DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
This Office action is in response to the application received July 12, 2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NAKAJIMA et al (2018/0120706) or HAMADA et al (2006/0224009) in view of ARAYAMA et al (20190302618) which references WO-2016/136481A (TAKADA et al ) and JP-2011-221494A (SUGIHARA et al).
The claimed invention recites the following:
NAKAJIMA et al report a photosensitive resin composition comprising a silicone resin, a photoacid generator and a nitrogen-containing compound.
Page 31, para. [0248] disclose the use of onium salts such as those of carboxylic acid with an ammonium salt, see below:
HAMADA et al (2006/0224009) disclose a silsesquioxane compound formulated with photoacid generators and nitrogen-containing compound (basic compounds) in para. [0152] wherein specific basic compounds include nitrogen-containing compounds having carboxylic groups, see below:
ARAYAMA et al (2019/0302618) disclose photosensitive resin composition comprising photoacid generators and polymers having acid-decomposable group. The use of basic compounds is reported on page 16, para. [0227] wherein basic compounds are disclosed to be formulated in the composition with specific compounds from WO-2016/136481A (TAKADA et al )and JP-2011-221494A (SUGIHARA et al). TAKADA et al disclose specific nitrogen-containing ammonium salts of carboxylic as seen here from page145, compound N-11:
ammonium salt of carboxylic acid and the like are disclosed in the photosensitive layer. SUGIHARA et al disclose photosensitive resin composition formulating a polymer, photoacid generator and a basic compound such as quaternary ammonium salt of carboxylic acid as a component (G).
Claims 2-3 are met by the silicone containing resins of the HAMADA et al and NAKAJIMA et al above.
Claims 4 are met by the sulfonium photoacids in para. [0115] of HAMADA et al.
Claim 5 and 6 for the crosslinker are met by NAKAJIMA et al at para. [0038] for crosslinking agents.
Claim 7 recite a solvent which is taught in para. [0175] of NAKAJIMA et al.
Claims 8 and 9 recite the coating composition and a support which are taught in the para. [0397] of NAKAJIMA et al.
Claims 10-14 for the pattern formation method are disclosed in NAKAJIMA et al at para. [0397] for developability.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of photosensitive composition to use any of the quaternary ammonium carboxylic salts as a basic compound/quencher in either of NAKAJIMA et al or TAKADA et al with the reasonable expectation of having excellent resolution, and precise patterns.
/John S. Chu/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737
J. Chu
March 21, 2026