DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Specification
[0086] appears to read 104 F.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, and 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2004/0037088 A1 to English et al. (“English”).
As to claim 1, English discloses a light-emitting diode (LED) package, comprising: a housing (12) that forms a recess (at 16); a plurality of LED chips (22) arranged within the recess (at 16), wherein each LED chip (22) of the plurality of LED chips (22) is pitched at a different angle relative to other LED chips (22) of the plurality of LED chips (22); and a convex molded lens (14) over the plurality of LED chips (22) and an entirety of a top of the housing (12) (See Fig. 1, ¶ 0017, ¶ 0022).
As to claim 2, English further discloses wherein LED chips (22) of the plurality of LED chips (22) are pitched away from each other such that normal angles of top surfaces of the plurality of LED chips (22) diverge (See Fig. 1).
As to claim 3, English further discloses wherein the plurality of LED chips (22) are mounted on a submount platform (16) (See Fig. 1).
As to claim 7, English further discloses wherein the submount platform (16) comprises a plurality of surfaces that are angled with respect to one another, and the LED chips (22) of the plurality of LED chips (22) are mounted on respective surfaces of the plurality of surfaces (See Fig. 1). As to claim 27, English discloses a light-emitting diode (LED) display comprising: a display panel (¶ 0003); and at least one LED package comprising: a housing (12) that forms a recess (at 16); a plurality of LED chips (22) arranged within the recess (at 16), wherein each LED chip (22) of the plurality of LED chips (22) is pitched at a different angle relative to other LED chips (22) of the plurality of LED chips (22); and a convex molded lens (14) over the plurality of LED chips (22) and an entirety of a top of the housing (12) (See Fig. 1, ¶ 0003, ¶ 0017, ¶ 0022). As to claim 28, English further discloses wherein LED chips (22) of the plurality of LED chips (22) are pitched away from each other such that normal angles of top surfaces of the plurality of LED chips (22) do diverge (See Fig. 1).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1 and 27 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
/DAVID CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815