DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendments/Arguments
Amendments made to claims 1-2, 13 and 20-23, the cancelation of claims 5-12 and 14-19, and the withdrawal of claims 24-34, as filed on November 13, 2025, are acknowledged.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks filed on November 13, 2025, with respect to amended claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to new ground(s) of rejection in this Office Action, in view of Takahashi et al. (JP2009087966) as recited in the IDS filed on April 3, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takahashi et al. (JP2009087966, a machine-translated English version is used).
Regarding claim 1, Takahasshi discloses a chemical mechanical polishing composition for a copper (claim 1 and paragraph 0141) consisting of: a) abrasive (component 5, claim 1); b) at least two chelators (the amino acids, such as N-methylglycine, N-methylalamine and glycine, read on chelators, and components 1 and 2, claims 1-3); c) oxidizing agent (component 3, claim 1); d) at least one Cu static etching rate reducing agent (an alkyl sulfonate reads on a Cu static etching rate reducing agent, claim 5 and paragraph 0100); e) water (paragraph 0027); and f) corrosion inhibitor selected from the group consisting of hetero aromatic compounds containing nitrogen atom in their aromatic rings (passivation film forming agent such as a tetrazole reads on a corrosion inhibitor, claims 1 and 8; paragraph 0061). It is noted that claim 1 is drawn to a composition claim and the recitation of "for a copper bulk and Through Silica Via (TSV)" in preamble is considered as intended use of the claimed composition/function of the claimed composition, the amino acids being chelators. A composition claim covers what the composition is not what the composition does. See In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 708, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1657 (Fed. Cir. 1990) ("The discovery of a new property or use of a previously known composition, even when that property and use are unobvious from prior art, can not impart patentability to claims to the known composition."); Titanium Metals Corp. of Am. v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 782, 227 USPQ 773, 778 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (intended use of an old composition does not render composition claim patentable); and In re Zierden, 56 C.C.P.A. 1223, 411 F.2d 1325, 1328, 162 USPQ 102, 104 (CCPA 1969) (" [M]ere statement of a new use for an otherwise old or obvious composition cannot render a claim to the composition patentable."). The pH range disclosed by Lakrout overlaps with the range recited in the instant claim. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP 2144.05(I).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi et al. (JP2009087966, a machine-translated English version is used) as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Shi et al. (US20150132956) and Singh (US20040043702).
Regarding claim 2, Takahasshi discloses wherein the abrasive is colloidal silica (paragraph 0077); the at least two chelators includes glycine and beta-alanine (claim 1); the oxidizing agent includes permanganate (paragraph 0042); and the at least one Cu static etching rate reducing agent is an anionic surfactant including alkyl sulfonate (paragraph 0100). Takahashi is silent about the permanganate being potassium permanganate. However, Shi teaches that an example of an oxidizer used in a composition for polishing copper is potassium permanganate (abstract and paragraph 0077). Takahashi is silent about the alkyl sulfonate being dodecyl sulfonate, ammonium dodecyl sulfonate, potassium dodecyl sulfonate, sodium dodecyl sulfonate, or combinations thereof. However, Singh teaches that sodium dodecyl sulfonate is a known anionic surfactant in a composition for polishing copper (paragraphs 0031 and 0057). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use potassium permanganate as taught by Shi for the permanganate in the composition of Takahashi, and to use sodium dodecyl sulfonate as taught by Singh for the alkyl sulfonate anionic surfactant in the composition of Takahashi, with a reasonable expectation of success. It has been held that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is obvious. See MPEP 2143 I.(A).
Regarding claim 3, Takahasshi discloses wherein the abrasive is colloidal silica (paragraph 0077); the at least two chelators include glycine and L-alanine (beta-alanine, claim 1); the oxidizing agent includes permanganate (paragraph 0042); and the at least one Cu static etching rate reducing agent is an anionic surfactant including alkyl sulfonate (paragraph 0100). Takahashi is silent about the permanganate being potassium permanganate. However, Shi teaches that an example of an oxidizer used in a composition for polishing copper is potassium permanganate (abstract and paragraph 0077). Takahashi is silent about the alkyl sulfonate being dodecyl sulfonate, ammonium dodecyl sulfonate, potassium dodecyl sulfonate, sodium dodecyl sulfonate, or combinations thereof. However, Singh teaches that sodium dodecyl sulfonate is a known anionic surfactant in a composition for polishing copper (paragraphs 0031 and 0057). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to potassium permanganate as taught by Shi for the permanganate in the composition of Takahashi, and to use sodium dodecyl sulfonate as taught by Singh for the alkyl sulfonate anionic surfactant in the composition of Takahashi, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 21, Takahasshi in view of Shi and Shin discloses wherein the chemical mechanical polishing composition consisting of colloidal silica (Takahashi, paragraph 0077); the at least two chelators are different and are independently selected from glycine and alanine (Takahashi, claim 1); a corrosion inhibitor including imidazole (Takahashi, paragraph 0053); the at least one Cu static etching rate reducing agent is sodium dodecyl sulfonate (Takahashi, paragraph 0100; Singh, paragraphs 0031); a choline bicarbonate salt (Shi; paragraph 0124); hydrogen peroxide (Takahashi, paragraph 0042); and the pH of the chemical mechanical polishing composition is from 5-8 (Takahashi, paragraph 0124).
Regarding claim 23, Takahasshi in view of Shi and Shin discloses wherein the chemical mechanical polishing composition consisting of colloidal silica (Takahashi, paragraph 0077); the at least two chelators are different and are independently selected from glycine and alanine (Takahashi, claim 1); a corrosion inhibitor including imidazole (Takahashi, paragraph 0053); the at least one Cu static etching rate reducing agent is sodium dodecyl sulfonate (Takahashi, paragraph 0100; Singh, paragraphs 0031); a choline bicarbonate salt (Takahashi, paragraph 010; Shi, paragraph 0124); hydrogen peroxide (Takahashi, paragraph 0042); and the pH of the chemical mechanical polishing composition is from 6-8 (Takahashi, paragraph 0124).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi et al. (JP2009087966, a machine-translated English version is used) as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Shi et al. (US20150132956).
Regarding claim 13, Takahasshi discloses wherein the corrosion inhibitor is tetrazole (paragraph 0061); and the composition includes an organic quaternary ammonium salt (paragraph 0101). Takahashi is silent about the quaternary ammonium salt being a choline salt as recite din the instant claim, and the composition comprises a biocide as recited in the instant claim. However, Shi teaches that a choline bicarbonate salt (a quaternary ammonium salt) in a composition for polishing copper reduces total defects and increases the copper removal rate (paragraphs 0120 and 0124), and the composition includes a biocide, which is a well-known component in a polishing composition, comprising active ingredient selected from the group consisting of 5-chloro-2- methyl-4-isothiazolin-3-one, 2-methyl-4-isothiazolin-3-one, and combinations thereof (Kathan type of biocides, paragraphs 0057 and 0088). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use a choline bicarbonate salt and known biocide as taught by Shi in the composition of Takahashi, with a reasonable expectation of success. It has been held that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is obvious. See MPEP 2143 I.(A).
Claims 4, 20 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi et al. (JP2009087966, a machine-translated English version is used) as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Singh (US20040043702).
Regarding claim 4, Takahasshi discloses wherein the abrasive is colloidal silica (paragraph 0077); the at least two chelators include glycine and alanine (claim 1); the oxidizing agent includes hydrogen peroxide (paragraph 0042); and the at least one Cu static etching rate reducing agent is an anionic surfactant including alkyl sulfonate (paragraph 0100). Takahashi is silent about the alkyl sulfonate being dodecyl sulfonate, ammonium dodecyl sulfonate, potassium dodecyl sulfonate, sodium dodecyl sulfonate, or combinations thereof. However, Singh teaches that sodium dodecyl sulfonate is a known anionic surfactant in a composition for polishing copper (paragraphs 0031 and 0057). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use potassium permanganate as taught by Shi for the permanganate in the composition of Takahashi, and to use sodium dodecyl sulfonate as taught by Singh for the alkyl sulfonate in the composition of Takahashi, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 20, Takahasshi discloses wherein the chemical mechanical polishing composition consisting of colloidal silica (paragraph 0077); the at least two chelators are different and are independently selected from glycine and alanine (claim 1); the at least one Cu static etching rate reducing agent is an anionic surfactant including alkyl sulfonate (paragraph 0100); hydrogen peroxide (paragraph 0042); and the pH of the chemical mechanical polishing composition is from 5-8 (paragraph 0124). Takahashi is silent about the alkyl sulfonate being dodecyl sulfonate, ammonium dodecyl sulfonate, potassium dodecyl sulfonate, sodium dodecyl sulfonate, or combinations thereof. However, Singh teaches that sodium dodecyl sulfonate is a known anionic surfactant in a composition for polishing copper (paragraphs 0031 and 0057). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use potassium permanganate as taught by Shi for the permanganate in the composition of Takahashi, and to use sodium dodecyl sulfonate as taught by Singh for the alkyl sulfonate in the composition of Takahashi, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 22, Takahasshi in view of Shin discloses wherein the chemical mechanical polishing composition consisting of colloidal silica (Takahashi, paragraph 0077); the at least two chelators are different and are independently selected from glycine and alanine (Takahashi, claim 1); the at least one Cu static etching rate reducing agent is sodium dodecyl sulfonate (Takahashi, paragraph 0100; Singh, paragraphs 0031); hydrogen peroxide (Takahashi, paragraph 0042); and the pH of the chemical mechanical polishing composition is from 6-8 (Takahashi, paragraph 0124).
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JIONG-PING LU whose telephone number is (571) 270-1135. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F: 9:00am – 5:00pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Joshua L Allen, can be reached at telephone number (571)270-3176. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/JIONG-PING LU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713