DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6, 8, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U. S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0072633 (hereinafter referred to as Chen).
Chen, in the abstract, [0017]-[0019], discloses an reflective mask blank that can be used for making a reflective photomask that is used in an EUV lithography tool, the mask blank includes a substrate, a reflective multilayer (the part of the claimed reflective part) that reflects the light directed to it. Chen, in [0020]-[0021], discloses that reflective layer includes Mo/Si stack, and a capping layer formed atop the multilayer reflective stack (the claimed reflective part) wherein the capping layer is Ruthenium. Chen, in [0024], [0025], [0027]-[0029], discloses the forming of the photo catalytic layer (etch stop layer) and absorber layer (claimed low reflective part) on the capping layer (or on the reflective part), the photocatalyst layer composed of SnO (at least 40 at.%) and the absorber layer comprises copper or chromium or tantalum or titanium or Molybdenum or palladium or aluminum i.e., at least 25 at.% and includes at least 2nm thickness from the side of the capping layer. Chen, in [0027], discloses that the photocatalytic layer is as low as 2-3nm and as illustrated in figures 3A-3B, the total thickness of the reflective multilayer stack is 200nm ([0020]) and as disclosed in [0029] and figures 3A-3B, the thickness of the absorber layer is less than 1/4 of that of the Mo/Si multilayer stack i.e., the total thickness of the low reflective part (photocatalyst and absorber) is less than 45nm (claims 1, 3, 6, 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 4, 7, 9, 11-12, and 16-17, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U. S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0072633 (hereinafter referred to as Chen) in view of U. S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0146331 (hereinafter referred to as Lin).
Chen, in [0024], [0025], [0027]-[0029], discloses the forming of the low reflective photo catalytic layer that is composed of SnO and an upper portion of the photocatalyst layer that comprise an absorber layer (part of the claimed low reflective part) formed on the capping layer of the reflective part, the photocatalyst layer of the low reflective part composed of SnO (at least 40 at.%) and the absorber layer comprises copper or chromium or tantalum or titanium or Molybdenum or palladium or aluminum i.e., at least 25 at.% and includes at least 2nm thickness from the side of the capping layer. Chen, in [0027], discloses that the photocatalytic layer is as low as 2-3nm and as illustrated in figures 3A-3B, the total thickness of the reflective multilayer stack is 200nm ([0020]) and as disclosed in [0029] and figures 3A-3B, the thickness of the absorber layer is less than 1/4 of that of the Mo/Si multilayer stack i.e., the total thickness of the low reflective part (photocatalyst and absorber) is less than 45nm (claims 2, 4, 7, 9, 11-12, and 16-17).
The difference between Chen and the claims is that Chen does not disclose adhesion layer formed on the capping layer or positioned between the capping layer and the overlying low reflective part (photocatalyst and absorber).
Lin, in [0056]-[0058], in figures 3A-3B, and 6B, discloses the forming of a very thin adhesion layer (332) between the capping layer and the overlying absorber layer (low reflective part) in the claimed thickness wherein the adhesion layer can compose of either CrN or Cr or Ti or titanium oxide or titanium nitride i.e., the adhesion layer material comprises at least 25 at% of the claimed material.
Therefore, it would be obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Chen by employing the adhesion layer material in manner taught by Lin because Lin, in [0056], discloses that the adhesion layer improves the adhesion between capping and the overlying absorber part and help detect the endpoint of the subsequent etching process of the absorption layer.
Claim(s) 5, 10, 13-15, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U. S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0072633 (hereinafter referred to as Chen) in view of U. S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0146331 (hereinafter referred to as Lin) as applied to claims 2, 4, 7, 9, 11-12, and 16-17, above, and further in view of JP 2020-034666 and using U. S. Patent Application Publication No. 20210311382 (hereinafter referred to as Kataoka) as its English Translation Equivalent.
Chen in view of Lin is discussed in paragraph no. 5, above.
The difference between the claims and Chen in view of Lin is that Chen in view of Lin does not disclose that the composition of the low reflective part changes continuously from a decreased content of the claimed composition on the side of the capping layer to an increased content of the claimed material composition to the side opposite of the capping layer (outside, closer to outer surface of the pattern) (claims 5, 10, 13-15, 18-20).
Kataoka, in the abstract, [0017], [0023], discloses that the material content in the low reflecting part of the mask blank varies from the side of the absorber part closer to the underlying capping layer to the side of the absorber surface that is closer to the periphery such that the concentration of the claimed low reflecting element (high absorption) is lower in the side of the surface closer to the substrate (underlying capping layer) and higher to the side of the upper surface region and appears to have a gradual increase from the capping layer side to the upper surface side.
Therefore, it would be obvious to a skilled artisan to modify Chen in view of Lin by using a gradation in variation of the composition from the reflective side to the upper surface side of the low reflective part as taught by Kataoka because Chen teaches that the portion of the low reflective part (photocatalyst portion) that is closer to the capping layer possess a different element component than that present at the absorber layer outer surface and Kataoka, in [0086] discloses that the varying of the concentration of element with high absorption coefficient from the capping layer side to the outer surface portion enables an increase in the etching rate at the final stage of etching.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Daborah Chacko-Davis whose telephone number is (571) 272-1380. The examiner can normally be reached on 9:30AM-6:00PM EST Mon-Fri. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Mark F. Huff can be reached on (571) 272-1385. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-272-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/DABORAH CHACKO-DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737 April 3, 2026.