DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 07/23/2026. Claims 1-15 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Response to arguments
Applicant amended claims 1-2,5,11-12 and 15 which changes the scope of the claims and as such a new grounds of rejection is issued.
In regards to the rejection of Claim(s) 1 and 11 Applicant asserts:
Applicant submits that Itakura expressly teaches away from performing the compensation based on the voltage being detected when the balancer is stopped. Therefore, at least the amended subject matter of claim 1 is allowable over the cited reference.
Claim 11 is directed to a method and recites features that are comparable to the above-noted features of claim 1. Therefore, claim 11 is allowable over the cited art for at least the same or similar reasons as claim 1.
In response:
Examiner respectfully disagree and points to the rejection of claims 1 and 11 where the Examiner uses Itakura to teach claim language:
“determine a first voltage value indicating a no-load voltage of the battery ([0044][0065][0071] and Fig. 11 Voltage detector 12 detects voltages of n cells connected in series and transmits the voltages to controller 15 (S10). [0040]-[0041] Controller 15 executes an equalization process between the plurality of cells C1 to C20 based on the voltages of the plurality of cells C1 to C20 received from voltage detector 12. In a general passive cell balance method, the other cells are discharged to the capacity of the cell having the smallest capacity (hereinafter referred to as a target value) among the plurality of cells C1 to C20. The target value may be defined by … OCV (Y in S111)…the OCV of the cell with the lowest OCV becomes the target value), the no-load voltage of the battery being detected while the balancer is stopped (Itakura starts the equalization process after it has determined the cell with the lowest OCV. “Controller 15 sets the detected value of the cell having the smallest capacity among the plurality of cells C1 to C20 as the target value, ….. Controller 15 generates a control signal for the equalization process …. A switch control circuit (not shown) in voltage detector 12 controls a plurality of discharge switches S1 to S20 (i.e. the balancer) in an ON state … based on the control signal received from controller 15”. [0040]-[0041]. As such the OCV (i.e. no load voltage) was detected before the activation of the balancer (i.e. while the balancer is stopped).”
In regards to applicants remaining remarks:
Applicant remarks have been considered but are moot base on new grounds of rejection.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/28/2026 in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 and 11 recites “the no-load voltage of the battery being detected while the balancer is stopped” which is not supported in the spec and therefore new matter.
Claims 2-10 an d 12-15 are included in this rejection due to their dependence on claims 1 and 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Itakura (US 20210296911).
As to claim 1, Itakura discloses a battery management system (Fig. 1, power supply system 1) comprising:
a battery monitor configured to detect a voltage of each of a plurality of batteries connected in series (Fig. 1, voltage detector 12);
a balancer configured to perform a balancing operation for each battery (discharger 11); and 3
a control circuit (controller 15) configured to:
control the balancer based on the voltage of each battery detected by the battery monitor (Fig. 11 S111-S1113, Equalization process in progress), and
wherein, for each battery of the plurality of batteries, the control circuit is further configured to: (Fig. 11 [0046] The above process is repeatedly executed for all the cells included in power storage module M1 while power supply system 1 is in operation (N in S17).:
determine a first voltage value indicating a no-load voltage of the battery ([0044][0065][0071] and Fig. 11 Voltage detector 12 detects voltages of n cells connected in series and transmits the voltages to controller 15 (S10). [0040]-[0041] Controller 15 executes an equalization process between the plurality of cells C1 to C20 based on the voltages of the plurality of cells C1 to C20 received from voltage detector 12. In a general passive cell balance method, the other cells are discharged to the capacity of the cell having the smallest capacity (hereinafter referred to as a target value) among the plurality of cells C1 to C20. The target value may be defined by … OCV (Y in S111)…the OCV of the cell with the lowest OCV becomes the target value), the no-load voltage of the battery being detected while the balancer is stopped (Itakura starts the equalization process after it has determined the cell with the lowest OCV. “Controller 15 sets the detected value of the cell having the smallest capacity among the plurality of cells C1 to C20 as the target value, ….. Controller 15 generates a control signal for the equalization process …. A switch control circuit (not shown) in voltage detector 12 controls a plurality of discharge switches S1 to S20 (i.e. the balancer) in an ON state … based on the control signal received from controller 15”. [0040]-[0041]. As such the OCV (i.e. no load voltage) was detected before the activation of the balancer (i.e. while the balancer is stopped).
compensate the first voltage value of the battery using a balancing capacity of the battery by the balancing operation performed at a latest reference time (Fig. 11, S113. [0066] Controller 15 adds the estimated voltage decrease quantity as compensation value VΔt to the detected voltage of the equalized discharge cell (S113))
determine a voltage difference between the compensated first voltage value of the battery and a reference voltage value ([0067] Fig. 11, and S13 Controller 15 calculates a voltage difference between the calculated average voltage and the detected voltage of the target cell (S13) “Average voltage” identified as “reference voltage value”). and
detect an internal short circuit fault in the battery based on a comparison of a magnitude of the voltage difference of the battery with a threshold ([0045] Controller 15 calculates difference voltage ΔV between the current voltage difference calculated this time and the voltage difference calculated Δt hour(s) (“i.e. threshold”) earlier (S14). [0046] …determines that a minute short circuit has occurred in the target cell (S16)).
As to claim 2, Itakura discloses the battery management system according to claim 1, wherein the control circuit is configured to, for each battery: increase a fault count of the battery by 1 in response to the magnitude of change of the voltage difference of the battery being equal to or larger than the threshold (Fig. 11 , [0047] When difference voltage ΔV calculated in step S15 is greater than or equal to the determination threshold value (Y in S15), controller 15 increments variable a (S151). An initial value of variable a is 0. Based on the value of variable a, controller 15 specifies a number of times N that difference voltage ΔV became greater than or equal to the determination threshold value in the past x (for example, 40) comparative determinations (S152)) detect the internal short circuit fault in the battery in response to the fault count of the battery being equal to or larger than a predetermined value ([0048] controller 15 determines that a minute short circuit has occurred in the target cell (S16)).
As to claim 3, Itakura discloses the battery management system according to claim 1, wherein the reference voltage value is equal to an average or median of the compensated first voltage values of at least two of the plurality of batteries ([0049] [0067] the average voltage).
As to claim 4, Itakura discloses the battery management system according to claim 1, wherein the balancer includes a plurality of balancing circuits connected in parallel to the plurality of batteries in a one-to-one correspondence relationship (Fig. 1 and discharger 11), and wherein each balancing circuit includes a discharge resistor and a discharge switch connected in series (S1,R1 through S20,R20).
As to claim 5, Itakura discloses the battery management system according to claim 1, wherein the control circuit is configured to determine, for each battery, the balancing capacity of the battery by accumulating a discharge capacity of the battery for each balancing operation within a predetermined period of time ([0066] Controller 15 adds the estimated voltage decrease quantity as compensation value VΔt to the detected voltage of the equalized discharge cell (S113)) preceding the reference time ([0046] The above process is repeatedly executed for all the cells included in power storage module M1 while power supply system 1 is in operation (N in S17)..
As to claim 6, Itakura discloses the battery management system according to claim 5, wherein the control circuit is configured to determine the discharge capacity of the battery for a given balancing operation by applying a capacity estimation function to first balancing data associated with the given balancing operation (Fig. 11 S112), and wherein the first balancing data includes a second voltage value indicating the no-load voltage of the battery at a start of the given balancing operation and a duration of the given balancing operation (Fig. 7-8 and Fig. 11 S11-S113 and [0040]-[0041] [0066]. the OCV of the cell with the lowest OCV becomes the target value. When the equalization process is in progress (Y in S111), controller 15 estimates a voltage decrease quantity of the equalized discharge cell in Δt hour(s) (for example, one hour) (S112). Controller 15 adds the estimated voltage decrease quantity as compensation value VΔt to the detected voltage of the equalized discharge cell (S113)).
As to claim 7, Itakura discloses the battery management system according to claim 5, wherein the control circuit is configured to determine the discharge capacity of the battery for a given balancing operation (S111-S113) by applying a state of charge (SOC)-open circuit voltage (OCV) mapping ([0060] [0061] and Fig.9 Compensation value VΔt can be estimated based on the SOC-OCV curve) to second balancing data of the given balancing operation, and wherein the second balancing data includes a second voltage value indicating the no-load voltage of the battery at a start of the given balancing operation and a third voltage value indicating the no-load voltage of the battery at an end of the given balancing operation (Fig. 7-8 and Fig. 11 S11-S113 and [0040]-[0041]).
As to claim 8, Itakura discloses the battery management system according to claim 1, wherein the control circuit is configured to, for each battery of the plurality of batteries: determine an estimated SOC of the battery by applying a SOC-OCV mapping to the first voltage value of the battery ([0060] [0061] and Fig.9 Compensation value VΔt can be estimated based on the SOC-OCV curve), compensate the estimated SOC of the battery by adding a SOC change amount to the estimated SOC of the battery (Fig. 11 S113), wherein the SOC change amount corresponds to the balancing capacity of the battery (Fig. 11 S113), and determine the compensated first voltage value by applying the SOC-OCV mapping to the compensated estimated SOC of the battery ([0060] [0061] and Fig.9).
As to claim 9, Itakura discloses the battery pack comprising the battery management system according to claim 1 ([0065] power storage module M1).
As to claim 10, Itakura discloses an electric vehicle comprising the battery pack according to claim 9 ([0027] FIG. 1. Power supply system 1 is mounted on a vehicle).
As to claim 11, Itakura discloses a battery management method, comprising:
determining, by a control circuit Fig. 1 controller 15), a first voltage value indicating a no-load voltage of a battery included among a plurality of batteries connected in series ([0044][0065][0071] and Fig. 11 Voltage detector 12 detects voltages of n cells connected in series and transmits the voltages to controller 15 (S10). [0040]-[0041] Controller 15 executes an equalization process between the plurality of cells C1 to C20 based on the voltages of the plurality of cells C1 to C20 received from voltage detector 12. In a general passive cell balance method, the other cells are discharged to the capacity of the cell having the smallest capacity (hereinafter referred to as a target value) among the plurality of cells C1 to C20. The target value may be defined by … OCV (Y in S111)…the OCV of the cell with the lowest OCV becomes the target value), the no-load voltage of the battery being detected while the balancer is stopped (Itakura starts the equalization process after it has determined the cell with the lowest OCV. “Controller 15 sets the detected value of the cell having the smallest capacity among the plurality of cells C1 to C20 as the target value, ….. Controller 15 generates a control signal for the equalization process …. A switch control circuit (not shown) in voltage detector 12 controls a plurality of discharge switches S1 to S20 (i.e. the balancer) in an ON state … based on the control signal received from controller 15”. [0040]-[0041]. As such the OCV (i.e. no load voltage) was detected before the activation of the balancer (i.e. while the balancer is stopped).
compensating, by the control circuit, the first voltage value of the battery using a balancing capacity of the battery at a balancing operation for the plurality of batteries performed at a latest reference time (Fig. 11, S113. [0066] Controller 15 adds the estimated voltage decrease quantity as compensation value VΔt to the detected voltage of the equalized discharge cell (S113));
determining, by the control circuit, a voltage difference between the compensated first voltage value of the battery and a reference voltage value ([0067] Fig. 11, and S13 Controller 15 calculates a voltage difference between the calculated average voltage and the detected voltage of the target cell (S13) “Average voltage” identified as “reference voltage value”).; and
detecting, by the control circuit, an internal short circuit fault in the battery based on a comparison of a magnitude of the voltage difference of the battery with a threshold ([0045] Controller 15 calculates difference voltage ΔV between the current voltage difference calculated this time and the voltage difference calculated Δt hour(s) (“i.e. threshold”) earlier (S14). [0046] …determines that a minute short circuit has occurred in the target cell (S16)).
As to claim 12, Itakura discloses the battery management method according to claim 11, wherein detecting the internal short circuit fault in the battery comprises: increasing, by the control circuit, a fault count of the battery by 1 in response to the magnitude of change of the voltage difference of the battery being equal to or larger than the threshold (Fig. 11 , [0047] When difference voltage ΔV calculated in step S15 is greater than or equal to the determination threshold value (Y in S15), controller 15 increments variable a (S151). An initial value of variable a is 0. Based on the value of variable a, controller 15 specifies a number of times N that difference voltage ΔV became greater than or equal to the determination threshold value in the past x (for example, 40) comparative determinations (S152)); and detecting, by the control circuit, the internal short circuit fault in the battery in response to the fault count of the battery being equal to or larger than a predetermined value ([0048] controller 15 determines that a minute short circuit has occurred in the target cell (S16)).
As to claim 13, Itakura discloses the battery management method according to claim 11, wherein the reference voltage value is an average or median of the compensated first voltage values of at least two of the plurality of batteries ([0049] [0067] the average voltage).
As to claim 14, Itakura discloses the battery management method according to claim 11, wherein compensating the first voltage value of the battery comprises: determining, by the control circuit, an estimated state of charge (SOC) of the battery by applying a SOC-open circuit voltage (OCV) mapping to the first voltage value of the battery ([0060] [0061] and Fig.9 Compensation value VΔt can be estimated based on the SOC-OCV curve); compensating, by the control circuit, the estimated SOC of the battery by adding a SOC change amount to the estimated SOC of the battery (Fig. 11 S113), wherein the SOC change amount corresponds to the balancing capacity of the battery (Fig. 11 S113); and determining, by the control circuit, the compensated first voltage value by applying the SOC-OCV mapping to the compensated estimated SOC of the battery ([0060] [0061] and Fig.9).
As to claim 15, Itakura discloses the battery management method according to claim 11, further comprising, for each battery of the plurality of batteries (Fig. 11 [0046] The above process is repeatedly executed for all the cells included in power storage module M1 while power supply system 1 is in operation (N in S17), determining a respective first voltage value ([0065] and Fig. 11 Voltage detector 12 detects voltages of n cells connected in series and transmits the voltages to controller 15 (S10), compensating the respective first voltage value of the battery (Fig. 11, S113. [0066] Controller 15 adds the estimated voltage decrease quantity as compensation value VΔt to the detected voltage of the equalized discharge cell (S113), determining a respective voltage difference using the respective first voltage value ([0067] Fig. 11, and S13 Controller 15 calculates a voltage difference between the calculated average voltage and the detected voltage of the target cell (S13) “Average voltage” identified as “reference voltage value”), and detecting an internal short circuit fault based on a magnitude of change of the respective voltage difference ([0045] Controller 15 calculates difference voltage ΔV between the current voltage difference calculated this time and the voltage difference calculated Δt hour(s) (“i.e. threshold”) earlier (S14). [0046] …determines that a minute short circuit has occurred in the target cell (S16)).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TYNESE V MCDANIEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859