DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments, filed 2/17/2026, have been fully considered and reviewed by the examiner. The examiner notes the amendments to claim 1. Claims 1-26 remain pending in the instant application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 2/17/2026, are directed to newly added claim requirements that are specifically addressed hereinafter and therefore are deemed moot.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, drawn to method, in the reply filed on 10/7/2025 is acknowledged. Examiner agrees with the Applicant’s statements regarding the claim number in the lack of unity requirement, claims 1-26 are directed to the elected invention. Claim 27 is withdrawn as directed to a non-elected invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 requires “sulfur content of less than 0.5%”; however, a full and fair reading of the specification fails to provide proper support for the entire breadth of the range as claimed.
Dependent claims do not cure the deficiencies of the claims from which they depend.
Claims 1-26 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 requires “sulfur content of less than 0.5%”; however, it is unclear the % measurement and what that term encompasses, i.e. weight %, atomic %, volume %, and therefore the metes and bound of the claims can not be ascertained.
Dependent claims do not cure the deficiencies of the claims from which they depend.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication 20150093915 by Reddy et al.
Claim 1: Reddy discloses a method of forming an ashable hard mask (AHM) film, comprising: exposing a substrate to a process gas comprising a hydrocarbon precursor gas and a deposition enhancer molecule (see e.g. claims 2-3 below); and depositing on the substrate the AHM film by a plasma enhanced chemical vapor deposition (PECVD) process using the process gas (0022-0026, 0031). While the examiner maintains the position as set forth above and incorporates herein the rejection above, the examiner notes Reddy explicitly discloses the PECVD deposition of AHM using carbon precursor, sulfur precursor and inert gas (0025-0027) and discloses propylene and SF6 are known precursors to be used and therefore selecting these known precursors from a finite list of such precursors and using them together would have been obvious as predictable.
As for the “deposition enhancer molecule comprises a hypervalent halogen, Reddy discloses SF6 as a deposition enhancer molecule (0026), which as evidenced by claim 2-3 would meet the requirements of the claim properties of the material as it is the same material as calimed by the applicant. In other words, since the prior art discloses SF6 and applicant’s discloses SF6 comprises a hypervalent halogen by evidence of claims 2-3, Reddy’s compound meet the requirement of a hypervalent halogen as claimed. Mere recognition of latent properties in the prior art does not render nonobvious an otherwise known invention. In re Wiseman, 596 F.2d 1019, 201 USPQ 658 (CCPA 1979).
As for the requirement of sulfur content of less than 0.5%, the examiner notes Reddy discloses “atomic sulfur content may be between about 0.5% and about 5%” and therefore overlaps the range as claimed as “about 0.5%” would encompass amounts slightly less than 0.5% and thus meet the claims as drafted. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie” inside ranges disclosed by prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257 191 USPQ 90. See MPEP 2144.05. At the very least, the range as disclosed by Reddy abovts the claimed range and thus makes obvious such. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art do not overlap but are close enough that one in ordinary skill in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 f.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP 2144.05. Finally, Reddy discloses the amount of sulfur is a result effective variable directly affecting the “masking strength and increases etch selectivity” and therefore it would have been obvious to have determined the optimum sulfur content through routine experimentation to provide the mask with the desired properties.
Claim 2-3: Reddy discloses SF6 as a deposition enhancer molecule (0026).
Claim 4-5: Reddy discloses propylene (0025).
Claim 6: Reddy discloses carbon precursor at 2500 sccm and sulfur additive at 50 sccm (0066), which is within the claimed range. See also 0029. As for the volumetric flow ratio of gases, the prior art discloses the flow rates of each of the carbon and sulfur materials that result in a ratio that overlaps the claimed range and thus makes obvious such (0029).
Claim 7: Reddy fails to disclose the deposition rate; however, the deposition rate as claimed is disclosed as a function of the claimed process steps, i.e. a result of process, and the prior art discloses each and every process step that the applicant’s disclose and claim as being required to achieve the claimed deposition rate, as such, by disclosing the claimed steps, the prior art will result in the claimed deposition rate. Mere recognition of latent properties in the prior art does not render nonobvious an otherwise known invention. In re Wiseman, 596 F.2d 1019, 201 USPQ 658 (CCPA 1979). "The fact that appellant has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious." Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985)
Claim 8: Reddy fails to disclose the formation of HF during depositing the AHM film; however, this is disclosed as a result of performing the claimed process steps, i.e. a result, and the prior art discloses each and every process step using the same precursors that the applicant’s disclose and claim as being required to achieve the claimed formation of HF, as such, by disclosing the claimed steps, the prior art will result in the claimed formation of HF. Mere recognition of latent properties in the prior art does not render nonobvious an otherwise known invention. In re Wiseman, 596 F.2d 1019, 201 USPQ 658 (CCPA 1979). "The fact that appellant has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious." Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985)
Claim 9-10: Reddy discloses carrier gas as claimed, including He, Ar, N2 (0027).
Claim 11: Reddy discloses the process gas comprises the hydrocarbon precursor gas, the deposition enhancer molecule, and the inert gas (0027).
Claim 12: Reddy discloses the substrate is positioned on a pedestal while depositing the AHM film, and the pedestal has a temperature between about 20° C. and about 750° C. (Figure 3 and accompanying text, 0030). Reddy discloses the substrate is positioned on a pedestal while depositing the AHM film, and the pedestal has a temperature between about 20° C. and about 750° C. (Figure 3 and accompanying text, 0030), fully encompassing and making obvious the claimed range.
Claim 13: Reddy fails to explicitly disclose the deposition enhancer molecule inhibits an etch process resulting from hydrogen radicals, ions, or both bonding with carbon atoms in the deposited AHM film; however, this is disclosed as a result of performing the claimed process steps, i.e. a result, and the prior art discloses each and every process step using the same precursors that the applicant’s disclose and claim as being required inhibit the etch process as claimed, as such, by disclosing the claimed steps as well as the deposition enhancer, the prior art will result in the claimed inhibition of the etching process. Mere recognition of latent properties in the prior art does not render nonobvious an otherwise known invention. In re Wiseman, 596 F.2d 1019, 201 USPQ 658 (CCPA 1979). "The fact that appellant has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious." Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985)
Claim 14: Reddy fails to explicitly disclose the deposition enhancer molecule does not cause etching of the AHM film; however, this is disclosed as a result of performing the claimed process steps, i.e. a result, and the prior art discloses each and every process step using the same precursors that the applicant’s disclose and claim as being required to achieve the claimed formation of HF, as such, by disclosing the claimed steps as well as the deposition enhancer, the prior art will result in the deposition enhancer not causing etching of the AHM film. Mere recognition of latent properties in the prior art does not render nonobvious an otherwise known invention. In re Wiseman, 596 F.2d 1019, 201 USPQ 658 (CCPA 1979). "The fact that appellant has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious." Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985)
Claim 15: Reddy discloses the PECVD process comprises igniting a plasma generated by a dual radio frequency (RF) plasma source including a high frequency (HF) component and a low frequency (LF) component (0031, Figure 3 and accompany text).
Claim 16-17: Reddy discloses the HF component has a power of 400 W(see 0065) and LF component of 1000 W (0065), each squarely in the range. Reddy discloses the HF component has a power of 400W (see 0065) and LF component of 1000 W (0065), each squarely in the range and additionally discloses a range of powers that encompass/overlap the claimed range and thus makes obvious the instant claimed power.
Claim 18: Reddy discloses the PECVD process is performed at a pressure of about 1 to about 11 Torr (see 0028). Reddy discloses the PECVD process is performed at a pressure of about 1 to about 20 Torr (see 0028), fully encompassing and making obvious the claimed range.
Claim 19: Reddy discloses a modulus of 30 to 50 GPa (0034), see also Table 1. Reddy discloses a modulus of 30 to 50 GPa (0034), see also Table 1, within the claimed range and thus making obvious the claimed range.
Claim 20: Reddy discloses a thickness of 1000 A to 90,000 A (0003), fully encompassing and thus making obvious the claimed range.
Claims 21, 23 and 24: Reddy fails to explicitly disclose the hardness of AHM film, extinction coefficient, and refractive index of the deposited film; however, this is disclosed as a result of performing the claimed process steps, i.e. a result, and the prior art discloses each and every process step using the same precursors that the applicant’s disclose and claim as being required to achieve the claimed hardness of AHM film, extinction coefficient, and refractive index of the deposited film, as such, by disclosing the claimed steps as well as the deposition enhancer and AHM formation steps, the prior art will result in the hardness of AHM film, extinction coefficient, and refractive index of the deposited film. Mere recognition of latent properties in the prior art does not render nonobvious an otherwise known invention. In re Wiseman, 596 F.2d 1019, 201 USPQ 658 (CCPA 1979). "The fact that appellant has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious." Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985)
Claim 22: Reddy discloses an internal stress within the range as claimed (00034, table 1). Reddy discloses an internal stress within the range as claimed (00034, table 1) and discloses a range that overlaps the claimed range (0034) and thus making obvious the claimed range.
Claim 25: Reddy discloses mostly carbon (0067).
Claim 26: Reddy fails to explicitly disclose the hydrogen content of the deposited film; however, this is disclosed as a result of performing the claimed process steps, i.e. a result, and the prior art discloses each and every process step using the same precursors that the applicant’s disclose and claim as being required to achieve the claimed hardness of AHM film, extinction coefficient, and refractive index of the deposited film, as such, by disclosing the claimed steps as well as the deposition enhancer and AHM formation steps, the prior art will result in the hydrogen content of the deposited film. Mere recognition of latent properties in the prior art does not render nonobvious an otherwise known invention. In re Wiseman, 596 F.2d 1019, 201 USPQ 658 (CCPA 1979). "The fact that appellant has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious." Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID P TUROCY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718