DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1-2, 5-7 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Faure et al (US 2009/0321884).
With respect to Claim 1, Faure et al discloses a method of fabricating a substrate for epitaxial growth of a layer of gallium nitride (GaN) of aluminum gallium nitride (AlGaN) or of indium gallium nitride (In GaN) (Figures 1-9, paragraphs 133-141) comprising the following successive steps; providing a single-crystal semi-insulating silicon carbide donor substrate (Figure 1, 2, paragraph 81) , implanting ionic species into the donor substrate (Figure 1, 230) so as to form a weakened region (Figure 1, 22) defining a thin layer of single-crystal semi-insulating SiC to be transferred (Figure 1, 22-23); bonding (Figure 2) the donor substrate to a first receiver substrate (Figure 1, 1) via a bonding layer (Figure 2, 32); detaching (Figures 2- 3, paragraph 99) the donor substrate along the weakened region (Figure 2, 22) so as to transfer the thin layer of single-crystal semi-insulating SiC to the first receiver substrate (Figure 1, 1); forming an additional layer (Figure 5, 5 and paragraphs 80-81 and 108) of semi-insulating SiC on the transferred thin layer of semi-insulating SiC; bonding the additional layer of semi-insulating SiC (Figure 5, 5) to a second receiver substrate (Figure 7, 6, and paragraphs 127-129) having a high electrical resistivity (same materials are used) ; and removing at least one portion of the bonding layer so as to detach the first receiver substrate and uncover the transferred thin layer of semi-insulating SiC (Figures 8-9, layers 5 and 6 are removed uncovering layer 23). See Figures 1-9 and corresponding text, especially paragraphs 80-99 and 112-124.
With respect to Claim 2, and the limitation wherein the first receiver substrate and the donor substrate have a difference in coefficient of thermal expansion smaller than or equal to 3 x 10 (-6) K (-1), Faure et al disclose the use of the same materials. See paragraphs 80-83.
With respect to Claim 5, Faure et al wherein the bonding layer is formed from a material that remains thermally stable during formation of the additional layer of semi-insulating SiC and that is capable of being removed from an interface between the transferred thin layer of single-crystal semi-insulating SiC and the first receiver substrate. See paragraph 62, silicon nitride bonding layer.
With respect to Claim 6, Faure et al discloses wherein the bonding layer is a layer of silicon nitride or gallium nitride. See paragraph 62.
With respect to Claim 7, Faure et al discloses wherein removing the at least one portion of the bonding layer comprises a chemical etch, a delamination laser and/or application of a mechanical stress. See paragraph 124
With respect to Claim 11, Faure et al discloses that the second receiver substrate is a polycrystalline SiC substrate, See paragraphs 118 and 127-129.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4, 8-10, 12, 14 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faure et al (2009/0321884).
Faure et al is relied upon as discussed above.
However, Faure et al does not explicitly disclose the limitations of the Claims at hand.
With respect to Claim 3, and the limitation “wherein the first receiver substrate is an SiC substrate having a crystal quality lower than that of the donor substrate”, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to determine the optimum crystal quality of the substrates. Official Notice of this fact is taken by the Examiner. For example one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to use a carrier substrate having a lower crystal quality, as the substrate is ultimately removed.
With respect to Claim 4, and the limitation “wherein a thickness of the transferred thin layer of semi-crystal semi-insulating SiC transferred to the first receiver substrate is smaller than 1 micron”, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to arrive at the claimed dimension as changes in size are prima facie obvious in the absence of unobvious results. See In re Rose, 220 F2d 459,(CCPA 1955).
With respect to Claim 8, and the limitation “wherein the additional layer of semi-insulating SiC is formed simultaneously by depositing silicon, carbon and vanadium”, the Examiner takes Official Notice that the formation method of SiC is well known in the art.
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to use a process of simultaneously depositing silicon, carbon and vanadium, for its known benefit in the art of forming SiC.
With respect to Claim 9, and the limitation “wherein the second receiver substrate is a silicon substrate having an electrical resistivity of greater than 100 ohm cm”, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to arrive at the claimed dimension as changes in size are prima facie obvious in the absence of unobvious results. See In re Rose, 220 F2d 459,(CCPA 1955).
With respect to Claim 10, and the limitation, “wherein the additional layer of semi-insulating SiC has a thickness between 1 and 5 microns”, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art , before the effective date of the invention, to arrive at the claimed dimension as changes in size are prima facie obvious in the absence of unobvious results. See In re Rose, 220 F2d 459,(CCPA 1955).
With respect to Claim 12, and the limitation “wherein the additional layer of semi-insulating SiC has a thickness smaller than or equal to 80 microns”, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to arrive at the claimed dimension as changes in size are prima facie obvious in the absence of unobvious results. See In re Rose, 220 F2d 459,(CCPA 1955).
With respect to Claim 14, and the limitation “further comprising a step of recycling a segment of the donor substrate detached from the transferred thin layer”, the Examiner takes Official Notice that the recycling of substrates is well known in the art, for its benefit in reducing costs. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art , before the effective date of the invention, to recycle donor substrates for its known benefit in the art of reducing costs.
With respect to Claim 18, and the limitation “the first receiver substrate is an SiC substrate having a crystal quality lower than that of the donor substrate”, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to determine the optimum crystal quality of the substrates. Official Notice of this fact is taken by the Examiner. For example one of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to use a carrier substrate having a lower crystal quality, as the substrate is ultimately removed.
With respect to Claim 19, and the limitation “ wherein a thickness of the transferred thin layer of single-crystal semi-insulating SiC transferred to the first receiver substrate is less than 1 micron” , it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to arrive at the claimed dimension as changes in size are prima facie obvious in the absence of unobvious results. See In re Rose, 220 F2d 459,(CCPA 1955).
With respect to Claim 20, Faure et al wherein the bonding layer is formed from a material that remains thermally stable during formation of the additional layer of semi-insulating SiC and that is capable of being removed from an interface between the transferred thin layer of single-crystal semi-insulating SiC and the first receiver substrate. See paragraph 62, silicon nitride bonding layer.
Claims 13 and 15- 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faure et al (2009/0321884) as applied to claims 1-12, 14-16 and 18-20 above, and further in view of Guiot (US 2023/0411140).
Faure et al is relied upon as discussed above.
However, Faure et al does not disclose the use of a silicon face on the donor substrate or the formation of HEMT devices, as required by the Claims at hand.
Guiot et al is relied upon to disclose the use of silicon interfaces on SiC substrates in a epitaxial growth GaN process, and the use of silicon interfaces to reduce cost (paragraph 9); and the use of the epitaxial GaN device to form HEMT devices (figure 10 and corresponding text, especially paragraphs 100-105).
With respect to Claims 13 and 15, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to use a silicon interface on the silicon carbide substrate in the process of Faure et al, for its known benefit in the art of reducing costs as disclosed by Guiot et al.
With respect to Claim 16, and the limitation “wherein the layer of gallium nitride has a thickness between 1 and 2 microns” , it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to arrive at the claimed dimension as changes in size are prima facie obvious in the absence of unobvious results. See In re Rose, 220 F2d 459,(CCPA 1955).
With respect to Claim 17, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to use the process of forming gallium nitride of Faure et al, for its known benefit in the art of forming a HEMT device as disclosed by Guiot et al. The use of a known process, for its known benefit of forming a known device, would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim Objections
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 17 depends on itself. Appropriate correction is required. Claim 17 has been examined as depending on independent Claim 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
AGG
March 12, 2026
/ALEXANDER G GHYKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812