DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/7/2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kamada (US 2022/0115446).
Regarding claim 1, Kamada discloses, in at least figures 7A, 8C, and related text, a display apparatus comprising:
a light-receiving device (110, [228]); and
a light-emitting device (190R, [228]),
wherein the light-receiving device (110, [228]) comprises a first electrode (181, [225]), an active layer (183, [229]) over the first electrode (181, [225]), and a second electrode (115, [225]) over the active layer (183, [229]),
wherein the light-emitting device (190R, [228]) comprises a third electrode (191, [230]), a light-emitting layer (193R, [229]) over the third electrode (191, [230]), and the second electrode (115, [225]) over the light-emitting layer (193R, [229]), and
wherein a part of the active layer (183, [229]) and a part of the light-emitting layer overlap (193R, [229]) with each other in an outer side of the first electrode (181, [225]) and an outer side of the third electrode (191, [230]) in a top view ([229], figures).
Regarding claim 2, Kamada discloses the display apparatus according to claim 1 as described above.
Kamada further discloses, in at least figures 7A, 8C, and related text, the light-receiving device (110, [228]) and the light-emitting device (190R, [228]) comprise a common layer (114, [230]), and
wherein the common layer (114, [230]) is between the first electrode (181, [225]) and the second electrode (115, [225]) and between the first electrode (181, [225]) and the third electrode (191, [230]).
Regarding claim 3, Kamada discloses the display apparatus according to claim 1 as described above.
Kamada further discloses, in at least figures 7A, 8C, and related text, the light-emitting layer (193R, [229]) is over the active layer (183, [229]).
Regarding claim 6, Kamada discloses the display apparatus according to claim 1 as described above.
Kamada further discloses, in at least figures 7A, 8C, and related text, the display apparatus has flexibility ([20]).
Regarding claim 7, Kamada discloses the display apparatus according to claim 1 as described above.
Kamada further discloses, in at least figures 7A, 8C, and related text, a display module ([21]) comprising: the display apparatus according to claim 1; and at least one of a connector and an integrated circuit ([21]).
Regarding claim 8, Kamada discloses the display apparatus according to claim 7 as described above.
Kamada further discloses, in at least figures 7A, 8C, and related text, an electronic device ([22]) comprising: the display module according to claim 7; and at least one of a housing, a battery, a camera, a speaker, and a microphone ([22]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5 and 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamada (US 2021/0005669).
Regarding claim 4, Kamada discloses, in at least figures 3A, 3C, and related text, a display apparatus comprising:
a light-receiving device (110, [137]);
a first light-emitting device (190 in right side of 110, [137], figures); and
a second light-emitting device (190 in left side of 110, [137], figures),
wherein the light-receiving device (110, [137]) comprises a first electrode (181, [126]), an active layer (183, [116]) over the first electrode (181, [126]), and a second electrode (115, [116]) over the active layer (183, [116]),
wherein the first light-emitting device (190 in right side of 110, [137], figures) comprises a third electrode (191, [127]), a first light- emitting layer (193, [118]) over the third electrode (191, [127]), and the second electrode (115, [116]) over the first light-emitting layer (193, [118]),
wherein the second light-emitting device (190 in left side of 110, [137], figures) comprises a fourth electrode (191, [127]), a second light-emitting layer (193, [118]) over the fourth electrode (191, [127]), and the second electrode (115, [116]) over the second light- emitting layer (193, [118]), and
wherein the active layer (183, [116]) is between the first light- emitting layer (193 of 190 in right side of 110, figures) and the second light-emitting layer (193 of 190 in left side of 110, figures) in a cross-sectional view (figures).
Kamada does not explicitly disclose the first light-emitting layer and the second light-emitting layer comprise light-emitting materials different from each other.
Kamada teaches, in at least figures 1B, 1F, 7B, 8A, and related text, the device comprising the first light-emitting layer (193R, [192]) and the second light-emitting layer (193B, [194]) comprise light-emitting materials different from each other, for the purpose of providing a highly reliable display unit having a function of sensing light ([6]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the structure disclosed in figures 3A and 3C of Kamada to have the first light-emitting layer and the second light-emitting layer comprising light-emitting materials different from each other, as taught by figures 1B, 1F, 7B, and 8A of Kamada, for the purpose of providing a highly reliable display unit having a function of sensing light ([6], Kamada).
Regarding claim 5, Kamada discloses the display apparatus according to claim 4 as described above.
Kamada further teaches, in at least figures 1B, 1F, 7B, 8A, and related text, the light-receiving device (110, [189]), the first light-emitting device (190R, [189]), and the second light-emitting device (190B, [189]) comprise a common layer (114, [192]), and wherein the common layer (114, [192]) is between the first electrode (181, [195]) and the second electrode (115, [195]), between the first electrode (181, [195]) and the third electrode (191R, [192]), and between the fourth electrode (191B, [194]) and the third electrode (191R, [192]), for the purpose of providing a highly reliable display unit having a function of sensing light ([6]).
Regarding claim 9, Kamada discloses the display apparatus according to claim 4 as described above.
Kamada further discloses, in at least figures 3A, 3C, and related text, the display apparatus has flexibility ([21]).
Regarding claim 10, Kamada discloses the display apparatus according to claim 4 as described above.
Kamada further discloses, in at least figures 3A, 3C, and related text, a display module ([22]) comprising: the display apparatus according to claim 4; and at least one of a connector and an integrated circuit ([22]).
Regarding claim 11, Kamada discloses the display apparatus according to claim 10 as described above.
Kamada further discloses, in at least figures 3A, 3C, and related text, an electronic device ([23]) comprising: the display module according to claim 10; and at least one of a housing, a battery, a camera, a speaker, and a microphone ([23]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/TONG-HO KIM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2811