 13-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reiderman (US 11,422,283 B1) in view of Speier (US 2003/0132749 A1) in view of Jachmann (US 2016/0018555 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Reiderman teaches a method to perform nuclear magnetic resonance measurements (Reiderman; Fig 8 and Col 14, Lines 42-52; Reiderman teaches a method using an NMR tool), and nuclear magnetic resonance tools (Reiderman; Fig 2 and Col 7, Lines 42-62), the method comprising:
acquiring, using an NMR sensor (Reiderman; Fig 2, Element 209 and Col 7, Lines 63-66; Reiderman teaches an NMR antenna) a first NMR signal from a volume in the subterranean region (Reiderman; Col 5, Lines 16-33; Reiderman teaches downhole measuring), wherein the first NMR signal is acquired using a first acquisition window (Reiderman; Col 6, Lines 46-50; Reiderman teaches a first signal is acquired during a first acquisition window);
acquiring, using the NMR sensor a second NMR signal from a volume in the subterranean region, wherein the second NMR signal is acquired using a second acquisition window different from the first acquisition window (Reiderman; Col 6, Lines 50-53; Reiderman teaches a second signal is acquired during a second acquisition window that is different from the first acquisition window);
determining, using the first NMR signal and the second NMR signal, a motion indicator data (Reiderman; Col 10, Lines 40-59 and Col 11, Lines 1-17; Reiderman teaches a motion indicator data is calaculated from the first and second NMR signals).
Reiderman is silent on estimating a motion multiplier vector from at least the motion indicator data and correcting the first NMR signal or the second NMR signal with the motion multiplier vector.
Speier teaches estimating a motion multiplier vector from at least the motion indicator data (Speier; Fig 17-19 and Par 0085-0087; Speier teaches taking the echo vectors, i.e. motion indicator data, from the measurements and using the ratio to determine an indication of motion vector, i.e. a motion multiplier vector)
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the method of Reiderman with the vector of Speier in order to improve the quality of the received signals (Speier; Par 0085).
The combination of Reiderman and Speier is silent on correcting the first NMR signal or the second NMR signal with the motion multiplier vector
Jachmann teaches correcting the first NMR signal or the second NMR signal with the motion multiplier vector (Jachmann; Par 0070; Jachmann teaches taking the echo vectors, i.e. motion indicator data, from the T1 and T2 NMR signals and interpolating/extrapolating the motion indicator data to correct the speed).
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the method of Reiderman with the vector of Speier in order to reduce computational time (Jachmann; Par 0070).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Reiderman, Speier, and Jachmann teaches the method of claim 1. Speier further teaches further comprising applying the motion multiplier vector to generate NMR relaxation data with reduced motion effects (Speier; Par 0094 and 0097; Speier teaches applying the vector to provide T2 relaxation data without motion effects).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Reiderman, Speier, and Jachmann teaches the method of claim 2. Speier further teaches wherein the motion multiplier vector reflects a lateral motion effect on the NMR relaxation data (Speier; Par 0095).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Reiderman, Speier, and Jachmann teaches the method of claim 1. Reiderman further teaches wherein the first acquisition window and the second acquisition window have different durations (Reiderman; Col 10, Lines 22-29; Reiderman teaches different durations for the windows).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Reiderman, Speier, and Jachmann teaches the method of claim 1. Reiderman further teaches wherein the first acquisition window and the second acquisition window have different sizes (Reiderman; Col 10, Lines 22-29; Reiderman teaches different durations for the windows, i.e. different sizes).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Reiderman, Speier, and Jachmann teaches the method of claim 1. Reiderman further teaches wherein the first and second NMR signals are determined responsive to an acquired spin echo signal (Reiderman; Col 7, Lines 25-41; Reiderman receiving spin echo signals), and wherein the first acquisition window and the second acquisition window are substantially symmetric with respect to a center of the spin echo signal (Reiderman; (Reiderman; Fig 7A and Col 13, Lines 39-41; Reiderman teaches axially symmetrical measurements).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Reiderman, Speier, and Jachmann teaches the method of claim 1. Reiderman further teaches wherein the first acquisition window begins at a first time, and wherein the second acquisition window begins approximately at the first time (Reiderman; Fig 7B and Col 13, Lines 41-45; Reiderman teaches the time may begin at the same time for both acquisition windows).
Regarding claim 9, Reiderman teaches a nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) tool (Reiderman; Fig 1C and Col 14, Lines 42-52; Reiderman teaches a method using an NMR tool) for use in a wellbore in a subterranean region (Reiderman; Col 5, Lines 16-33; Reiderman teaches downhole measuring), the NMR tool comprising: a magnet assembly configured to produce a magnetic field in a volume in the subterranean region (Reiderman; Fig 2, Elements 202a, 202b, 204 and Col 7, Lines 42-55; Reiderman teaches a magnet assembly); an antenna assembly configured to produce an excitation in the volume, and to receive NMR signals from the volume (Reiderman; Fig 2, Element 209 and Col 7, Lines 63-66; Reiderman teaches an NMR antenna); and an acquisition system coupled to the antenna assembly and configured to: acquire a first NMR signal using a first acquisition window having a first duration (Reiderman; Col 6, Lines 46-50; Reiderman teaches a first signal is acquired during a first acquisition window); and acquire a second NMR signal using a second acquisition window having a second duration, wherein the second duration is different than the first duration Reiderman; Col 6, Lines 50-53; Reiderman teaches a second signal is acquired during a second acquisition window that is different from the first acquisition window); and a processor coupled to the acquisition system (Reiderman; Fig 1C, Element 110 and Col 4, Line 51-Col 5, Line 15; Reiderman teaches a method using an NMR tool with a processor) and configured to: acquire using an NMR sensor a first NMR signal from a volume in the subterranean region, wherein the first NMR signal is acquired using the first acquisition window (Reiderman; Col 6, Lines 46-50; Reiderman teaches a first signal is acquired during a first acquisition window); acquire using the NMR sensor a second NMR signal from a volume in the subterranean region, wherein the second NMR signal is acquired using the second acquisition window different from the first acquisition window Reiderman; Col 6, Lines 50-53; Reiderman teaches a second signal is acquired during a second acquisition window that is different from the first acquisition window); determine using the first NMR signal and the second NMR signal, a motion indicator data (Reiderman; Col 10, Lines 40-59 and Col 11, Lines 1-17; Reiderman teaches a motion indicator data is calaculated from the first and second NMR signals).
Reiderman is silent on estimating a motion multiplier vector from at least the motion indicator data and correcting the first NMR signal or the second NMR signal with the motion multiplier vector.
Speier teaches estimating a motion multiplier vector from at least the motion indicator data (Speier; Fig 17-19 and Par 0085-0087; Speier teaches taking the echo vectors, i.e. motion indicator data, from the measurements and using the ratio to determine an indication of motion vector, i.e. a motion multiplier vector)
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the method of Reiderman with the vector of Speier in order to improve the quality of the received signals (Speier; Par 0085).
The combination of Reiderman and Speier is silent on correcting the first NMR signal or the second NMR signal with the motion multiplier vector
Jachmann teaches correcting the first NMR signal or the second NMR signal with the motion multiplier vector (Jachmann; Par 0070; Jachmann teaches taking the echo vectors, i.e. motion indicator data, from the T1 and T2 NMR signals and interpolating/extrapolating the motion indicator data to correct the speed).
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the method of Reiderman with the vector of Speier in order to reduce computational time (Jachmann; Par 0070).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Reiderman, Speier, and Jachmann teaches the NMR tool of claim 9. Speier further teaches wherein the processor is further configured to apply the motion multiplier vector to generate NMR relaxation data with reduced motion effects (Speier; Par 0094 and 0097; Speier teaches applying the vector to provide T2 relaxation data without motion effects).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Reiderman, Speier, and Jachmann teaches the NMR tool of claim 10. Speier further teaches wherein the motion multiplier vector reflects a lateral motion effect on the NMR relaxation data (Speier; Par 0095).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Reiderman, Speier, and Jachmann teaches the NMR tool of claim 9. Reiderman further teaches wherein the first acquisition window and the second acquisition window have different durations (Reiderman; Col 10, Lines 22-29; Reiderman teaches different durations for the windows).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Reiderman, Speier, and Jachmann teaches the NMR tool of claim 9. Reiderman further teaches wherein the first acquisition window and the second acquisition window have different sizes (Reiderman; Col 10, Lines 22-29; Reiderman teaches different durations for the windows, i.e. different sizes).
Regarding claim 15, Reiderman teaches a non-transitory storage medium comprising instructions, which when executed by a processor (Reiderman; Fig 1C, Element 110 and Col 4, Line 51-Col 5, Line 15; Reiderman teaches a method using an NMR tool with a processor), cause the processor to perform operations comprising: acquiring using an nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) sensor (Reiderman; Fig 2, Element 209 and Col 7, Lines 63-66; Reiderman teaches an NMR antenna) a first NMR signal from a volume in the subterranean region (Reiderman; Col 5, Lines 16-33; Reiderman teaches downhole measuring), wherein the first NMR signal is acquired using a first acquisition window (Reiderman; Col 6, Lines 46-50; Reiderman teaches a first signal is acquired during a first acquisition window); acquiring using the NMR sensor a second NMR signal from a volume in the subterranean region, wherein the second NMR signal is acquired using a second acquisition window different from the first acquisition window (Reiderman; Col 6, Lines 50-53; Reiderman teaches a second signal is acquired during a second acquisition window that is different from the first acquisition window); determining using the first NMR signal and the second NMR signal, a motion indicator data (Reiderman; Col 10, Lines 40-59 and Col 11, Lines 1-17; Reiderman teaches a motion indicator data is calaculated from the first and second NMR signals).
Reiderman is silent on estimating a motion multiplier vector from at least the motion indicator data and correcting the first NMR signal or the second NMR signal with the motion multiplier vector.
Speier teaches estimating a motion multiplier vector from at least the motion indicator data (Speier; Fig 17-19 and Par 0085-0087; Speier teaches taking the echo vectors, i.e. motion indicator data, from the measurements and using the ratio to determine an indication of motion vector, i.e. a motion multiplier vector)
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the method of Reiderman with the vector of Speier in order to improve the quality of the received signals (Speier; Par 0085).
The combination of Reiderman and Speier is silent on correcting the first NMR signal or the second NMR signal with the motion multiplier vector
Jachmann teaches correcting the first NMR signal or the second NMR signal with the motion multiplier vector (Jachmann; Par 0070; Jachmann teaches taking the echo vectors, i.e. motion indicator data, from the T1 and T2 NMR signals and interpolating/extrapolating the motion indicator data to correct the speed).
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the method of Reiderman with the vector of Speier in order to reduce computational time (Jachmann; Par 0070).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Reiderman, Speier, and Jachmann teaches the non-transitory storage medium of claim 15. Speier further teaches wherein the storage medium further comprises instructions, which when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform operations comprising applying the motion multiplier vector to generate NMR relaxation data with reduced motion effects (Speier; Par 0094 and 0097; Speier teaches applying the vector to provide T2 relaxation data without motion effects).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Reiderman, Speier, and Jachmann teaches the non-transitory storage medium of claim 16. Speier further teaches wherein the motion multiplier vector reflects a lateral motion effect on the NMR relaxation data (Speier; Par 0095).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Reiderman, Speier, and Jachmann teaches the non-transitory storage medium of claim 15. Reiderman further teaches wherein the first acquisition window and the second acquisition window have different durations (Reiderman; Col 10, Lines 22-29; Reiderman teaches different durations for the windows).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Reiderman, Speier, and Jachmann teaches the non-transitory storage medium of claim 15. Reiderman further teaches wherein the first acquisition window and the second acquisition window have different sizes (Reiderman; Col 10, Lines 22-29; Reiderman teaches different durations for the windows, i.e. different sizes).
Comments
The prior art of record found as a result of the search, does not teach alone or in combination all of the elements recited in claims 4, 12, and 18. Therefore, no prior art rejection for claims 4, 12, and 18 is presented in this action. However, Claims 4, 12, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101. It is suggested to contact the Examiner for any clarification with respect the rejection.
Conclusion
/ADAM S CLARKE/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/JUDY NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858