Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of group II in the reply filed on 01/20/26 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Anodic Aluminum Oxide Film-Based Interposer for Electrical Connection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamashita, US 2014/0085829 in view of Jeong, KR 101465361 B1.
Yamashita shows the invention substantially as claimed including an anodic aluminum oxide film-based interposer for electrical connection, the interposer comprising:
A body 12 made of an anodic aluminum oxide film having a plurality of through-holes 13;
An electrically conducive material provided in each of the through-holes, where the electrically conductive material can comprise copper (see, for example, paragraph 0040).
Yamashita does not expressly disclose a bonding material provided in each of the through-holes and provided at least a part of on and under the electrically conductive material. Jeong discloses an interposer substrate comprising a bonding material (241 and 243) provided in each of the through-holes and provided at least a part of on and under the electrically conductive material (see region 242) (see abstract and last Figure) . In view of this disclosure, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the primary reference of Yamashita so as to comprise the bonding material of Jeong because in such a way the electrode of adjacent substrates can be stably connected.
With respect to dependent claim 5, note that in Yamashita the electrically conductive material can comprise copper (again, see paragraph 0040).
Concerning dependent claim 6, note when giving the claim its broadest reasonable interpretation the bonding material can comprise a first bonding material provided under the electrically conductive material; and a second bonding material provided on the electrically conductive material, since applicant does not distinguish between the electrically conductive material or the first and second bonding materials.
As to dependent claim 7, note that when giving the claim its broadest reasonable interpretation the bonding material and the electrically conductive material can be considered to have the same height as a height of the body since the bonding material and electrically conductive material interface can be at the height of the body particularly since the bonding material and electrically conductive material are not distinguished from each other. However, this notwithstanding, a prima facie case of obviousness still exists because where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamashita, US 2014/0085829 in view of Jeong, KR 101465361 B1 as applied to claims 4 and 6-7 above, and further in view of Bickford et al., U.S. Patent 4,862,322.
Yamashita and Jeong are applied as above and additionally Yamashita discloses where the electrically conductive material can comprise copper (see paragraph 0040) but does not expressly disclose wherein the bonding material is one of the claimed materials. Bickford et al. discloses the use of a bonding material such as gold, for example, that can bond contacts (94,96) between an integrated circuit and circuit board (78,80) (see, for example, col. 9-lines 31-57 and fig. 4). In view of this disclosure, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the device of Yamashita modified by Jeong so as to utilize a bonding material such as gold to bond the contacts in the device of Yamashita modified by Jeong because Bickford shows that bonding materials such as gold are suitable for bonding electrically conductive (contact) materials.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2021/0118794 discloses an interposer substrate and a packaging structure (see abstract).
/RICHARD A BOOTH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812
February 16, 2026