DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 10, 13 – 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gavagnin (US 2023/0319989).
Regarding claim 1, Gavagnin teaches (FIG. 5):
An interposer structure, comprising:
a conductive portion (40) having a first surface and a second surface opposite to the first surface;
a dielectric layer (27, [0050] – [0051]) encapsulating the conductive portion and exposing the first surface and the second surface;
a plurality of first wires (18) formed on the first surface; and
a plurality of second wires (24) disposed over the second surface.
Regarding claim 2, Gavagnin teaches (FIG. 5):
The interposer structure as claimed in claim 1, wherein, in a cross-section view, a pitch of the plurality of first wires is different from a pitch of the plurality of second wires.
Regarding claim 3, Gavagnin teaches growing the nanowire from a conductive surface that may be different from the conductive layer structure ([0023]) and controlling the nanowire distribution by growing from a porous layer ([0038]), which are functionally analogous with a “seed” layer:
The interposer structure as claimed in claim 1, further comprising a seed layer between the conductive portion and the plurality of second wires.
Regarding claim 4, Gavagnin teaches tapered structures ([0018]):
The interposer structure as claimed in claim 3, wherein, in a cross-section view, the conductive portion tapers toward the seed layer.
Regarding claim 5, Gavagnin teaches (FIG. 5):
The interposer structure as claimed in claim 4, wherein a portion of the plurality of first wires is not vertically overlapped by the plurality of second wires.
Regarding claim 6, Gavagnin teaches ([0023]):
The interposer structure as claimed in claim 4, wherein the conductive portion and the plurality of first wires are continuously formed.
Regarding claim 7, Gavagnin teaches (FIG. 4):
A package structure, comprising:
a first substrate (16b);
a second substrate (16a) over the first substrate; and
an interposer (15) between the first substrate and the second substrate, the interposer comprising:
a network portion (26) electrically connecting the first substrate and the second substrate; and
a dielectric layer (28) at least partially encapsulating the network portion and bonding the first substrate and the second substrate.
Regarding claim 8, Gavagnin teaches:
The package structure as claimed in claim 7, wherein the interposer further comprises a via portion interposed by the network portion (40).
Regarding claim 9, Gavagnin teaches (FIG. 4):
The package structure as claimed in claim 8, wherein the via portion is spaced apart from the first substrate or the second substrate.
Regarding claim 10, Gavagnin teaches (FIG. 4):
The package structure as claimed in claim 7, wherein the dielectric layer horizontally overlaps the network portion.
Regarding claim 13, Gavagnin teaches (FIG. 4 – 5):
A package structure, comprising:
a first substrate (16b);
a second substrate (16a) over the first substrate; and
an interposer (15) between the first substrate and the second substrate, the interposer comprising a conductive structure (26) electrically connecting the first substrate and the second substrate, wherein the conductive structure comprises an upper portion (18), a lower portion (24), and a seed layer between the upper portion and the lower portion (growing the nanowire from a conductive surface that may be different from the conductive layer structure ([0023]) and controlling the nanowire distribution by growing from a porous layer ([0038]), which are functionally analogous with a “seed” layer), a first void is formed within the upper portion, and a second void is formed within the lower portion (FIG. 5, [0040]).
Regarding claim 14, Gavagnin teaches (FIG. 5 – growth layer is part of interposer 15):
The package structure as claimed in claim 13, wherein the first substrate has an top surface facing the second substrate, the second substrate has a bottom surface facing the first substrate, and an elevation of the seed layer is between an elevation of the top surface of the first substrate and an elevation of the bottom surface of the second substrate.
Regarding claim 15, Gavagnin teaches:
The package structure as claimed in claim 14, wherein the interposer further comprises a dielectric layer encapsulating the conductive structure (27), and the dielectric layer horizontally overlaps the seed layer (FIG. 5).
Regarding claim 16, Gavagnin teaches (FIG. 5):
The package structure as claimed in claim 15, wherein the dielectric layer horizontally overlaps the first substrate or the second substrate.
Regarding claim 17, Gavagnin teaches (FIG. 5, [0018]):
The package structure as claimed in claim 14, wherein the conductive structure further comprises a via portion (40) between the lower portion and the seed layer, and the via portion tapers toward the seed layer.
Regarding claim 18, Gavagnin teaches (FIG. 5):
The package structure as claimed in claim 17, wherein the via portion is between the elevation of the top surface of the first substrate and the elevation of the bottom surface of the second substrate.
Regarding claim 20, Gavagnin teaches (FIG. 4):
The package structure as claimed in claim 14, wherein the first substrate comprises a first dielectric layer defining a first opening, and the lower portion extends into the first opening, wherein a portion of the lower portion does not contact an inner sidewall of the first opening.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11, 12, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gavagnin (US 2023/0319989).
Regarding claim 11, Gavagnin teaches:
The package structure as claimed in claim 7, wherein the network portion comprises a first network (24) proximal to the first substrate and a second network (18) proximal to the second substrate, and.
Gavagnin fails to expressly disclose a wire density of the first network is different from a wire density of the second network.
However, Gavagnin does expressly teach varying the distribution area, sizes, and shapes of the nanowires for ease of manufacturing and enhancing connections between conductive structures and for connecting substrates of differing technologies ([0014], [0037] – [0042]).
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to form the nanowires on either side of the interposer of whatever density was necessary or expedient for connection to differing upper and lower substrates, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 12, Gavagnin teaches:
The package structure as claimed in claim 11, wherein the second substrate comprises a die ([0042]), and.
Gavagnin fails to expressly disclose the wire density of the second network is greater than the wire density of the first network.
However, Gavagnin does expressly teach varying the distribution area, sizes, and shapes of the nanowires for ease of manufacturing and enhancing connections between conductive structures and for connecting substrates of differing technologies ([0014], [0037] – [0042]).
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to form the nanowires on either side of the interposer of whatever density was necessary or expedient for connection to differing upper and lower substrates, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 19, Gavagnin teaches connection structures having voids, but fails to expressly disclose:
The package structure as claimed in claim 17, wherein from a cross-section view, a size of the first void is larger than a size of the second void.
However, Gavagnin does expressly teach varying the distribution area, sizes, and shapes of the nanowires for ease of manufacturing and enhancing connections between conductive structures and for connecting substrates of differing technologies ([0014], [0037] – [0042]).
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to form the nanowires on either side of the interposer of whatever density was necessary or expedient for connection to differing upper and lower substrates, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Conclusion
/CORY W ESKRIDGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3624