DETAILED ACTION
Status
Acknowledgment is made of the amendment filed on 7/24/2025, which amended claims 20, 22, 24, 28-29, 34-36, and 38 and cancelled claim 26. Claims 20-25 and 27-39 are currently pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claim 38 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 38, line 10, “the one or more optical elements are” should be changed to --the at least one optical element is-- to correct antecedence.
Appropriate correction is required to place claims in better form.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 28-33 and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 28, the claimed subject matter “a sub-atmospheric pressure conditioning fluid reservoir configured to operate at sub-atmospheric pressure and to store at least part of a liquid conditioning fluid” and “wherein the sub-atmospheric pressure conditioning fluid reservoir is disposed below the one or more optical elements such that a hydrostatic pressure difference between the one or more optical elements and the sub-atmospheric conditioning fluid reservoir reduces the pressure at the one or more optical elements to below atmospheric pressure” in lines 3-4 and 12-15 was not described in the specification to reasonably convey that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention at the time of filing. Although Fig. 7 and para. [0059] of the specification does describe a conditioning fluid reservoir arranged at a lower height than the optical element 19 to generate a reduced pressure on the optical element, Fig. 7 and para. [0059] are silent regarding the pressure of the conditioning fluid reservoir itself, and this disclosed embodiment does not fairly support the amended claim language “a sub-atmospheric pressure conditioning fluid reservoir configured to operate at sub-atmospheric pressure and to store at least part of a liquid conditioning fluid.” Furthermore, there is no evidence or suggestion from the originally-filed specification that the embodiment of Fig. 7 intended to include the conditioning fluid reservoir 16 as a sub-atmospheric pressure conditioning fluid reservoir configured to operate at sub-atmospheric pressure. Instead, Fig. 7 and para. [0059] appear to adequately support possession of a conditioning fluid reservoir configured to store at least part of a liquid conditioning fluid and wherein the conditioning fluid reservoir is disposed below the one or more optical elements such that a hydrostatic pressure difference between the one or more optical elements and the conditioning fluid reservoir reduces the pressure at the one or more optical elements to below atmospheric pressure. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would not have reasonably concluded that the inventor had possession, at the time the application was filed of the invention, of claim 28 as currently drafted. Claim 28 is rejected as failing to comply with the written description requirement.
Regarding claim 29, the claimed subject matter “a conditioning fluid reservoir; a sub-atmospheric pressure conditioning fluid reservoir configured to operate at sub-atmospheric pressure and to store at least part of a liquid conditioning fluid” and “wherein the conditioning fluid reservoir and the sub-atmospheric pressure conditioning fluid reservoir are in fluid connection with one another via a valve that is operable to control the level of conditioning fluid in the conditioning fluid reservoir that is in fluid communication with the one or more optical elements such that a hydrostatic pressure difference is achieved between the one or more optical elements and the sub-atmospheric pressure conditioning fluid reservoir” in lines 2-4 and lines 12-17 was not described in the specification to reasonably convey that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention at the time of filing. Although Fig. 8 and para. [0060] of the specification does describe two conditioning fluid reservoirs arranged connected to via a valve to control the hydrostatic pressure of the conditioning fluid provided to optical element 19 to generate a reduced pressure on the optical element, Fig. 8 and para. [0060] are silent regarding the pressure of the conditioning fluid reservoirs, and this disclosed embodiment does not fairly support the amended claim language “a sub-atmospheric pressure conditioning fluid reservoir configured to operate at sub-atmospheric pressure and to store at least part of a liquid conditioning fluid.” Furthermore, there is no evidence or suggestion from the originally-filed specification that the embodiment of Fig. 8 intended to include a conditioning fluid reservoir as a sub-atmospheric pressure conditioning fluid reservoir configured to operate at sub-atmospheric pressure. Instead, Fig. 8 and para. [0060] appear to adequately support possession of two conditioning fluid reservoirs configured to store at least part of a liquid conditioning fluid and wherein the conditioning fluid reservoirs are in fluid connection with one another via a valve that is operable to control the level of conditioning fluid in the conditioning fluid reservoir that is in fluid communication with the one or more optical elements such that a hydrostatic pressure difference is achieved between the one or more optical elements and one of the conditioning fluid reservoirs. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would not have reasonably concluded that the inventor had possession, at the time the application was filed, of the invention of the invention of claim 29 as currently drafted. Claim 29 and all claims depending therefrom are rejected as failing to comply with the written description requirement.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 25, the limitation “wherein the conditioning system further comprises a conditioning fluid reservoir” in lines 1-2 is vague and indefinite. Claim 25 depends from independent claim 24, and it is unclear if the “conditioning fluid reservoir” is a separate reservoir from “a sub-atmospheric pressure conditioning fluid reservoir” introduced in claim 24 or if the limitation is meant to refer to the sub-atmospheric pressure conditioning fluid reservoir introduced in claim 24 and fails to further limit claim 24, and it is unclear which embodiment of the disclosed invention claim 25 is meant to encompass because the specification does not appear to define a conditioning system comprising both “a sub-atmospheric pressure conditioning fluid reservoir” and “a conditioning fluid reservoir.” Therefore, the claim language as drafted does not clearly and precisely define the metes and bounds of the claimed invention. For the purposes of examination, the limitation is being interpreted as meaning the conditioning system further comprises a second conditioning fluid reservoir. Thus, claim 25 is rejected as being indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 20, 21, 29-32, and 34-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Berkel et al. (US PGPub 2019/0033499, Van Berkel hereinafter) in view of Novak (US Patent No. 5,998,889)
Regarding claim 20, Van Berkel discloses a conditioning system (Figs. 1-6, paras. [0041], [0048]-[0055], [0062]), comprising
wherein the conditioning system is for a lithographic apparatus (Figs. 1-6, paras. [0019]-[0029], [0031]-[0032], [0041], [0048]-[0055], [0062], the coolant supply system is used to cool a mirror in a lithographic apparatus LA),
wherein the conditioning system is configured to condition one or more optical elements of the lithographic apparatus (Figs. 1-6, paras. [0019]-[0029], [0031]-[0032], [0041], [0048]-[0055], [0062], the coolant supply system is used to cool a mirror),
wherein the one or more optical elements are conditioned under vacuum or a low pressure of gas (Figs. 1-6, abstract, paras. [0020], [0030]-[0031], [0068], a reflector for EUV radiation in lithographic apparatus LA is in a vacuum environment and is cooled);
wherein the conditioning system is configured to have a sub-atmospheric pressure at the one or more optical elements (Figs. 1-6, paras. [0020], [0041], [0048]-[0055], [0062], claim 24, a coolant supply unit 43 supplies fluid to the reflector 13 in a range including sub-atmospheric pressure, 0.001 bar to below 1 bar), and
wherein the liquid conditioning fluid is water (Figs. 1-6, paras. [0040]-[0041], [0048]-[0055], [0062], the coolant supply system supplies water as a coolant). Van Berkel does not appear to explicitly describe a sub-atmospheric pressure conditioning fluid reservoir configured to operate at sub-atmospheric pressure and to store at least part of a liquid conditioning fluid.
Novak discloses a sub-atmospheric pressure conditioning fluid reservoir configured to operate at sub-atmospheric pressure and to store at least part of a liquid conditioning fluid (Fig. 10, col. 4, lines 2-3, col. 4, lines 24-63, the coolant fluid recirculating system 50 and tanks 51 and 52 are held at below atmospheric pressure. The tanks 51 and 52 store coolant liquid).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a sub-atmospheric pressure conditioning fluid reservoir configured to operate at sub-atmospheric pressure and to store at least part of a liquid conditioning fluid as taught by Novak in the conditioning system as taught by Van Berkel since including a sub-atmospheric pressure conditioning fluid reservoir configured to operate at sub-atmospheric pressure and to store at least part of a liquid conditioning fluid is commonly used to prevent liquid from leaking out of the system (Novak, col. 4, lines 24-41).
Regarding claim 21, Van Berkel as modified by Novak discloses wherein the sub-atmospheric pressure conditioning fluid reservoir is connected to a vacuum pump and/or a gas inlet (Novak, Fig. 10, col. 4, lines 24-63, tank 52 is connected to a vacuum source via vacuum connection 54. Tank 51 is connected to valve 53 to introduce air into the chamber 51).
Regarding claim 29, Van Berkel discloses a conditioning system (Figs. 1-6, paras. [0041], [0048]-[0055], [0062]), comprising:
wherein the conditioning system is for a lithographic apparatus (Figs. 1-6, paras. [0019]-[0029], [0031]-[0032], [0041], [0048]-[0055], [0062], the coolant supply system is used to cool a mirror in a lithographic apparatus LA),
wherein the conditioning system is configured to condition one or more optical elements of the lithographic apparatus (Figs. 1-6, paras. [0019]-[0029], [0031]-[0032], [0041], [0048]-[0055], [0062], the coolant supply system is used to cool a mirror in the lithographic apparatus LA),
wherein the one or more optical elements are conditioned under vacuum or a low pressure of gas (Figs. 1-6, abstract, paras. [0020], [0030]-[0031], [0068], a reflector for EUV radiation in lithographic apparatus LA is in a vacuum environment and is cooled);
wherein the conditioning system is configured to have a sub-atmospheric pressure at the one or more optical elements (Figs. 1-6, paras. [0041], [0048]-[0055], [0062], claim 24, a coolant supply unit 43 supplies fluid to the reflector 13 in a range including sub-atmospheric pressure, 0.001 bar to below 1 bar). Van Berkel does not appear to explicitly describe a conditioning fluid reservoir; a sub-atmospheric pressure conditioning fluid reservoir configured to operate at sub-atmospheric pressure and to store at least part of a liquid conditioning fluid, wherein the conditioning fluid reservoir and the sub-atmospheric pressure condition fluid reservoir are in fluid connection with one another via a valve that is operable to control the level of conditioning fluid in the conditioning fluid reservoir that is in fluid communication with the one or more optical elements such that a hydrostatic pressure difference is achieved between the one or more optical elements and the sub-atmospheric pressure conditioning fluid reservoir.
Novak discloses a conditioning fluid reservoir (Fig. 10, col. 4, lines 24-63, the coolant fluid recirculating system 50 includes tanks 51 and 52);
a sub-atmospheric pressure conditioning fluid reservoir configured to operate at sub-atmospheric pressure and to store at least part of a liquid conditioning fluid (Fig. 10, col. 4, lines 2-3, col. 4, lines 24-63, the coolant fluid recirculating system 50 and tanks 51 and 52 are held at below atmospheric pressure. The tanks 51 and 52 store coolant liquid);
wherein the conditioning fluid reservoir and the sub-atmospheric pressure condition fluid reservoir are in fluid connection with one another via a valve that is operable to control the level of conditioning fluid in the conditioning fluid reservoir that is in fluid communication with the conditioned element such that a hydrostatic pressure difference is achieved between the conditioned element and the sub-atmospheric pressure conditioning fluid reservoir (the limitation “such that a hydrostatic pressure difference is achieved between the conditioned element and the sub-atmospheric pressure conditioning fluid reservoir” recites functional language in an apparatus claim that describes the manner of operating the device that does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the structure of Novak. See MPEPE 2114, subsection II. Fig. 10, col. 4, lines 24-67, tanks 51 and 52 are connected via pump 56 which is controlled by the pressure conditions detected by switches SW1 and SW2 to pump liquid from tank 52 to tank 51. The tanks are in fluid communication with cooling jacket 25 to provide fluid with an input pressure to the cooling jacket below atmospheric pressure).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a conditioning fluid reservoir, a sub-atmospheric pressure conditioning fluid reservoir configured to operate at sub-atmospheric pressure and to store at least part of a liquid conditioning fluid, wherein the conditioning fluid reservoir and the sub-atmospheric pressure condition fluid reservoir are in fluid connection with one another via a valve that is operable to control the level of conditioning fluid in the conditioning fluid reservoir that is in fluid communication with the conditioned element such that a hydrostatic pressure difference is achieved between the conditioned element and the sub-atmospheric pressure conditioning fluid reservoir as taught by Novak for the one or more optical elements in the conditioning system as taught by Van Berkel since including a conditioning fluid reservoir; a sub-atmospheric pressure conditioning fluid reservoir configured to operate at sub-atmospheric pressure and to store at least part of a liquid conditioning fluid, wherein the conditioning fluid reservoir and the sub-atmospheric pressure condition fluid reservoir are in fluid connection with one another via a valve that is operable to control the level of conditioning fluid in the conditioning fluid reservoir that is in fluid communication with the one or more optical elements such that a hydrostatic pressure difference is achieved between the one or more optical elements and the sub-atmospheric pressure conditioning fluid reservoirs commonly used to control the pressure in the fluid recirculation system to prevent liquid from leaking out of the system (Novak, col. 4, lines 24-41).
Regarding claim 30, Van Berkel as modified by Novak discloses wherein the conditioning system further comprises a liquid conditioning fluid comprising water (Van Berkel, Figs. 1-6, paras. [0040]-[0041], [0048]-[0055], [0062], the coolant supply system supplies water as a coolant).
Regarding claim 31, Van Berkel as modified by Novak discloses wherein at least one of the one or more optical elements is a reflector or a mirror (Van Berkel, Figs. 1-6, paras. [0019]-[0029], [0031]-[0032], [0041], [0048]-[0055], [0062], the coolant supply system is used to cool a mirror).
Regarding claim 32, Van Berkel as modified by Novak discloses wherein the conditioning system is configured to operate at between around 0.02 and 0.9 bara (Van Berkel, Figs. 1-6, paras. [0041], [0048]-[0055], [0062], claim 24, a coolant supply unit 43 supplies fluid to the reflector 13 in a range including sub-atmospheric pressure, 0.001 bar to below 1 bar).
Regarding claim 34, Van Berkel discloses a lithographic apparatus (Figs. 1-6, paras. [0019]-[0029], [0031]-[0032], [0041], [0048]-[0055], [0062], lithographic apparatus LA), comprising:
a conditioning system configured to condition a liquid conditioning fluid, wherein the liquid conditioning fluid comprises water (Figs. 1-6, paras. [0019]-[0029], [0031]-[0032], [0040]-[0041], [0048]-[0055], [0062], the coolant supply system is used to cool a mirror in a lithographic apparatus LA, and the coolant supply system supplies water as a coolant); and
wherein the conditioning system is configured to condition one or more optical elements of the lithographic apparatus (Figs. 1-6, paras. [0019]-[0029], [0031]-[0032], [0041], [0048]-[0055], [0062], the coolant supply system is used to cool a mirror),
wherein the one or more optical elements are conditioned under vacuum or a low pressure of gas (Figs. 1-6, abstract, paras. [0020], [0030]-[0031], [0068], a reflector for EUV radiation in lithographic apparatus LA is in a vacuum environment and is cooled);
wherein the conditioning system is configured to have a sub-atmospheric pressure at the one or more optical elements (Figs. 1-6, paras. [0020], [0041], [0048]-[0055], [0062], claim 24, a coolant supply unit 43 supplies fluid to the reflector 13 in a range including sub-atmospheric pressure, 0.001 bar to below 1 bar). Van Berkel does not appear to explicitly describe a sub-atmospheric pressure conditioning fluid reservoir configured to operate at sub-atmospheric pressure and to store at least part of the liquid conditioning fluid.
Novak discloses a sub-atmospheric pressure conditioning fluid reservoir configured to operate at sub-atmospheric pressure and to store at least part of the liquid conditioning fluid (Fig. 10, col. 4, lines 2-3, col. 4, lines 24-63, the coolant fluid recirculating system 50 and tanks 51 and 52 are held at below atmospheric pressure. The tanks 51 and 52 store coolant liquid).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a sub-atmospheric pressure conditioning fluid reservoir configured to operate at sub-atmospheric pressure and to store at least part of the liquid conditioning fluid as taught by Novak in the conditioning system in the lithographic apparatus as taught by Van Berkel since including a sub-atmospheric pressure conditioning fluid reservoir configured to operate at sub-atmospheric pressure and to store at least part of the liquid conditioning fluid is commonly used to prevent liquid from leaking out of the system (Novak, col. 4, lines 24-41).
Regarding claim 35, Van Berkel discloses a sub-atmospheric pressure conditioning method in a lithographic apparatus (Figs. 1-6, abstract, paras[0019]-[0029], [0031]-[0032], [0041], [0048]-[0055], [0062], the coolant supply system is used to cool a mirror in a lithographic apparatus LA), comprising:
conditioning one or more optical elements of the lithographic apparatus under vacuum or a low pressure of gas (Figs. 1-6, abstract, paras. [0020], [0030]-[0031], [0068], a reflector for EUV radiation in lithographic apparatus LA is in a vacuum environment and is cooled);
using a sub-atmospheric pressure at the one or more optical elements (Figs. 1-6, abstract, paras. [0020], [0030]-[0031], [0041], [0048]-[0055], [0062], [0068], claim 24, the reflector 13 is arranged in an EUV system. A coolant supply unit 43 supplies fluid to the reflector 13 in a range including sub-atmospheric pressure, 0.001 bar to below 1 bar),
using water as a liquid conditioning fluid (Figs. 1-6, paras. [0040]-[0041], [0048]-[0055], [0062], the coolant supply system supplies water as a coolant). Van Berkel does not appear to explicitly describe storing at least part of the liquid conditioning fluid in a sub-atmospheric pressure conditioning fluid reservoir.
Novak discloses storing at least part of the liquid conditioning fluid in a sub-atmospheric pressure conditioning fluid reservoir (Fig. 10, col. 4, lines 2-3, col. 4, lines 24-63, the coolant fluid recirculating system 50 and tanks 51 and 52 are held at below atmospheric pressure. The tanks 51 and 52 store coolant liquid).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included storing at least part of the liquid conditioning fluid in a sub-atmospheric pressure conditioning fluid reservoir as taught by Novak in the sub-atmospheric pressure conditioning method as taught by Van Berkel since including storing at least part of the liquid conditioning fluid in a sub-atmospheric pressure conditioning fluid reservoir is commonly used to prevent liquid from leaking out of the system (Novak, col. 4, lines 24-41).
Regarding claim 36, Van Berkel discloses a method of conditioning a system or sub-system of a lithographic apparatus (Figs. 1-6, abstract, paras[0019]-[0029], [0031]-[0032], [0041], [0048]-[0055], [0062], the coolant supply system is used to cool a mirror in a lithographic apparatus LA) the method comprising:
conditioning one or more optical elements of the system or sub-system under vacuum or a low pressure of gas (Figs. 1-6, abstract, paras. [0020], [0030]-[0031], [0068], a reflector for EUV radiation is in a vacuum environment and is cooled);
using a sub-atmospheric pressure at the one or more optical elements (Figs. 1-6, abstract, paras. [0030]-[0031], [0041], [0048]-[0055], [0062], [0068], claim 24, the reflector 13 is arranged in an EUV system. A coolant supply unit 43 supplies fluid to the reflector 13 in a range including sub-atmospheric pressure, 0.001 bar to below 1 bar);
using water as a liquid conditioning fluid (Figs. 1-6, paras. [0040]-[0041], [0048]-[0055], [0062], the coolant supply system supplies water as a coolant). Van Berkel does not appear to explicitly describe storing at least part of the liquid conditioning fluid in a sub-atmospheric pressure conditioning fluid reservoir.
Novak discloses storing at least part of the liquid conditioning fluid in a sub-atmospheric pressure conditioning fluid reservoir (Fig. 10, col. 4, lines 2-3, col. 4, lines 24-63, the coolant fluid recirculating system 50 and tanks 51 and 52 are held at below atmospheric pressure. The tanks 51 and 52 store coolant liquid).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included storing at least part of the liquid conditioning fluid in a sub-atmospheric pressure conditioning fluid reservoir as taught by Novak in the method of conditioning as taught by Van Berkel since including storing at least part of the liquid conditioning fluid in a sub-atmospheric pressure conditioning fluid reservoir is commonly used to prevent liquid from leaking out of the system (Novak, col. 4, lines 24-41).
Regarding claim 37, Van Berkel as modified by Novak discloses wherein the system or sub-system comprises an optical element, a reflector or a mirror (Van Berkel, Figs. 1-6, paras. [0041], [0048]-[0055], [0062], claim 24, a coolant supply unit 43 supplies fluid to the reflector 13).
Regarding claim 38, Van Berkel discloses a lithographic method (Figs. 1-6, paras. [0041], [0048]-[0055], [0062]) comprising:
projecting a patterned beam of radiation onto a substrate (Figs. 1-6, paras. [0019]-[0026], the lithographic apparatus LA includes a projection system PS that projects the beam patterned by patterning device MA onto a substrate W), the patterned beam being directed or patterned using at least one optical element conditioned using a conditioning system (Figs. 1-6, paras. [0019]-[0029], [0031]-[0032], [0041], [0048]-[0055], [0062], the projection system PS includes a reflector 13 that is cooled using a coolant supply system), the conditioning system comprising:
wherein the conditioning system is for a lithographic apparatus (Figs. 1-6, paras. [0019]-[0029], [0031]-[0032], [0041], [0048]-[0055], [0062], the coolant supply system is used to cool a mirror in the lithographic apparatus LA),
wherein the conditioning system is configured to condition the at least one optical element of the lithographic apparatus (Figs. 1-6, paras. [0019]-[0029], [0031]-[0032], [0041], [0048]-[0055], [0062], the coolant supply system is used to cool a mirror in the lithographic apparatus LA),
wherein the one or more optical elements are conditioned under vacuum or a low pressure of gas (Figs. 1-6, abstract, paras. [0020], [0030]-[0031], [0068], a reflector for EUV radiation in lithographic apparatus LA is in a vacuum environment and is cooled);
wherein the conditioning system is configured to have a sub-atmospheric pressure at the at least one optical element (Figs. 1-6, paras. [0041], [0048]-[0055], [0062], claim 24, a coolant supply unit 43 supplies fluid to the reflector 13 in a range including sub-atmospheric pressure, 0.001 bar to below 1 bar), and
wherein the liquid condition fluid is water (Figs. 1-6, paras. [0040]-[0041], [0048]-[0055], [0062], the coolant supply system supplies water as a coolant). Van Berkel does not appear to explicitly describe a sub-atmospheric pressure conditioning fluid reservoir configured to operate at sub-atmospheric pressure and to store at least part of a liquid conditioning fluid.
Novak discloses a sub-atmospheric pressure conditioning fluid reservoir configured to operate at sub-atmospheric pressure and to store at least part of a liquid conditioning fluid (Fig. 10, col. 4, lines 24-63, the coolant fluid recirculating system 50 and tanks 51 and 52 are held at below atmospheric pressure. The tanks 51 and 52 store coolant liquid).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a sub-atmospheric pressure conditioning fluid reservoir configured to operate at sub-atmospheric pressure and to store at least part of a liquid conditioning fluid as taught by Novak for the at least one optical element in the conditioning system in the lithographic method as taught by Van Berkel since including a sub-atmospheric pressure conditioning fluid reservoir configured to operate at sub-atmospheric pressure and to store at least part of a liquid conditioning fluid is commonly used to prevent liquid from leaking out of the system (Novak, col. 4, lines 24-41).
Regarding claim 39, Van Berkel as modified by Novak discloses wherein the conditioning system is configured to operate around 0.3 bara (Van Berkel, Figs. 1-6, paras. [0041], [0048]-[0055], [0062], claim 24, a coolant supply unit 43 supplies fluid to the reflector 13 in a range including sub-atmospheric pressure, 0.001 bar to below 1 bar).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Berkel as modified by Novak as applied to claim 20 above, and further in view of Nomoto (US PGPub 2010/0073649).
Regarding claim 22, Van Berkel as modified by Novak discloses one or more optical elements (Van Berkel, Figs. 1-6, abstract, paras. [0030]-[0031], [0068], a reflector for EUV radiation is in a vacuum environment and is cooled), but Van Berkel as modified by Novak does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the conditioning system further comprises: a pump upstream of the one or more optical elements, and a flow restrictor between the pump and the one or more optical elements.
Nomoto discloses a pump upstream of the conditioned element (Figs. 1-4, paras. [0040]-[0041], [0050], supply pump 17 is provided upstream of the heat exhausting members 11), and
a flow restrictor between the pump and the conditioned element (Figs. 1-4, paras. [0040]-[0041], [0050]-[0052], [0064]-[0067], flow rate adjusting valve 4 and shut-off valve 9 are disposed between heat exhausting member 11 and supply pump 17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a pump upstream of the conditioned element, and a flow restrictor between the pump and the conditioned element as taught by Nomoto for the one or more optical elements in the conditioning system as taught by Van Berkel as modified by Novak since including a pump upstream of the one or more optical elements, and a flow restrictor between the pump and the one or more optical elements is commonly used to control the flow of coolant through the system to improve cooling (Nomoto, paras. [0026]).
Claims 24-25 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Berkel et al. (US PGPub 2019/0033499, Van Berkel hereinafter) in view of Novak (US Patent No. 5,998,889) in view of Nomoto (US PGPub 2010/0073649).
Regarding claim 24, Van Berkel discloses a conditioning system (Figs. 1-6, paras. [0041], [0048]-[0055], [0062]), comprising
a liquid conditioning fluid comprising water (Figs. 1-6, paras. [0040]-[0041], [0048]-[0055], [0062], the coolant supply system supplies water as a coolant);
wherein the conditioning system is for a lithographic apparatus (Figs. 1-6, paras. [0019]-[0029], [0031]-[0032], [0041], [0048]-[0055], [0062], the coolant supply system is used to cool a mirror in a lithographic apparatus LA),
wherein the conditioning system is configured to condition one or more optical elements of the lithographic apparatus (Figs. 1-6, paras. [0019]-[0029], [0031]-[0032], [0041], [0048]-[0055], [0062], the coolant supply system is used to cool a mirror),
wherein the one or more optical elements are conditioned under vacuum or a low pressure of gas (Figs. 1-6, abstract, paras. [0020], [0029]-[0032], [0041], [0043], [0068], the lithographic apparatus LA includes reflectors arranged in a high vacuum or low pressure of hydrogen in an EUV lithography system),
wherein the conditioning system is configured to have a sub-atmospheric pressure at the one or more optical elements (Figs. 1-6, paras. [0020], [0029]-[0031], [0041], [0048]-[0055], [0062], [0068], claim 24, a coolant supply unit 43 supplies fluid to the reflector 13 in a range including sub-atmospheric pressure, 0.001 bar to below 1 bar). Van Berkel does not appear to explicitly describe a sub-atmospheric pressure conditioning fluid reservoir configured to operate at sub-atmospheric pressure and to store at least part of the liquid conditioning fluid; a flow restrictor, a pump, wherein the pump is downstream of the one or more optical elements and wherein the flow restrictor is upstream of the one or more optical elements.
Novak discloses a sub-atmospheric pressure conditioning fluid reservoir configured to operate at sub-atmospheric pressure and to store at least part of the liquid conditioning fluid (Fig. 10, col. 4, lines 2-3, col. 4, lines 24-63, the coolant fluid recirculating system 50 and tanks 51 and 52 are held at below atmospheric pressure. The tanks 51 and 52 store coolant liquid).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a sub-atmospheric pressure conditioning fluid reservoir configured to operate at sub-atmospheric pressure and to store at least part of the liquid conditioning fluid as taught by Novak in the conditioning system as taught by Van Berkel since including a sub-atmospheric pressure conditioning fluid reservoir configured to operate at sub-atmospheric pressure and to store at least part of the liquid conditioning fluid is commonly used to prevent liquid from leaking out of the system (Novak, col. 4, lines 24-41).
Van Berkel as modified by Novak discloses the one or more optical elements (Van Berkel, Figs. 1-6, abstract, paras. [0030]-[0031], [0068], a reflector for EUV radiation is in a vacuum environment and is cooled), Van Berkel as modified by Novak does not appear to explicitly describe a flow restrictor, a pump, wherein the pump is downstream of the one or more optical elements and wherein the flow restrictor is upstream of the one or more optical elements.
Nomoto discloses a flow restrictor (Figs. 1-4, paras. [0050]-[0052], [0064]-[0067], flow rate adjusting valve 4 and shut-off valve 9 are disposed upstream of the heat exhausting member 11 to control the flow rate), and
a pump (Figs. 1-4, paras. [0042]-[0045], pressure reducing pump 1 is provided downstream of the heat exhausting members 11 to reduce the pressure in each jacket),
wherein the conditioning system is for a lithographic apparatus (Figs. 1-4, paras. [0037]-[0043], the liquid cooling medium circulation system is disposed in an exposure apparatus to remove heat from components in the exposure apparatus),
wherein the pump is downstream of the conditioned element (Figs. 1-4, paras. [0042]-[0045], pressure reducing pump 1 is provided downstream of the heat exhausting members 11 to reduce the pressure in each jacket) and
wherein the flow restrictor is upstream of the conditioned element (Figs. 1-4, paras. [0050]-[0052], [0064]-[0067], flow rate adjusting valve 4 and shut-off valve 9 are disposed upstream of the heat exhausting member 11 and control the flow rate).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a flow restrictor, a pump, wherein the pump is downstream of the conditioned element and wherein the flow restrictor is upstream of the conditioned element as taught by Nomoto for the one or more optical elements in the conditioning system as taught by Van Berkel as modified by Novak since including a flow restrictor, a pump, wherein the pump is downstream of the one or more optical elements and wherein the flow restrictor is upstream of the one or more optical elements is commonly used to control the flow of coolant through the system to improve cooling (Nomoto, paras. [0026]).
Regarding claim 25, as best understood, Van Berkel as modified by Novak in view of Nomoto discloses wherein the conditioning system further comprises a conditioning fluid reservoir (Nomoto, Figs. 1-4, para. [0040], a reservoir 16 stores cooling medium 15).
Regarding claim 27, Van Berkel as modified by Novak in view of Nomoto discloses wherein the sub-atmospheric pressure conditioning fluid reservoir is connected to a vacuum pump and/or a gas inlet (Novak, Fig. 10, col. 4, lines 24-63, tank 52 is connected to a vacuum source via vacuum connection 54. Tank 51 is connected to valve 53 to introduce air into the chamber 51).
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Berkel et al. (US PGPub 2019/0033499, Van Berkel hereinafter) in view of Tsuji et al. (US PGPub 2005/0140946, Tsuji hereinafter) in view of Novak.
Regarding claim 28, Van Berkel discloses a conditioning system (Figs. 1-6, paras. [0041], [0048]-[0055], [0062]), comprising
wherein the conditioning system is for a lithographic apparatus (Figs. 1-6, paras. [0019]-[0029], [0031]-[0032], [0041], [0048]-[0055], [0062], the coolant supply system is used to cool a mirror in a lithographic apparatus LA),
wherein the conditioning system is configured to condition one or more optical elements of the lithographic apparatus (Figs. 1-6, paras. [0019]-[0029], [0031]-[0032], [0041], [0048]-[0055], [0062], the coolant supply system is used to cool a mirror),
wherein the conditioning system is configured to have a sub-atmospheric pressure at the one or more optical elements (Figs. 1-6, paras. [0041], [0048]-[0055], [0062], claim 24, a coolant supply unit 43 supplies fluid to the reflector 13 in a range including sub-atmospheric pressure, 0.001 bar to below 1 bar). Van Berkel does not appear to explicitly describe a sub-atmospheric pressure conditioning fluid reservoir configured to operate at sub-atmospheric pressure and to store at least part of a liquid conditioning fluid, and wherein the sub-atmospheric conditioning fluid reservoir is disposed below the one or more optical elements such that a hydrostatic pressure difference between the one or more optical elements and the sub-atmospheric pressure conditioning fluid reservoir reduces the pressure at the one or more optical elements to below atmospheric pressure.
Tsuji discloses a conditioning fluid reservoir, and wherein the conditioning fluid reservoir is disposed below the conditioned element such that the hydrostatic pressure difference between the conditioned element and the conditioning fluid reservoir reduces the pressure at the conditioned element to below atmospheric pressure (Figs. 4-5, paras. [0067], [0069]-[0070], [0072], tank 80 is arranged below the position surface FL to control the pressure of the cooling agent supplied above to the reticle stage to below atmospheric pressure).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a conditioning fluid reservoir, and wherein the conditioning fluid reservoir is disposed below the conditioned element such that the hydrostatic pressure difference between the conditioned element and the conditioning fluid reservoir reduces the pressure at the conditioned element to below atmospheric pressure as taught by Tsuji with the one or more optical elements in the conditioning system as taught by Van Berkel since including a conditioning fluid reservoir, and wherein the conditioning fluid reservoir is disposed below the one or more optical elements such that the hydrostatic pressure difference between the one or more optical elements and the conditioning fluid reservoir reduces the pressure at the one or more optical elements to below atmospheric pressure is commonly used to arrange the structure of the conditioning system in a lithography system in a limited footprint while adequately controlling the pressure supplied to the conditioned elements in the temperature adjusting device (Tsuji, para. [0004]).
Van Berkel as modified by Tsuji does not appear to explicitly describe the conditioning fluid reservoir comprises a sub-atmospheric conditioning fluid reservoir configured to operate at sub-atmospheric pressure and to store at least part of a liquid conditioning fluid.
Novak discloses a sub-atmospheric pressure conditioning fluid reservoir configured to operate at sub-atmospheric pressure and to store at least part of a liquid conditioning fluid (Fig. 10, col. 4, lines 2-3, col. 4, lines 24-63, the coolant fluid recirculating system 50 and tanks 51 and 52 are held at below atmospheric pressure. The tanks 51 and 52 store coolant liquid).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a sub-atmospheric pressure conditioning fluid reservoir configured to operate at sub-atmospheric pressure and to store at least part of a liquid conditioning fluid as taught by Novak as the conditioning fluid reservoir in the conditioning system as taught by Van Berkel as modified by Tsuji since including a sub-atmospheric pressure conditioning fluid reservoir configured to operate at sub-atmospheric pressure and to store at least part of a liquid conditioning fluid is commonly used to prevent liquid from leaking out of the system (Novak, col. 4, lines 24-41).
Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Berkel as modified by Novak as applied to claim 29 above, and further in view of Thome et al. (WO98/42986, Thome hereinafter).
Regarding claim 33, Van Berkel as modified by Novak does not appear to explicitly describe wherein: the conditioning system comprises one or more vibration dampers, and the one or more vibration dampers are in the form of one or more hydraulic accumulators.
Thome discloses the conditioning system comprises one or more vibration dampers, and the one or more vibration dampers are in the form of one or more hydraulic accumulators (Figs. 1, 2, 4-5, pages 3-4 of attached English translation, the hydraulic accumulator 48 in the fluid cooling device compensates for fluctuations).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included one or more vibration dampers, and the one or more vibration dampers are in the form of one or more hydraulic accumulators as taught by Thome in the conditioning system as taught by Van Berkel as modified by Novak since including one or more vibration dampers, and the one or more vibration dampers are in the form of one or more hydraulic accumulators is commonly used to prevent fluid loss in the cooling system (Thome, page 3, last paragraph-page 4).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 23 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 23, the prior art of record, either alone or in combination, fails to teach or render obvious the sub-atmospheric pressure conditioning fluid reservoir comprises a deformable separator, and the deformable separator is disposed between the liquid conditioning fluid and a gas. These limitations in combination with all of the limitations of the parent claim would render the claim non-obvious over the prior art of record if rewritten.
Novak discloses storing at least part of the liquid conditioning fluid in a sub-atmospheric pressure conditioning fluid reservoir (Fig. 10, col. 4, lines 2-3, col. 4, lines 24-63, the coolant fluid recirculating system 50 and tanks 51 and 52 are held at below atmospheric pressure. The tanks 51 and 52 store coolant liquid), but Novak fails to describe or suggest a deformable separator, and the deformable separator is disposed between the liquid conditioning fluid and a gas.
Nomoto discloses a conditioning fluid reservoir (Figs. 1-4, para. [0040], a reservoir 16 stores cooling medium 15), but Novak fails to describe or render obvious a deformable separator, and the deformable separator is disposed between the liquid conditioning fluid and a gas.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/24/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues on pages 8-10 that the specification provides sufficient support for the claimed subject matter in amended claims 28 and 29. The Applicant argues with respect to claims 28 and 29 that low pressure at the optical element is generated utilizing hydrostatic pressure difference and cites Fig. 7 and para. [0059] “the low pressure is generated by utilizing the hydrostatic pressure difference 25 caused by the conditioning fluid reservoir 16 being located at a lower height than the optical element 19. The hydrostatic pressure difference 25 causes a reduced pressure on the return side of the optical element 19.” The Applicant also states, “the volumes of element 16 in Figs. 3-8 are closed because they will have a different pressure than their surroundings at a given point in time (we also have to fill, drain, …) to control the pressure of the water circuit at all times,” cites Fig. 3 and para. [0055], “FIG. 3 depicts a similar conditioning system as FIG. 2 albeit with the difference that the conditioning fluid reservoir 16 is not at atmospheric pressure. Instead, the system is sealed such that it is taken down to the desired sub-atmospheric pressure and then closed off so that it remains at sub-atmospheric pressure,” and cites Fig. 5 and para. [0057], “similar to that of FIG. 2 albeit having a closed system and having a sub-atmospheric pressure conditioning fluid reservoir 16. The conditioning fluid reservoir 16 is maintained at below atmospheric pressure by vacuum pump 24” to support possession of the invention recited in amended claims 28 and 29. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Claim 28 recites “a sub-atmospheric pressure conditioning fluid reservoir configured to operate at sub-atmospheric pressure and to store at least part of a liquid conditioning fluid” and “wherein the sub-atmospheric pressure conditioning fluid reservoir is disposed below the one or more optical elements such that a hydrostatic pressure difference between the one or more optical elements and the sub-atmospheric conditioning fluid reservoir reduces the pressure at the one or more optical elements to below atmospheric pressure” in lines 3-4 and 12-15. It appears Fig. 7 and para. [0059] most closely supports the subject matter defined by amended claim 28 (see conditioning fluid reservoir 16 arranged a lower height than optical element 19 in Fig. 7, for example). Claim 29 recites “a conditioning fluid reservoir; a sub-atmospheric pressure conditioning fluid reservoir configured to operate at sub-atmospheric pressure and to store at least part of a liquid conditioning fluid” and “wherein the conditioning fluid reservoir and the sub-atmospheric pressure conditioning fluid reservoir are in fluid connection with one another via a valve that is operable to control the level of conditioning fluid in the conditioning fluid reservoir that is in fluid communication with the one or more optical elements such that a hydrostatic pressure difference is achieved between the one or more optical elements and the sub-atmospheric pressure conditioning fluid reservoir” in lines 2-4 and lines 12-17. It appears Fig. 8 and para. [0060] most closely supports the subject matter defined by amended claim 28 (see two conditioning fluid reservoirs 16a and 16b in Fig. 8, for example). In contrast to the discussion of the “sub-atmospheric pressure” in the reservoir 16 in paragraphs [0055] and [0057], Figs. 7-8 and paras. [0059]-[0060] are devoid of any discussion or evidence that the inventor contemplated the pressure of the fluid conditioning reservoir 16 such that “a sub-atmospheric pressure conditioning fluid reservoir configured to operate at sub-atmospheric pressure and to store at least part of a liquid conditioning fluid” or the pressure of the fluid conditioning reservoirs 16a, 16b such that “a conditioning fluid reservoir; a sub-atmospheric pressure conditioning fluid reservoir configured to operate at sub-atmospheric pressure and to store at least part of a liquid conditioning fluid.” “To satisfy the written description requirement, a patent specification must describe the claimed invention in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention.” See MPEP 2163, subsection I. Instead, Fig. 7 and para. [0059] appear to adequately support possession of a conditioning fluid reservoir configured to store at least part of a liquid conditioning fluid and wherein the conditioning fluid reservoir is disposed below the one or more optical elements such that a hydrostatic pressure difference between the one or more optical elements and the conditioning fluid reservoir reduces the pressure at the one or more optical elements to below atmospheric pressure, and Fig. 8 and para. [0060] appear to adequately support possession of two conditioning fluid reservoirs configured to store at least part of a liquid conditioning fluid and wherein the conditioning fluid reservoirs are in fluid connection with one another via a valve that is operable to control the level of conditioning fluid in the conditioning fluid reservoir that is in fluid communication with the one or more optical elements such that a hydrostatic pressure difference is achieved between the one or more optical elements and one of the conditioning fluid reservoirs. The mere presence of closed volumes of elements 16 in the drawings is not sufficient evidence to suggest that the Applicant had possession of the specific claim language “a sub-atmospheric pressure conditioning fluid reservoir configured to operate at sub-atmospheric pressure and to store at least part of a liquid conditioning fluid” and “wherein the sub-atmospheric pressure conditioning fluid reservoir is disposed below the one or more optical elements such that a hydrostatic pressure difference between the one or more optical elements and the sub-atmospheric conditioning fluid reservoir reduces the pressure at the one or more optical elements to below atmospheric pressure” in claim 28 and “a conditioning fluid reservoir; a sub-atmospheric pressure conditioning fluid reservoir configured to operate at sub-atmospheric pressure and to store at least part of a liquid conditioning fluid” and “wherein the conditioning fluid reservoir and the sub-atmospheric pressure conditioning fluid reservoir are in fluid connection with one another via a valve that is operable to control the level of conditioning fluid in the conditioning fluid reservoir that is in fluid communication with the one or more optical elements such that a hydrostatic pressure difference is achieved between the one or more optical elements and the sub-atmospheric pressure conditioning fluid reservoir” in claim 29. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would not have reasonably concluded that the inventor, at the time of filing, had possession of the invention of claims 28 and 29 as currently drafted. Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered on these points, but they are not persuasive.
The indicated allowability of claims 20-22 and 35-38 is withdrawn in view of the broadening amendments to the independent claims 20, 35, 36, and 38. Rejections based on the cited references Van Berkel and Novak are above.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 20-22, 24-25, 27-39 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The Applicant has amended independent claims 20, 35, 36, and 38 to broaden the claim language and has amended independent claims 24, 28, 29, and 34 without presenting specific arguments with respect to any rejections over any combination of Van Berkel, Novak, Nomoto, and Tsuji.
Conclusion
/CHRISTINA A RIDDLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882