DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Amendments/Remarks filed on May 15, 2026.
Specification
[0086] appears to read 104 F.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, and 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0149600 A1 to Jang (“Jang”).
As to claim 1, Jang discloses a light-emitting diode (LED) package, comprising: a housing (110, 120) that forms a recess (113); a plurality of LED chips (140) arranged within the recess (113), wherein each LED chip (140) of the plurality of LED chips (140) is pitched at a different angle relative to other LED chips (140) of the plurality of LED chips (140); and a convex molded lens (160) over the plurality of LED chips (140) and the housing (110, 120) (See Fig. 8, ¶ 0003, ¶ 0026, ¶ 0030, ¶ 0031, ¶ 0048, ¶ 0050).
As to claim 2, Jang further discloses wherein LED chips (140) of the plurality of LED chips (140) are pitched away from each other such that normal angles of top surfaces of the plurality of LED chips (140) diverge (See Fig. 8, ¶ 0031).
As to claim 3, Jang further discloses wherein the plurality of LED chips (140) are mounted on a submount platform (115) (See Fig. 8, ¶ 0031).
As to claim 7, Jang further discloses wherein the submount platform (115) comprises a plurality of surfaces that are angled with respect to one another, and the LED chips (140) of the plurality of LED chips (140) are mounted on respective surfaces of the plurality of surfaces (See Fig. 8, ¶ 0031). As to claim 27, Jang discloses a light-emitting diode (LED) display comprising: a display panel; and at least one LED package comprising: a housing (110, 120) that forms a recess (113); a plurality of LED chips (140) arranged within the recess (113), wherein each LED chip (140) of the plurality of LED chips (140) is pitched at a different angle relative to other LED chips (140) of the plurality of LED chips (140); and a convex molded lens (160) over the plurality of LED chips (140) and the housing (110, 120) (See Fig. 8, ¶ 0003, ¶ 0026, ¶ 0030, ¶ 0031, ¶ 0048, ¶ 0050). As to claim 28, Jang further discloses wherein LED chips (140) of the plurality of LED chips (140) are pitched away from each other such that normal angles of top surfaces of the plurality of LED chips (140) do diverge (See Fig. 8, ¶ 0031).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1 and 27 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815