DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment/Restriction
Applicant's election with traverse of Species I, Figure 3, and Claims 1, 2, 3, 7, and 17 in the reply filed on January 20, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that “the subject matter of respective claims be both independent and distinct…the Examiner failed to identify class and/or subclass numbers for the respective species to permit Applicant to assess the correctness of such contention…and are not therefore patentably distinct from each other.” This is not found persuasive because the LED chips that are pitched inwards or outwards on different mounting structures clearly comprise independent and distinct features from each other. As set forth in MPEP 808.01(a) “a requirement for restriction is permissible if there is a patentable difference between the species as claimed and there would be a serious search and/or examination burden on the examiner if restriction is not required. See MPEP § 803 and § 808.02.” Further, the serious search and/or examination burden is established by requiring different search queries as set forth in the Restriction Requirement. Lastly, it is not clear what are considered to be the similarities or common aspects to be obvious amongst the species/embodiments. It is not clear whether Applicants are stating the alleged species are obvious variants of each other such that they are all not patentably distinct from each other. It is noted that the prior art in this Office Action applicable to one species appears not likely applicable to another species such that the species are patentably distinct from each other as set forth in the Restriction Requirement. Claims 27 and 28 appear to read on the elected species such that they are also examined in this Office Action.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Specification
[0086] appears to read 104 F.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, 17, and 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2007/0246714 A1 to Koike et al. (“Koike”).
As to claim 1, Koike discloses a light-emitting diode (LED) package, comprising: a housing (101) that forms a recess (reflector cup R); and a plurality of LED chips (150a, 150b, 150c) arranged within the recess (reflector cup R), wherein each LED chip (150a, 150b, 150c) of the plurality of LED chips (150a, 150b, 150c) is pitched at a different angle relative to other LED chips (150a, 150b, 150c) of the plurality of LED chips (150a, 150b, 150c) (See Fig. 2, ¶ 0005, ¶ 0006, ¶ 0024, ¶ 0025).
As to claim 2, Koike further discloses wherein LED chips (150a, 150b, 150c) of the plurality of LED chips (150a, 150b, 150c) are pitched away from each other such that normal angles of top surfaces of the plurality of LED chips (150a, 150b, 150c) diverge (See Fig. 2).
As to claim 3, Koike further discloses wherein the plurality of LED chips (150a, 150b, 150c) are mounted on a submount platform (110) (See Fig. 2, ¶ 0025).
As to claim 7, Koike further discloses wherein the submount platform (110) comprises a plurality of surfaces that are angled with respect to one another, and the LED chips (150a, 150b, 150c) of the plurality of LED chips (150a, 150b, 150c) are mounted on respective surfaces of the plurality of surfaces (See Fig. 2, ¶ 0025).
As to claim 17, Koike discloses further comprising: a molded lens (170) over the plurality of LED chips (150a, 150b, 150c) and the housing (101) (See Fig. 2, ¶ 0024) (Notes: the molded lens is a concave lens as evidenced by Fig. 1 and ¶ 0034 of Lee et al. (US 2019/0335542 A1) to radiate the light from the LED chips). As to claim 27, Koike discloses a light-emitting diode (LED) display comprising: a display panel; and at least one LED package comprising: a housing (101) that forms a recess (reflector cup R); and a plurality of LED chips (150a, 150b, 150c) arranged within the recess (reflector cup R), wherein each LED chip (150a, 150b, 150c) of the plurality of LED chips (150a, 150b, 150c) is pitched at a different angle relative to other LED chips (150a, 150b, 150c) of the plurality of LED chips (150a, 150b, 150c) (See Fig. 2, ¶ 0005, ¶ 0006, ¶ 0024, ¶ 0025). As to claim 28, Koike further discloses wherein LED chips (150a, 150b, 150c) of the plurality of LED chips (150a, 150b, 150c) are pitched away from each other such that normal angles of top surfaces of the plurality of LED chips (150a, 150b, 150c) do diverge (See Fig. 2, ¶ 0025).
Conclusion
/DAVID CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815