Response to Arguments
The examiner is withdrawing the rejections in the previous Office Action because Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, This Action Is Made Final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Motohashi et al. (JP2019165014).
2. Regarding claims 1-5, Motohashi teaches electrode tab assembly comprising: an electrode tab having a width; and a reinforcing member located on at least one side portion of the electrode tab in a width direction and in direct contact with the electrode tab to reinforce strength of the side portion of the electrode tab (The first case 20 includes a contact portion 26 that contacts the electrode tab 12p or 12n of the battery cell 10 when the battery cell 10 is inserted (page 4 first paragraph)).
Drawings and pictures can anticipate claims if they clearly show the structure which is claimed. In re Mraz, 455 F.2d 1069, 173 USPQ 25 (CCPA 1972). However, the picture must show all the claimed structural features and how they are put together. Jockmus v. Leviton, 28 F.2d 812 (2d Cir. 1928). The origin of the drawing is immaterial. For instance, drawings in a design patent can anticipate or make obvious the claimed invention as can drawings in utility patents. When the reference is a utility patent, it does not matter that the feature shown is unintended or unexplained in the specification. The drawings must be evaluated for what they reasonably disclose and suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art. In re Aslanian, 590 F.2d 911, 200 USPQ 500 (CCPA 1979). (MPEP 2125).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claims 6-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cho et al. (US20160164051).
2. Regarding claims 6-16, Cho teaches an electrode tab assembly (see Fig. below) comprising: an electrode tab having a width; and a reinforcing member located on at least one side portion of the electrode tab in a width direction to reinforce strength of the side portion of the electrode tab, wherein the electrode tab comprises a central portion, wherein the at least one side portion is a pair of side portions located at opposite sides of the central portion in a width direction of the central portion, and wherein each side portion has a tapered shape having a thickness that gradually decreases from the central portion to an outermost edge of the side portion (see Fig. below).
9. Cho teaches an electrode tab assembly (see Fig. below) comprising: an electrode tab having a width; and a reinforcing member located on at least one side portion of the electrode tab in a width direction to reinforce strength of the side portion of the electrode tab, wherein one or more insertion holes are located in the side portion of the electrode tab, and wherein the reinforcing member includes one or more insertion protrusions, each insertion protrusion being inserted into a corresponding one of the insertion holes (see Fig. below).
Drawings and pictures can anticipate claims if they clearly show the structure which is claimed. In re Mraz, 455 F.2d 1069, 173 USPQ 25 (CCPA 1972). However, the picture must show all the claimed structural features and how they are put together. Jockmus v. Leviton, 28 F.2d 812 (2d Cir. 1928). The origin of the drawing is immaterial. For instance, drawings in a design patent can anticipate or make obvious the claimed invention as can drawings in utility patents. When the reference is a utility patent, it does not matter that the feature shown is unintended or unexplained in the specification. The drawings must be evaluated for what they reasonably disclose and suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art. In re Aslanian, 590 F.2d 911, 200 USPQ 500 (CCPA 1979). (MPEP 2125).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OLATUNJI A GODO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752