DETAILED ACTION
This is the initial office action for US Patent Application No. 18/251776 by Yamazaki et al.
Claims 1-21 are currently pending and have been fully considered.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 recites the limitation “wherein after a cycle test is performed on a cell using the positive electrode active material for a positive electrode and a lithium electrode as a counter electrode”. The aforementioned limitation is a process limitation that involves using the claimed positive electrode active material and is not considered to be a limitation that further limits the structure or composition of the claimed positive electrode active material.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “wherein after a cycle test is performed at an upper limit voltage of 4.7 V and at 25°C on a cell using the positive electrode active material for a positive electrode and a lithium electrode as a counter electrode”. The aforementioned limitation is a process limitation that involves using the claimed positive electrode active material and is not considered to be a limitation that further limits the structure or composition of the claimed positive electrode active material.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Jo et al. (US 2020/0259172 A1), herein referred to as Jo.
Regarding claim 1, Jo teaches [0028] a lithium cobalt-based positive electrode active material that includes a core portion including a lithium cobalt-based oxide and a shell portion including a lithium cobalt-based oxide wherein the lithium cobalt-based positive electrode active material includes a doping element (additive element). Jo proceeds to teach [0032] a lithium defect having a three-dimensional structure is present in the shell portion of the lithium cobalt-based positive electrode active material. The core portion is disclosed to have a greater concentration of the doping element than the shell portion [0038-0039]. Since Jo teaches the shell portion contains an amount of doping element, the lithium defect in the shell portion is considered to be in a region in a vicinity of the doping element.
In the alternative, claim 1 is considered to be obvious in view of Jo because Jo teaches a positive electrode active material that includes a lithium cobalt-based positive electrode active material and a doping element as discussed above. Although Jo does not explicitly disclose a cycle test as recited in claim 1, Jo teaches [0045] obtaining a voltage profile measured by charging/discharging a secondary battery including the lithium cobalt-based positive electrode active material and evaluates the charging/discharging characteristics of the positive electrode active material. Jo suggests [0022-0023] improved structural stability, suppressed gas generation and suppressed cobalt elution are achieved based on the structural configuration of the lithium cobalt-based positive electrode active material.
Regarding claims 2-5, Jo teaches the lithium cobalt-based positive electrode active material and doping element (additive element) being contained in the shell portion. Since the doping element is present in the shell portion with the lithium defect, Jo teaches or in the alternative renders obvious the limitations of claims 2-5 because it would be expected that the doping element would be present near the lithium defect regardless of the type of defect present.
Regarding claim 6, Applicant’s claimed upper limit voltage of the cycle test being 4.65 V or 4.7 V does not further limit the claimed positive electrode active material recited in claim 1 and therefore Jo anticipates or in the alternative renders obvious the claimed positive electrode active material recited in claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, Jo teaches [0032] the lithium defect is present in the shell portion of the lithium cobalt-based positive electrode active material is therefore considered to be positioned in a surface portion of the lithium cobalt-based positive electrode active material.
Regarding claim 8, Jo teaches [0036] the doping element (additive element) can include aluminum (Al), magnesium (Mg) or a combination thereof.
Regarding claim 18, Jo teaches [0086-0091] the lithium cobalt-based positive electrode active material is incorporated in a positive electrode for a secondary battery. The secondary battery also includes a negative electrode that may include graphite.
Regarding claim 19, Jo teaches [0099] the secondary battery may be included in a vehicle such as a hybrid electric vehicle.
Claims 9-17, 20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Jo et al. (US 2020/0067091 A1), herein referred to as Jo.
Regarding claim 9, Jo teaches [0026] a positive electrode active material comprising lithium cobalt oxide doped with aluminum (additive element) and the surface of lithium cobalt oxide is modified to have a rock salt crystal structure.
In the alternative, claim 9 is considered to be obvious in view of Jo because Jo teaches a positive electrode active material that includes lithium cobalt oxide doped with aluminum (additive element) and the surface of lithium cobalt oxide is modified to have a rock salt crystal structure as discussed above. Although Jo does not explicitly disclose a cycle test as recited in claim 9, Jo suggests [0030-0032] the positive electrode active material has improved structural stability and reduced cobalt elution is achieved based on the structural configuration of the lithium cobalt oxide positive electrode active material discussed above.
Regarding claim 10, Jo teaches [0026] the surface of the positive electrode active material is doped with aluminum (additive element).
Regarding claim 11, Jo teaches [0135] the surface of the positive electrode active material comprises a region with a spinel structure.
Regarding claim 12, Jo teaches [0011] the positive electrode active material may be formed to have the aluminum dopant (additive element) present only in a core particle portion of the positive electrode active material.
Regarding claims 13-16, Jo teaches the positive electrode active material and aluminum element (additive element). Since the doping element is present, Jo teaches or in the alternative renders obvious the limitations of claims 13-16 because it would be expected that the doping element would be present near the lithium defect regardless of the type of defect present.
Regarding claim 17, Jo teaches [0026] the positive electrode active material is doped with aluminum (additive element).
Regarding claim 20, Jo teaches [0066-0070] the positive electrode active material is incorporated in a positive electrode for a lithium rechargeable battery. The lithium rechargeable battery also includes a negative electrode that may include graphite.
Regarding claim 21, Jo teaches [0065-0070] the positive electrode active material is incorporated in a positive electrode for a lithium rechargeable battery. Multiple lithium rechargeable batteries may then be assembled in a battery pack. It would be obvious in view of Jo that a battery pack containing multiple lithium rechargeable batteries could be employed in an electric vehicle because a well-known application of battery packs is their use in electric vehicles.
/STEWART A FRASER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724