DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
3. This action is in response to Applicant’s Request for Reconsideration dated 05/06/2026.
4. Claims 1-15 are currently pending.
5. Claims 4-7, 9-10, 12, and 14-15 have been withdrawn.
6. Claim 1 has been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claim(s) 1-3 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al (US 2006/0162661) in view of van Schravendijk (US 2014/0179114).
Regarding claim 1:
Jung teaches a film forming apparatus (apparatus depicted in figure 1) that includes a processing vessel (substrate processing chamber, 80) accommodating a substrate (32) and having therein a processing space (process zone, 100) evacuated to a vacuum atmosphere (via pump 188) [fig 1, 2C, 12 & 0029], the film forming apparatus comprising: a plasma generation chamber (remote chamber, 158) provided with a plasma generation mechanism (172) configured to activate the second processing gas (first process gas) [fig 1, 2C 12, & 0032, 0078]; a first flow path (228/261b/264b) disposed in the processing vessel to supply the first processing gas (a single non-energized second process gas of the combination of gases in the second process gas) to the processing space (100) [fig 1, 2C, 12 & 0065-0067, 0078]; a second flow path (224/261a/264a) that is partitioned from the first flow path (228/261b/264b) such that a downstream end is opened to the processing space (100) and an upstream end is connected to the plasma generation chamber (154) [fig 1, 2C, 12 & 0032, 0065-0067]; a gas supply mechanism (128a/128b – wherein the first and second process gas may be a combination of gases) [fig 1 & 0030, 0078].
Jung does not specifically disclose an evacuation mechanism configured to evacuate the plasma generation chamber; and a supply destination changing valve that is disposed at any position on an evacuation path that connects the plasma generation chamber and the evacuation mechanism.
van Schravendijk teaches an evacuation mechanism (238) configured to evacuate the plasma generation chamber (298) [fig 2G & 0073, 0077]; and a supply destination changing valve (vacuum port valve, 236) that is disposed at any position on an evacuation path (vacuum pump port, 206) that connects the plasma generation chamber (298) and the evacuation mechanism (238) [fig 2G & 0073, 0077].
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the film forming apparatus of Jung to comprise an evacuation mechanism connected to the plasma generation chamber via a supply destination changing valve, as in van Schravendijk, to allow excess pressure build-up in the plasma generation chamber to be relieved, thus preventing over-pressurization [van Schravendijk – 0073, 0077].
The claim limitations “forms a film on a substrate by performing multiple times a cycle of supplying to the processing space a first processing gas, a substitution gas for replacing an atmosphere of the processing space, and a plasma-activated second processing gas, and the substitution gas in that order”, “is not opened or closed by a valve”, “configured to supply the first processing gas, the second processing gas, and the substitution gas to the first flow path, the plasma generation chamber, and a substitution gas flow path configured to supply the substitution gas to the processing space, respectively”, and “configured to be opened and closed during repetitive execution of the cycle, wherein evacuation amounts by the evacuation mechanism are set so that a supply destination of the plasma-activated second processing gas switches between a downstream side of the position on the evacuation path and the processing space by opening and closing of the supply destination changing valve , wherein the plasma-activated second processing gas is transferred to the evacuation mechanism without entering the processing space when the supply destination changing valve is opened, and wherein the plasma-activated second processing gas is supplied to the processing space through the second flow path when the supply destination changing valve is closed” are merely intended use and are given weight to the extent that the prior art is capable of performing the intended use. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). It is noted that the substation gas flow path is not structurally different from the first flow path [see claim 8].
Regarding claim 2:
Jung teaches a gas shower head (dual channel gas distributor, 108) forming a ceiling portion of the processing vessel [fig 1 & 0030], the first flow path (228/261b/264b) has a plurality of first injection holes (264b) formed in a longitudinal direction to open to the processing space (100), and a first gas diffusion space (261b) formed at an upstream side of the plurality of first injection holes (264b) and commonly connected to the plurality of first injection holes (264b), the second flow path (224/261a/264a) has a plurality of second injection holes (264a) formed in the longitudinal direction to open to the processing space (100), and a second gas diffusion space (261a) formed at an upstream side of the plurality of second injection holes (264a) and commonly connected to the plurality of second injection holes (264a), and the plurality of first injection holes (264b), the plurality of second injection holes (264a), the first gas diffusion space (261b), and the said second gas diffusion space (261a) are formed in the gas shower head (108) [fig 1, 2C, 12 & 0030, 0065-0067].
Regarding claim 3:
Jung teaches the plasma generation chamber (158 of 124a) is stacked on the gas shower head (see location of 124a relative to 108 depicted in figure 1 ) [fig 1, 2C & 0030, 0032].
Regarding claim 8:
The claim limitations “wherein the substitution gas flow path serves as the first flow path, and the first processing gas and the substitution gas are sequentially supplied from the gas supply mechanism to the first flow path during a period in which the supply destination changing valve is opened” are merely intended use and are given weight to the extent that the prior art is capable of performing the intended use. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). It is noted that the substation gas flow path is not structurally different from the first flow path [see claim 8].
9. Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al (US 2006/0162661) in view of van Schravendijk (US 2014/0179114) as applied to claims 1-3 and 8 above, and further in view of Choi (KR 100798351B1) and Leu et al (US 2011/0203610).
The limitations of claims 1-3 and 8 have been set forth above.
Regarding claim 11:
Modified Jung teaches an evacuation space (space within 206) used for the plasma generation chamber (202) is provided above the plurality of plasma generation chamber (202), and an upstream side of the evacuation path (206) is connected to the evacuation space (space within 206) [van Schravendijk - fig 2A & 0073].
Modified Jung does not specifically teach a plurality of the plasma generation chambers are provided.
Choi teaches a plurality of the plasma generation chambers are provided (multiple remote plasma generators, 300) [fig 1, 4 & 0011].
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the plasma generation chamber of modified Jung to be a plurality of plasma generation chambers, as in Choi, to effectively process large size substrates [Choi – 0011].
Jung modified by van Schravendijk and Choi does not specifically disclose the evacuation space commonly used for the plurality of plasma generation chambers.
Leu teaches an evacuation space commonly used for the plurality of plasma generation chambers (single pump is being used) [fig 3 & 0020].
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the plurality of plasma generation chambers of modified Jung to have a common evacuation space, as in Leu, because the principle remains the same [Leu – 0020] (i.e. to allow excess pressure build-up in the plasma generation chamber to be relieved, thus preventing over-pressurization [van Schravendijk – 0073, 0077]).
10. Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al (US 2006/0162661) in view of van Schravendijk (US 2014/0179114) as applied to claims 1-3 and 8 above, and further in view of Choi (KR 100798351B1).
Regarding claim 13:
Modified Jung does not specifically disclose the plasma generation chamber includes a pipe body forming an annular space, the plasma generation mechanism includes: an annular magnetic body surrounding a partial wall of the pipe body; a radio frequency (RF) power supply; and a coil to which a power from the RF power supply is supplied and wound around the magnetic body.
Choi teaches a plasma generation chamber (310) includes a pipe body forming an annular space (annular discharge tube, 310), the plasma generation mechanism includes: an annular magnetic body (annular core, 330) surrounding a partial wall of the pipe body (see fig 1) [fig 1, 4 & 0008-0009]; a radio frequency (RF) power supply (400) [fig 1, 4 & 0010]; and a coil (primary winding, 330) to which a power from the RF power supply (400) is supplied and wound around the magnetic body (320) [fig 1, 4 & 0009-0010].
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the plasma generation chamber of modified Jung with the plasma generation chamber of Choi to produce a very uniform and large amount of plasma [Choi – page 4, last paragraph].
Response to Arguments
11. Applicant's arguments, see Remarks, filed 05/06/2026, with respect to the rejection of claim(s) 1-3, 8, 11, and 13 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the rejection of record fails to teach the amended limitations, it is noted that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Conclusion
12. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Benjamin Kendall/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896