DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 9-10, and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yonehara et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,214,353).
Regarding to claim 1, Yonehara teaches a substrate processing apparatus configured to process a combined substrate in which a first substrate (Fig. 7, Fig. 8A, the semiconductor wafer), an interface layer including at least a laser absorbing film (Fig. 7, Fig. 8A, the splitting layer), and a second substrate (Fig. 7, Fig. 8A, the handler) are stacked on top of each other, the substrate processing apparatus comprising:
a substrate holder configured to hold the combined substrate (Fig. 7, Fig. 8A, the holder; column 12, lines 59-63);
an interface laser radiating unit configured to radiate laser light to the laser absorbing film in a pulse shape (Fig. 7, Fig. 8A; column 13, lines 28-30, radiate laser light in pulse shape with pulse periods of nanosecond and picosecond, to the laser absorbing film, which is the splitting layer in the figures);
a moving mechanism configured to move the substrate holder and the interface laser radiating unit relative to each other (Fig. 7, column 12, lines 23-24, laser scanning equipment unit moves the laser radiation unit relative to substrate holder); and
a controller configured to control the interface laser radiating unit and the moving mechanism (Figs. 23-24, column 39, lines 49-55, the laser control and irradiation),
wherein the controller performs a control of acquiring information of the interface layer formed in the combined substrate, and a control of setting, based on the acquired information of the interface layer (column 39, lines 49-59, real time feedback loop), a bonding interface having a weakest adhesive strength among bonding interfaces in the interface layer as a separation interface between the first substrate and the second substrate (Figs. 8A-B, column 13, lines 39-43).
Regarding to claim 2, Yonehara teaches the controller performs a control of deciding an interval of the laser light to be radiated to the laser absorbing film depending on the set separation interface (Fig. 6E, Fig. 23, column 39, lines 40-45).
Regarding to claim 4, Yonehara teaches the controller sets the interval of the laser light based on a thickness of the laser absorbing film such that a laser processing time on the combined substrate is minimized (column 7, lines 60-62; column 11, lines 36-40; column 38, lines 22-26).
Regarding to claim 5, Yonehara teaches the controller sets the interval of the laser light based on a thickness of the laser absorbing film such that a laser processing time on the combined substrate becomes a laser processing time required in the substrate processing apparatus (column 10, lines 56-64; column 7, lines 60-62; column 11, lines 36-40; column 38, lines 22-26).
Regarding to claim 6, Yonehara teaches an internal laser radiating unit configured to radiate laser light to an inside of the first substrate to form a modification layer serving as a starting point of separation of the first substrate (Fig. 5A, Fig. 7, Fig. 8B).
Regarding to claim 9, Yonehara teaches a substrate processing method of processing a
combined substrate in which a first substrate (Fig. 7, Fig. 8A, the semiconductor wafer), an interface layer including at least a laser absorbing film (Fig. 7, Fig. 8A, the splitting layer), and a second substrate (Fig. 7, Fig. 8A, the handler) are stacked on top of each other, the substrate processing method comprising:
acquiring information of the interface layer formed in the combined substrate (Fig. 24. column 39, lines 55-60);
setting, based on the acquired information of the interface layer, a bonding interface having a weakest adhesive strength among bonding interfaces in the interface layer as a separation interface between the first substrate and the second substrate (Fig. 8B; column 39, lines 49-59, real time feedback loop); and
determining an interval of laser light to be radiated to the laser absorbing film depending on the set separation interface (Fig. 24, Fig. 5B, column 10, lines 56-64).
Regarding to claim 10, Yonehara teaches the laser light is radiated to the laser absorbing film in a pulse shape at the determined interval of the laser light (column 1, lines 58-60).
Regarding to claim 12, Yonehara teaches the interval of the laser light is set based on a thickness of the laser absorbing film such that a laser processing time on the combined substrate is minimized (column 7, lines 60-62; column 11, lines 36-40; column 38, lines 22-26).
Regarding to claim 13, Yonehara teaches the interval of the laser light is set based on a thickness of the laser absorbing film such that a laser processing time on the combined substrate becomes a laser processing time required in the substrate processing apparatus (column 10, lines 56-64; column 7, lines 60-62; column 11, lines 36-40; column 38, lines 22-26).
Regarding to claim 14, Yonehara teaches forming a modification layer serving as a starting point of separation of the first substrate by radiating laser light to an inside of the first substrate (Fig. 5A, Fig. 7, Fig. 8B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yonehara et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,214,353), as applied to claims 1-2 above, in view of Ito et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,403,505).
Regarding to claim 3, Yonehara discloses the moving mechanism comprises a horizontally moving mechanism configured to move the substrate holder and the interface laser radiating unit relative to each other in a horizontal direction (Figs. 7-8), and wherein the controller performs a control of setting, as the interval of the laser light (Fig. 5B).
Yonehara does not disclose a rotating mechanism configured to rotate the substrate holder and the interface laser radiating unit relative to each other and wherein the controller performs a control of setting, as the interval of the laser light, an interval in a circumferential direction and an interval in a radial direction.
Ito discloses a rotating mechanism configured to rotate the substrate holder and the interface laser radiating unit relative to each other (Fig. 13, element 3) and wherein the controller performs a control of setting, as the interval of the laser light, an interval in a circumferential direction and an interval in a radial direction (Fig. 27, column 7, lines 62-67, since the laser beam pulses on at the peripheral portion and the substrate is rotated, the laser light is performed interval in a circumferential direction and interval in a radial direction). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yonehara in view of Ito to configure a rotating mechanism to rotate the substrate holder and the interface laser radiating unit relative to each other and perform a control of setting, as the interval of the laser light, an interval in a circumferential direction and an interval in a radial direction, in order to remove peripheral portion of the substrate.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yonehara et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,214,353), as applied to claims 1 and 6 above, in view of Ito et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,403,505).
Regarding to claim 7, Yonehara discloses the internal laser radiating unit forms a peripheral modification layer serving as a starting point of separation of the peripheral portion of the first substrate as the removing target (Fig. 8B).
Yonehara does not disclose a periphery removing unit configured to remove a peripheral portion of the first substrate as a removing target.
Ito discloses a periphery removing unit configured to remove a peripheral portion of the first substrate as a removing target (Figs 14-15). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yonehara in view of Ito to configure a periphery removing unit to remove a peripheral portion of the first substrate as a removing target, in order to increase in a yield in manufacturing of semiconductor devices (Ito, column 1, lines 14-15, lines 20-25).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yonehara et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,214,353), as applied to claims 1 and 6 above, in view of Yamazaki et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,189,048).
Regarding to claim 8, Yonehara does not disclose the interface layer includes a separation facilitating film formed at an interface between the laser absorbing film and the second substrate, and the separation facilitating film is a tungsten film. Yamazaki discloses an interface layer includes a separation facilitating film, and the separation facilitating film is a tungsten film (column 12, lines 41-43). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yonehara in view of Yamazaki to include in the interface layer a separation facilitating film formed at an interface between the laser absorbing film and the second substrate, the separation facilitating film is a tungsten film, in order to reduce time for separating the layers, thus to increase productivity.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yonehara et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,214,353), as applied to claims 9-10 above, in view of Ito et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,403,505).
Regarding to claim 11, Yonehara does not disclose the interval of the laser light includes an interval in a circumferential direction and an interval in a radial direction, and while rotating the combined substrate and a radiating unit of the laser light relative to each other to achieve the interval in the circumferential direction and while moving the combined substrate and the radiating unit of the laser light relative to each other in a horizontal direction to achieve the interval in the radial direction, the laser light is radiated to the laser absorbing film from the radiating unit.
Ito discloses an interval of the laser light includes an interval in a circumferential direction and an interval in a radial direction (Fig. 27), and while rotating the combined substrate and a radiating unit of the laser light relative to each other to achieve the interval in the circumferential direction (Figs. 12-13, motor 3 rotates to make the substrate and a radiating unit of the laser light moving relative to each other to achieve the interval in the radial direction to achieve the interval in the circumferential direction) and while moving the combined substrate and the radiating unit of the laser light relative to each other in a horizontal direction to achieve the interval in the radial direction (Figs. 12-13, motor 53 rotates to make the substrate and a radiating unit of the laser light moving relative to each other to achieve the interval in the radial direction), the laser light is radiated to the laser absorbing film from the radiating unit (Figs. 12-13). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yonehara in view of Ito to include in the interval of the laser light an interval in a circumferential direction and an interval in a radial direction, while rotating the combined substrate and a radiating unit of the laser light relative to each other to achieve the interval in the circumferential direction and while moving the combined substrate and the radiating unit of the laser light relative to each other in a horizontal direction to achieve the interval in the radial direction, in order to remove peripheral portion of the substrate.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yonehara et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,214,353), as applied to claims 9 and 14 above, in view of Ito et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,403,505).
Regarding to claim 14, Yonehara discloses the modification layer formed inside the first substrate includes a peripheral modification layer serving as a starting point of separation of the peripheral portion of the first substrate as the removing target (Fig. 8B).
Yonehara does not disclose removing a peripheral portion of the first substrate as a removing target.
Ito discloses removing a peripheral portion of the first substrate as a removing target (Figs 14-15). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yonehara in view of Ito to remove a peripheral portion of the first substrate as a removing target, in order to increase in a yield in manufacturing of semiconductor devices (Ito, column 1, lines 14-15, lines 20-25).
Pertinent Art
For the benefits of the Applicant, US-9269561-B2, US-8669166-B1, US-9214353-B2, US-8492676-B2, US-7696065-B2, US-8486806-B2, US-10586726-B2, US-10118250-B1, US-9111983-B1, and US-10224229-B2, are cited on the record as being pertinent to significant disclosure through some but not all claimed features of the defined invention. These references fail to disclose the claimed limitations including “the controller performs a control of acquiring information of the interface layer formed in the combined substrate, and a control of setting, based on the acquired information of the interface layer, a bonding interface having a weakest adhesive strength among bonding interfaces in the interface layer as a separation interface between the first substrate and the second substrate.”
Conclusion
/VU A VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897