DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 6-13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kister (US Pat. 9,476,911) in view of Voiron (US PGPUB 2020/0185155).
Regarding claim 6, Kister teaches a metal molded article (5500, as shown in fig. 55A-55B) having a first surface (as indicated in the figure below), a second surface (surface opposite the first surface in the back) opposite to the first surface (as shown in fig. 55A-55B), and a side surface (remaining surfaces) connecting the first surface and the second surface to each other (as shown in fig. 55A-55B), the metal molded article comprising: a first side surface area (as indicated in the figure below) located at a first height of the side surface of the metal molded article (as shown in fig. 55A-55B); and a second side surface area (as indicated in the figure below) located at a second height of the side surface of the metal molded article (as shown in fig. 55A-55B), wherein the first side surface area comprises a plurality of fine trenches (5504) formed side by side in a long groove shape extending from the first surface to the second surface (as shown in fig. 55A-55B), wherein the plurality of fine trenches (5504) are formed as grooves and are open recesses at an outer surface of the first side surface area (as shown in fig. 55A-55B), wherein the plurality of fine trenches (5504) are formed side by side in the outer surface of the first side surface area of the metal molded article (as shown in fig. 55A-55B), and wherein the second side surface area does not include fine trenches formed by pores of the anodic aluminum oxide film (as shown in fig. 55A-55B).
Kister fails to specifically teach wherein the plurality of fine trenches are formed as grooves by pores of an anodic aluminum oxide film. However, Voiron teaches wherein the plurality of fine trenches (3) are formed as grooves by pores of an anodic aluminum oxide film (as disclosed in para. 0011 and 0034).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine and have the plurality of fine trenches formed as grooves by pores of an anodic aluminum oxide film as taught by Voiron with the invention of Kister in order to protect against corrosion from environmental elements, scratches, wear, and chemical exposure.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Kister and Voiron teaches the limitations of claim 6, in addition, Kister teaches wherein at least one end of the metal molded article (5500) comprises a protruding tip portion (5506) having a cross-sectional area smaller than a cross-sectional area of a central portion of a body portion (as shown in fig. 55A-55B).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Kister and Voiron teaches the limitations of claim 7.
Kister (embodiment of fig. 55A-55B) fails to specifically teach wherein the protruding tip portion is made of a material different from a material of the body portion. However, Kister (embodiment of fig. 40) teaches wherein the protruding tip portion (4006) is made of a material different from a material of the body portion (4002) (as disclosed in para. 0156).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine and have the protruding tip portion made of a material different from a material of the body portion as taught by Kister (embodiment of fig. 40) with the invention of the combination of Kister and Voiron in order to use a harder material for the probe tip compared to the body portion (Kister para. 0156).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Kister and Voiron teaches the limitations of claim 7.
Kister (embodiment of fig. 55A-55B) fails to specifically teach wherein the protruding tip portion has the same width as the central portion of the body portion, but has a lower height than the central portion of the body portion. However, Kister (embodiment of fig. 75) teaches wherein the protruding tip portion (7404) has the same width as the central portion of the body portion, but has a lower height than the central portion of the body portion (as shown in fig. 75).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine and have the protruding tip portion has the same width as the central portion of the body portion, but has a lower height than the central portion of the body portion as taught by Kister (embodiment of fig. 75) with the invention of the combination of Kister and Voiron in order to efficiently make contact with bumps on a device under test.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Kister and Voiron teaches the limitations of claim 7.
Kister (embodiment of fig. 55A-55B) fails to specifically teach wherein the protruding tip portion has the same height as the central portion of the body portion, but has a narrower width than the central portion of the body portion. However, Kister (embodiment of fig. 77B) teaches wherein the protruding tip portion (7702) has the same height as the central portion of the body portion (pointed with arrow 7700), but has a narrower width than the central portion of the body portion (as shown in fig. 77B).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine and have the protruding tip portion with the same height as the central portion of the body portion, but with a narrower width than the central portion of the body portion as taught by Kister (embodiment of fig. 77B) with the invention of the combination of Kister and Voiron in order to make precise and accurate contact with a particular device under test.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Kister and Voiron teaches the limitations of claim 7.
Kister (embodiment of fig. 55A-55B) fails to specifically teach wherein the protruding tip portion is provided at a corner of the end of the metal molded article. However, Kister (embodiment of fig. 76B) teaches wherein the protruding tip portion (7606) is provided at a corner of the end of the metal molded article.
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine and have the protruding tip portion provided at a corner of the end of the metal molded article as taught by Kister (embodiment of fig. 76B) with the invention of the combination of Kister and Voiron in order to make precise and accurate contact with a particular device under test.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Kister and Voiron teaches the limitations of claim 7, in addition, Kister teaches wherein the protruding tip portion (5506) is provided at a center of the end of the metal molded article (5500) (as shown in fig. 55A-55B).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Kister and Voiron teaches the limitations of claim 7.
Kister (embodiment of fig. 55A-55B) fails to specifically teach wherein the protruding tip portion is made of a material having a higher hardness than the body portion. However, Kister (embodiment of fig. 40) teaches wherein the tip portion (4006) is made of a material having a higher hardness (harder material) than the body portion (4002) (as disclosed in para. 0156).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine and have the protruding tip portion made of a material having a higher hardness than the body portion as taught by Kister (embodiment of fig. 40) with the invention of the combination of Kister and Voiron in order to prolong the durability and effectiveness of the metal molded article.
Conclusion
/ROBERTO VELEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858