Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 10-20, Figures 10A-10D, in the reply filed on March 4, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 10, 11, 15, 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rudolph; James W. et al. (US 5480678 A). Rudolph teaches a showerhead (50+70; Figure 1; 500; Figure 2; column 6; lines 52-62) comprising: a faceplate (508; Figure 2,3; 110; Figure 4-Applicant’s 1020; Figure 10A-10D) that comprises a plurality of gas distribution holes (holes in 508; Figure 2,3; 110; Figure 4) through which gas is flowed out of the showerhead (50+70; Figure 1; 500; Figure 2; column 6; lines 52-62); a backplate (18; Figure 1,2,4-Applicant’s 1010; Figure 10A-10D) opposite the faceplate (508; Figure 2,3; 110; Figure 4-Applicant’s 1020; Figure 10A-10D) and defining a plenum volume (50+70; Figure 1; column 10; lines 22-56) therebetween; a first supply tube (19/17 in 50; Figure 1, 4-6-Applicant’s 1040; Figure 10A-10D) in the plenum volume (50+70; Figure 1; column 10; lines 22-56), the first supply tube (19/17 in 50; Figure 1, 4-6-Applicant’s 1040; Figure 10A-10D) having a plurality of first holes (holes in 19/17 in 50; Figure 1, 4-6) that supplies a first gas (24; Figure 1, 5-6) into the plenum volume (50+70; Figure 1; column 10; lines 22-56); a second supply tube (19/17 in 70; not shown; column 10; lines 22-56-Applicant’s 1050; Figure 10A-10D) in the plenum volume (50+70; Figure 1; column 10; lines 22-56), the second supply tube (19/17 in 70; not shown; column 10; lines 22-56-Applicant’s 1050; Figure 10A-10D) having a plurality of second holes (holes in 19/17 in 70; Figure 1, 4-6) that supplies a second gas (26; Figure 1) into the plenum volume (50+70; Figure 1; column 10; lines 22-56); and a plurality of baffles (119,121 of “preheaters” 50, 70; Figure 4-Applicant’s 1024; Figure 10A-10D; column 11; lines 33-49) in the plenum volume (50+70; Figure 1; column 10; lines 22-56), wherein the plurality of baffles (119,121 of “preheaters” 50, 70; Figure 4-Applicant’s 1024; Figure 10A-10D; column 11; lines 33-49) are configured to at least isolate the first gas (24; Figure 1, 5-6) from the second gas (26; Figure 1) in the plenum volume (50+70; Figure 1; column 10; lines 22-56), as claimed by claim 10
Rudolph further teaches:
The showerhead (50+70; Figure 1; 500; Figure 2; column 6; lines 52-62) of claim 10, wherein the first supply tube (19/17 in 50; Figure 1, 4-6-Applicant’s 1040; Figure 10A-10D) is orthogonal (Figure 5) to the second supply tube (19/17 in 70; not shown; column 10; lines 22-56-Applicant’s 1050; Figure 10A-10D) along a reference plane of the plenum volume (50+70; Figure 1; column 10; lines 22-56), as claimed by claim 11. Figure 4,5 is interpreted as reproduced over multiple “preheaters” along quadrants of 18; Figure 4,5
The showerhead (50+70; Figure 1; 500; Figure 2; column 6; lines 52-62) of claim 10, wherein a height of each of the plurality of baffles (119,121 of “preheaters” 50, 70; Figure 4-Applicant’s 1024; Figure 10A-10D; column 11; lines 33-49) spans a gap distance between the backplate (18; Figure 1,2,4-Applicant’s 1010; Figure 10A-10D) and the faceplate (508; Figure 2,3; 110; Figure 4-Applicant’s 1020; Figure 10A-10D), as claimed by claim 15
The showerhead (50+70; Figure 1; 500; Figure 2; column 6; lines 52-62) of claim 10,wherein the first gas (24; Figure 1, 5-6) is a precursor gas and the second gas (26; Figure 1) is a dilution gas, as claimed by claim 17. Applicant’s claim requirements are intended use claim requirements for the pending apparatus claims. Further, it has been held that claim language that simply specifies an intended use or field of use for the invention generally will not limit the scope of a claim (Walter , 618 F.2d at 769, 205 USPQ at 409; MPEP 2106). Additionally, in apparatus claims, intended use must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim (In re Casey,152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto , 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); MPEP2115).
The showerhead (50+70; Figure 1; 500; Figure 2; column 6; lines 52-62) of claim 10, further comprising: a stem (16; Figure 1,3-Applicant’s 1070; Figure 10A) connected to the backplate (18; Figure 1,2,4-Applicant’s 1010; Figure 10A-10D) and in fluid communication with the plenum volume (50+70; Figure 1; column 10; lines 22-56), wherein the stem (16; Figure 1,3-Applicant’s 1070; Figure 10A) comprises one or more gas delivery lines that supplies the first gas (24; Figure 1, 5-6) and the second gas (26; Figure 1) to the first supply tube (19/17 in 50; Figure 1, 4-6-Applicant’s 1040; Figure 10A-10D) and the second supply tube (19/17 in 70; not shown; column 10; lines 22-56-Applicant’s 1050; Figure 10A-10D), as claimed by claim 18
A showerhead (50+70; Figure 1; 500; Figure 2; column 6; lines 52-62) comprising: a faceplate (508; Figure 2,3; 110; Figure 4-Applicant’s 1020; Figure 10A-10D) that comprises a plurality of gas distribution holes (holes in 508; Figure 2,3; 110; Figure 4) through which gas is flowed out of the showerhead (50+70; Figure 1; 500; Figure 2; column 6; lines 52-62); a backplate (18; Figure 1,2,4-Applicant’s 1010; Figure 10A-10D) opposite the faceplate (508; Figure 2,3; 110; Figure 4-Applicant’s 1020; Figure 10A-10D) and defining a plenum volume (50+70; Figure 1; column 10; lines 22-56) therebetween; one or more baffles (119,121 of “preheaters” 50, 70; Figure 4-Applicant’s 1024; Figure 10A-10D; column 11; lines 33-49) in the plenum volume (50+70; Figure 1; column 10; lines 22-56) that divides the plenum volume (50+70; Figure 1; column 10; lines 22-56) into at least a first zone (50; Figure 1) and a second zone (70; Figure 1); and one or more gas inlets (16,20; Figure 1,3-Applicant’s 1070; Figure 10A) coupled to the backplate (18; Figure 1,2,4-Applicant’s 1010; Figure 10A-10D) that delivers a first gas (24; Figure 1, 5-6) and a second gas (26; Figure 1) into the plenum volume (50+70; Figure 1; column 10; lines 22-56), wherein the first gas (24; Figure 1, 5-6) is configured to be delivered to the first zone (50; Figure 1) and the second gas (26; Figure 1) is configured to be delivered to the second zone (70; Figure 1), as claimed by claim 19
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rudolph; James W. et al. (US 5480678 A) in view of Kulshreshtha; Prashant Kumar et al. (US 20160099147 A1). Rudolph further teaches The showerhead (50+70; Figure 1; 500; Figure 2; column 6; lines 52-62) of claim 19, wherein the plurality of gas distribution holes (holes in 508; Figure 2,3; 110; Figure 4) comprises first holes (holes in 19/17 in 50; Figure 1, 4-6) in fluid communication with the first zone (50; Figure 1) and second holes (holes in 19/17 in 70; Figure 1, 4-6) in fluid communication with the second zone (70; Figure 1) – claim 20
Rudolph does not teach wherein a density of the first holes (holes in 19/17 in 50; Figure 1, 4-6) is different than a density of the second holes (holes in 19/17 in 70; Figure 1, 4-6) - claim 20.
Kulshreshtha also teaches a showerhead (346; Figure 5A) with variable hole densities (520; Figure 5A; [0050]) across the showerhead.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Rudolph to optimize Rudolph’s hole density distribution as taught by Kulshreshtha.
Motivation for Rudolph to optimize Rudolph’s hole density distribution as taught by Kulshreshtha is for controlling a gas flow “profile” as taught by Kulshreshtha ([0050], [0054])
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-14 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Rudolph; James W. et al. (US 5480678 A) as the closest cited prior art further teaches:
The showerhead (50+70; Figure 1; 500; Figure 2; column 6; lines 52-62) of claim 10, wherein the plurality of baffles (119,121 of “preheaters” 50, 70; Figure 4-Applicant’s 1024; Figure 10A-10D; column 11; lines 33-49) comprise a plurality of first baffles (119,121 of 50; Figure 4-Applicant’s 1024a; Figure 10A-10D) and a plurality of second baffles (119,121 of 70; Figure 4-Applicant’s 1024b; Figure 10A-10D) – claim 12
The showerhead (50+70; Figure 1; 500; Figure 2; column 6; lines 52-62) of claim 12, wherein the first gas (24; Figure 1, 5-6) flows out of the faceplate (508; Figure 2,3; 110; Figure 4-Applicant’s 1020; Figure 10A-10D) from the first zone (50; Figure 1) of the plenum volume (50+70; Figure 1; column 10; lines 22-56) and the second gas (26; Figure 1) flows out of the faceplate (508; Figure 2,3; 110; Figure 4-Applicant’s 1020; Figure 10A-10D) from the second zone (70; Figure 1) of the plenum volume (50+70; Figure 1; column 10; lines 22-56) – claim 13
However, Rudolph; James W. et al. (US 5480678 A) as the closest cited prior art does not teach or suggest, alone or in combination, Applicant’s claim 12 baffle and supply tube geometry. As a result, Rudolph does not teach, alone or in combination the claim 12 requirements of:
wherein the plurality of first baffles (119,121 of 50; Figure 4-Applicant’s 1024a; Figure 10A-10D) are parallel (Figure 5) to the first supply tube (19/17 in 50; Figure 1, 4-6-Applicant’s 1040; Figure 10A-10D) and on opposite sides of the first supply tube (19/17 in 50; Figure 1, 4-6-Applicant’s 1040; Figure 10A-10D) to isolate the first gas (24; Figure 1, 5-6) in a first zone (50; Figure 1) from a second zone (70; Figure 1) of the plenum volume (50+70; Figure 1; column 10; lines 22-56), and wherein the plurality of second baffles (119,121 of 70; Figure 4-Applicant’s 1024b; Figure 10A-10D) comprise at least two baffles (119,121 of 70; Figure 4-Applicant’s 1024; Figure 10A-10D) parallel (Figure 5) to the first supply tube (19/17 in 50; Figure 1, 4-6-Applicant’s 1040; Figure 10A-10D) and on opposite sides of the first supply tube (19/17 in 50; Figure 1, 4-6-Applicant’s 1040; Figure 10A-10D) further from the plurality of first baffles (119,121 of 50; Figure 4-Applicant’s 1024a; Figure 10A-10D), wherein the plurality of second baffles (119,121 of 70; Figure 4-Applicant’s 1024b; Figure 10A-10D) are configured to divide a flow of the second gas (26; Figure 1) in the second zone (70; Figure 1) into a plurality of sections - claim 12
wherein the faceplate (508; Figure 2,3; 110; Figure 4-Applicant’s 1020; Figure 10A-10D) is configured to face a backside of a semiconductor substrate – claim 13
The showerhead (50+70; Figure 1; 500; Figure 2; column 6; lines 52-62) of claim 12, wherein a diameter of each of the plurality of first holes (holes in 19/17 in 50; Figure 1, 4-6) across the first supply tube (19/17 in 50; Figure 1, 4-6-Applicant’s 1040; Figure 10A-10D) is uniform, and wherein a diameter of the second holes (holes in 19/17 in 70; Figure 1, 4-6) in each of the plurality of sections in the second zone (70; Figure 1) is non-uniform, as claimed by claim 14
The showerhead (50+70; Figure 1; 500; Figure 2; column 6; lines 52-62) of claim 10, further comprising: a center plug (Applicant’s 1060; Figure 10C,D) in the plenum volume (50+70; Figure 1; column 10; lines 22-56) and in fluid communication with each of the first supply tube (19/17 in 50; Figure 1, 4-6-Applicant’s 1040; Figure 10A-10D) and the second supply tube (19/17 in 70; not shown; column 10; lines 22-56-Applicant’s 1050; Figure 10A-10D), wherein the center plug (Applicant’s 1060; Figure 10C,D) directs a flow of the first gas (24; Figure 1, 5-6) to the first supply tube (19/17 in 50; Figure 1, 4-6-Applicant’s 1040; Figure 10A-10D) and a flow of the second gas (26; Figure 1) to the second supply tube (19/17 in 70; not shown; column 10; lines 22-56-Applicant’s 1050; Figure 10A-10D), as claimed by claim 16
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Prior art with similar piping injection include at least US 20120247390 A1; US 8721790 B2; US 6056824 A; US 20040191413 A1; US 20230187180 A1; US 20190323126 A1; US 8133323 B2
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Examiner Rudy Zervigon whose telephone number is (571) 272- 1442. The examiner can normally be reached on a Monday through Thursday schedule from 8am through 6pm EST. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Any Inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the Chemical and Materials Engineering art unit receptionist at (571) 272-1700. If the examiner cannot be reached please contact the examiner's supervisor, Parviz Hassanzadeh, at (571) 272- 1435.
/Rudy Zervigon/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716