Restriction
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I, Claims 3, 4, 19, & 20 in the reply filed on 4-23-2026 is acknowledged. Further, Claims 2, 10, 11, 16, 17, 24, 29, 52, & 53 were recognized as generic to the invention by the examiner. Thus, the claims being prosecuted will be 1-4, 10, 11, 16-20, 24, 29, 52, & 53.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a light projection system, a light receiving system, a data processing unit in claims 18-20, 24, 29, & 53.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 10, 11, 16-20, 24, & 29, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Silva, deceased et al (US PAT 4,933,567) (Silva).
Regarding Claim 1, Silva discloses a method for evaluating a subsurface damaged layer of a semiconductor substrate, the method comprising:
a measurement step of causing laser (Fig. 3, 32) light having penetration characteristics to be incident from a surface of a semiconductor substrate (10) having a subsurface damaged layer under the surface and measuring an intensity of scattered light scattered under the surface (Fig. 1, Columns 4 & 5, lines 67-68 & 1-29); and
an evaluation step of evaluating the subsurface damaged layer on the basis of the intensity of the scattered light obtained in the measurement step (Column 8, lines 4-11 & Column 7, lines 3-25).
Regarding Claim 18, Silva discloses an evaluation system (Fig. 3) comprising:
a stage (37 & 39) capable of holding a semiconductor substrate that is a measurement target;
a light projection system (32) capable of irradiating the semiconductor substrate with laser light having penetration characteristics (Fig. 1, Columns 4 & 5, lines 67-68 & 1-29);
a light receiving system (34) capable of receiving scattered light that is scattered under a surface of the semiconductor substrate; and
a data processing unit configured to evaluate a subsurface damaged layer under the surface of the semiconductor substrate on the basis of an intensity of the scattered light (Column 8, lines 4-11 & Column 7, lines 3-25).
Regarding Claims 3 & 19, Silva discloses the aforementioned. Further, Silva discloses wherein the subsurface damaged layer includes strain (Column 2, lines 7). This definition of the defects are strain induced defects thus the damaged layer being investigated includes Strain; and
the evaluation step includes calculating an amount of the strain on the basis of the intensity of the scattered light (Column 8, lines 4-11). The maps created based on the maximum intensity scatter is a calculation of the amount of strain since it details where all the defects are and their Orientation.
Regarding Claims 4 & 20, Silva discloses the aforementioned. Further, Silva discloses wherein the measurement step includes acquiring the intensity of the scattered light having a predetermined depth in association with position information in planar directions of the semiconductor substrate (Columns 7 & 8, lines 58-68 & 1-11), and
the evaluation step includes calculating the amount of strain in association with the position information (Column 8, lines 4-11). The maps created based on the maximum intensity scatter is a calculation of the amount of strain since it details where all the defects are and their Orientation.
Regarding Claim 10, Silva discloses the aforementioned. Further, Silva discloses wherein the semiconductor substrate has a planarized surface (Column 4, lines 56-59, Fig. 1A).
Regarding Claims 11 & 24, Silva discloses the aforementioned. Further, Silva discloses wherein the laser light is incident to the semiconductor substrate at an incident angle θ of 40°< 0 < 80° with respect to a normal line of the surface of the semiconductor substrate (Column 5, lines 58-63).
Regarding Claim 16, Silva discloses the aforementioned. Further, Silva discloses wherein the measurement step includes a scanning step of scanning the semiconductor substrate with the laser light while rotating the semiconductor substrate (Columns 7 & 8, lines 60-68 & 1-5).
Regarding Claim 17, Silva discloses the aforementioned. Further, Silva discloses wherein the measurement step is a step of measuring the scattered light (18, fig. 1A) including elastic scattering. The subsurface scatter (18) shown and disclosed is an elastic scatter.
Regarding Claim 29, Silva discloses the aforementioned. Further, regarding the limitation, “wherein the semiconductor substrate is a silicon carbide substrate,” this limitation is met by the disclosed invention of Silva.
Language in an apparatus or product claim directed to the function, operation, intent-of-use, and materials upon which the components of the structure work that does not structurally limit the components or patentably differentiate the claimed apparatus or product from an otherwise identical prior art structure will not support patentability. See, e.g., In re Rishoi, 197 F.2d 342, 344-45 (CCPA 1952); In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 939-40 (CCPA 1963); In re Ludtke, 441 F.2d 660, 663-64 (CCPA 1971); In re Yanush, 477 F.2d 958, 959 (CCPA 1973).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silva.
Regarding Claim 2, Silva discloses the aforementioned. Further, Silva discloses the substrate may be silicon (Column 1, lines 1-32) but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the semiconductor substrate is a silicon carbide substrate;
However, the examiner takes official notice this would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Silva with wherein the semiconductor substrate is a silicon carbide substrate because as disclosed the method would be used with such materials and it would be common sense to use the device to investigate defects in all kinds of silicon materials.
Claim(s) 52 & 53 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silva in view of Janik et al (US PAT 7,274,440) (Janik).
Regarding Claims 52 & 53, Silva discloses the aforementioned but fails to explicitly disclose a specifying step of specifying a layer including a predetermined amount of strain as a result of the evaluation; and a removal step of removing the specified layer;
However, Janik discloses a specifying step of specifying a layer including a predetermined amount of strain as a result of the evaluation; and a removal step of removing the specified layer (Column 1, lines 29-40);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Silva with a specifying step of specifying a layer including a predetermined amount of strain as a result of the evaluation; and a removal step of removing the specified layer because this would allow for the reduction of waste in the manufacturing process by repairing the damaged wafers rather than throwing them away.
Conclusion
/JONATHON COOK/Examiner, Art Unit 2877 July 8, 2026
/Kara E. Geisel/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877