DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claims 7-16 are pending. Claims 15 and 16 are withdrawn. Claims 7-14 are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the prior art fails to teach that the treatment is performed sequentially. The Examiner agrees that Elias does not teach the steps performed sequentially. However, the Examiner maintains that it would have been obvious to select any order of mixing ingredients as the selection of any order of mixing ingredients is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results.
Applicant argues that the selection of the order allows for the step (A2) to proceed more uniformly at high degree. However, Applicant has not provided evidence commensurate in scope with the claims to support this statement. Therefore, absent evidence of unexpected results the Examiner maintains the rejections over Elias.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claim(s) 7-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elias et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 4116919).
Regarding claims 7-14, Elias teaches a known method of treating silica comprising: adding both 1,3-divinyl-1,1,3,3-tetramethyldisilazane and hexamethyldisilazane together to fumed silica (fumed silica is a type of gas-phrase process silica) with a BET surface area of 250 m2/g to yield silica particles that include trimethylsilyl and vinyldimethylsilyl groups on the surface of the particles (column 7, line 67-column 8, line 17). Additionally, Elias teaches the 1,3-divinyl-1,1,3,3-tetramethyldisilazane added in 5.27 g (note that according to the formula the claimed range for this compound is 0.495 g - 9.9 g, based on 198 g of silica * 250 as the BET/5000-100000) and the hexamethyldisilazane added in 53.24 g (note that according to the formula the claimed range for this compound is 16.5 g - 330 g, based on 198 g of silica * 250 as the BET/150-3000) at column 8, lines 12-16. Elias only fails to teach the order of the steps of adding the 1,3-divinyl-1,1,3,3-tetramethyldisilazane first and then treating the treated particles with hexamethyldisilazane.
However, the mixing the silazanes together or separately will yield the same treated silica product including groups from each silazane precursor on the surface of the silica. This would simply be a change in the sequence of adding ingredients. Furthermore, selection of any order of mixing ingredients is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results. See Ex parte Rubin, 128 USPQ 440 (Bd. App. 1959) (Prior art reference disclosing a process of making a laminated sheet wherein a base sheet is first coated with a metallic film and thereafter impregnated with a thermosetting material was held to render prima facie obvious claims directed to a process of making a laminated sheet by reversing the order of the prior art process steps.). See also In reBurhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946) (selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results); In reGibson, 39 F.2d 975, 5 USPQ 230 (CCPA 1930) (Selection of any order of mixing ingredients is prima facie obvious.). As the final product will be the same regardless of the order of adding the disilazanes, modifying Elias to add the 1,3-divinyl-1,1,3,3-disilazane before the hexamethyldisilazane is prima facie obvious.
Conclusion
Claims 7-16 are pending.
Claims 7-14 are rejected.
Claims 15 and 16 are withdrawn.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT S WALTERS JR/
August 23, 2026Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1717