DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/08/2026 was filed after the mailing date of the Non-Final Office Action on 04/08/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgment is made of the amendment filed 07/08/2026, in which: the title is amended, new claims 23-24 are added; and the rejection of the claims are traversed. Claims 1, 4-5, 8-9, and 14-24 are currently pending an Office action on the merits as follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 9, 14, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Motoyama et al. (WO Publication 2019151278).
Regarding independent claim 1, Motoyama teaches a display device (fig. 3) comprising:
a first conductive layer (31 below to 10R);
a second conductive layer (32 below to 10R);
a light-emitting layer (33 below to 10R);
a lens (36 below to 10R); and
a first insulating layer (37), wherein the light-emitting layer is provided over the first conductive layer (fig. 3),
wherein the second conductive layer is provided over the light-emitting layer (fig. 3),
wherein the lens is provided over the second conductive layer (fig. 3),
wherein the lens comprises a photosensitive material (paragraph 0018),
wherein an end portion of the lens is located more outward than an end portion of the light-emitting layer and an end portion of the second conductive layer (see figure below),
wherein the lens comprises an acrylic resin (paragraph 0018, "the on-chip microlens includes well-known acrylic-based resin"), and
wherein the first insulating layer comprises a region in contact with a top surface of the lens (fig. 3), a region in contact with a side surface of the second conductive layer, and a region in contact with a side surface of the light-emitting layer (fig. 13, 37 in contact with side surfaces of 32 and 33 via layers 34, 35, and CF/BM).
Regarding independent claim 5, Motoyama teaches a display device (fig. 3) comprising:
a first conductive layer (31 below to 10R);
a second conductive layer (32 below 10R);
a third conductive layer (31 below 10G);
a fourth conductive layer (32 below 10G);
a first light-emitting layer (33 below 10R);
a second light-emitting layer (33 below 10B);
a first lens (36 below 10R);
a second lens (36 below 10G);
a first coloring layer (CFR);
a second coloring layer (CFG); and
a first insulating layer (37),
wherein the first light-emitting layer is provided over the first conductive layer (fig. 3),
wherein the second conductive layer is provided over the first light-emitting layer (fig. 3),
wherein the first lens is provided over the second conductive layer (fig. 3),
wherein the first coloring layer is provided over the first lens (fig. 3, CFR is provided over 36 below 10R from a bottom-up perspective),
wherein the second light-emitting layer is provided over the third conductive layer (fig. 3),
wherein the fourth conductive layer is provided over the second light-emitting layer (fig. 3),
wherein the second lens is provided over the fourth conductive layer (fig. 3),
wherein the second coloring layer is provided over the second lens (fig. 3, CFG is provided over 36 below 10G from a bottom-up perspective),
wherein the first lens and the second lens each comprise a photosensitive material (paragraph 0018),
wherein an end portion of the first lens is located more outward than an end portion of the first light-emitting layer and an end portion of the second conductive layer (see marked figure corresponding to claim 1),
wherein an end portion of the second lens is located more outward than an end portion of the second light-emitting layer and an end portion of the fourth conductive layer (see marked figure corresponding to claim 1),
wherein the first light-emitting layer and the second light-emitting layer are configured to emit light with a same color (paragraph 0061, “organic layer 33 forming the light emission element 10 is configured to emit white light”),
wherein the first coloring layer and the second coloring layer are configured to transmit light with different colors (paragraph 0061, “red light emission element 10R for displaying in the color of red includes the red color filter layer CF.sub.R, the green light emission element 10G for displaying in the color of green includes the green color filter layer CF.sub.G”),
wherein the first lens and the second lens each comprises an acrylic resin (paragraph 0018), and
wherein the first insulating layer comprises a region in contact with a top surface of the first lens (fig. 3), a region in contact with a top surface of the second lens (fig. 3), a region in contact with a side surface of the second conductive layer, a region in contact with a side surface of the fourth conductive layer, a region in contact with a side surface of the first light-emitting layer, and a region in contact with a side surface of the second light-emitting layer (fig. 13, 37 in contact with side surfaces of 32 and 33 via layers 34, 35, and CF/BM).
Regarding dependent claims 9 and 14, Motoyama teaches an electronic device (fig. 19A) comprising: the display device according to claim 1/claim 5 (paragraph 0108); and
an operation button (top left circle on 213).
Regarding dependent claims 19 and 20, Motoyama teaches the display device according to claim 1/claim 5, further comprising:
an adhesive layer (fig. 3, 35); and
a coloring layer (CF),
wherein the adhesive layer is provided between the first insulating layer and the coloring layer/first coloring layer (fig. 3), and
wherein the adhesive layer is in contact with a top surface of the first insulating layer (fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 8, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Motoyama in view of Park et al. (US Publication 20140034919).
Regarding dependent claim 4, Motoyama teaches the display device according to claim 1.
Motoyama does not teach further comprising a second insulating layer, wherein the second insulating layer is provided between the second conductive layer and the lens, and wherein an end portion of the second insulating layer is located more inward than the end portion of the lens.
Park teaches further comprising a second insulating layer (fig. 1, 530),
wherein the second insulating layer is provided between the second conductive layer (400) and the lens (511), and
wherein an end portion of the second insulating layer is located more inward than the end portion of the lens (see figure below).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the display device of Motoyama and the second insulating layer of Park to prevent damage when forming the lens layer (Park paragraph 0078).
Regarding dependent claim 8, Motoyama teaches the display device according to claim 5.
Motoyama does not teach further comprising a second insulating layer and a third insulating layer, wherein the second insulating layer is provided between the second conductive layer and the first lens, wherein the third insulating layer is provided between the fourth conductive layer and the second lens, wherein an end portion of the second insulating layer is located more inward than the end portion of the first lens, and wherein an end portion of the third insulating layer is located more inward than the end portion of the second lens.
Park teaches further comprising a second insulating layer (fig. 1, portion of 530 below 511) and a third insulating layer (portion of 530 below 512, see also figure below),
wherein the second insulating layer is provided between the second conductive layer (portion of 400 below 511) and the first lens (511),
wherein the third insulating layer is provided between the fourth conductive layer (portion of 400 below 512) and the second lens (512),
wherein an end portion of the second insulating layer is located more inward than the end portion of the first lens (see figure below), and
wherein an end portion of the third insulating layer is located more inward than the end portion of the second lens (see figure below).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the display device of Motoyama and the second and third insulating layers of Park in order to prevent damage when forming the lens layer (Park paragraph 0078).
Regarding dependent claims 21 and 22, Motoyama teaches the display device according to claim 1/claim 5.
Motoyama does not teach wherein, in a cross-sectional view, the first insulating layer is not in contact with a top surface of the second conductive layer and a top surface of the light-emitting layer/first light-emitting layer.
Park teaches wherein, in a cross-sectional view, the first insulating layer (fig. 2, 550), is not in contact with a top surface of the second conductive layer and a top surface of the light-emitting layer/first light-emitting layer (550 does not directly contact top surface of 400 and top surface of 300).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the display device of Motoyama and the first insulating layer position of Park to in order to prevent damage when forming the lens layer (Park paragraph 0078).
Claims 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Motoyama in view of Yamazaki et al. (WO Publication 2020021399).
Regarding dependent claims 15 and 16, Motoyama teaches the display device according to claim 1/claim 5, further comprising:
a first transistor (fig. 3, 20) electrically connected to the first conductive layer (paragraph 0063, “transistor 20 and the first electrode layer 31 are electrically connected to each other via a contact plug 28 provided at the base”).
Motoyama does not teach a first capacitor, wherein the lens/first lens overlaps with the first transistor and the first capacitor.
Yamazaki teaches a first capacitor (fig. 9, 240), wherein the lens/first lens (149) overlaps with the first transistor (202) and the first capacitor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the display device of Motoyama and the first capacitor of Yamazaki in order to hold accumulated electric charge (Yamazaki, machine translation document page 31 paragraph 4).
Regarding dependent claims 17 and 18, Motoyama teaches the display device according to claim 1/claim 5, further comprising:
a first transistor (fig. 3, 20) electrically connected to the first conductive layer (paragraph 0063, “transistor 20 and the first electrode layer 31 are electrically connected to each other via a contact plug 28 provided at the base”).
Motoyama does not teach a first capacitor, wherein the lens/first lens overlaps with the first transistor and the first capacitor, and wherein the first conductive layer, the light-emitting layer, and the second conductive layer overlap with the first transistor and the first capacitor.
Yamazaki teaches a first capacitor (fig. 9, 240), wherein the lens/first lens (149) overlaps with the first transistor (202) and the first capacitor, and
wherein the first conductive layer (111), the light-emitting layer (112), and the second conductive layer (113) overlap with the first transistor and the first capacitor (fig. 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the display device of Motoyama and the first capacitor of Yamazaki to hold accumulated electric charge (Yamazaki, machine translation document page 31 paragraph 4).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 23-24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 10, filed 07/08/2026, with respect to the specification have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of 04/08/2026 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 4-5, 8-9, and 14-24 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection (Amendments).
Applicant’s arguments filed 07/08/2026 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on pages 11-13 of the instant Remarks: “In the rejections, the Office contends that Motoyama teaches in fig. 3 a second conductive layer 32, a light-emitting layer 33 and a lens 36. The Office then contends that Motoyama in fig. 3 teaches wherein an end portion of the lens is located more outward than an end portion of the light-emitting layer and an end portion of the second conductive layer. However, in contrast to the contention in the rejection, Fig. 3 of Motoyama clearly does not show that an end portion of the lens (36) is located more outward than the end portions of the light-emitting layer (33) and the second conductive layer (32), as can be seen from Fig. 3 of Motoyama which is reproduced below… Further, Claim 1 recites the feature of "wherein the first insulating layer comprises a region in contact with a top surface of the lens, a region in contact with a side surface of the second conductive layer, and a region in contact with a side surface of the light-emitting layer." This feature is shown, for example, in FIG. 1 wherein the first insulating layer (e.g., 21) comprises a region in contact with a top surface of the lens (e.g., 29), a region in contact with a side surface of the second conductive layer (e.g., 60), and a region in contact with a side surface of the light- emitting layer (e.g., 31).”
However, as stated above, Motoyama does in fact disclose “an end portion of the lens is located more outward than an end portion of the light-emitting layer and an end portion of the second conductive layer” as shown in the marked figure corresponding to claim 1, end portion of the light-emitting layer and second conductive layer being interpreted within the bounds of the light-emitting area of the light emission element 10, which is consistent with the specification.
Applicant also argues “Hence, it appears that the Office is contending that film 34 (the alleged first insulating layer) is in contact with a top surface of the lens 36 via layer 35 and the color filter CF… In particular, it is clear from Fig. 13 in Motoyama that layer 34 is not in contact with lens 36 as there are several layers between layer 34 and lens 36, in contrast to the specification and drawings of the present application wherein the first insulating layer (e.g., 21) is clearly in contact with a top surface of the lens (e.g., 29) (i.e., there are no layers in between). Hence, what is shown in Motoyama is not consistent with the use of the term "contact" in the present application. It is not reasonable and clear error to contend otherwise. Further, even if one were to argue that "in contact" can be interpreted as something (i.e., a layer) in between two alleged contacting elements, in Motoyama, layer 34 is BELOW layer 35 and would "contact" the BOTTOM surface of lens 36 and not the top surface of the lens, in contrast to the clear recital in Claim 1. Such an interpretation by the Office is unreasonable and inconsistent with the use of the term top surface in the present application. To contend otherwise is clear error.”
However, as stated above, Motoyama discloses “wherein the first insulating layer (fig. 3, 37) comprises a region in contact with a top surface of the first lens (fig. 3), a region in contact with a top surface of the second lens (fig. 3), a region in contact with a side surface of the second conductive layer, a region in contact with a side surface of the fourth conductive layer, a region in contact with a side surface of the first light-emitting layer, and a region in contact with a side surface of the second light-emitting layer (fig. 13, 37 in contact with side surfaces of 32 and 33 via layers 34, 35, and CF/BM).” Therefore, claim 1, along with claim 5 upon which Applicant presents similar arguments, and their dependent claims, stand rejected.
Conclusion
Applicant's submission of an information disclosure statement under 37 CFR 1.97(c) with the timing fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(p) on 07/08/2026 prompted the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 609.04(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GRACE CHA/Examiner, Art Unit 2897
/JACOB Y CHOI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897