Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to the Applicant’s traverse of the rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 USC 112(b), the amendment resolves the ambiguity on claim interpretation by attributing the claimed function to the recited “signal processing components”. This introduces a new issue for indefiniteness and claim interpretation which is addressed below.
Applicant’s traverse regarding the rejection of claims 2-3 under 35 USC 101 is not persuasive. The claims were rejected because they recite the natural phenomenon of signal generation by carrier formation, part of the natural phenomenon produced by the operation of a PIN diode. Reference was made in the prior action. That the claim recites the “detector is configured…” to effect what is on its face the underlying natural phenomenon producing the useful effect found in PIN diodes does not make the natural phenomenon patentable. The generation of charge carriers and the extraction of their produced signal, as noted in the prior action and the attached reference, is known in the art. The effect of the claim would be to grant exclusive right to the underlying physical mechanism by which PIN diodes function. Hence, claims 2-3 stand rejected under 35 USC 101 with this rejection being made final.
Regarding Applicant’s traverse of the rejection of claims 1-3, 6-10, 12-13, and 16-20 under 35 USC 102(a)(1) to Brown, the remarks are not persuasive. Applicant traverses on the grounds that the action did not make clear what element the semiconductor substrate includes, despite Fig. 3A and [0047] including reference to Item 311 with the language indicating the prior art detector includes a sensor circuit and signal processor fabricated on a silicon structure. These remarks are not persuasive. The prior art was clearly shown in the action corresponding to the claimed elements.
Applicant further alleges that the Examiner failed to show the thickness of the silicon substrate. The Office action at page 7 includes [0068] which states the silicon layer is between 10 and 100 micrometers. Since the epitaxial silicon layer of [0068] is a semiconductor substrate for purpose of the invention in Brown, the claimed limitation is met.
Applicants traverse that the use of layer 457 at page 10 of the remarks is not persuasive. Fig. 4b is but a single pixel of the detector 310. As noted, Item 457-S2 is an electron sensing element [0068] and as previously shown, the signal processing elements 320 in Fig. 3A may be formed on the same chip, and as shown in Fig. 3a, the sensing element 310 and processor 320 are on opposed sides.
Any change to the action below is necessitated by Applicant’s amendment.
This action is made final.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Signal processing components in claim 1-20. The phrase “signal processing components” is a nonce phrase coupled to functional language “facilitate determination of a value…” via a transition phrase “configured to”. It therefore meets the criteria for interpretation of a means plus function term and is interpreted as a computer implemented invention governed by MPEP 2181(II)(B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “signal processing components” in claims 1-20 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The term “signal processing components” is interpreted as a generic computing element. There is no corresponding step by step algorithm disclosed for causing a computer to “facilitate determination of a value that represents a second property of the received charged particle”. This limitation is interpreted with the guidance supplied regarding computer implemented inventions in MPEP 2181(II)(B). Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claims are drawn to a natural phenomenon and recite non-statutory subject matter in the form of a signal. Claim 2 recites that the detector is configured such that carriers form a signal output from each sensing element. Each sensing element is a charged particle diode detector. Note [0051] and [0060] which notes that the diodes are PIN diodes and that the carrier generation is in response to receiving a charged particle. Therefore, this function is merely a recitation of the natural phenomenon of how a PIN diode functions. The generated carriers are the movement of charge, or signal, through the PIN diode and out as a detector output signal. This output current similarly is signal generated from the natural, normal behavior of a PIN diode. Note Ramirez-Jimenez, “PIN Diode Detectors”, AIP Conf. Proc. 1026, 213–226 (2008) at page 213-214. When a charged particle strikes a PIN diode, the natural phenomenon produced as an effect is the generation of electron-hole pairs acting as carriers which represent the resulting current or signal moving through the PIN diode detector.
Further, the structure of the detector of claim 1 upon which claims 2 and 3 depend is not novel, note the rejection under the prior art below, and the subject matter of claims 2 and 3 is not a practical application or significantly more than the detector of claim 1. Claim 2 merely recites the natural phenomenon of what physically happens in a PIN diode (Note Ramirez-Jimenez cited above) and claim 3 recites the content of the signal of claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-10, 12-13, and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by US Patent Application 2017/0329025.
Regarding claim 1, ‘025 discloses a monolithic detector for a charged particle beam apparatus [0047], Fig. 3a, the detector comprising:
a plurality of sensing elements formed on a first side of a semiconductor substrate:
each of the sensing elements configured to receive charged particles emitted from a sample and to generate carriers in proportion to a first property of a received charged particle [0035, 0047-0049].
the substrate having a thickness in a range from about 10 to 30 pm [0015, 0068];
and a plurality of signal processing components formed on a second side of the semiconductor substrate [0035, 0047]
the second side being opposite the first side note above Fig. 3A
the plurality of signal processing components being part of a system configured to determine a value that represents a second property of the received charged particle (Note the rejection of claim 1 pointing out this limitation as rendering the claim indefinite)
Regarding claim 2, ‘045 disclsoes the detector of claim 1, wherein the detector is configured so that the carriers form a signal that is output from each of the sensing elements.
Regarding claim 3, ‘025 discloses the detector of claim 2, wherein the signal includes an amplified charge or current. Note [0049] above.
Regarding claim 6, ‘025 discloses the detector of claim 1, wherein the plurality of signal processing components comprises: a switch (transistors noted below) configured to connect adjacent sensing elements.
Regarding claim 7, ‘025 disclsoes the detector of claim 1, wherein the plurality of signal processing components comprises: circuitry configured to convert an output of a sensing element to an electrical signal of a different form.
Regarding claim 8, ‘025 discloses the detector of claim 1, wherein the detector is formed as a pixelated array including the plurality of sensing elements.
Regarding claim 9, ‘025 discloses the detector of claim 1, wherein the plurality of sensing elements includes a diode configured to generate electron-hole pairs in response to an incident electron impacting the detector.
Regarding claim 10, ‘025 discloses the detector of claim 9, wherein the plurality of signal processing components includes circuitry configured to generate an output signal in proportion to incoming current or charge signal generated in the diode.
12. (Original) The detector of claim 1, wherein the charged particle beam apparatus includes a scanning electron microscope.
13. (Original) The detector of claim 1, wherein the semiconductor substrate includes an epitaxial substrate.
Regarding claim 16, ‘025 discloses a method corresponding to a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a set of instructions that are executable by one or more processors of controller of a charged particle beam apparatus to cause the charged particle beam apparatus to perform operations comprising:
generating a charged particle beam; receiving a secondary charged particle impacting a sensing element;
generating carriers in a sensitive volume of the sensing element; collecting the carriers at an electrode included in a monolithic layer of a detector that includes the sensing element;
performing signal processing using a signal output from the electrode.
Regarding claim 17, ‘025 discloses a method for the medium of claim 16, wherein the operations further comprise: performing signal readout from the monolithic layer. Note [0051] above.
Regarding claim 18, ‘025 discloses a method for the medium of claim 16, wherein the operations further comprise: actuating a component included in the monolithic layer. Note M1-M3 transistor switches above.
Regarding claim 19, ‘025 discloses a method for the medium of claim 18, wherein the component includes a switch configured to connect adjacent sensing elements. Note M1-M3 transistor switches above.
Regarding claim 20, ‘025 discloses a method for the medium of claim 19, wherein the operations further comprise: connecting adjacent sensing elements so that carriers from a plurality of sensing elements are output together.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DAVID A. VANORE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2881
/DAVID A VANORE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2878