DETAILED ACTION
Table of Contents
I. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 3
II. Claim Objections 3
III. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 4
A. Claims 1-11, 13, 15-18, 20, and 22-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement. 4
B. Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) as being of improper dependent form 6
IV. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 7
A. Claims 1-3, 7-11, 13, 15-18, 22-25, and 31-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2019/143664 (“Hersam”). 7
V. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 16
A. Claims 1-11, 13, 15-18, and 22-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hersam in view of the article by Ting Lei, et al., entitled “Low-voltage high-performance flexible digital and analog circuits based on ultrahigh-purity semiconducting carbon nanotubes” in Nature Communications (2019)10:2161 (“Lei”). 16
VI. Allowable Subject Matter 19
VII. Response to Arguments 19
Conclusion 20
[The rest of this page is intentionally left blank.]
I. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
II. Claim Objections
Claims 1, 15-17, 20, and 24 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Examiner suggests replacing claims 15-17 with the following versions or similar—which are modeled on the general drafting of claims 22 and 23—for clarity:
15. (Currently amended) An OCGT-based common-source amplifier, comprising the OCGT of claim 1.
16. (Currently amended) The OCGT--based common-source amplifier of claim 15, wherein a signal gain
17. (Currently amended) A common-source amplifier comprising the OCGT of claim 1, and having a width-normalized output current of about 30 μA∙μm-1 and a length-scaled signal gain of about 230 μm-1.
In the last two lines of each of claims 1, 20, and 24, replace “a leakage current of about 10 pA∙μm-1 in the channel length of less that about 300 nm” with “a leakage current of about 10 pA∙μm-1 in the channel, wherein the channel has a length of less that about 300 nm” because a channel length is merely a unit of measure—not the channel itself—and cannot therefore experience a leakage current.
Appropriate correction is required.
III. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
A. Claims 1-11, 13, 15-18, 20, and 22-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement.
The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 was amended to include the following feature:
wherein a purity of the semiconducting material and a dielectric constant of the dielectric layers are adapted to provide unipolar p-type transport with an Ion/Ioff ratio of greater than 104, an output current of about 10 μA∙μm-1, and a leakage current of about 10 pA∙μm-1 in the channel length of less than about 300 nm.
The Instant Application states,
The use of ultrahigh purity semiconducting SWCNTs and ultrathin high-k (k being dielectric constant) dielectric layers provides improved electrostatic control of the channel, resulting in unipolar p-type transport with a simultaneously high Ion/Ioff ratio (>104), high output current (~10 μA∙μm-1), and negligible leakage current (~10 pA∙μm-1), despite the short channel (L < 300 nm).
(Instant Specification: p. 20, lines 13-17 or ¶ 122 of US 2024/0090244, which is the pre-grant publication of the Instant Application; emphasis added)
There is insufficient support in the Instant Application that any purity of any semiconductor material along with any dielectric constant of the dielectric layers can be manipulated or chosen to achieve the “resulting” claimed properties. In fact, the Instant Application only uses of the term “ultrahigh purity” in the context of SWCNTs; therefore, there is insufficient evidence disclosed in the Instant Application to show that the ultrahigh purity would provide results for any other semiconductor material. Therefore, omitting that the purity is “ultrahigh” and that the semiconductor material is SWCNTs broadens the scope beyond that for which the Instant Application provides sufficient evidence to show possession by the Instant Inventors.
In addition, the Instant Application fails to show that it is any dielectric constant of the dielectric layer, alone, that would be capable of achieving the “resulting” claimed properties (along, of course, with some “purity” of some “semiconductor material”). As stated in the Instant Specification (supra), it is the fact that the dielectric constant is “high”, i.e. that the dielectric layers are made of high-k dielectric materials and that said high-k dielectric layers are “ultrathin”. Therefore, omitting that the dielectric layers are both ultrathin and made of high-k dielectric materials broadens the scope beyond that for which the Instant Application provides sufficient evidence to show possession by the Instant Inventors.
The invention is, for purposes of the “written description” inquiry, whatever is now claimed. Vas-Cath, Inc. v. Mahurkar, 935 F.2d 1555, 1563-64 (Fed. Cir. 1991). One shows “possession” by descriptive means such as words, structures, figures, diagrams, and formulas that fully set forth the claimed invention. Lockwood v. American Airlines, Inc., 107 F.3d 1565, 1572 (Fed. Cir. 1997). It is not sufficient for purposes of the written description requirement that the disclosure, when combined with the knowledge in the art, would lead one to speculate as to modifications that the inventor might have envisioned, but failed to disclose. Id.
Each of dependent claim 20 and independent claim 24 was amended to include the same limitations as claim 1, recited above, and are therefore rejected for the same reasons.
Claims 2-11, 13, 15-18, and 22-37 are rejected for including the same unsupported features by depending from one of independent claims 1 and 24, either directly or indirectly.
B. Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) as being of improper dependent form
… for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 30 reads,
30. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 26, wherein the semiconducting material comprises MoS2, MoSe2, WS2, WSe2, InSe, GaTe, black phosphorus (BP), or organic semiconductor and inorganic metal-oxides.
Claim 26 requires the semiconductor material to be SWCNTs. Consequently, claim 30 fails “to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends”, i.e. claim 26, by, instead, broadening the list of possible semiconductor materials. Moreover, the semiconductor material cannot simultaneously be SWCNTs while also being one of the semiconductor materials recited in claim 30. And there is no support in the Instant Application for the semiconductor material including two different semiconductor materials to form the channel of the OGCT.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
IV. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A. Claims 1-3, 7-11, 13, 15-18, 22-25, and 31-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2019/143664 (“Hersam”).
With regard to claim 1, Hersam discloses, generally in Figs. 1A-1B,
1. (Currently amended) An ohmic-contact-gated transistor (OCGT), comprising:
[1] a bottom gate electrode 110 formed on a substrate [“SASC MoS2 FETs were fabricated on local gates (Au) 110 on undoped Si wafers with about 300 nm thick thermal oxide 120” (p. 27, line 25); also p. 22, lines 16 and 19-21];
[2] a first dielectric layer 130 formed on the bottom gate electrode 110 [“The gate dielectric 130 and the dielectric extension 170 are both about 30 nm thick ALD-grown Al2O3.” (p. 27, lines 27-28)];
[3] a thin film 140 formed of a semiconducting material [e.g. MoS2] on the first dielectric layer 130 [p. 22, lines 5-16];
[4] a bottom contact 150 formed on a part of the thin film 140 [Fig. 1B; 150 is Au; p. 23, lines 14-20];
[5] a second dielectric layer 170 conformally grown on the bottom contact 150 to result in a self-aligned dielectric extension 170 from the bottom contact on the thin film 140 [“The gate dielectric 130 and the dielectric extension 170 are both about 30 nm thick ALD-grown Al2O3.” (p. 27, lines 27-28)]; and
[6] a top contact 180 formed on the second dielectric layer 170[,] on the top of the bottom contact 150[,] and fully overlapping with the dielectric extension 170 to define a device channel in the thin film 140 under the dielectric extension 170 between the bottom contact 150 and the top contact 180 [as shown in Figs. 1A and 1B; p. 23, lines 14-20; paragraph bridging pp. 27-28)],
[7] wherein a purity of the semiconducting material and a dielectric constant of the dielectric layers are adapted to provide unipolar p-type transport with an Ion/Ioff ratio of greater than 104, an output current of about 10 μA∙μm-1, and a leakage current of about 10 pA∙μm-1 in the channel length of less than about 300 nm.
With regard to feature [7] of claim 1, at the outset, the properties “unipolar p-type transport with an Ion/Ioff ratio of greater than 104, an output current of about 10 μA∙μm-1, and a leakage current of about 10 pA∙μm-1 in the channel” are statement of intended use of the claimed transistor that fail to require a structural feature and consequently fail to have patentable weight.
Hersam discloses MoS2 semiconductor layer 140, as used in the Instant Application (e.g. at instant claim 7), which inherently has a “purity”, and the dielectric layers, 130 and 170, are Al2O3 but may be HfO2, both as used in the Instant Application (e.g. at instant claim 11) and are high-k dielectric materials. Hersam also discloses that the channel length is preferably less than about 200 nm and more preferably less than about 135 nm (Abstract), which is less than the claimed channel length of less than about 300 nm. This is all of the structural limitations of feature [7]. Therefore, it is held, absent evidence to the contrary that the purity and dielectric constant of the same materials as those used in the Instant Application are capable of resulting in the claimed properties when used, which is all that is required. As such, the burden of proof is shifted to Applicant to prove the contrary. (See MPEP 2112(I)-(V).)
With regard to claim 2, Hersam further discloses,
2. (Original) The OCGT of claim 1, wherein the substrate comprises an undoped Si wafer [“SASC MoS2 FETs were fabricated on local gates (Au) 110 on undoped Si wafers with about 300 nm thick thermal oxide 120” (p. 27, line 25); also p. 22, lines 16 and 19-21].
Claims 3 and 7 read,
3. (Original) The OCGT of claim 1, wherein the semiconducting material comprises a solution-processed semiconducting material.
7. (Currently amended) The OCGT of claim 3, wherein the solution-processed semiconducting material 140 comprises MoS2, MoSe2, WS2, WSe2, InSe, GaTe, black phosphorus (BP), or organic semiconductor and inorganic metal-oxides [p. 22, lines 10-13; p. 23, lines 9-12; paragraph bridging pp. 27-28].
“Solution processing” is a process limitation that fails to have patentable weight for failing to explicitly or implicitly require a structure. Note that a “product by process” claim is directed to the product per se, no matter how actually made, In re Hirao, 190 USPQ 15 at 17 (footnote 3). See also In re Brown, 173 USPQ 685; In re Luck, 177 USPQ 523; In re Fessmann, 180 USPQ 324; In re Avery, 186 USPQ 161; In re Wertheim, 191 USPQ 90 (209 USPQ 554 does not deal with this issue); In re Marosi et al, 218 USPQ 289; and particularly In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, all of which make it clear that it is the patentability of the final product per se which must be determined in a “product by process” claim, and not the patentability of the process, and that an old or obvious product produced by a new method is not patentable as a product, whether claimed in “product by process” claims or not. Note that Applicant has the burden of proof in such cases, as the above case law make clear.
Otherwise, the semiconductor material 140 is MoS2 in Fig. 1B but may include any of the others in the listed in claim 7 (p. 22, lines 10-13; p. 23, lines 9-12; paragraph bridging pp. 27-28).
With regard to claims 8-11 and 13, Hersam further discloses,
8. (Original) The OCGT of claim 1, wherein the bottom gate electrode 110, the bottom contact 150 and the top contact 180 are formed of the same conductive material [e.g. Au, as shown in Fig. 1B] or different conductive materials [p. 22, lines 17-21; p. 23, lines 14-20].
9. (Currently amended) The OCGT of claim 8, wherein each of the bottom gate electrode 110, the bottom contact 150 and the top contact 180 is formed of palladium (Pd), gold (Au), aluminum (Al),titanium (Ti), nickel (Ni), chromium (Cr), transparent indium tin oxides, or a combination thereof [p. 22, lines 17-21; p. 23, lines 14-20].
10. (Original) The OCGT of claim 1, wherein the first dielectric layer 130 and the second dielectric layer 170 comprise a same dielectric material [e.g. Al2O3, as shown in Fig. 1B] or different dielectric materials [Fig. 1B; p. 22, lines 16-17; p. 22, line 30 to p. 23, line 4; p. 27, lines 27-28].
11. (Currently amended) The OCGT of claim 10, wherein each of the first dielectric layer and the second dielectric layer is formed of HfO2, Al2O3, ZrO2, ZnO, SiO2, or dielectrics including alumina, hafnia, or zirconia [Fig. 1B; p. 22, lines 16-17; p. 22, line 30 to p. 23, line 4; p. 27, lines 27-28].
13. (Currently amended) The OCGT of claim 1, wherein an overlap region of the dielectric extension 170 with the top contact 180
[1] determines the channel length [as shown in Figs. 1A-1B; “the dielectric extension defining a channel length of a channel in the first semiconductor layer” (abstract)] and
[2] creates a secondary gate that is shorted to the top contact 180 [as shown in Fig. 1B; i.e. the portion of 180 overlapping the dielectric extension 170 is the claimed “secondary gate” and the portion of 180 contacting the semiconductor layer 140 is the “top contact”; therefore, they are electrically shorted].
Claims 15-18 read,
15. (Original) The OCGT of claim 1, wherein the OCGTs intrinsically mitigate short-channel effects by demonstrating an OCGT-based common-source amplifier.
16. (Original) The OCGT of claim 15, wherein a signal gain of the OCGT-based common-source amplifier is quantified by applying a small input signal at the gate input that produces an inverted output signal.
17. (Original) The OCGT of claim 1, being used in a common-source amplifier to attain the highest width-normalized output current and length-scaled signal gain to date for solution-processed semiconductors.
18. (Original) The OCGT of claim 1, wherein the OCGT is characterized with exceptionally low width-normalized output conductance while maintaining high width-normalized output current levels.
Each of claims 15-18 merely recites statements of intended use of the OCGT of claim 1 and/or characteristics demonstrated upon use of the OCGT of claim 1, which fail to have patentable weight for failing to require any structure other than that required in claim 1. In this regard, it has been held that “apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does.” Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987) (See MPEP 2114(II).)
Because the OCGT disclosed in Hersam includes all of the structural limitations recited in claim 1, it is held, absent evidence to the contrary, that the OCGT disclosed in Hersam is capable of being used as recited in claims 15-18 and will inherently demonstrate the same characteristic upon used as recited in claims 15-18. As such, the burden of proof is shifted to Applicant to prove the contrary. (See MPEP 2112(I)-(V) and MPEP 2114(I).)
With regard to claim 22 and 23, Hersam further discloses,
22. (Previously presented) A circuit, comprising at least one ohmic-contact-gated transistor (OCGT) according to claim 1 [“the invention relates to a circuitry having one or more SASC electronic devices according to the above disclosure.” (p. 5, lines 18-19); p. 48, claim 21].
23. (Previously presented) A device, comprising at least one ohmic-contact-gated transistor (OCGT) according to claim 1 [at least pp. 46-48 claims 1-20].
With regard to claims 24 and 25, Hersam discloses,
24. (Currently amended) A method for fabricating an ohmic-contact-gated transistor (OCGT), comprising:
[1] forming a bottom gate electrode 110 on a substrate [“SASC MoS2 FETs were fabricated on local gates (Au) 110 on undoped Si wafers with about 300 nm thick thermal oxide 120” (p. 27, line 25); also p. 22, lines 16 and 19-21];
[2] forming a first dielectric layer 130 on the bottom gate electrode 110 [“The gate dielectric 130 and the dielectric extension 170 are both about 30 nm thick ALD-grown Al2O3.” (p. 27, lines 27-28)];
[3] forming a thin film 140 of a semiconducting material on the first dielectric layer 130 [p. 22, lines 5-16];
[4] forming a bottom contact 150 on and in ohmic contact with a part of the thin film 140 [Fig. 1B; 150 is Au; p. 23, lines 14-20];
[5] conformally growing a second dielectric layer 170 on the bottom contact 150 to result in a self-aligned dielectric extension 170 from the bottom contact 150 on the thin film 140 [“The gate dielectric 130 and the dielectric extension 170 are both about 30 nm thick ALD-grown Al2O3.” (p. 27, lines 27-28)]; and
[6] forming a top contact 180 on the second dielectric layer 170[,] on the top of the bottom contact 150[,] and fully overlapping with the dielectric extension 170 to define a device channel having a channel length in the thin film 140 under the dielectric extension 170 between the bottom contact 150 and the top contact 180 [as shown in Figs. 1A and 1B; p. 23, lines 14-20; paragraph bridging pp. 27-28)],
[7] wherein a purity of the semiconducting material and a dielectric constant of the dielectric layers are adapted to provide unipolar p-type transport with an Ion/Ioff ratio of greater than 104, an output current of about 10 μA∙μm-1, and a leakage current of about 10 pA∙μm-1 in the channel length of less than about 300 nm [as explained under claim 1, above].
25. (Original) The method of claim 24, wherein said forming the thin film 140 is performed by chemical vapor deposition (CVD) [p. 18, lines 9-13; sentence bridging pp. 23-24], mechanical exfoliation, metal-organic chemical vapor deposition (MOCVD), or atomic layer deposition (ALD).
With regard to claim 31, Hersam further discloses,
31. (Currently amended) The method of claim 24, wherein said forming the first dielectric layer 130 is grown via atomic layer deposition (ALD) of a dielectric oxide.
Hersam blanket deposits the gate dielectric layer 130, i.e. the claimed “first dielectric layer” over the entire substrate using ALD. As sated above, “The gate dielectric 130 and the dielectric extension 170 are both about 30 nm thick ALD-grown Al2O3.” (p. 27, lines 27-28).
With regard to claim 32, Hersam discloses,
32. (Currently amended) The method of claim 24, wherein said growing the second dielectric layer 170 is performed with an undercut profile of negative photoresist combined with conformal atomic layer deposition (ALD) of a dielectric oxide [e.g. Al2O3] resulting in the self-aligned dielectric extension.
Hersam discloses that the directional evaporation is used to deposit the bottom contact 150 through the opening in the photoresist and then the second dielectric 170 is deposited using ALD with the undercut being forming by the bilayer resist in Fig. 1. However, a single layer, negative resist may also be used (infra). In this regard, Hersam states,
In certain embodiments, the underlying building block of the self-aligned method is a dielectric extension protruding from metal electrodes, which is formed by exploiting resist undercuts that are ubiquitous in lithographic processes. Both electron-beam lithography and photolithography resist undercuts have been optimized to obtain dielectric extensions in the range of about 100 nm to about 800 nm, as shown in FIGS. 5A-5C and 6. For example, as shown in FIG. 1A, a bilayer of two poly( methyl methacrylate) electron-beam lithography resists, in which the lower molecular weight resist (resist 1, higher sensitivity to electron dose) is under the higher molecular weight resist (resist 2, lower sensitivity), results in an undercut down to about 135 nm. The metal electrodes (metal 1) are obtained by directional evaporation (i.e., edges defined by resist 2), and the dielectric extension is obtained by conformal growth of a dielectric (i.e., edges defined by resist 1) by atomic layer deposition (ALD), followed by liftoff processes.
(p. 27, lines 10-23; emphasis added)
The gate dielectric 130 and the dielectric extension 170 are both about 30 nm thick ALD-grown Al2O3.
(p. 27, lines 27-28; emphasis added)
With regard to the resist undercut shown in Figs. 5A-5C, Hersam states,
FIGS. 5A-5C show atomic force microscopy analysis of the dielectric extension according to embodiments of the invention. Specifically, FIG. 5A shows a schematic process-flow for dielectric extension formation using single resist photolithography, where the natural undercut in the photoresist is used in conjunction with isotropic metal evaporation and conformal ALD growth to realize the dielectric extension. …
(p. 12, lines 2-6; emphasis added)
Large-area SASC MoS2 transistors were fabricated using a photolithography-based process exploiting the inherent undercut in single-layer photoresists on a continuous CVD MoS2 film, as shown in FIGS. 5A-5C and 20A-20C. (1) The MoS2 film was patterned into rectangles using a Microposit S 1813 (Shipley Company) positive resist and reactive ion etching using Ar (power = 50 W, pressure = 100 mTorr, and flow rate = 50 seem, time = 20 sec). (2) The negative photoresist NR9-1000 PY (Futurrex, Inc.) is spin-coated from about 3000 to about 6000 rpm for about 40 sec and pre-baked at about l50°C. (3) A SUSS MABA6 Mask Aligner with wavelength of about 365 nm and intensity of about 9 mW/cm is used to expose the desired areas of the resist for about 20-40 sec, followed by post-bake at about l00°C. (4) The substrate is then developed in RD6 (Futurrex, Inc.) for about 12-18 sec. (5) The (about 4 nm Ti)/( about 30 nm Au)/( about 4 nm Al) metal contacts are thermally evaporated. (6) ALD of 30 nm thick Al2O3 is carried out at about l00°C with about 30 sec intervals between pulses. (7) Finally, the top electrode is fabricated using a normal photolithography process with negative resist.
(paragraph bridging pp. 34-35; emphasis added)
With regard to claim 33, Hersam further discloses,
33. (Currently amended) The method of claim 24, wherein the top contact electrode 180 is patterned using photolithography and directional metal evaporation such that it fully overlaps the dielectric extension from the bottom contact [i.e. the dielectric extension 170].
See quoted paragraphs under claim 32, above, particularly, “The metal electrodes (metal 1) are obtained by directional evaporation (i.e., edges defined by resist 2) …” and “(7) Finally, the top electrode [e.g. 180] is fabricated using a normal photolithography process with negative resist.”
To the extent that it is unclear if photolithography and directional evaporation are used to form the top contact electrode 180 in the embodiment shown in Fig. 1B, then it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use photolithography and directional evaporation because Hersam uses these to form a top contact of the transistors, such as shown in Fig. 1B.
With regard to claims 34 and 35, Hersam further discloses,
34. (Original) The method of claim 24, wherein the bottom gate electrode, the bottom contact 150 and the top contact 180 are formed of the same conductive material or different conductive materials.
35. (Currently amended) The method of claim 34, wherein each of the bottom gate electrode, the bottom contact and the top contact is formed of palladium (Pd), gold (Au), aluminum (Al), titanium (Ti), nickel (Ni), chromium (Cr), or transparent indium tin oxide.
Fig. 1B shows gold for each of the bottom 150 and top 180 contacts. In addition, a laminate of Ti/Au/Al may be used for a bottom contact and Ti/Au for the top contact (p. 34, lines 24-28).
With regard to claims 36 and 37, Hersam further discloses,
36. (Original) The method of claim 24, wherein the first dielectric layer 130 and the second dielectric layer 170 comprise a same dielectric material or different dielectric materials.
37. (Currently amended) The method of claim 36, wherein each of the first dielectric layer 130 and the second dielectric layer 170 is formed of HfO2, Al2O3, ZrO2, ZnO, SiO2, or dielectrics including alumina, hafnia, or zirconia.
Fig. 1B, shows Al2O3 for each of the first 130 and second 170 dielectrics.
V. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
A. Claims 1-11, 13, 15-18, and 22-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hersam in view of the article by Ting Lei, et al., entitled “Low-voltage high-performance flexible digital and analog circuits based on ultrahigh-purity semiconducting carbon nanotubes” in Nature Communications (2019)10:2161 (“Lei”).
Claims 3-6 and 26-29 read,
3. (Original) The OCGT of claim 1, wherein the semiconducting material comprises a solution-processed semiconducting material.
26. (Original) The method of claim 24, wherein the semiconducting material comprises a solution-processed semiconducting material.
4. (Original) The OCGT of claim 3, wherein the semiconducting material comprises solution-processed semiconducting single-walled carbon nanotubes (SWCNTs).
27. (Original) The method of claim 26, wherein the semiconducting material comprises solution-processed semiconducting single-walled carbon nanotubes (SWCNTs).
5. (Currently amended) The OCGT of claim 4, wherein the thin film comprises an SWCNT random network with the purity of about 99.9%.
28. (Currently amended) The method of claim 27, wherein the thin film comprises an SWCNT random network with the purity of about 99.9%.
6. (Original) The OCGT of claim 4, wherein the thin film comprises an SWCNT random network with a linear density of about 40 CNTs∙μm-1.
29. (Original) The method of claim 27, wherein the thin film comprises an SWCNT random network with a linear density of about 40 CNTs∙μm-1.
The prior art of Hersam, as explained above, discloses each of the features of claims 1 and 24.
Hersam does not limit the semiconductor material of the self-aligned short-channel transistor (SASC) that includes only the first semiconductor layer, such as the transistor shown on the left in Fig. 1A. In this regard, Hersam states,
In one embodiment, the first semiconductor layer formed of an atomically thin material comprising MoS2, MoSe2, WS2, WSe2, InSe, GaTe, black phosphorus (BP), or related two-dimensional materials.
(Hersam: p. 4, lines 15-17; emphasis added)
Hersam further teaches that SWCNTs can be used as the second semiconductor material in van der Waals heterojunctions (vdWHs) shown on the right in Fig. 1, as well as in Figs. 3A, 4B, and 13A. See Hersam at p. 5, lines 4-7; p. 7, lines 4-8; p. 23, lines 9-13; p. 25, lines 15-19; p. 48, claim 15; p. 51, claim 33.
Hersam does not, however, show in the embodiment shown in Fig. 1B that the semiconductor layer 140 is solution-processed SWCNTs.
Lei, like Hersam, teaches a thin-film transistor (TFT) including vapor deposited metal electrodes and ALD deposited Al2O3 dielectric layers. (Lei: abstract; p. 4, Fig. 1a; pp. 3-5, section entitled “Device fabrication and stability consideration”; p. 9, section entitled, “Fabrication of flexible CNT circuits on polyimide substrates”)
Lei further teaches forming the semiconductor layer of the TFT using solution-processed SWCNTs of “ultrahigh purity (99.997%) and resulting in a line density of about “35-40 CNTs/μm” (Lei: abstract: pp. 2-5; p. 4, Fig. 1a; pp. 3-5, section entitled “Device fabrication and stability consideration”; p. 9, section entitled, “Fabrication of flexible CNT circuits on polyimide substrates”). Therefore, Lei teaches each of the limitations recited in claims 3-6 and 26-29, above.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the solution-processed, ultra-high purity SWCNTs having a line density of 35-40 CNTs/μm deposited as in Lei to form the first semiconductor layer 140 shown in Fig. 1B of Hersam, because (1) Hersam does not limit the semiconductor material used to make the SASC transistor, such as the transistor shown in Fig. 1B, (2) Hersam suggests using SWCNTs as a semiconductor material in related vdWH devices, and (3) Lei teaches the ultra-high purity, solution-processed SWCNTs can be used as the active semiconductor layer in a TFT. As such, the use of SWCNTs would be the substitution of one known semiconductor channel material for another known semiconductor channel material with the expected result of functioning as the channel of a TFT.
This is all of the features of claims 3-6 and 26-29.
Claim 30 reads,
30. (Currently amended) The method of claim 26, wherein the semiconducting material comprises MoS2, MoSe2, WS2, WSe2, InSe, GaTe, black phosphorus (BP), or organic semiconductor and inorganic metal-oxides.
The SWCNTs of claim 26 are at least included in the “related solution-processed semiconducting materials”. See discussion above.
With regard to claims 1 and 24 and their dependent claims 2, 3, 7-11, 13, 15-18, 22, 23, 25, and 31-37, to the extent that the claimed properties in feature [7] of each of claims 1 and 24 (supra) require ultrahigh purity SWCNTs, then this would be a difference between Hersam and each of claims 1 and 24.
As explained above under claims 3-6 and 26-29, Hersam modified according to Lie teaches “use of ultrahigh purity semiconducting SWCNTs” and Hersam and Lee both teach using ALD deposited ultrathin high-k dielectric layers of, e.g., Al2O3.
Because the OCGT disclosed in Hersam includes all of the structural limitations recited in claims 1 and 24, plus the ultrahigh purity SWCNTs of Lei, it is held, absent evidence to the contrary, that the OCGT taught by Hersam/Lei is capable of being used as recited in feature [7] of each of claims 1 and 24 and will inherently demonstrate the same characteristic upon used as recited in feature [7] of each of claims 1 and 24. As such, the burden of proof is shifted to Applicant to prove the contrary. (See MPEP 2112(I)-(V) and MPEP 2114(I).)
VI. Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12 is allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Dependent claim 12 has been rewritten in independent form including all of the features of independent claim 1, from which claim 12 previously indirectly depended. Dependent claim 12 had been previously indicated to include allowable subject matter (Non-Final Rejection mailed 10/17/2025 at p. 25).
By depending from claim 12, claim 20 may be allowable if, and only if, the rejection of claim 20 under 35 USC 112(a) can be overcome.
VII. Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 02/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that neither of Hersam and Lei teaches the newly added limitations to each of independent claims 1 and 24 (Remarks: p. 10). Examiner respectfully disagrees for the reasons in the prior art rejections over Hersam and Hersam and Lei, bearing in mind the rejection of claims 1 and 24 under 35 USC 112(a) for lack of written descriptive support.
Conclusion
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Signed,
/ERIK KIELIN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2814