DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments/Arguments
Amendments made to claims 1 and 3, and the withdrawal of claim 9, as filed on January 15, 2026, are acknowledged.
Applicant's arguments, see Remarks filed on January 15, 2026, with respect to amended claim 1 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues that “the more preferable pH ranges for Iwano et al. (4.0 or more) are not preferable for the presently claimed invention”. However, Iwano does specifically disclose the pH of the composition being 3.0 (paragraph 0101), which falls within the range recited in the amended claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1- 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Iwano et al. (JP2016023209, a machine-translated English version is used).
Regarding claim 1, Iwano discloses a polishing liquid (claim 1) comprising: abrasive grains comprising a hydroxide of a tetravalent metal element (claim 1); a polymer comprising a structure unit represented by Formula (1) recited in the instant claim (a copolymer comprising a structure unit of vinylpyrrolidone, paragraph 0140 and claim 1); a liquid medium (paragraph 0065), and wherein the polishing liquid has a pH of 3.0 (paragraph 0101).
Regarding claim 2, Iwano discloses wherein the polymer further comprises a structure unit derived from a (meth)acrylic acid ester (paragraph 0140 and claim 1).
Regarding claim 3, Iwano discloses wherein the structure unit derived from a (meth)acrylic acid ester is a structure unit represented by Formula (2) recited in the instant claim (paragraph 0140 and claim 1).
Regarding claim 4, Iwano discloses wherein a weight average molecular weight of the polymer is 1000000 (paragraph 0085).
Regarding claim 5, Iwano discloses wherein the hydroxide of a tetravalent metal element is cerium hydroxide (paragraph 0029 and claim 1).
Regarding claim 6, Iwano discloses wherein a pH is 3.0 (paragraph 0101).
Regarding claim 7, it is noted that the instant claim is drawn to a composition claim, and a composition claim covers what the composition is not what the composition does. See In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 708, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1657 (Fed. Cir. 1990) ("The discovery of a new property or use of a previously known composition, even when that property and use are unobvious from prior art, can not impart patentability to claims to the known composition."); Titanium Metals Corp. of Am. v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 782, 227 USPQ 773, 778 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (intended use of an old composition does not render composition claim patentable); and In re Zierden, 56 C.C.P.A. 1223, 411 F.2d 1325, 1328, 162 USPQ 102, 104 (CCPA 1969) (" [M]ere statement of a new use for an otherwise old or obvious composition cannot render a claim to the composition patentable.")
Regarding claim 8, Iwano discloses a polishing liquid set comprising: constituent components of the polishing liquid according to claim 1 separately stored as a first liquid and a second liquid, the first liquid containing the abrasive grains and a liquid medium, the second liquid containing the polymer and a liquid medium (paragraph 0016).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JIONG-PING LU whose telephone number is (571) 270-1135. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F: 9:00am – 5:00pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Joshua L Allen, can be reached at telephone number (571)270-3176. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/JIONG-PING LU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713