DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 6-8 and 11-13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 6-8 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Voiron et al. (US PGPUB 2020/0185155).
Regarding claim 6, Voiron et al. teaches a metal molded article (as shown in fig. 1-5B) having a first surface, a second surface opposite to the first surface, and a side surface connecting the first surface and the second surface to each other, the metal molded article comprising: a first side surface area (section with projections 4, as shown in fig. 3A) located at a first height of the side surface of the metal molded article (1); and a second side surface area (section 2R without projections 4, as shown in fig. 3A) located at a second height of the side surface of the metal molded article (1) (note that both sections have a height), wherein the first side surface area comprises a plurality of fine trenches (3) formed side by side in a long groove shape (as shown in fig. 5B) extending from the first surface to the second surface (as shown in fig. 3A), wherein the plurality of fine trenches (3) are formed by pores of an anodic aluminum oxide film (as disclosed in para. 0011 and 0034), and wherein the plurality of fine trenches are open recesses at an outer surface of the first side surface area (as shown in fig. 3A and 5A).
Regarding claim 7, Voiron et al. teaches the limitations of claim 6, in addition, Voiron et al. teaches wherein at least one end of the metal molded article (1) comprises a protruding tip portion (10, on top of 4, as shown in fig. 2) having a cross-sectional area smaller than a cross-sectional area of a central portion of a body portion (2b, as shown in fig. 5B).
Regarding claim 8, Voiron et al. teaches the limitations of claim 7, in addition, Voiron et al. teaches wherein the protruding tip portion (10, on top of 4, as shown in fig. 2) is made of a material (metal) different from a material (anodic aluminum oxide) of the body portion.
Regarding claim 11, Voiron et al. teaches the limitations of claim 7, in addition, Voiron et al. teaches wherein the protruding tip portion (10, on top of 4, as shown in fig. 2) is provided at a corner of the end of the metal molded article (1) (as shown in fig. 2).
Regarding claim 12, Voiron et al. teaches the limitations of claim 7, in addition, Voiron et al. teaches wherein the protruding tip portion (10, on top of 4, as shown in fig. 2) is provided at a center of the end of the metal molded article (1) (as shown in fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Voiron et al. (US PGPUB 2020/0185155) in view of Kister (US PGPUB 2012/0286816).
Regarding claim 13, Voiron et al. teaches the limitations of claim 7.
Voiron et al. fails to specifically teach wherein the protruding tip portion is made of a material having a higher hardness than a material of the body portion. However, Kister et al. teaches wherein the protruding tip portion (4006) is made of a material having a higher hardness (harder material) than a material of the body portion (4002) (as disclosed in para. 0156).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine and have the protruding tip portion made of a material having a higher hardness than a material of the body portion as taught by Kister et al. with the invention of Voiron et al. in order to prolong the durability and effectiveness of the metal molded article.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERTO VELEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858