DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-7, in the reply filed on 10/14/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Lee (KR 2018-0064018) does not disclose the composition comprises cerium salts as a polishing accelerator and also does not disclose the weight ratio of accelerator and the stabilizer, in view of the current amendments to the claim 1. This is found not persuasive because such newly amended claims 1 is obvious over KR-2020-0057566 A (KR-566, herein after; newly cited prior art, provided with the IDS). KR-566 discloses a CMP composition comprises abrasive particles, 0.01 to 10 wt % of cerium salts (reads on the claimed accelerator) [0023] in view of KR 2018-0064018 (provided with the IDS
dated 10/26/2023), wherein the KR-018 discloses a slurry composition for ACL comprises amino acid (abstract), wherein the claimed weight content would have been obvious to optimize or falls with the claimed range, without showing any criticality.
Therefore, the special technical feature disclosed in the claim 1, does not make a contribution over the prior art.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “anionic small molecules” in claim 4 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “anionic small molecules” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear from the claim what specific size of "anionic molecule" that applicants consider as "anionic small molecule". For purpose of examination, the examiner will interpret that any anionic molecule will read on applicants "anionic small molecule".
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR-2020-0057566 A (KR-566, herein after; newly cited prior art, provided with the IDS dated 10/26/2023) in view of KR 2018-0064018 (provided with the IDS dated 10/26/2023; herein after KR-018).
Regarding claim 1, KR-566 discloses a polishing composition for (amorphous carbon layer (ACL), wherein the composition comprises an abrasive particle, cerium salts (see abstract); and the cerium salt is used an amount of 0.01 to 10 wt %; a pH adjustor and balance of solvent [0023]); aforesaid “cerium salts” reads on the claimed accelerator.
Unlike the instant invention, KR-566 fails to teach the composition further comprises an amino acid as a stabilizer.
However, in the same field of endeavor, KR-018 discloses a polishing composition comprises a stabilizer as an additive; and specifically, the stabilizer may be an amino acid compound which may include phosphoric acid, phthalic acid, citric acid, adipic acid, oxalic acid, malonic acid, benzonitrile and a mixture thereof; and the stabilizer is capable of reducing the degradation rate of an oxidizer during polishing ACL (abstract; [0001];[0069].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ KR-018's teaching of introducing the stabilizer into the teaching of KR-566 because the stabilizer is capable of reducing the degradation rate of an oxidizer during polishing ACL as suggested by KR-018 [0069].
The modified teaching above may not explicitly disclose the claimed weight ratio of the accelerator and the stabilizer. However, without showing any criticality of such would have been obvious to optimize for predictable result.
Regarding claim 3, it is noted that the polishing performance reduction rate (PPR) is purely an intended use of the polishing composition or in other words, it is purely an inherent property of the claimed composition and the modified teaching above appears to have the similar composition as the instant invention and expected to have the similar property, namely, the PPR. Additionally, according to the MPEP 2112.01(II) "Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present".
Regarding claim 4, KR-018 discloses The polishing accelerator may be at least one selected from the group consisting of nitrilotri (methylphosphonic acid), (aminomethyl) phosphonic acid, (1-aminopropyl) phosphonic acid, iminodi (methylphosphonic acid), diethylenetriaminepentaquis methylphosphonic acid , Amino (phenyl) methylphosphonic acid, ethylenediaminetetra (methylenephosphonic acid), and combinations thereof.
The polishing accelerator may be 0.01 to 0.5% by weight based on 100% by weight of the total composition (paragraphs [0015]-0016].
Regarding claim 5, KR-018 discloses a polishing composition comprises a stabilizer as an additive; and specifically, the stabilizer may be an amino acid compound which may include phosphoric acid, phthalic acid, citric acid, adipic acid, oxalic acid, malonic acid, benzonitrile and a mixture thereof; and the stabilizer is capable of reducing the degradation rate of an oxidizer during polishing ACL (abstract; [0001];[0069].
Regarding claim 6, KR-018 discloses the abrasive may be a conventional metal oxide particle. Preferably, ceria (CeO2), silica (SiO2), alumina (Al2O3), zirconia (ZrO2), titania (TiO2), germania (GeO2) or mixtures thereof ([0063]).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR-2020-0057566 A (KR-566, herein after; newly cited prior art, provided with the IDS dated 10/26/2023) in view of KR 2018-0064018 (provided with the IDS dated 10/26/2023; herein after KR-018) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Reiss et al (US 2022/0089908).
Regarding claim 7, modified KR-566 disclose above for claim 1 and KR—566 also disclose the composition also included a pH adjustor [0023]; but fail to teach the composition further comprises a surfactant.
However, Reiss et al disclose a polishing composition for carbon-based film (abstract) comprises surfactant [0012].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ Reiss et al's teaching of introducing surfactant in the polishing composition into the teaching of modified KR-566 for providing desired wettability for the polishing composition as suggested by Reiss et al [0029].
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 3-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1,4 and 6 of co-pending Application No. 18/255,958 (application ‘958) in view of Minamihaba et al (US 2006/0243702).
Regarding claims 1 and 3-6, the difference between the inventions is the application ‘958 requires stabilizer being represented by Formula 3 and the weight ratio of the accelerator and the stabilizer.
However, Minamihaba et al disclose a polishing composition comprising abrasive particles of colloidal silica, oxidizing agent, first and second complexing agent (abstract, [0008]).
Minamihaba et al disclose that the first complexing agent comprises picolinic acid [0024]; and aforesaid picolinic acid reads on the claimed stabilizer compound represented by Formula 3 because the chemical structure of picolinic acid is below:
Minamihaba et al disclose that the second complexing agent and examples of the second complexing agent include amino acid such as glycine, alanine and tryptophan. Further, an organic acid which capable of exhibiting the same effect as the polishing-accelerating agent can be also employed. Examples of such an organic acid include formic acid, lactic acid, acetic acid, tartaric acid, fumaric acid, glycol acid, phthalic acid, maleic acid, oxalic acid, citric acid, malic acid, malonic acid, glutamic acid [0027]; and aforesaid “amino acid” or “organic acid”, such as lactic acid (hydroxyl acid) as Hydroxy acids are a class of organic acids characterized by the presence of both a hydroxyl group (-OH) and a carboxyl group (-COOH) in their structure). Examples include glycolic acid, lactic acid) corresponds or reads on the claimed “accelerator”.
Minamihaba et al further disclose that the first and the second complexing agents may be employed singly or in combination of two or more kinds thereof [0029].
Minamihaba et al disclose that the oxidizing agent may comprises diammonium cerium nitrate (reads on the claimed cerium salt in the instant claim 1).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the polishing composition include both the picolinic acid (as the first complexing agent) and amino acid or organic acid (as the second complexing agent) as suggested by Minamihaba et al into the instant invention.
The modified teaching above may not explicitly disclose the claimed weight ratio of the accelerator and the stabilizer. However, without showing any criticality of such would have been obvious to optimize for predictable result.
Regarding claim 7, claim 1 in the application’958 includes surfactant; and claim 6 includes pH adjusting agent in application ‘958.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
SHAMIM AHMED
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1713
/SHAMIM AHMED/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713