DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
This Office action is in response to the amendment received July 7, 2026.
The reject under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NAKAJIMA et al (2018/0181000) or HAMADA et al (2006/0224009) in view of ARAYAMA et al.(20190302618) which references WO-2016/136481A (TAKADA et al ) and JP-2011-221494A (SUGIHARA et al) is withdrawn in view of the amendment to claim 1.
The bold text indicates new language in the Office action.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, and 4-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 3-17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,294,282 (HAYASHI et al) in view of NAKAJIMA et al (2018/0181000 A1) or HAMADA et al (2006/0224009), and ARAYAMA et al. (20190302618) which references WO-2016/136481A (TAKADA et al)) and JP-2011-221494A (SUGIHARA et al)
HAYASHI et al claims a photosensitive resin composition comprising a silicone resin, a photoacid generator and a quencher as seen in claim 3. The silicone resin is claimed in claim 1 and overlaps the currently recited photosensitive resin composition as recited in claim 1.
The U.S. Patent lacks the claimed carboxylic acid quaternary ammonium compound, however the references to follow disclose the equivalence of the nitrogen-containing compounds with the carboxylic acid salts as quenchers in a photosensitive composition.
NAKAJIMA et al report a photosensitive resin composition comprising a silicone resin, a photoacid generator and a nitrogen-containing compound.
Page 31, para. [0248] disclose the use of onium salts such as those of carboxylic acid with an ammonium salt, see below:
HAMADA et al (2006/0224009) disclose a silsesquioxane compound formulated with photoacid generators and nitrogen-containing compound (basic compounds) in para. [0152] wherein specific basic compounds include nitrogen-containing compounds having carboxylic groups, see below:
ARAYAMA et al (2019/0302618) disclose photosensitive resin composition comprising photoacid generators and polymers having acid-decomposable group. The use of basic compounds is reported on page 16, para. [0227] wherein basic compounds are disclosed to be formulated in the composition with specific compounds from WO-2016/136481A (TAKADA et al) and JP-2011-221494A (SUGIHARA et al). TAKADA et al disclose specific nitrogen-containing ammonium salts of carboxylic as seen here from page145, compound N-11:
ammonium salt of carboxylic acid and the like are disclosed in the photosensitive layer. SUGIHARA et al disclose photosensitive resin composition formulating a polymer, photoacid generator and a basic compound such as quaternary ammonium salt of carboxylic acid as a component (G), see para [0207].
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of photosensitive composition to use any of the quaternary ammonium carboxylic salts as a basic compound/quencher in either of NAKAJIMA et al or TAKADA et al with the reasonable expectation of having excellent resolution, and precise patterns.
A grant to the current application would extent the protection of an obvious invention beyond the statutory 20 years from the patent date.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, and 4-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Amended claim 1 recite a dangling/ redundant formula definition of “ [Chem. 1] [Chem. 2] [Chem. 3] [Chem. 4] [Chem. 5] [Chem. 6] and [Chem. 7]” each of which already have second label, i.e. (B) for [Chem. 1] , (a1) to (a4) and (b1) to (b4) for [Chem. 3] , (X1) for [Chem. 4], (X2) for [Chem. 5] , (X3) for [Chem. 6] and (X4) for [Chem. 7].
Correction and amendment are necessary to remove additional labels for each of the formulae for clarity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HAYASHI et al (2019/0064666 A1) in view of (NAKAJIMA et al (2018/0181000) or HAMADA et al (2006/0224009) in view of ARAYAMA et al. (20190302618) which references WO-2016/136481A (TAKADA et al) and JP-2011-221494A (SUGIHARA et al)
The claimed invention now recites the following:
HAYASHI et al discloses a photosensitive resin composition comprising a silicone resin, (see pages 3-5), a photoacid generator, (page 7) and a quencher, (see pages 10-12) . The silicone resin is disclosed in the pages above y recited photosensitive resin composition as recited in claim 1.
NAKAJIMA et al report a photosensitive resin composition comprising a silicone resin, a photoacid generator and a nitrogen-containing compound.
Page 31, para. [0248] disclose the use of onium salts such as those of carboxylic acid with an ammonium salt, see below:
HAMADA et al (2006/0224009) disclose a silsesquioxane compound formulated with photoacid generators and nitrogen-containing compound (basic compounds) in para. [0152] wherein specific basic compounds include nitrogen-containing compounds having carboxylic groups, see below:
ARAYAMA et al (2019/0302618) disclose photosensitive resin composition comprising photoacid generators and polymers having acid-decomposable group. The use of basic compounds is reported on page 16, para. [0227] wherein basic compounds are disclosed to be formulated in the composition with specific compounds from WO-2016/136481A (TAKADA et al) and JP-2011-221494A (SUGIHARA et al). TAKADA et al disclose specific nitrogen-containing ammonium salts of carboxylic as seen here from page 145, compound N-11:
ammonium salt of carboxylic acid and the like are disclosed in the photosensitive layer. SUGIHARA et al disclose photosensitive resin composition formulating a polymer, photoacid generator and a basic compound such as quaternary ammonium salt of carboxylic acid as a component (G), see para [0207].
Claims 2-3 are met by the silicone containing resins of the HAMADA et al and NAKAJIMA et al above.
Claims 4 are met by the sulfonium photoacids in para. [0115] of HAMADA et al.
Claim 5 and 6 for the crosslinker are met by NAKAJIMA et al at para. [0038] for crosslinking agents.
Claim 7 recites a solvent which is taught in para. [0175] of NAKAJIMA et al.
Claims 8 and 9 recite the coating composition and a support which are taught in the para. [0397] of NAKAJIMA et al.
Claims 10-14 for the pattern formation method are disclosed in NAKAJIMA et al at para. [0397] for developability.
Claim 15 is met by the disclosure in NAKAJIMA et al disclosed above on page 145.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of photosensitive composition to use any of the quaternary ammonium carboxylic salts as a basic compound/quencher in either of NAKAJIMA et al or TAKADA et al with the reasonable expectation of having excellent resolution, and precise patterns.
/John S. Chu/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737
J. Chu
September 15, 2026