DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 72-75 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 72, it is unclear if “a stepper lithography apparatus” of claim 72 is the same as “A stepper lithography apparatus” of claim 71. In order to expedite prosecution, it is assumed that the stepper lithography apparatus of claim 72 is the same stepper lithography apparatus of claim 71.
The remaining claims, not specifically mentioned, are rejected for incorporating the defects from the base claim by dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 56, 59, 60, 62-65 and 67-75 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (Zhou) (CN 111983899 in IDS) (translation provided in previous Office Action, para numbers in rejection refer to translation) in view of Kurokawa (JP 2002-110516 in IDS) (translation provided with Office Action, page numbers in rejection refer to translation).
Regarding claim 56, Zhou discloses a lithography pattern alignment device (nano-contact sensor 39, Fig. 8, para 0173, 0174) for a photolithography apparatus (Fig. 8, para 0173-0174), comprising: a wafer stage (38, Fig. 8) configured to carry a wafer (1, Fig. 8) to be processed, wherein the wafer includes several wafer areas (Fig. 3), each of the wafer areas including a scanning area (15, Fig. 3), and an off-site area (Fig. 3, the areas outside of 15, para 0136, 0137) around the wafer areas, a photosensitive layer (2, Fig. 2A, 8, para 0134) is provided on a surface of the wafer, the photosensitive layer is provided with at least one three-dimensional mark (44, Fig. 11, para 0167) provided in at least one of the scanning areas, and the three-dimensional mark has a region that is not on the same level as an upper surface of the photosensitive layer (Fig. 11); a nano probe sensing device (39) including a probe sensor (392, Fig. 8), wherein the probe sensor is configured to be located over the photosensitive layer and is configured to move and scan the scanning area and determine coordinates of the at least one three-dimensional mark in the scanning area (para 0176, atomic force tip sensors and tunnel electron probe sensors are designed to move and scan the scanning area) ; an exposure beam generating device (372, Fig. 8, para 0173) configured to provide an exposure beam to the wafer area, so as to form a projected exposure area on the photosensitive layer (para 0173, 0174, 0219-0221); a displacement actuating device (deflection coil 35) configured to adjust a relative position of the exposure beam (electron beam from electron gun 372) and a wafer area to be exposed according to the coordinates of the at least one three-dimensional mark measured by the nano probe sensing device (para 0173, 0174, 201, step 8, deflecting the electron beam based on the measured coordinates of the three-dimensional alignment mark) when a wafer area to be exposed is moved into the projected exposure area (Fig. 8, para 0173-0201), so as to align the projected exposure area with the wafer area to be exposed (Fig. 8, pages 0173, 0174, 0201); and a computer control system (42, Fig. 8), which is configured to receive the coordinates of the three- dimensional mark measured by the nano probe sensing device (para 0173-0176, claim 16). Zhou also discloses a computer control system (42, para 0174) compares the received measured coordinates (para 0068, determine and memorize the alignment coordinate mark in the first writing field after the movement) with reference coordinates (para 0065, 0066 preset in-situ alignment coordinate mark) of the three-dimensional mark so as to obtain a difference between the two coordinates, (para 0069, calculate deviation and correction value) wherein the computer control system is configured to transmit the difference between the two coordinates to the displacement actuating device (inherent to para 0078, where the deflection voltage of the electron beam lens barrel is adjusted based on the difference that needs to be compensated, the calculated deviation and correction must be transmitted); the displacement actuating device (deflection coil 35) is specifically configured to adjust the relative position of the exposure beam generating device and the wafer area according to the difference between the two coordinates, so as to compensate for the difference to enable the projected exposure area to align with the wafer area (para 0173, 0174, 201, step 8, deflecting the electron beam based on the measured coordinates of the three-dimensional alignment mark); wherein the reference coordinates are coordinates of a preset position of the three-dimensional mark when the area of the wafer to be exposed is aligned with the projected exposure area and are pre-stored in the computer control system (para 0063, 0065, 0066), or the reference coordinates are corresponding coordinates in the scanning area, wherein the corresponding coordinates are determined from (a) the coordinates measured by the nano probe sensing device for the three-dimensional mark before the exposure of the wafer area and (b) a theoretical distance that the wafer is to be moved in a horizontal and vertical directions to align a next wafer area to be exposed with a projection exposure area, wherein the theoretical distance that the wafer is to be moved is pre- stored in the computer control system.
However, Zhou does not disclose a displacement actuating device configured to adjust a relative position of the exposure beam generating device and the wafer stage according to the coordinates of the at least one three-dimensional mark and the difference between the measured coordinate and the reference coordinate. Kurokawa discloses an electron beam lithography system (Fig. 1) comprising wafer stage (32) and a wafer stage control unit for configured to adjust a relative position of the exposure beam generating device and the wafer stage according to the coordinates of the at least one three-dimensional mark (page 2, “controlling at least one of the deflection controller and the wafer stage controller based on the correction value to adjust the irradiation position of the electron beam”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to adjust one of the deflection controller and the wafer stage to properly position the wafer stage for accurate positioning of the wafer for exposure as taught by Kurokawa.
Regarding claim 59, Zhou discloses in Fig. 4 and 11 wherein the three-dimensional marks on the photosensitive layer include three-dimensional marks formed on the photosensitive layer and corresponding to underlying alignment marks provided below the photosensitive layer and/or three-dimensional patterns formed by irradiation induced resist change (IIRC) formed after exposure of the surface of the photosensitive layer by the exposure beam (para 0040-0041, 0176).
Regarding claim 60, Zhou discloses wherein the height of the three-dimensional mark is greater than surface roughness of the photosensitive layer (Fig. 4, 11); or, the three-dimensional mark is a three-dimensional structure protruding or recessing on an upper surface of the photosensitive layer (Fig. 4, 11).
Regarding claim 62, Zhou discloses wherein each wafer area is provided with at least one three-dimensional mark (Fig. 3, para 0030), and the three-dimensional mark is located in said wafer area or in an off-site area around said wafer area (12, 13, 14, Fig. 3), wherein the reference coordinates of said three-dimensional mark are stored in advance in the computer control system (para 0065, 0066 preset in-situ alignment coordinate mark, para 0068, 0069, in order to calculate the deviation, the preset in-situ alignment coordinate mark must be stored in advance).
Regarding claim 63, Zhou discloses wherein at least one of the wafer areas is not provided with a corresponding three-dimensional mark and the at least one area not provided with the corresponding three-dimensional mark is aligned with the corresponding projected exposure area according to a three-dimensional mark and/or three-dimensional patterns in the previous exposed wafer area measured by the probe sensor (39, 392, Fig. 8 and Fig. 3, para 0135-0138, 0154-0156).
Regarding claim 64, Zhou discloses wherein the exposure beam generating device is provided with a positioning mark generating device, and the positioning mark generating device is configured to a three-dimensional positioning mark on a periphery of the wafer area while exposing the wafer area, (para 0040, 0041, the three-dimensional patterns formed by irradiation induced resist change (IIRC) formed after exposure of the surface of the photosensitive layer by the exposure beam). Although Zhou does not disclose wherein the probe sensor is configured to calibrate a position of the wafer area to be exposed according to the three-dimensional positioning mark, it would have been obvious to calibrate a position of the wafer area according to the three-dimensional positioning mark in order to eliminate error and obtain greater accuracy.
Regarding claim 65, Zhou discloses wherein the probe sensor is at least one sensor selected from the group consisting of atomic force probe sensor and a probe sensor head for tunneling electron (para 0176).
Regarding claim 67, Zhou discloses wherein the nano probe sensing device further comprises a micro-cantilever, said micro-cantilever is fixed at one end and said probe sensor is provided at the other end (Zhou discloses cantilever 391 with a nano probe sensor 392).
Regarding claim 68, Zhou discloses wherein the nano probe sensing device (392) includes one or more probe sensors, and the one or more probe sensors are fixed on one side or both sides of the exposure beam generating device through the micro-cantilever (391, Fig. 8, 10, para 0177-0179).
Regarding claim 69, Zhou discloses wherein the exposure beam generating device (32, 372, Fig. 8) includes a projection objective lens group (lens barrel 32) arranged above the wafer (Fig. 8). Zhou also discloses wherein the nano tip sensing device (392) includes one or more probe sensors, and the probe sensors are fixed on one side or both sides of the exposure beam generating device through the micro cantilever (391, Fig. 8, 10, para 0177-0179). Although Zhou does not disclose that the wherein one or more probe sensors are fixed on a fixed part of the wafer stage, one or more of the probe sensors are fixed on a side of the exposure beam generating device, and the relative distance between probe sensors is fixed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to fix the one or more probe sensors on the wafer stage, one or more of the probe sensors on a side of the exposure beam generating device, and the relative distance between probe sensors is fixed to the invention of Ina in view of Zhou to provide more compact system since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention requires only the routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 70, Zhou discloses wherein the nano tip sensing device (392) includes one or more probe sensors, and the probe sensors are fixed on one side or both sides of the exposure beam generating device through the micro cantilever and the probe sensors are located on different straight lines to determine whether the wafer is perpendicular to the exposure beam (391, Fig. 8, 10, para 0177-0179). Although Zhou does not disclose three probe sensors and that the probe sensors are fixed on a fixed part of the wafer stage through connecting members and/or are fixed on the exposure beam generating device through connecting members, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide three probe sensors and fix the one or more probe sensors on the wafer stage, one or more of the probe sensors on a side of the exposure beam generating device to the invention of Ina in view of Zhou to provide more compact system since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention and duplication of parts require only the routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 71, Zhou discloses a stepper lithography apparatus (Fig. 8) for repeated exposure of a plurality of wafer areas within a wafer (Fig. 3), wherein said lithography apparatus is provided with a lithography pattern alignment device as claimed in claim 56.
Regarding claim 72, Zhou discloses an operating method of a stepper lithography apparatus (Fig. 8) comprising a projection objective lens group (32, electron microscope lens barrel), wherein the method comprises: preparing, which includes setting at least one bottom alignment mark (43, Fig. 11, para 0167) on the wafer (1) to be processed and coating the photosensitive layer (2) on said wafer to be processed, so as to obtain a wafer provided with a three-dimensional mark (44, Fig. 11, para 0167), wherein said bottom alignment mark forms a three-dimensional mark on said photosensitive layer (Fig. 11), aligning, which includes: placing the wafer provided with the three-dimensional mark in the lithography apparatus (para 0063), a projection objective lens group (32) are set close to the wafer (1) in the lithography apparatus (Fig. 8), so that the projection objective lens groups corresponds to the projection exposure area on the wafer (para 0063, 0064), driving the wafer stage to place a first wafer area to be exposed under the projection objective lens group (para 0063, 0064); scanning the photosensitive layer within a scanning area with the probe sensor (nano-contact sensor, para 0066) so as to obtain coordinates of a position of a first three-dimensional mark (para 0066); adjusting with the displacement actuating device (deflection coil 35), wherein the displacement actuating device adjusts the relative position of the exposure beam generating device (electron gun 372) and the and a wafer area according to the obtained coordinates, so that the projected exposure area is aligned with the first wafer area (para 0173, 0174, 201, step 8, deflecting the electron beam based on the measured coordinates of the three-dimensional alignment mark); and exposing, wherein the beam generating device emits an exposure beam to the first wafer area of the wafer so as to realize the exposure of the first wafer area (para 0202, electron beam exposure is performed). However Zhou does not disclose adjusting relative position between the exposure beam generating device and the wafer stage according to the obtained coordinates. Kurokawa discloses an electron beam lithography system (Fig. 1) comprising wafer stage (32) and a wafer stage control unit for configured to adjust a relative position of the exposure beam generating device and the wafer stage according to the coordinates of the at least one three-dimensional mark (page 2, “controlling at least one of the deflection controller and the wafer stage controller based on the correction value to adjust the irradiation position of the electron beam”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to adjust one of the deflection controller and the wafer stage to properly position the wafer stage for accurate positioning of the wafer for exposure as taught by Kurokawa.
Regarding claim 73, Zhou discloses placing a second wafer area under the projection objective lens group after the exposing of the first wafer area, wherein the probe sensor scans coordinates of a position of the first three-dimensional mark having been moved and compares them with reference coordinates of the first three- dimensional mark having been moved so as to obtain a deviation of the two coordinates, and the displacement actuating device adjusts the relative position of the exposure beam generating device and the wafer stage according to the deviation of the two coordinates, so as to align the projected exposure area with the second wafer area and then realizing exposure of the second wafer area (para 0067-0072).
Regarding claim 74, Zhou discloses wherein the reference coordinates of the first three-dimensional mark having been moved are corresponding coordinates in the scanning area, wherein the corresponding coordinates in the scanning area are determined from (a) coordinates of said first three-dimensional mark when the wafer area is exposed (para 0066- 0068) and (b) a theoretical distance that the wafer is to be moved to align the second wafer area to be exposed with the projection exposure area (para 0067).
Regarding claim 75, Zhou discloses placing a second wafer area under the projection objective lens group after the exposing of the first wafer area, wherein the probe sensor scans coordinates of a second three-dimensional mark and compares them with reference coordinates of the second three-dimensional mark to obtain a difference of the two coordinates (para 0067-0072), the displacement actuating device (deflection coil 35) adjusts the relative position of the exposure beam generating device and the wafer area according to the difference of the two coordinates (para 0069-0072), so as to align the projected exposure area with the second wafer area and then realizing an exposure of the second wafer area (para 0080), wherein the reference coordinates of the second three-dimensional mark are pre-stored in the computer control system (para 0080), or wherein the second wafer area is placed under the projection objective lens group after the exposing of the first wafer area, the probe sensor scans graphics and coordinates of a three-dimensional pattern formed on the photosensitive layer after the first wafer area is exposed (para 0081), and compares them with preset graphics and coordinates of the three-dimensional pattern so as to obtain a difference between the positions of the two three-dimensional patterns (para 0082-0084), and the displacement actuating device adjusts the relative position of the exposure beam generating device and the wafer stage according to the difference between the positions of the two three dimensional patterns (para 0087-0090), so as to align the projected exposure area with the second wafer area and then realizing exposure of the second wafer area (para 0093). However Zhou does not disclose adjusting relative position between the exposure beam generating device and the wafer stage according to the obtained coordinates. Kurokawa discloses an electron beam lithography system (Fig. 1) comprising wafer stage (32) and a wafer stage control unit for configured to adjust a relative position of the exposure beam generating device and the wafer stage according to the coordinates of the at least one three-dimensional mark (page 2, “controlling at least one of the deflection controller and the wafer stage controller based on the correction value to adjust the irradiation position of the electron beam”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to adjust one of the deflection controller and the wafer stage to properly position the wafer stage for accurate positioning of the wafer for exposure as taught by Kurokawa.
Claim(s) 61 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (Zhou) in view of Kurokawa as applied to claim 56 above, and further in view of Shibazaki (2020/0108464).
Regarding claim 61, the further difference between the claimed invention and the modified Zhou is wherein the coordinates of the three-dimensional mark include horizontal coordinates, vertical coordinates and circumferential coordinates of the wafer. Shibazaki discloses detecting three-dimensional coordinates of alignment marks (para 0042). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to measure the coordinates of the three-dimensional marks including horizontal coordinates, vertical coordinates and circumferential coordinates of the wafer in order to properly align the wafer.
Claim(s) 66 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (Zhou) in view of Kurokawa as applied to claim 56 above, and further in view of Bijnen et al. (Bijnen) (2019/0227446).
Regarding claim 66, the further difference between the claimed invention and the modified Zhou is wherein the probe sensor is configured to obtain a data of a structure of a surface of the three-dimensional mark, which is a mathematical convolution of the structure of the surface of the three-dimensional mark and a structure of the tip of the probe sensor, and a structure of the probe sensor is measured and calibrated before measuring the three-dimensional mark using the probe sensor. Bijnen discloses wherein data of a structure of a surface of the three-dimensional mark measured by the probe sensor is the mathematical convolution of the structure of the surface of the three-dimensional mark (para 0126). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide data of a structure of a surface of the three-dimensional mark measured by the probe sensor is the mathematical convolution of the structure of the surface of the three-dimensional mark and a structure of the tip of the probe sensor, a structure of the probe is measured and calibrated before measuring the three-dimensional mark using the probe sensor in order to make efficient use of an alignment signal as taught by Bijnen.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee (2011/0313561) discloses in Fig. 2, storing reference position information, storing the coordinates of the patterns detected as error position information and correcting actual position information by comparing with reference position (abstract). However, Lee does not disclose a nano probe sensing device.
/PETER B KIM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882 June 23, 2026