DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
The amendment filed on December 05th, 2025 has been acknowledged. By this amendment, claims 1 and 3-6 have been amended, claim 2 has been cancelled, and claims 7-13 have been newly added. Accordingly, claims 1 and 3-13 are pending in the present application in which claims 1, 7, and 11 are in independent form. Applicant’s amendment to claims 1 and 2-6 had obviated the claim objections indicated in the previous office action. Applicant’s amendment to the title has been accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yukari (JP-2000-31342A), cited in the IDS filed on 07/06/2023, in view of Hiroshi et al. (JP-2009-227867A), cited in the IDS filed on 07/06/2023.
In re claim 11, Yukari (JP-2000-31342A) discloses a method for manufacturing a semiconductor device, the method comprising: a step of disposing an adhesive thermal insulation material 10 on a semiconductor device 106 (see paragraphs [0009], [0010], [0011], [0012], [0013] and figs. 1-2); a step of performing reflow of the semiconductor device 106 having the adhesive thermal insulation material 10 disposed thereon; and a step of detaching the adhesive thermal insulation material 10 from the semiconductor device 106 (see paragraphs [0009], [0010], [0011], [0012], [0013] and fig. 2).
Yukari (JP-2000-31342A) is silent to wherein the adhesive thermal insulation material contains a matrix polymer and thermally expandable hollow particles.
However, Hiroshi et al. (JP-2009-227867A) discloses wherein the adhesive thermal insulation material contains a matrix polymer and thermally expandable hollow particles (see paragraphs [0004], [0006], [0011], [0012], [0025], note that, JP-2009-227867A discloses that 1 to 30 parts by mass of microballoons mainly composed of borosilicate glass and 0.4 to 2.0 parts by mass of thermally expandable microcapsules are blended with 100 parts by mass of thermoplastic elastomer, the thermally expandable microcapsules are thermally expanded and molded into a foam sheet that is excellent in heat insulation and flexibility, is excellent in handleability, workability, and moldability, and can be applied to various uses).
Therefore, it is respectfully submitted that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to be motivated to incorporate the technique as taught by Hiroshi et al (JP-2009-227867A) into the method for manufacturing the semiconductor device of Yukari (JP-2000-31342A) in order to enable wherein the adhesive thermal insulation material contains a matrix polymer and thermally expandable hollow particles in Yukari (JP-2000-31342A )to be performed because the adhesive thermal insulation material contains a matrix polymer would be excellent in heat insulation and flexibility, is excellent in handleability, workability, and moldability, and can be applied to various uses (see paragraph [0004] of JP-2009-227867A). Additionally, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of it suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
In re claim 12, as applied to claim 11 above, Yukari (JP-2000-31342A) is silent wherein the adhesive thermal insulation material molded in advance into a sheet shape is disposed in the step of disposing the adhesive thermal insulation material.
However, Hiroshi et al. (JP-2009-227867A) discloses wherein the adhesive thermal insulation material molded in advance into a sheet shape is disposed in the step of disposing the adhesive thermal insulation material (see paragraphs [0004], [0006]).
Therefore, it is respectfully submitted that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to be motivated to incorporate the technique as taught by Hiroshi et al. (JP-2009-227867A) into the method for manufacturing the semiconductor device of Yukari (JP-2000-31342A) in order to enable wherein the adhesive thermal insulation material molded in advance into a sheet shape is disposed in the step of disposing the adhesive thermal insulation material in Yukari (JP-2000-31342A) to be performed because the adhesive thermal insulation material molded in advance into a sheet shape would be excellent in heat insulation and flexibility (see paragraph [0004] of JP-2009-227867A). Additionally, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of it suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (Yukari) JP-2000-31342A, cited in the IDS filed on 07/06/2023, in view of Hiroshi et al. (JP-2009-227867A), cited in the IDS filed on 07/06/2023, as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Kaneko et al. (U.S. Pub. 2005/0180481), of record.
In re claim 13, as applied to claim 11 above, Yukari (JP-2000-31342A) is silent to wherein a liquid thermal insulation material precursor is disposed on the semiconductor device, and then the liquid thermal insulation material precursor is cured in the step of disposing the adhesive thermal insulation material.
However, Kaneko disclose in a same field of endeavor, a method for manufacturing a semiconductor device, including, inter-alia, wherein a liquid thermal insulation material precursor is disposed on the semiconductor device, and then the liquid thermal insulation material precursor is cured in the step of disposing the adhesive thermal insulation material 106 (see paragraph [0114] and fig. 1).
Therefore, it is respectfully submitted that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to be motivated to incorporate the technique as taught by Kaneko into the method for manufacturing the semiconductor device of Yukari (JP-2000-31342A) in order to enable wherein a liquid thermal insulation material precursor is disposed on the semiconductor device, and then the liquid thermal insulation material precursor is cured in the step of disposing the adhesive thermal insulation material in JP-2000-31342A to be performed because it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of it suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1 and 3-10 are allowed over prior art of record.
Reasons For Allowance
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
It is determined that the prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious the claimed subject matter of independent claims 1 and 7 as a whole taken alone or in combination, in particular, prior art of record does not teach “wherein the adhesive thermal insulation material satisfies the following Formula (A): F1>F2…(A), wherein, in the Formula (A), F1 is represents the adhesive strength of the adhesive thermal insulation material after heating the adhesive thermal insulation material at 220°C for 120 seconds, and F2 represents the adhesive strength of the adhesive thermal insulation material after heating the adhesive thermal insulation material at 260°C for 30 seconds”, as recited in independent 1 and “wherein the adhesive thermal insulation material satisfies the following Formula (B): F0 ≤ F1 …(B) wherein, in the Formula (B), F0 represents the adhesive strength of the adhesive thermal insulation material at 25°C, and F1 represents the adhesive strength of the adhesive thermal insulation material after heating the adhesive thermal insulation material at 220°C for 120 seconds”, as recited in independent claim 7.
Claims 3-6 and 8-10 also allowed as being directly or indirectly dependent of the allowed independent base claims.
Response to Applicant’s Amendment and Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 05th, 2023 with respect to claims 11-13 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Particularly, with respect to independent claim 11, Applicant contends that the thermally expandable microcapsules as taught by Hiroshi et al. (JP-2009-227867A) have already been expanded in the foamed sheet and the foamed sheet does not contain thermally expandable hollow particles (hollow particles whose maximum volumetric expansion ratio relative to the volume at 25°C is 10 times or more) as supported by paragraph [0073] of the present specification of Applicant’s disclosure. Applicant concludes that the microcapsules in the foamed sheet are already expand, they are no longer thermally expandable microcapsules.
However, it is respectfully submitted that Applicant’s argument is not persuasive because although Yukari (JP-2000-31342A) is silent to wherein the adhesive thermal insulation material contains a matrix polymer and thermally expandable hollow particles.
However, Hiroshi et al. (JP-2009-227867A) discloses wherein the adhesive thermal insulation material contains a matrix polymer and thermally expandable hollow particles (see paragraphs [0004], [0006], [0011], [0012], [0025], note that, JP-2009-227867A discloses that 1 to 30 parts by mass of microballoons mainly composed of borosilicate glass and 0.4 to 2.0 parts by mass of thermally expandable microcapsules are blended with 100 parts by mass of thermoplastic elastomer, the thermally expandable microcapsules are thermally expanded and molded into a foam sheet that is excellent in heat insulation and flexibility, is excellent in handleability, workability, and moldability, and can be applied to various uses). Therefore, it is respectfully submitted that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to be motivated to incorporate the technique as taught by Hiroshi et al. (JP-2009-227867A) into the method for manufacturing the semiconductor device of Yukari (JP-2000-31342A) in order to enable wherein the adhesive thermal insulation material contains a matrix polymer and thermally expandable hollow particles in Yukari (JP-2000-31342A) to be performed because the adhesive thermal insulation material contains a matrix polymer would be excellent in heat insulation and flexibility, is excellent in handleability, workability, and moldability, and can be applied to various uses (see paragraph [0004] of Hiroshi et al. (JP-2009-227867A)). Additionally, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of it suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Particularly, Hiroshi et al. (JP-2009-227867A) discloses by thermally expanding the expansible microcapsules which constitutes as the thermally expandable hollow particles, and molding them into a sheet, the foamed sheet excellent in various performances such as heat insulation, flexibility, heat shrinkage resistance, dimensional stability, handling, workability, and moldability (see paragraph [0011] and that the temperature during molding depends on the expansion start temperature of the thermally expandable microcapsules to be used, but is preferable to the expansion start temperature (preferably set in a range of 40-80°C) in order to ensure expansion of the thermally expandable microcapsules and prevent rupture due to excessive expansion (see paragraph [0025]). Thus, Hiroshi et al. (JP-2009-227867A) suggested that the adhesive thermal insulation material contains thermally expandable hollow particles and are affected by the expansion start temperature.
Furthermore, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., hollow particles whose maximum volumetric expansion ratio relative to the volume at 25°C is 10 times or more) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). It is respectfully submitted that although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
For this reason, it is respectfully submitted that the rejection is proper.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KHIEM D NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2892