DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-27 are pending.
Claims 22-27 are withdrawn from consideration.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-21 in the reply filed on 15 May 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 22-27 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Objections
Claims 12 and 14-15 are objected to because of the following informalities: the phrasing does not appropriately connect that the region is where the rib height is lower than the full maximum height. The claim may be more appropriately written such as “wherein the ionically resistive element comprises a region where rib height is lower than the full maximum height, and wherein the region is generally crescent-shaped”. Appropriate correction is required. Similar deletion of the comma is suggested for claims 14-15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Banik, II et al. (US 2019/0055665) in view of Kagajwala et al. (US 2018/0286660).
Regarding claim 1, Banik, II discloses an electroplating apparatus (title) (= an electroplating apparatus) comprising:
An electroplating cell (101) configured to contain an electrolyte [0044] and an anode (104) while electroplating metal onto a substrate [0007] (Figure 1A) (= an electroplating chamber configured to contain an electrolyte and an anode while electroplating metal onto a substrate);
A substrate holder (103) configured to hold the substrate (102) such that a plating face of the substrate is separated from the anode during electroplating [0044] (= a substrate holder configured to hold the substrate such that a plating face of the substrate is separated from the anode during electroplating);
An ionically resistive element (107) [0044] (= an ionically resistive element), comprising:
Openings that allow electrolyte to travel through the ionically resistive element to impinge upon the substrate [0044] (= a channeled plate adapted to provide ionic transport through the ionically resistive element during electroplating);
A substrate facing side that is parallel to the plating face of the substrate and separated from the plating face of the substrate by a gap (Figure 1A) (= a substrate facing side that is parallel to the plating face of the substrate and separated from the plating face of the substrate by a gap);
A plurality of linear ribs (115) [0050] on the substrate-facing side of the ionically resistive element (= a plurality of ribs positioned on the substrate-facing side of the ionically resistive element);
An inlet for introducing electrolyte to the cross flow manifold [0011] (= an inlet to the gap for introducing cross flowing electrolyte to the gap);
A side outlet for receiving electrolyte flowing in the cross manifold [0011] (= an outlet to the gap for receiving cross flowing electrolyte flowing in the gap),
Where the side inlet and side outlet are positioned proximate azimuthally opposing perimeter locations on the plating face of the substrate during electroplating [0011] (= wherein the inlet and outlet are positioned proximate azimuthally opposing perimeter locations on the plating face of the substrate during electroplating).
Banik, II discloses a plurality of ribs, however Banik II fails to disclose wherein the plurality of ribs comprises a first plurality of ribs of full maximum height and a second plurality of ribs of smaller maximum height than the full maximum height.
Kagajwala discloses an electrodeposition apparatus (title) comprising an ionically resistive ionically permeable element having varied local resistivity (317) which resides in close proximity of the wafer (305) is coextensive with the wafer and is separated from the wafer by an electrolyte filled gap [0070]. In the depicted example the element with varied resistivity has varied thickness, wherein its thickness is gradually reduced in radial direction from the edge of the element towards the center of the element (Figure 3) [0072]. Kagajwala discloses that other types of the elements with varied local resistivities such as elements with varied local porosity can also be used. Kagajwala explains that the ionic current meets with lower resistance in the central portion of the plating chamber than at the edge of the plating chamber because the element (317) is thinner at the center which mitigates the terminal effect and improves plating uniformity.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to produce a device comprising a first plurality of ribs of full maximum height and a second plurality of ribs of smaller maximum height than the full maximum height because Kagajwala discloses that the ionic current meets with lower resistance in the central portion of the plating chamber than at the edge of the plating chamber because the element (317) is thinner at the center which mitigates the terminal effect and improves plating uniformity. It would have been obvious to modify the height of the plurality of ribs of Banik II such that the central ribs are smaller and the outer ribs are greater in height to control the ionic current across the substrate face enhancing plating uniformity.
Regarding claim 2, the claimed “proximate” the inlet to the gap is not particularly limiting in regards to the spacing or position. Given the combination of Banik II in view of Kagajwala, the plurality of ribs with a smaller height would be proximate the inlet to the gap. Moreover, given the various arrangements of Kagajwala (Figures 2c-g and 3), rearranging the different sized ribs would have been an obvious engineering design choice to control the electric current or electric field.
Regarding claim 3, Banik II discloses wherein all the ribs (115) are parallel to each other and are perpendicular to a direction of a flow of the cross flowing electrolyte in the gap (Figure 5C).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Banik II in view Kagajwala discloses wherein ribs comprise at least two different heights (i.e. the height of the ionically resistive element of Kagajwala varies across the surface resulting in a variation in height of the ribs when combined).
Regarding claim 6, Banik II discloses that any number of ribs may be used [0068]. A schematic of the amount of ribs is visible in Figure 1A.
Regarding claims 7-8, Banik II discloses ribs having a height between about 1.5 to 3.0 mm [0051].
Regarding claim 9, Banik II discloses a 300 mm wafer [0047] and wherein the gap between the wafer and the ionically resistive plate is about 1/10 the size of the wafer which equates to 30 mm which is close enough to the claimed range that one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the same or similar predictable result.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Banik II in view of Kagajwala would result in at least some of the ribs having variable height since Kagajwala discloses that the height varies across the plate.
Regarding claims 12 and 14-15, Kagajwala discloses various shapes and arrangement of the ribs (Figures 2c-g, 3) therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust the shape of the variation in height of the ribs to control the electric field as needed [0062]. Any one of the claimed crescent, annular, martini glass shape would have been obvious arrangements of the ribs.
Regarding claim 13, lower or smaller ribs is disclosed by the combination of Banik II in view of Kagajwala. Since Kagajwala discloses various arrangements of the heights, it would have been obvious that a region with lower or smaller maximum height would be positioned at either proximate the inlet or the outlet.
Regarding claims 16-17, the channels/openings of the ionically resistive element of Banik II reads on both non-communicating and communicating since the openings are opened in a vertical direction, separated by a wall therebetween (= non-communicating) and are within the same electrolyte which flows the electrolyte therein and therefore can be considering communicating with each other. Kagajwala discloses non-communicating channels [0018] and that 3D porous networks are known in the art [0053].
Regarding claims 18-19, Banik II discloses a cross flow manifold (110) including a side inlet manifold (128) formed as a cavity in the ionically resistive element [0075].
Regarding claim 20, Banik II discloses optionally a ring shaped membrane positioned over the ionically resistive element [0010] and ring shaped insert (108) [0044].
Regarding claim 21, Figure 4L depicts the inlet of Banik II [0075]. The inlet appears to be arc shaped around the edge or perimeter and spans across the edge. Banik II does not explicitly disclose the degree that the inlet spans, however, one of ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at a range of about 90-180° based on the disclosure of Banik II which depicts the inlet spanning over a portion of the edge or perimeter.
Claim(s) 1, 5 and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Banik, II et al. (US 2019/0055665) in view of Gonzalez, Jr. et al. (US 6,811,669).
Regarding claim 1, Banik, II discloses an electroplating apparatus (title) (= an electroplating apparatus) comprising:
An electroplating cell (101) configured to contain an electrolyte [0044] and an anode (104) while electroplating metal onto a substrate [0007] (Figure 1A) (= an electroplating chamber configured to contain an electrolyte and an anode while electroplating metal onto a substrate);
A substrate holder (103) configured to hold the substrate (102) such that a plating face of the substrate is separated from the anode during electroplating [0044] (= a substrate holder configured to hold the substrate such that a plating face of the substrate is separated from the anode during electroplating);
An ionically resistive element (107) [0044] (= an ionically resistive element), comprising:
Openings that allow electrolyte to travel through the ionically resistive element to impinge upon the substrate [0044] (= a channeled plate adapted to provide ionic transport through the ionically resistive element during electroplating);
A substrate facing side that is parallel to the plating face of the substrate and separated from the plating face of the substrate by a gap (Figure 1A) (= a substrate facing side that is parallel to the plating face of the substrate and separated from the plating face of the substrate by a gap);
A plurality of linear ribs (115) [0050] on the substrate-facing side of the ionically resistive element (= a plurality of ribs positioned on the substrate-facing side of the ionically resistive element);
An inlet for introducing electrolyte to the cross flow manifold [0011] (= an inlet to the gap for introducing cross flowing electrolyte to the gap);
A side outlet for receiving electrolyte flowing in the cross manifold [0011] (= an outlet to the gap for receiving cross flowing electrolyte flowing in the gap),
Where the side inlet and side outlet are positioned proximate azimuthally opposing perimeter locations on the plating face of the substrate during electroplating [0011] (= wherein the inlet and outlet are positioned proximate azimuthally opposing perimeter locations on the plating face of the substrate during electroplating).
Banik, II discloses a plurality of ribs, however Banik II fails to disclose wherein the plurality of ribs comprises a first plurality of ribs of full maximum height and a second plurality of ribs of smaller maximum height than the full maximum height.
In the same or similar field of electroplating devices, Gonzalez Jr. discloses an electroplating system (102), a field adjustment plate (100) including first plugs (225a) and second plugs (225c) having different heights (Figure 10B, D, Col. 9 lines 13-28). Gonzalez Jr. discloses the use of different sized plugs influences the distribution of the electric field (116) within the reservoir (106). Gonzalez, Jr. discloses different sizes (e.g. small plugs) provide further adjustment or modification of the electric field behavior (Col. 9 lines 46-59).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to produce a device comprising a first plurality of ribs of full maximum height and a second plurality of ribs of smaller maximum height than the full maximum height because Gonzalez Jr. discloses further electric field control by varying the height of the plugs across the plate.
Regarding claim 5, Gonzalez Jr. discloses wherein the plugs have an angled height from an edge to the center (Figure 10D). The smaller plugs are located only on one side of the plate (e.g. center) (Figure 10).
Regarding claims 10-11, Gonzalez Jr. discloses wherein at least some of the plugs have variable height, and wherein plug height decreases gradually in a direction toward an edge of the plug (Figure 10D).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 6,395,152 – Figure 19, variation in height/distance
/Stefanie S Wittenberg/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795