CTFR 18/245,623 CTFR 97724 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 12-151 AIA 26-51 12-51 Status of Claims Claims 1-6 and 8-20 are pending Claims 18-20 have been withdrawn Claim 7 has been cancelled Claims 1, 13, and 15 have been amended Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding Claim 16: Claim 16 recites the limitation “wherein: a diameter of the recess is greater than or equal to the inner diameter of the cylindrical portion of the first component; or the recess has a greater diameter than the diameter of the substrate.” Reference to a substrate is indefinite because a substrate can vary in size. This limitation is indefinite by reference to an object that is variable because a physical dimension of the recess is being related to a substrate of unknown size or shape. Ex parte Miyazaki, 89 USPQ2d 1207 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 2008) (precedential) and Ex parte Brummer, 12 USPQ2d 1653 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1989). For purposes of prosecution on the merits, claim 16 will be read as “wherein: a diameter of the recess is greater than or equal to the inner diameter of the cylindrical portion of the first component; or the recess has a greater diameter than the diameter of the substrate .” Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-2, 4, 6, and 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Batzer et al. (US 20180163305) in view of Foster et al. (US 5628829) and Bera et al. (US 20090159213), with Guo et al. (US 6050506), Kim et al. (US 20040099378), Rozenzon et al. (US 10008368), and Bera et al. (US 20110180233) as evidentiary references . Regarding Claim 1: Batzer teaches a showerhead (showerhead 40) for processing a substrate in a processing chamber, the showerhead comprising: a first component (bottom layer 167) including a disc-shaped portion (the portion of bottom layer 167 above the cylindrical wall 211, including the radially outer edge 208) and a cylindrical portion (cylindrical wall 211) extending perpendicularly from the disc-shaped portion, the disc-shaped portion having a greater diameter than an outer diameter of the cylindrical portion (as evidenced by Fig. 8A, the radially outer edge 208 has an outer diameter greater than the outer diameter of cylindrical wall 211), the cylindrical portion having an inner diameter (cylindrical wall 211 has an inner diameter), the disc- shaped portion including first (through holes 110) and second sets of holes (restrictions 186) [Fig. 11 & 0058, 0063, 0065, 0069] having first and second diameters, respectively (as evidenced by Fig. 11, the holes 110 and flow restrictions 186 have different diameters) a second component (middle layer 165) being disc-shaped (as evidenced by Fig. 5B and 9, the middle layer 165 is disk shaped), including first through holes (through holes 110) aligned with the first set of holes in the first component (as evidenced by Figs. 5A-5B, 8A, and 10-11, the through holes 110 are aligned through all the layers), having a top surface, side surfaces, and a bottom surface attached to the disc-shaped portion of the first component on a side opposite to the cylindrical portion (as evidenced by Figs. 5A-5B, 8A, and 10-11, the bottom surface of middle layer 165 is attacked to at least a portion of bottom layer 167) and defining a plenum (second plenum 176-2) that is in fluid communication with the second set of holes in the first component and that is separate from the first set of holes in the first component (gas plenums 150 is in fluid communication with restrictions 186; the gas plenums 150 are also fluidly connected with second plenum 176-2) [Fig. 5A and 10-11 & 0055, 0068-0069], the top surface including a pair of arc-shaped grooves (the first and fourth plenums 156-1 and 156-4, respectively) along a periphery and on opposite ends of the top surface and including a plurality of grooves (flow channels 160) extending between the pair of arc-shaped grooves; and a third component (top layer 163) being disc-shaped, including second through holes (through holes 110) aligned with the first through holes in the second component and with the first set of holes in the first component(as evidenced by Figs. 5A-5B, 8A, and 10-11, the through holes 110 are aligned through all the layers) and having a bottom surface attached to the top surface of the second component (as evidenced by Fig. 5B, the top layer 163 has a bottom surface attached to the top surface of middle layer 165), wherein the bottom surface of the second component further comprises a circular groove (first plenum 176-1) along a periphery of the bottom surface of the second component and wherein the circular groove is in fluid communication with the plenum (first plenum 176-1 is in fluid communication with second plenum 176-2) and wherein the circular groove surrounds the first through holes in the second component (as evidenced by Fig. 11, the first plenum 176-1 surrounds the through holes 110) or the circular groove surrounds the pair of arc-shaped grooves [Fig. 5A-5B, 11 & 0050, 0058, 0065, 0068]. Batzer does not specifically disclose the first and second sets of holes extending from a center of the disc-shaped portion to the inner diameter of the cylindrical portion. Although Foster does not specifically disclose "and the first and second sets of holes extending from a center of the disc-shaped portion to the inner diameter of the cylindrical portion," Foster does disclose that the area showerhead holes take up is a result effective variable. Specifically, Foster discloses that hole area can be adjusted depending on the size of a substrate/chamber to change flow uniformity [Foster - Col. 3 lines 57-66, Col. 4 lines 40-45, Col. 6 lines 37-43, Col. 12 lines 13-17]. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to find an optimum area occupied by gas holes to obtain a desired flow uniformity. It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05. Guo et al. (US 6050506) also discloses that hole distribution and density may be adjusted to change flow profile [Guo - Col. 4 lines 53-63, Col. 6 lines 22-46, Col. 5 lines 21-57, Table 1]. Modified Batzer does not specifically disclose wherein the circular groove is a semicircular groove. Bera ‘213 teaches wherein the circular groove is a semicircular groove (channel 2432 is semicircular, as evidenced by Fig. 15) [Fig. 15 & 0072]. It would have been obvious to modify the circular groove of Modified Batzer to be semicircular, as in Bera '213, to uniformize pressure [Bera '213 - 0044, 0049-0050]. It is noted that the groove of Batzer can utilize other shapes [Batzer - 0055, 0068]. Kim et al. (US 20040099378) and Rozenzon et al. (US 10008368) also disclose benefits for utilizing arcuate flow paths [Kim - 0043; Rozenzon - Col. 4 lines 55-67, Col. 5 lines 1-2]. Modified Batzer (Batzer modified by Foster and Bera) does not specifically disclose wherein the semicircular groove surrounds the pair of arc-shaped grooves. Although Batzer does not specifically disclose "wherein the semicircular groove surrounds the pair of arc-shaped grooves," Batzer does disclose that plenum size is a result effective variable. Specifically, plenum size can be adjusted/chosen to achieve gas uniformity [Batzer - 0060]. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to find an optimum size for a gas plenum to obtain a desired gas flow profile [Batzer - 0060]. It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05. It is noted that one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to adjust the size of the circular groove of Modified Batzer such that it is large enough to surround the arc-shaped grooves. Bera et al. (US 20110180233) also discloses that plenum widths can be adjusted to adjust flow rate and heat transfer patterns [Bera '233 - 0028]. Regarding Claim 2: Batzer teaches wherein the first and second sets of holes are arranged in a hexagonal pattern, a triangular pattern, or a combination of a hexagonal pattern and a triangular pattern (the through holes 110 and the secondary gas injectors 112 may be arranged in a triangular or a hexagonal pattern) [Fig. 4A & 0053]. Regarding Claim 4: Batzer teaches wherein first set of holes are arranged in a hexagonal pattern; the second set of holes are lie on vertices of triangles within hexagons formed by the first set of holes; and one of the first set of holes lies within each of the triangles; or wherein: the second set of holes are arranged in a hexagonal pattern; or wherein: the second set of holes are arranged in a hexagonal pattern; the first set of holes are lie on vertices of triangles within hexagons formed by the second set of holes; and one of the second set of holes lies within each of the triangles (as evidenced by the annotated drawings below, the first set of holes are arranged in a hexagonal pattern, wherein the second set of holes are arranged in triangles within the hexagonal pattern) [Fig. 4a & 0053]. PNG media_image1.png 613 637 media_image1.png Greyscale Regarding Claim 6: Batzer teaches wherein: the pair of arc-shaped grooves and the plurality of grooves are separate from the plenum and the first and second sets of holes (as evidenced by Fig. 9 and 11, the plenums 140 are separate from second plenum 176-2); the pair of arc-shaped grooves surround the first through holes in the second component; or the pair of arc-shaped grooves and the plurality of grooves have equal depths (as evidenced by Fig. 9, flow channels 160 and the plenums 140 surround the holes 110) [Fig. 9, 11 & 0065]. Regarding Claim 9: Batzer teaches wherein: the plurality of grooves are parallel to each other; or the plurality of grooves have a zig-zagged shape (as evidenced by Fig. 9, the flow channels 160 are parallel and zig zagged shaped) [Fig. 9 & 0065]. Regarding Claim 10: wherein first ends of the plurality of grooves connect with a first one of the pair of arc-shaped grooves and wherein second ends of the plurality of grooves connect with a second one of the pair of arc-shaped grooves (as evidenced by Fig. 9, the flow channels 160 connect to each plenum, 156 and 156-4, respectively). Regarding Claim 11: Batzer teaches wherein the first through holes in the second component lie between the plurality of grooves (as evidenced by Fig. 9, flow channels 160 and the plenums 140 surround the holes 110) [Fig. 9, 11 & 0065] . 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Batzer et al. (US 20180163305) in view of Foster et al. (US 5628829) and Bera et al. (US 20090159213), with Guo et al. (US 6050506), Kim et al. (US 20040099378), Rozenzon et al. (US 10008368), and Bera et al. (US 20110180233) as evidentiary references , as applied to claim s 1-2, 4, 6, and 9-11 above, and further in view of Tsuda et al. (US 20100272895) . The limitations of claims 1-2, 4, 6, and 9-11 have been set forth above. Regarding Claim 3: Modified Batzer does not specifically disclose wherein hexagons in the hexagonal pattern are equilateral hexagons and wherein triangles in the triangular pattern are equilateral triangles. Although Tsuda does not specifically disclose "wherein hexagons in the hexagonal pattern are equilateral hexagons and wherein triangles in the triangular pattern are equilateral triangles," Tsuda does disclose that the distances between holes are result effective variables. Specifically, Tsuda discloses that the distance between holes affect film uniformity [Tsuda - 0122-0124]. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to find optimum distances between holes to obtain a desired film characteristics. It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05 . 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Batzer et al. (US 20180163305) in view of Foster et al. (US 5628829) and Bera et al. (US 20090159213), with Guo et al. (US 6050506), Kim et al. (US 20040099378), Rozenzon et al. (US 10008368), and Bera et al. (US 20110180233) as evidentiary references , as applied to claim s 1-2, 4, 6, and 9-11 above, and further in view of Chandrasekharan et al. (US 20150007770), with Panagapoulos et al. (US 20090236447) as a further evidentiary reference . The limitations of claims 1-2, 4, 6, and 9-11 have been set forth above. Regarding Claim 5: Modified Batzer teaches a fluid inlet (thermal fluid port 120) in fluid communication with a first one of the pair of arc-shaped grooves (the thermal fluid port 120 is fluidly connected to the one or more heat transfer fluid plenums 140; the plenums 140 include the first to fourth plenums 156-1, 156-2, 156-3, and 156-4); and a fluid outlet (thermal fluid port 122) in fluid communication with a second one of the pair of arc-shaped grooves (the thermal fluid port 122 is fluidly connected to the one or more heat transfer fluid plenums 140; the plenums 140 include the first to fourth plenums 156-1, 156-2, 156-3, and 156-4) [Batzer - Fig. 7, 9 & 0052, 0056, 0065]. Modified Batzer does not specifically disclose wherein the third component further comprises: a gas inlet in fluid communication with the plenum. Chandrasekharan teaches wherein the third component (backplate 482) further comprises: a gas inlet (second gas inlet 446) in fluid communication with the plenum (second plenum volume 404) [Fig. 4 - 0075-0079]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the third component of modified Batzer to include a gas inlet fluidly connected to the plenum, as in Chandrasekharan, to allow for a plasma dome to be free of internal structures, thereby reducing plasma generation interference, and to allow for a larger selection of gases to be fed [Chandrasekharan - 0075-0079]. Panagapoulos et al. (US 20090236447) also discloses that it would be beneficial to include more gas inlets to provide further control over gas compositions, thereby facilitating more uniform processing [Panagopoulos - 0019, 0021, 0024, 0029, 0052] . 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Batzer et al. (US 20180163305) in view of Foster et al. (US 5628829) and Bera et al. (US 20090159213), with Guo et al. (US 6050506), Kim et al. (US 20040099378), Rozenzon et al. (US 10008368), and Bera et al. (US 20110180233) as evidentiary references , as applied to claim s 1-2, 4, 6, and 9-11 above, and further in view of Tam et al. (US 20090095222) The limitations of claims 1-2, 4, 6, and 9-11 have been set forth above. Regarding Claim 8: Modified Batzer teaches wherein the pair of arc-shaped grooves include a plurality of vertically extending ridges (the plurality of restrictions 158-1 to 158-2; the restrictions may be posts) [Batzer - Fig. 9 & 0065-0066, 0073]. Modified Batzer does not specifically disclose a plurality of vertically extending ridges that contact the bottom surface of the third component, and wherein a height of the plurality of vertically extending ridges is equal to a depth of the plurality of grooves. Although Tam does not specifically disclose "a plurality of vertically extending ridges that contact the bottom surface of the third component, and wherein a height of the plurality of vertically extending ridges is equal to a depth of the plurality of grooves," Guo does disclose that the vertical height of flow restrictors is a result effective variable. Specifically, Guo discloses that flow restrictor height can be adjusted to control gas flow rates [Tam - 0068]. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to find optimum heights for flow restrictors to obtain a desired flow profile. It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05 . 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Batzer et al. (US 20180163305) in view of Foster et al. (US 5628829) and Bera et al. (US 20090159213), with Guo et al. (US 6050506), Kim et al. (US 20040099378), Rozenzon et al. (US 10008368), and Bera et al. (US 20110180233) as evidentiary references , as applied to claim s 1-2, 4, 6, and 9-11 above, and further in view of Guo et al. (US 6050506) . The limitations of claims 1-2, 4, 6, and 9-11 have been set forth above. Regarding Claim 12: Modified Batzer does not specifically disclose The showerhead of claim 1 wherein: a ratio of a sum of cross-sectional area of the first set of holes to a cross- sectional area of the cylindrical portion of the first component is between 4.5% and 5.5%; a ratio of a sum of cross-sectional area of the first set of holes to a cross- sectional area of the cylindrical portion of the first component is between 4% and 6%; a ratio of a number of the first set of holes to a number of second set of holes is between 1.00 and 1.05; or a density of the first and second sets of holes is between 4 and 5 holes per square inch. Although Guo does not specifically disclose "a density of the first and second sets of holes is between 4 and 5 holes per square inch," Guo does disclose that hole density is a result effective variable. Specifically, Guo discloses that hole distribution and density may be adjusted to change flow profile [Guo - Col. 4 lines 53-63, Col. 6 lines 22-46, Col. 5 lines 21-57, Table 1]. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to find an optimum hole density to obtain a desired flow profile. It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05 . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 13 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Batzer et al. (US 20180163305) in view of Foster et al. (US 5628829), Yang et al. (US 20190043726), and Sanchez et al. (US 20190048467), with Guo et al. (US 6050506) and Subramani et al. (US 20180087155) as evidentiary references . Regarding Claim 13: Batzer teaches showerhead (showerhead 40) for processing a substrate in a processing chamber, the showerhead comprising: a first component (bottom layer 167) including a disc-shaped portion (the portion of bottom layer 167 above the cylindrical wall 211, including the radially outer edge 208) and a cylindrical portion (cylindrical wall 211) extending perpendicularly from the disc-shaped portion, the disc-shaped portion having a greater diameter than an outer diameter of the cylindrical portion (as evidenced by Fig. 8A, the radially outer edge 208 has an outer diameter greater than the outer diameter of cylindrical wall 211), the cylindrical portion having an inner diameter (cylindrical wall 211 has an inner diameter), the disc- shaped portion including first (through holes 110) and second sets of holes (restrictions 186) [Fig. 11 & 0058, 0063, 0065, 0069] having first and second diameters, respectively (as evidenced by Fig. 11, the holes 110 and flow restrictions 186 have different diameters) a second component (middle layer 165) being disc-shaped (as evidenced by Fig. 5B and 9, the middle layer 165 is disk shaped), including first through holes (through holes 110) aligned with the first set of holes in the first component (as evidenced by Figs. 5A-5B, 8A, and 10-11, the through holes 110 are aligned through all the layers), having a top surface, side surfaces, and a bottom surface attached to the disc-shaped portion of the first component on a side opposite to the cylindrical portion (as evidenced by Figs. 5A-5B, 8A, and 10-11, the bottom surface of middle layer 165 is attacked to at least a portion of bottom layer 167) and defining a plenum (second plenum 176-2) that is in fluid communication with the second set of holes in the first component and that is separate from the first set of holes in the first component (gas plenums 150 is in fluid communication with restrictions 186; the gas plenums 150 are also fluidly connected with second plenum 176-2) [Fig. 5A and 10-11 & 0055, 0068-0069], the top surface including a pair of arc-shaped grooves (the first and fourth plenums 156-1 and 156-4, respectively) along a periphery and on opposite ends of the top surface and including a plurality of grooves (flow channels 160) extending between the pair of arc-shaped grooves; and a third component (top layer 163) being disc-shaped, including second through holes (through holes 110) aligned with the first through holes in the second component and with the first set of holes in the first component (as evidenced by Figs. 5A-5B, 8A, and 10-11, the through holes 110 are aligned through all the layers) and having a bottom surface attached to the top surface of the second component (as evidenced by Fig. 5B, the top layer 163 has a bottom surface attached to the top surface of middle layer 165) [Fig. 5A-5B & 0050, 0058, 0065], wherein the third component comprises: an annular ridge (cylindrical wall 211) on a top surface of the third component along a periphery of the third component (the showerhead may include the cylindrical wall 211; the cylindrical wall 211 may be integrated with or attached to the top surface of showerhead 40); and a recess (the space defined by the cylindrical wall 211) extending from an inner diameter of the annular ridge to a center of the top surface of the third component (as evidenced by Fig. 8B, the space defined by the cylindrical wall 211 extends from an inner diameter of the cylindrical wall 211 to a center of showerhead 40) [Fig. 8B & 0064, 0075]. Batzer does not specifically disclose the first and second sets of holes extending from a center of the disc-shaped portion to the inner diameter of the cylindrical portion. Although Foster does not specifically disclose "and the first and second sets of holes extending from a center of the disc-shaped portion to the inner diameter of the cylindrical portion," Foster does disclose that the area showerhead holes take up is a result effective variable. Specifically, Foster discloses that hole area can be adjusted depending on the size of a substrate/chamber to change flow uniformity [Foster - Col. 3 lines 57-66, Col. 4 lines 40-45, Col. 6 lines 37-43, Col. 12 lines 13-17]. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to find an optimum area occupied by gas holes to obtain a desired flow uniformity. It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05. Guo et al. (US 6050506) also discloses that hole distribution and density may be adjusted to change flow profile [Guo - Col. 4 lines 53-63, Col. 6 lines 22-46, Col. 5 lines 21-57, Table 1]. Additionally/alternatively, Yang teaches wherein the third component comprises: an annular ridge (raised annular section 4065) on a top surface of the third component along a periphery of the third component (blocker plate 4060); and a recess (the recess defined by volume 4057) extending from an inner diameter of the annular ridge to a center of the top surface of the third component (as evidenced by Fig. 8, the recess defined by volume 4057 extends from an inner diameter of the annular section 4065 to a center of the blocker plate 4060) [Fig. 8 & 0098, 0101]. It would have been obvious to modify the third component of modified Batzer to include an annular ridge with a recess, as in Yang, to improve structural rigidity [Yang - 0101]. Additionally, Subramani et al. (US 20180087155) also discloses that a recessed portion may be beneficial so as to evenly distribute gas on the backside of a showerhead [Subramani - 0026, 0032]. Modified Batzer does not specifically disclose wherein a width of the annular ridge is greater than or equal to a thickness of the cylindrical portion of the first component. Although Sanchez does not specifically disclose "wherein a width of the annular ridge is greater than or equal to a thickness of the cylindrical portion of the first component," Sanchez does disclose that the inner/outer diameters of respective portions of a showerhead, particularly portions not containing apertures, are result effective variables. Specifically, Sanchez discloses that inner and outer diameters of a showerhead (wherein the inner diameter defines a recess), can be adjusted to affect throughput and gas flow [Sanchez - 0040-0042]. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to find optimum inner/outer diameters for respective portions of a showerhead to obtained a desired gas flow profile. It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05. Littau et al. (US 6461435) also discloses that showerhead ridge/wall thicknesses are result effective variables. Specifically, Littau discloses that the thickness/width of a showerhead wall can be adjusted to change heat transfer with other components in a chamber. [Littau - Col. 5 lines 35-56]. Regarding Claim 14: Modified Batzer does not specifically disclose wherein: the inner diameter of the annular ridge is greater than or equal to the inner diameter of the cylindrical portion of the first component; or an outer diameter of the annular ridge is greater than or equal to an outer diameter of the cylindrical portion of the first component. Although Sanchez does not specifically disclose "wherein: the inner diameter of the annular ridge is greater than or equal to the inner diameter of the cylindrical portion of the first component; or an outer diameter of the annular ridge is greater than or equal to an outer diameter of the cylindrical portion of the first component," Sanchez does disclose that the inner/outer diameters of respective portions of a showerhead, particularly portions not containing apertures, are result effective variables. Specifically, Sanchez discloses that inner and outer diameters of a showerhead (wherein the inner diameter defines a recess), can be adjusted to affect throughput and gas flow [Sanchez - 0040-0042]. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to find optimum inner/outer diameters for respective portions of a showerhead to obtained a desired gas flow profile. It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05. Littau et al. (US 6461435) also discloses that showerhead ridge/wall thicknesses are result effective variables. Specifically, Littau discloses that the thickness/width of a showerhead wall can be adjusted to change heat transfer with other components in a chamber. [Littau - Col. 5 lines 35-56]. Regarding Claim 15: Modified Batzer does not specifically disclose wherein: a width of the annular ridge is greater than or equal to a thickness of the cylindrical portion of the first component. Although Sanchez does not specifically disclose "a width of the annular ridge is greater than or equal to a thickness of the cylindrical portion of the first component," Sanchez does disclose that the inner/outer diameters of respective portions of a showerhead, particularly portions not containing apertures, are result effective variables. Specifically, Sanchez discloses that inner and outer diameters of a showerhead (wherein the inner diameter defines a recess), can be adjusted to affect throughput and gas flow [Sanchez - 0040-0042]. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to find optimum inner/outer diameters for respective portions of a showerhead to obtained a desired gas flow profile. It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05. Littau et al. (US 6461435) also discloses that showerhead ridge/wall thicknesses are result effective variables. Specifically, Littau discloses that the thickness/width of a showerhead wall can be adjusted to change heat transfer with other components in a chamber. [Littau - Col. 5 lines 35-56]. Regarding Claim 16: Modified Batzer does not specifically disclose wherein: a diameter of the recess is greater than or equal to the inner diameter of the cylindrical portion of the first component; or the recess has a greater diameter than the diameter of the substrate. Although Sanchez does not specifically disclose "wherein: a diameter of the recess is greater than or equal to the inner diameter of the cylindrical portion of the first component," Sanchez does disclose that the inner/outer diameters of respective portions of a showerhead, particularly portions not containing apertures, are result effective variables. Specifically, Sanchez discloses that inner and outer diameters of a showerhead (wherein the inner diameter defines a recess), can be adjusted to affect throughput and gas flow [Sanchez - 0040-0042]. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to find optimum inner/outer diameters for respective portions of a showerhead to obtained a desired gas flow profile. It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05. Littau et al. (US 6461435) also discloses that showerhead ridge/wall thicknesses are result effective variables. Specifically, Littau discloses that the thickness/width of a showerhead wall can be adjusted to change heat transfer with other components in a chamber. [Littau - Col. 5 lines 35-56]. Regarding Claim 17: Batzer teaches wherein: the second through holes in the third component lie within the inner diameter of the annular ridge (as evidenced by Fig. 8B, the through holes 110 are within the recess defined by cylindrical wall 211); or the second through holes in the third component lie within the recess [Fig. 8B & 0064]. Additionally/alternatively, Yang teaches wherein: the second through holes in the third component lie within the inner diameter of the annular ridge (as evidenced by Fig. 8, the apertures are disposed within the recess defined by volume 4057); or the second through holes in the third component lie within the recess [Fig. 8 & 0098, 0101]. It would have been obvious to modify the third component of modified Batzer to include an annular ridge with a recess, as in Yang, to improve structural rigidity [Yang - 0101]. Additionally, Subramani et al. (US 20180087155) also discloses that a recessed portion may be beneficial so as to evenly distribute gas on the backside of a showerhead [Subramani - 0026, 0032]. Response to Arguments Applicant' s arguments, see Remarks, filed 02/23/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-6, 8-15, and 17 under 35 USC 112b have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 1-6, 8-15, and 17 under 35 USC 112b has been withdrawn in full. Applicant' s arguments, see Remarks, filed 02/23/2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 16 under 35 USC 112b have been fully considered but is not persuasive. Claim 16 recites the limitation “wherein: a diameter of the recess is greater than or equal to the inner diameter of the cylindrical portion of the first component; or the recess has a greater diameter than the diameter of the substrate.” Reference to a substrate is indefinite because a substrate can vary in size. This limitation is indefinite by reference to an object that is variable because a physical dimension of the recess is being related to a substrate of unknown size or shape. Ex parte Miyazaki, 89 USPQ2d 1207 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 2008) (precedential) and Ex parte Brummer, 12 USPQ2d 1653 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1989). For purposes of prosecution on the merits, claim 16 will be read as “wherein: a diameter of the recess is greater than or equal to the inner diameter of the cylindrical portion of the first component; or the recess has a greater diameter than the diameter of the substrate .” Applicant' s arguments, see Remarks, filed 02/23/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-6 and 8-17 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the combination of references does not specifically disclose “wherein the bottom surface of the second component further comprises a semicircular groove along a periphery of the bottom surface of the second component, wherein the semicircular groove is in fluid communication with the plenum, and wherein the semicircular groove surrounds the pair of arc-shaped grooves,” because the combination of references has no teaching regarding a semicircular groove in fluid communication with the plenum that surrounds a pair of arc-shaped grooves. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Firstly, Batzer et al. (US 20180163305) discloses that plenum size is a result effective variable. Specifically, plenum size can be adjusted/chosen to achieve gas uniformity [Batzer - 0060]. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to find an optimum size for a gas plenum to obtain a desired gas flow profile [Batzer - 0060]. It has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05. It is noted that one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to adjust the size of the circular groove of Modified Batzer such that it is large enough to surround the arc-shaped grooves on the top surface. As such, the combination of references would disclose the aforementioned limitation. Bera et al. (US 20110180233) also discloses that plenum widths can be adjusted to adjust flow rate and heat transfer patterns [Bera '233 - 0028]. Conclusion 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JOSHUA NATHANIEL PINEDA REYES whose telephone number is (571)272-4693. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 8 AM to 4:30 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Gordon Baldwin can be reached at (571) 272-5166. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /J.R./Examiner, Art Unit 1718 /GORDON BALDWIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1718 Application/Control Number: 18/245,623 Page 2 Art Unit: 1718 Application/Control Number: 18/245,623 Page 3 Art Unit: 1718 Application/Control Number: 18/245,623 Page 4 Art Unit: 1718 Application/Control Number: 18/245,623 Page 5 Art Unit: 1718 Application/Control Number: 18/245,623 Page 6 Art Unit: 1718 Application/Control Number: 18/245,623 Page 7 Art Unit: 1718 Application/Control Number: 18/245,623 Page 8 Art Unit: 1718 Application/Control Number: 18/245,623 Page 9 Art Unit: 1718 Application/Control Number: 18/245,623 Page 10 Art Unit: 1718 Application/Control Number: 18/245,623 Page 11 Art Unit: 1718 Application/Control Number: 18/245,623 Page 12 Art Unit: 1718 Application/Control Number: 18/245,623 Page 13 Art Unit: 1718 Application/Control Number: 18/245,623 Page 14 Art Unit: 1718 Application/Control Number: 18/245,623 Page 15 Art Unit: 1718 Application/Control Number: 18/245,623 Page 16 Art Unit: 1718 Application/Control Number: 18/245,623 Page 17 Art Unit: 1718 Application/Control Number: 18/245,623 Page 18 Art Unit: 1718 Application/Control Number: 18/245,623 Page 19 Art Unit: 1718 Application/Control Number: 18/245,623 Page 20 Art Unit: 1718 Application/Control Number: 18/245,623 Page 21 Art Unit: 1718 Application/Control Number: 18/245,623 Page 22 Art Unit: 1718 Application/Control Number: 18/245,623 Page 23 Art Unit: 1718 Application/Control Number: 18/245,623 Page 24 Art Unit: 1718