DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Status
The status of the claims upon entry of the present amendments stands as follows:
Pending claims:
1, 7-13
Withdrawn claims:
None
Previously canceled claims:
2-6
Newly canceled claims:
None
Amended claims:
1, 7-12
New claims:
13
Claims currently under consideration:
1, 7-13
Currently rejected claims:
1, 7-13
Allowed claims:
None
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujioka (CA 3130907) as evidenced by Coconut Handbook (Coconut Handbook, “Chapter 8: The Chemistry of Coconut Milk and Cream”, TetraPak [accessed online September 28, 2026] https://coconuthandbook.tetrapak.com/chapter/chemistry-coconut-milk-and-cream).
Regarding claim 1, Fujioka teaches of a plant milk treated with deamidase such as protein glutaminase ([0012], [0017]) where examples of plant milk include coconut milk ([0013]). Although Fujioka does not teach the amount of enzyme per g of soluble solids content of the coconut milk, Fujioka teaches that the amount of enzyme added is within the range of 0.01 U/g protein to 500 U/g protein ([0022]), which would inherently overlap with the claimed range. Evidence to support that the disclosed amount of enzyme would overlap with the claimed range is provided by Coconut Handbook. Coconut Handbook discloses that coconut milk comprises 2.14-2.97% protein (p. 4, Table 8.2, row 8) and has a non-fat solids content of 2.7% (p. 2, Table 8.1, row 2). Thus, the enzyme of Fujioka is added in an amount of 0.008 U to 550 U per 1 g non-fat solids content of coconut milk, which overlaps with the claimed range of “10 U or more per 1 g of a soluble solid content”.
0.01
U
e
n
z
y
m
e
1
g
p
r
o
t
e
i
n
×
2.14
g
p
r
o
t
e
i
n
100
g
c
o
c
o
n
u
t
m
i
l
k
×
100
g
c
o
c
o
n
u
t
m
i
l
k
2.7
g
s
o
l
i
d
s
=
0.008
U
/
g
s
o
l
i
d
s
500
U
e
n
z
y
m
e
1
g
p
r
o
t
e
i
n
×
2.97
g
p
r
o
t
e
i
n
100
g
c
o
c
o
n
u
t
m
i
l
k
×
100
g
c
o
c
o
n
u
t
m
i
l
k
2.7
g
s
o
l
i
d
s
=
550
U
/
g
s
o
l
i
d
s
Although Coconut Handbook does not disclose that the non-fat solids content is soluble solids content, one of ordinary skill would recognize that the non-fat solids content would be the highest amount of soluble solids content because fat is known to be insoluble. As such, even if the soluble solids content is less than the non-fat solids content, the amount of enzyme added would still overlap with the claimed range of “10 U or more per 1 g of a soluble solid content”.
With respect to the overlapping ranges, MPEP §2144.05 states “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).”
Regarding claims 7-10, Fujioka teaches of a plant milk treated with deamidase such as protein glutaminase ([0012], [0017]) where examples of plant milk include coconut milk ([0013]).
The preamble recitation of “a flavor improving method”, as well as the limitations “to obtain a coconut milk with improved flavor” (claim 7), “enhanced sweetness” (claim 8), “enhanced milk feeling” (claim 9) and “enhanced coconut flavor” (claim 10), are directed towards the intended use of the claimed method based on a resulting property of the method. MPEP §2111.02(II) states if the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. Shoes by Firebug LLC v. Stride Rite Children’s Grp., LLC, 962 F.3d 1362, 2020 USPQ2d 10701 (Fed. Cir. 2020). Furthermore, MPEP §2112.02(II) states “when the claim recites using an old composition or structure and the "use" is directed to a result or property of that composition or structure, then the claim is anticipated. In re May, 574 F.2d 1082, 1090, 197 USPQ 601, 607 (CCPA 1978)”. Therefore, because the instant claims are directed to a property of the coconut milk treated with protein deamidase, Fujioka discloses the claimed method.
Regarding claims 11-13, Although Fujioka does not teach the amount of enzyme per g of soluble solids content of the coconut milk, Fujioka teaches that the amount of enzyme added is within the range of 0.01 U/g protein to 500 U/g protein ([0022]), which would inherently overlap with the claimed range. Evidence to support that the disclosed amount of enzyme would overlap with the claimed range is provided by Coconut Handbook. Coconut Handbook discloses that coconut milk comprises 2.14-2.97% protein (p. 4, Table 8.2, row 8) and has a non-fat solids content of 2.7% (p. 2, Table 8.1, row 2). Thus, the enzyme of Fujioka is added in an amount of 0.008 U to 550 U per 1 g non-fat solids content of coconut milk, which overlaps with the claimed ranges of “25 U or more per 1 g of a soluble solid content” (claim 11) and “25-125 U per 1 g of soluble solid content” (claims 12 and 13).
0.01
U
e
n
z
y
m
e
1
g
p
r
o
t
e
i
n
×
2.14
g
p
r
o
t
e
i
n
100
g
c
o
c
o
n
u
t
m
i
l
k
×
100
g
c
o
c
o
n
u
t
m
i
l
k
2.7
g
s
o
l
i
d
s
=
0.008
U
/
g
s
o
l
i
d
s
500
U
e
n
z
y
m
e
1
g
p
r
o
t
e
i
n
×
2.97
g
p
r
o
t
e
i
n
100
g
c
o
c
o
n
u
t
m
i
l
k
×
100
g
c
o
c
o
n
u
t
m
i
l
k
2.7
g
s
o
l
i
d
s
=
550
U
/
g
s
o
l
i
d
s
Although Coconut Handbook does not disclose that the non-fat solids content is soluble solids content, one of ordinary skill would recognize that the non-fat solids content would be the highest amount of soluble solids content because fat is known to be insoluble. As such, even if the soluble solids content is less than the non-fat solids content, the amount of enzyme added would still overlap with the claimed range of “25 U or more per 1 g of a soluble solid content” (claim 11) and “25-125 U per 1 g of soluble solid content” (claims 12 and 13).
With respect to the overlapping ranges, MPEP §2144.05 states “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).”
Response to Arguments
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. §103 of claims 1, 7-12 over Fujioka: Applicant’s arguments filed September 4, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argued that Examiner’s reliance on routine optimization is incorrect as Fujioka does not discuss the amount of enzyme as a result-effective variable for the claimed properties (Remarks, p. 4, ¶ 2-4).
This argument has been considered but is moot. The rejection of claims 1 and 11-13 above no longer rely on routine optimization to teach the claimed amount of protein glutaminase used. The Examiner maintains that Fujioka discloses an amount of enzyme used in the invention that overlaps with the claimed ranges.
Applicant further argued that the presently claimed method of manufacture is not obtainable with chickpea or soy milk whereas the invention of Fujioka is shown to work with both chickpea and soy milk (Remarks, p. 4, ¶ 5).
This argument has been considered but is not persuasive. As described in the 35 USC 103 rejection above, Fujioka discloses the claimed invention. The data provided by the instant application to demonstrate that the claimed method did not work with chickpea or soy milk does not negate the disclosure of the claimed invention in Fujioka. The claims are merely directed to a method of manufacturing a coconut milk with protein glutaminase, which is taught by Fujioka. Thus, the claimed invention is rendered obvious.
Applicant's arguments as related to claim 1 were determined to be unpersuasive as detailed previously herein. Examiner further maintains that the dependent claims are properly rejected in light of the cited combinations of prior art as described in the claim rejections.
The rejections of claims 1, 7-13 have been maintained herein.
Conclusion
/A.S.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1793
/EMILY M LE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1793