DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11, 13-15, 20-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shangguan [CN 110808384].
Claim 11: Shangguan teaches a method of deposition [abstract], where the method comprises a first process of forming a first carbon film on the substrate with a plasma [pg 2, summary of invention] with mixture of gases comprising carbon (hydrogen and carbon) and is maintained at an initial state of pressure in a chamber [pg 7, The method for preparing the graphene]; and a second process of changing a pressure in the deposition to a second pressure higher than the first pressure (7.5-10Kpa is higher than 3-5 Kpa) [pg 7, The method for preparing the graphene]. Although Shangguan does not explicitly teach a carry-in process of carrying the substrate into the chamber, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that in order to present the substrate in the chamber, one would introduce or have a carry in process of introducing the substrate in the chamber for processing.
Furthermore, Shangguan teaches in the second process, the plasma is maintained during the deposition of the second carbon film (amorphous) in addition to changing the gas pressure of the chamber [pg 7-8, The method for preparing the graphene].
Claim 13: Shangguan teaches the first carbon film is graphene and the second carbon film is amorphous graphene [pg 7-8, The method for preparing the graphene].
Claim 14: Shangguan teaches introducing hydrogen to activate the plasma for the first process, and since Shangguan teaches maintaining the plasma, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that maintaining the plasma for the second process would also include using hydrogen gas to activate and maintain the plasma in the second process.
Claim 15: although Shangguan does not explicitly teach the claimed range, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the pressure for each of the process as result effective variable through routine experimentation since Shangguan teaches the pressure affects film growth [pg 4, para 2].
Claim 20: Shangguan teaches the second process comprises a hydrogen containing gas that is supplied to activate the plasma the substrate is treated with the activated plasma [pg 7, The method for preparing the graphene].
Claim 21: although Shangguan does not explicitly teach the claimed range, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the pressure for each of the process as result effective variable through routine experimentation since Shangguan teaches the pressure affects film growth [pg 4, para 2].
Claim(s) 16 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shangguan as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of VARADARAJAN [US 20220375722].
Teaching of the prior art is aforementioned but does not appear to teach the limitations of using a microwave plasma. Varadarajan is provided.
Claims 16 and 22: Varadarajan teaches plasmas may be generated using RF plasma, microwave plasma and so forth [0023]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide microwave plasma as a source for plasma depositing graphene since Varadarajan teaches this is another operable source for activating plasma.
Claim(s) 17 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shangguan in view of Varadarajan as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Gulotty [US 20160332885].
Teaching of the prior art is aforementioned but does not appear to teach all the limitations of claims 17 and 23. Gulotty is provided.
Claims 17 and 23: Gulotty teaches purging chamber to a pressure that is different from the previous chamber pressures and held at the third pressure [0036-0037]. Although Gulotty does not explicitly teach stopping the plasma, since Gulotty teaches introducing a purging step, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that during the purging step the plasma activation would have been deactivated or stopped. As for the carry out process into a substrate transport chamber, it is well known in the art that substrate deposition can be performed in-situ or ex-situ with different or separate chambers. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a purging step and stopping the activation to further control the difficult process of growing graphene [0004].
Claim 18: Gulotty teaches that the pressure can be incrementally increased and higher for each subsequent pressure, for example the third pressure is less than the fourth pressure [abstract]. Although Gulotty does not explicitly teach the claimed pressure range, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the pressure for each of the process as a result effective variable through routine experimentation since Gulotty teaches the pressure affects graphene growth [0004].
Claim 19: Gulotty teaches intermediate steps of purging, which it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the step of purging would interrupt the supply of carbon gas and switch to a second mixture of gas which does not comprise carbon gas. Gulotty also teaches increasing pressure in subsequent steps [abstract].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/17/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding applicant’s arguments on page 7, limitations from the specification will not be read into the claims if not explicitly required. Applicant’s arguments that Shangguan is silent on forming the amorphous carbon film in the processing container, it is argued if the substrate on which the second carbon film is located in the processing container, it would mee the limitation of forming the second carbon film in the process container given its most reasonable and broadest interpretation. Regarding Applicant’s arguments that Shangguan does not recognize the technical problem of applicant, the reference is not required to explicitly recognize in solving the same problem as the applicant’s so as long the reference teaches performing the same steps of the method. Regarding applicant’s argument that Shangguan fails to teach in maintaining the plasma formed from the graphene layer while forming the amorphous carbon film, it is argued that Shangguan keeps the substrate in the same chamber from the graphene coating step to form the amorphous carbon coating while making adjustments to the pressure and bias power, instead would suggest that the plasma is sustained from the previous graphene coating step and the coating parameters (e.g. chamber pressure, bias power, etc.) are tweaked in order to form the amorphous carbon film (second film) on the graphene film.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MANDY C LOUIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718