DETAILED ACTION
Foreign Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file, as electronically retrieved 05/30/2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/30/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Status of Application
In response to Office action mailed 09/30/2025, Applicants amended claims 1,3, 9, 13 and 16-18 and added claims 22-25 in the response filed 12/30/2025.
Claim(s) 1-25 are pending examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see 12/31/2020 Remarks, with respect to the rejection of claim(s) 13 and 16-21 under 35 U.S.C. § 112 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claim(s) 13 and 16-21 under 35 U.S.C. § 112 have been withdrawn in view of the amendment(s).
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-25 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new combination of references being used in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the thickness of the metal foil layer is 10 µm or more.” in line 5. This is an open-ended range. It is unclear just how large this metal foil thickness can be?
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the thickness of the metal foil” in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 22 recites the limitation “the thickness of the adhesive layer” in in line 6.
Note: all dependent claims necessarily inherit the indefiniteness of the claims from which they depend.
Claim Objections
Claim 23 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 23 makes reference to “the metal conductive portion” in line 2. Although, it is understood the claim is intending to refer back to the “at least one metal conductive portion” the Office feels to maintain consistency and clarity of record the claim should recite the item as originally introduced.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(A)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (PG Pub 2020/0137931; hereinafter Lee),
Regarding claim 1, refer to the examiner’s mark-up of Fig. 4d-provided above, Lee teaches a conductive member 230 comprising: an adhesive layer 231 consisting of an adhesive composition containing conductive particles (para [0077]; “nano-conductive fiber layer 231 may include an adhesive member”); and a metal foil layer 233 disposed on the adhesive layer, wherein the thickness of the metal foil layer is 10 µm or more (para [0074]; “10 µm to 14 µm”).
Regarding claim 2, refer to the examiner’s mark-up of Fig. 4d-provided above, Lee teaches the conductive member 230 is used to form an electromagnetic wave shield (para [0057]).
Regarding claim 3, refer to the examiner’s mark-up of Fig. 4d-provided above, Lee teaches the thickness of the metal foil layer is 10 µm to 200 µm (para [0074]; “10 µm to 14 µm”).
Regarding claim 4, refer to the examiner’s mark-up of Fig. 4d-provided above, Lee teaches the thickness of the metal foil layer is 15 µm or less (para [0074]; “10 µm to 14 µm”).
Regarding claim 5, refer to the examiner’s mark-up of Fig. 4d-provided above, Lee teaches a holding film 311 disposed on at least one of a surface of the metal foil layer (233-top) which is opposite to the adhesive layer 231 and a surface of the adhesive layer which is opposite to the metal foil layer (see Fig. 4d).
Regarding claim 6, refer to the examiner’s mark-up of Fig. 4d-provided above, Lee teaches the adhesive layer 231 and the metal foil layer 233 are separately provided (unique and distinct from one another), and the adhesive layer is capable of adhering to the metal foil layer in use.
Lee teaches the claimed conductive member. The recitations to “the adhesive layer is capable of adhering to the metal foil layer in use” are properties and/or characteristics or the material compositions. The applied prior art, teaching a substantially identical apparatus, renders the claimed apparatus unpatentable because the claimed properties and characteristics (i.e., adhesion) are presumed inherent. See MPEP 2112.01.
According to the MPEP 2112.01(I) (Product and Apparatus Claims --- When the Structure Recited in the Reference is Substantially Identical to that of the Claims, Claimed Properties or Functions Are Presumed to be Inherent):
Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252,1255,195 USPQ 430,433 (CCPA1977). “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709,15 USPQ2d 1655,1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Applicant may rebut this finding by proving the prior art apparatus and the claimed apparatus are not substantially identical or by proving the prior art apparatus does not possess the claimed properties and characteristics. See esp. In re Ludtke, 441 F.2d 660, 664 (CCPA 1971) (holding a claim anticipated, even though the claimed panels were limited by properties and functions not within the prior art, because appellants failed to show the prior art did not possess the characteristics claimed); see also Titanium Metals Corp. v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (a claimed compound’s claimed property, albeit the property newly discovered, did not patentably distinguish from the prior art compound that met the claimed compound); see also, MPEP 2112.01(II). Applicant is reminded that argument of counsel is not evidence. MPEP 2145(I).
Regarding claim 9, refer to the examiner’s mark-up of Fig. 4d-provided above, Lee teaches the adhesive layer 231 includes a first adhesive layer consisting of the conductive particles and an adhesive composition (para [0077]), but does not explicitly teach the first adhesive layer consisting of a second adhesive layer consisting of an adhesive composition.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to duplicate the number of adhesive layers, since it has been held that the mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (see In re Harza (see MPEP section 2144.04 (VI)(B) the mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. It is the Examiner’s position that no new and unexpected result is produced with the addition of multiple adhesive layers, therefore the modification of duplicating parts is not a patentable feature for the invention as claimed. As a result, requiring a rationale for modifying a reference is moot because the modification is, under Harza, not a patentable feature.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claim 8 and claim 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (PG Pub 2020/0137931; hereinafter Lee), as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Kei et al. (JP2017147448; provided in the IDS dated 09/06/2023; hereinafter Kei).
Regarding claim 8, refer to the examiner’s mark-up of Fig. 4d-provided above, Lee teaches the conductive member 231 include first conductive particles (nano-conductive fibers), he does not teach the first conductive particles “having a first average particle size, and second conductive particles having a second average particle size larger than the first average particle size.”
In the same field of endeavor, refer to the Examiner’s mark-up of Fig. 1 provided above, Kei teaches a conductive member (para [0019-0051]) comprising: an adhesive layer (annotated “adhesive” in Fig. 1 above) comprising conductive particles (para [0033]); wherein the conductive particles include first conductive particles having a first average particle size, and second conductive particles having a second average particle size larger than the first average particle size
(para [0034]; the avg. particle diameter ranges between 0.001 µm to 25 µm. Thus, there is particle diameter variation amongst the particles. The Office is construing the first conductive particles having a first average particle size to be particles between 0.001 µm to 10µm and the second conductive particles having a second average particle size between 11 µm to 25 µm.
In light of such teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the adhesive layer of Lee with that of Kim, to enable a reduction of the metal foil thickness, and allow a resin layer to be readily laminated to a metal layer (Abstract).
Regarding claim 22, refer to the examiner’s mark-up of Fig. 4d-provided above, Lee teaches a conductive member 230 comprising: an adhesive layer 231 consisting of an adhesive composition containing conductive particles (para [0077]; “nano-conductive fiber layer 231 may include an adhesive member”); and a metal foil layer 233 disposed on the adhesive layer (see Fig. 4d). He does not teach “an average particle size of the conductive particles is larger than the thickness of the adhesive layer.”
In the same field of endeavor, refer to the Examiner’s mark-up of Fig. 1 provided above, Kei teaches a conductive member (para [0019-0051]) comprising: an adhesive layer (annotated “adhesive” in Fig. 1 above) comprising conductive particles (para [0033]); wherein the conductive particles include first conductive particles having a first average particle size, and second conductive particles having a second average particle size larger than the first average particle size (para [0034]).
In light of such teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the adhesive layer of Lee with that of Kim, to enable a reduction of the metal foil thickness, and allow a resin layer to be readily laminated to a metal layer (Abstract).
3. Claim(s) 10-14, 16-21 and 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (PG Pub 2020/0137931; hereinafter Lee), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jang et al. (PG Pub 2019/0109094; hereinafter Jang).
Regarding claim 10, refer to the examiner’s mark-up of Fig. 4d-provided above, Lee teaches a method for manufacturing an electronic device 310d, comprising: providing a semi-finished product (see claim limitations below) in which at least one electronic component 170 is mounted on a wiring board 210; forming at least one metal conductive portion 240 on the semi-finished product (see Fig. 4d); and disposing the conductive member 230 according to claim 1 (see claim 1) on the metal conductive portion (see Fig. 4d), and electrically connecting the metal conductive portion and the metal foil layer with the conductive particles (see Fig. 4d).
Although, Lee teaches the electronic component on the semi-finished product, he does not teach encapsulating the electronic component with a resin.
In the same field of endeavor, refer to Fig. 2a through Fig. 2c and Fig. 1-provided above, Jang teaches a method for manufacturing an electronic device 10 (para [0028-0087]), comprising: providing a semi-finished product (taken to be the component prior to shielding) in which at least one electronic component 12 is mounted on a wiring board 11; forming at least one metal conductive portion 17 on the semi-finished product; and encapsulating the electronic component on the semi-finished product with a resin 13 (para [0029]).
In light of such teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to encapsulate the electronic device, as taught by Jang, to aid in mechanical support.
Regarding claim 11, refer to the figures cited above, in the combination of Lee and Jang, Jang teaches the encapsulating 13 is performed after the forming of the metal conductive portion 17 (see Fig. 3c).
Regarding claim 12, refer to the figures cited above, in the combination of Lee and Jang, Jang teaches polishing 116 (i.e. cutting; see Fig. 2a) a surface of the encapsulated resin 13 so that a tip end (side surfaces) of the metal conductive portion 17 encapsulated with the resin is exposed (see Fig. 3c).
Regarding claim 13, refer to the figures cited above, in the combination of Lee and Jang, Jang teaches the polishing 116 (i.e. cutting; see Fig. 2a) (see 35 U.S.C 112 rejection above) is performed by using CMP slurry or a polishing pad (para [0050]; “blade”).
Regarding claim 14, refer to the figures cited above, in the combination of Lee and Jang, Jang teaches the electrically connecting is performed when the encapsulating 13 is performed since the same claimed steps are taken (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 16, refer to the figures cited above, in the combination of Lee and Jang, Lee teaches in the electrically connecting, at least one of heating and pressing is performed (para [0054]) with respect to the conductive member 230 so that the metal conductive portion 240 and the metal foil layer 231 are electrically connected through the conductive particles (nanofibers).
Regarding claim 17, refer to the figures cited above, in the combination of Lee and Jang, Lee teaches a protective film (para [0049]) is provided on a surface of the metal foil layer (top) which is opposite to the adhesive layer 231 (see Fig. 4d and Fig. 4e), and pressing is performed with respect to the conductive member through the protective film (para [0049]; “According to an embodiment, the shielding films 230 and 250 may each include a second insulation layer in the top layer thereof. The second insulation layer may prevent damage to the three-dimensional shaping layer during a hot pressing process.”)
Regarding claim 18, refer to the figures cited above, in the combination of Lee and Jang, Lee teaches the at least one metal conductive portion 240 includes a plurality of metal conductive portions (para [0041] and Fig. 3), and in the forming of the metal conductive portion, the plurality of metal conductive portions are formed to surround the electronic component in a planar direction (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 19, refer to the figures cited above, in the combination of Lee and Jang, Lee teaches the plurality of metal conductive portions 240 are formed so that adjacent metal conductive portions (ex. left and right side) are in contact with each other (through 230) or adjacent metal conductive portions are separated from each other.
Regarding claim 20, refer to the figures cited above, in the combination of Lee and Jang, Lee teaches a metal conductive portion 240 that is provided on a semi-finished product (170,210 prior to addition of 230) and extends toward the conductive member (has height); wherein the metal conductive portion and the metal foil layer 233 are electrically connected through the conductive particles (in 231).
Regarding claim 21, refer to the figures cited above, in the combination of Lee and Jang, Lee teaches a semi-finished product (170,210 prior to addition of 230) in which at least one electronic component 170 is mounted on a wiring board 210; and the connection structure according to claim 20 (see claim 20).
Regarding claim 23, refer to the figures cited above, in the combination of Lee and Jang, Lee teaches in the forming of the metal conductive portion 240, the metal conductive portion is formed so as to extend in a direction (vertically) intersecting a surface (top horizontal surface of 210) on which the electronic component 170 is mounted (see Fig. 4d).
Regarding claim 24, refer to the figures cited above, in the combination of Lee and Jang, Lee teaches the metal conductive portion 240 is located within the encapsulated resin 13-Jang with a tip end thereof exposed from the resin, and wherein, in the electrically connecting, the exposed tip end (e.g. the top tip end) is connected to the metal foil layer 233 with the conductive particles 231 (see Fig. 4d).
Regarding claim 25, refer to the figures cited above, in the combination of Lee and Jang, Lee teaches the metal conductive portion 240 extends in a direction (vertical) intersecting a surface (top surface of 210) on which the electronic component 170 is mounted (see Fig. 4d).
Allowable Subject Matter
4. Claims 7 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 7 contains allowable subject matter, because the prior art of record, either singularly or in combination, fails to disclose or suggest, in combination with the other elements in claim 7, one of wherein an average particle size of the conductive particles is larger than the thickness of the adhesive layer.
Claim 15 contains allowable subject matter, because the prior art of record, either singularly or in combination, fails to disclose or suggest, in combination with the other elements in claim 15, the forming of the metal conductive portion is performed after the encapsulating.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTINA A SYLVIA/Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/MARLON T FLETCHER/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817