Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection based on newly amended claim. Please see below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 10 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choi (20200185638)
Regarding claim 1, Choi teaches an display device comprising:
a base portion (101) including a display area (fig. 3: DA) in which a first emission area and a non- emission area are defined (please see fig. 4);
a first light emitting element disposed on the base portion and overlapping the first emission area (please see figure above);
a first encapsulation layer comprising a first lower inorganic layer (241; par .131) disposed on the first light emitting element and a first organic layer (220; par. 124) disposed on the first lower inorganic layer; and
a wavelength conversion pattern (230) disposed on the first encapsulation layer and overlapping the first light emitting element (please see figure above), wherein the first lower inorganic layer is disposed between the first light emitting element and wavelength conversion pattern (please see figure above),
wherein a first opening overlapping the first emission area is defined in the first organic layer (please see opening between elements 220 above), and
wherein the wavelength conversion pattern is disposed within the first opening (please see figure above wherein 230 resides in openings between 220).
Regarding claim 2, Choi teaches an display device of claim 1, wherein the wavelength conversion pattern is in direct contact with the first lower inorganic layer exposed through the first opening (please see figure above).
Regarding claim 3, Choi teaches an display device of claim 1, further comprising a bank pattern (260) disposed on the first encapsulation layer and overlapping the non-emission area,
wherein the bank pattern surrounds the first emission area in a plan view, and wherein the wavelength conversion pattern is further disposed within a space partitioned by the bank pattern (please see figure above which shows 260 in overlapping 220 and forming a space whereon color filters 230 reside).
Regarding claim 4, Choi teaches an display device of claim 3, wherein the first encapsulation layer further comprises a first upper inorganic layer (243; par. 149) disposed between the bank pattern and the first organic layer, and wherein the bank pattern is disposed directly on the first upper inorganic layer (please see figure above).
Regarding claim 5, Choi teaches an display device of claim 4, wherein a second opening overlapping the first emission area is defined in the first upper inorganic layer (please see opening that juts towards layer 101 above wherein 250 resides), and wherein the wavelength conversion pattern is further disposed within the second opening (from a top down or bottom up point of view, 230 Is disposed in the opening that that juts towards layer 101 above wherein 250 resides).
Regarding claim 10, Choi teaches an display device of claim 3, further comprising: a capping layer (250) disposed on the bank pattern and the wavelength conversion pattern; and an auxiliary bank (243) pattern disposed between the capping layer and the bank pattern and overlapping the non-emission area.
Regarding claim 15, Choi teaches an display device of claim 1, further comprising: a second light emitting element disposed on the base portion and overlapping a second emission area which is further defined in the display area; and a light transmission pattern disposed on the first encapsulation layer and overlapping the second light emitting element, wherein an opening overlapping the second emission area is further defined in the first organic layer of the first encapsulation layer, and wherein the light transmission pattern is disposed within the opening (please see figure above).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: a display device of claim 5, wherein the wavelength conversion pattern is in direct contact with the first organic layer and the first upper inorganic layer.
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: a display device of claim 4, wherein the first upper inorganic layer is further disposed within the first opening and in direct contact with the first lower inorganic layer within the first opening.
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: a display device of claim 4, further comprising an insulating layer disposed on the first encapsulation layer and the bank pattern and containing an inorganic material, wherein the insulating layer is in direct contact with the first encapsulation layer, the wavelength conversion pattern, and the bank pattern.
Claim 9 is objected to based on its dependency on claim 8.
Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: a display device of claim 10, wherein the auxiliary bank pattern is in direct contact with the wavelength conversion pattern, and wherein at least a part of a surface of the auxiliary bank pattern has more higher liquid repellency than a surface of the bank pattern.
Claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: a display device of claim 1, further comprising:
a bank pattern disposed on the first encapsulation layer and overlapping the non- emission area;
a capping layer disposed on the bank pattern and the wavelength conversion pattern;
a color filter disposed on the capping layer, and overlapping the first emission area and the non-emission area, wherein the color filter comprises a colorant of a first color; and a color pattern disposed on the color filter and overlapping the bank pattern and the color filter, wherein the color pattern includes a blue colorant different the colorant of the first color.
Claims 13 and 14 objected to based on its dependency on claim 12.
Claims 16-20 allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
display device comprising: a base portion; a switching element disposed on the base portion; an insulating layer disposed on the switching element; an anode electrode disposed on the insulating layer and electrically connected to the switching element; a pixel defining layer disposed on the insulating layer and exposing the anode electrode; a cathode electrode disposed on the pixel defining layer;a light emitting layer disposed between the cathode electrode and the anode electrode; a first lower inorganic layer disposed on the cathode electrode; a first organic layer disposed on the first lower inorganic layer, and in direct contact with the first lower inorganic layer, and having wherein an openings defined therein in the first organic layer, and the opening overlapping overlaps the anode electrode; a first upper inorganic layer disposed on the first organic layer and in direct contact with the first organic layer; a bank pattern disposed on the first upper inorganic layer and overlapping the pixel defining layer; a wavelength conversion pattern disposed within the opening and a space partitioned by the bank pattern, and comprising wherein the wavelength conversion pattern comprises quantum dots; a capping layer disposed on the wavelength conversion pattern; a color filter disposed on the capping layer and overlapping the wavelength conversion pattern; and a second encapsulation layer disposed on the color filter.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CALEB E HENRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818