DETAILED ACTION
The Amendment filed October 27, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1-4 are pending. Claims 1-4 have been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawai et al. (JP 2016174535 A; Oct. 6, 2016; made of record by applicant, see English Translation).
Regarding claim 1, Kawai discloses a method for producing a modified starchy powder comprising a step of adding 0.005-3 parts by mass of a pH regulating agent (pages 3-4), which can be sodium carbonate (See Example 1, page 6 of English Translation) to 100 parts by mass of a starch powder to obtain a mixture (Example 1 page 6), thus overlapping the claimed range of 0.2-5 parts by mass of a monovalent or divalent metal salt to 100 parts by mass of a starch powder. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (MPEP 2144.05 I)
Kawai further teaches that the mixture is heated to a temperature of 70 C, thus falling within the claimed range of 70-130 C (Example 1 on page 6 of English Translation).
With respect to the modified powder being a modified cereal flour, Kawai teaches that the raw material for the modified powder can be corn starch, which is a cereal starch (page 3 para 3, Examples 30-32). With respect to the corn starch being a cereal flour, Kawai further teaches that the modified starch can be used as a flour (Examples 33-37).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use corn flour as the raw material as Kawai clearly teaches that corn starch can be used and suggested the use of a flour.
Further, it would have been obvious to use corn flour depending on the desired nutrition and properties of the modified product as flour comprises fiber and protein along with the starch.
This is a simple substitution of one known raw material for another in the method of Kawai and would predictably yield the same modified product. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use corn flour as the raw material in the process of Kawai.
Regarding claim 2, Kawai further teaches a moisture conditioning step of adjusting the moisture content of the mixture to 13.7% prior to the heating step, thus falling within the claimed range of 12-22% (Example 1 on page 6).
Regarding claim 3, Kawai further teaches that the modified powder of claim 1 can be used in a coating material for fried coated food (page 5 of English Translation).
Regarding claim 4, Kawai teaches a method for producing fried coated food comprising attaching a coating material containing the modified powder of claim 1 to a solid ingredients and then cooking the solid ingredient (page 5 of English Translation).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 103 rejection have been fully considered but were not found persuasive.
Applicant argues that Kawai is silent with respect to using a cereal flour as a starting material in the method. Applicant states that Kawai teaches away from suing wheat flour, which is a cereal flour.
While the examiner agrees that Kawai is silent with respect to specifically using cereal flour as a starting material, this argument is not found persuasive as Kawai teaches that the raw material for the modified powder can be corn starch, which is a cereal starch (page 3 para 3, Examples 30-32). With respect to the corn starch being a cereal flour, e.g. corn flour, Kawai further teaches that the modified starch can be used as a flour (Examples 33-37).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use corn flour as the raw material as Kawai clearly teaches that corn starch can be used as the starting material and suggests the use of a flour.
Further, it would have been obvious to use corn flour depending on the desired nutrition and properties of the modified product as flour comprises fiber and protein along with the starch.
This is a simple substitution of one known raw material for another in the method of Kawai and would predictably yield the same modified product. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use corn flour as the raw material in the process of Kawai.
For the reasons stated above, a 103 rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEPHANIE A KOHLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1791