DETAILED ACTION
This is the initial office action for US Patent Application No. 18/276789 by Gorai et al.
Claims 1-8 are currently pending and have been fully considered.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikebe (US 2022/0107557 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 5, Ikebe teaches (Figure 1, Abstract and [0064]) a reflective mask blank 100 for producing a reflective photomask for pattern transfer using an extreme ultraviolet light as a light source comprising a substrate 10; a reflective film 12 (reflective part) formed on the substrate and configured to reflect EUV light; and a layered film 16 (low reflective part formed on the reflective part and configured to absorb an incident light), wherein the layered film is a multi-layer structural body having at least two or more layers including a first layer 18 (absorption layer) and a second layer 20 (phase shift layer), the first layer and second layer are deposited in this order on the reflective film.
Ikebe indicates [0100] the first layer has an absolute reflectance of 2.5 percent or less and is therefore considered to be analogous to the claimed absorption layer. Ikebe further teaches [0222] the first layer may be configured to have an extinction coefficient k of greater than 0.041 when a layer including CoTa is employed (k = 0.047). In addition, Ikebe teaches [0122] the second layer may be configured to have a refractive index of 0.85 or more an extinction coefficient k of 0.1 or less, wherein the refractive index range and extinction coefficient range taught by Ikebe overlap the claimed ranges for the phase shift layer recited in claim 1.
With further regard to claim 5, Ikebe teaches [0167-0169] a reflective mask can be formed from the reflective mask blank discussed above. As seen in Figures 3A-3H of Ikebe, the reflective mask blank may be subject to further etch processing to form a reflective mask (shown in Figure 3H).
Although the refractive index and extinction coefficient values for the second layer taught by Ikebe do not anticipate Applicant’s claimed values, MPEP Chapter 2144.05 Section I states “In the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)”. Therefore, at the time of the filing date of the instant application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form a reflective mask blank and reflective mask, based on teachings of Ikebe, with the specified first and second layer configurations in order to improve the pattern formation capability of the reflective mask and reduce occurrences of reflected light defects during an EUV lithographic exposure process.
Regarding claim 2, Ikebe teaches [0047] the first layer may be configured to include materials such as cobalt (Co) and nickel (Ni). Ikebe further teaches [0222] the first layer may include 50 atomic percent of Co when CoTa is included.
Regarding claims 3 and 6, Ikebe teaches [0144] the second layer may be configured to include ruthenium (Ru). Ikebe indicates [0191 and 0210] the second layer may comprise an Ru based film that includes 80 atomic percent Ru.
Regarding claims 4, 7 and 8, Ikebe teaches [0029] the reflectance properties of the reflective mask blank and reflective mask may be configured to be between 3 and 40 percent and the phase difference properties of the reflective mask blank and reflective mask may be configured to be between 160 and 200 degrees with respect to EUV light.
/STEWART A FRASER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724