DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on (4/26/2023), is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Claims (1-21) are pending and being examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Michael Kellogg (US 20150044873) in view of Lee et al (US 20110042009) and Sugiyama et al (US 6733620).
Michael Kellogg discloses a confinement ring (305);
a lower horizontal section (305c);
a downwardly extending section (335);
radially extending slots (226); each of the slots preferably having a length of at least 1.0 inch, and a width of about 0.01 to 0.2 inch;
upper horizontal section (305a);
a vertical section (305b) extending downwardly from an outer end of the upper annular section (305a) (see paragraphs 15-17, and Fig 2B).
Michael Kellogg does not disclose "an inner slot radius of each slot at the inner diameter is less than an outer slot radius of each slot at the outer diameter"
Lee et al disclose a baffle plate including first vents (22) parts through which reaction gas passes. Lee teaches that vents (22) are not limited to a slot shape, and may be formed in various shapes considering a plasma environment condition (see paragraphs 56-57, and figure 2). The slots appear to be tapered as in Fig 3. However, Sugiyama et al disclose tapered slot more explicitly (Fig 11).
It is noted that the claim 1 requires slot radius smaller at the near diameter. This effectively a tapered slot with rounded edges. Sugiyama et al discloses taper more explicitly in Fig 11 while rounded edge is disclosed in Fig 4A or 4B.
Therefore, having claimed shape for plasma spatial environment control would have been obvious.
Regarding claims 2 and 10 the taper as defined by the radius is discussed above.
Regarding claims 3, 5 and 13 inner upper radius is greater.
Regarding claims 4 and 14, step is disclosed in 2A and 2B.
Regarding claim 6 slot length is disclosed more than 1.0 inch (Para 17).
Regarding claims 7 and 15 fastening holes are disclosed at 338 in Michael Kellogg.
Regarding claims 8 and 16 lower extension 335 of horizontal section sits on outer ring 400 (Fig 2A).
Regarding claim 9 and 12 the confinement ring is a C shaped structure in Kellogg.
Regarding claim 11 limitations additional to those of claim 1 are Upper and lower electrodes and ground ring. These are however disclosed in Kellogg as chamber (300), upper electrode (303), lower electrode (317) and ground ring (400).
Regarding claim 17 the confinement ring contains silicon (Abstract).
Regarding claims 18 and 19 the dimensions of the confinement ring are made according to the gap between the upper and lower electrode in order to confine the plasma therein (Para 32).
Regarding claim 20 extension section is integral with lower horizontal section in Kellogg.
Regarding claim 21the slots provide for evacuation of gas during processing (Para 5).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chen et al (US 20200051792) discloses a similar confinement ring (Fig 1 and 2A).
Canniff (US 20180040479) discloses another similar confinement ring (Fig 2).
Kellogg et al (US 2012000608) discloses another similar confinement ring (Fig 4A-4C).
RAM N. KACKAR
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1716
/RAM N KACKAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716