DETAILED ACTION
Elections/Restrictions
1. This office action is a response to Applicant's election filed on 05/04/2026 without traverse of Group I, species I-1A & I-2A, claims 1-3, 5, 7-18 & 20 for further examination. Claims 4, 6, 19 & 21-75 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/18/2023 is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
4. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “annular sealing band” recited in claim 7 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
6. Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention.
As regards to claim 10, line 3 recites the limitation “the radially outer portions”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, examiner is interpreting “the radially outer portions” as “the radially outer portion” recited in line 2. To correct this problem, amend line 3 to recite “the radially outer portion”.
As regards to claim 10, line 4 recites the limitation “the radially inner portions”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, examiner is interpreting “the radially inner portions” as “the radially inner portion” recited in line 2. To correct this problem, amend line 4 to recite “the radially inner portion”.
Claim Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
10. Claims 1-2, 5, 7-18 & 20 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lei et al. (US 5,556,476 A) hereinafter Lei (the terminology of the claims in the application is used, but the references of Lei are included between parentheses).
As regards to claim 1, Lei discloses a pedestal (abs; fig 1-7b), comprising:
a base portion (see fig 2-7b, disc shaped main portion) to support a substrate (24), the base portion (see fig 2-7b, disc shaped main portion) being disc shaped (see fig 4-5) and having an annular recess (see fig 6-7b, recess within 18 along 220) on an upper surface (see fig 6-7b, upper exterior surface of 18) of the base portion (see fig 2-7b, disc shaped main portion) along an outer diameter (see fig 6-7b) of the base portion (see fig 2-7b, disc shaped main portion) (col 3, ln 21-col 4, ln 50; fig 2-7b);
a stem portion (20) connected to (see fig 6) the base portion (see fig 2-7b, disc shaped main portion) (col 5, ln 15-49; fig 2-7b);
a heat shield (18) arranged below a lower surface (see fig 6-7b, surface of 18 below upper exterior surface of 18) of the base portion (see fig 2-7b, disc shaped main portion), the heat shield (18) and the lower surface (see fig 6-7b, surface of 18 below upper exterior surface of 18) defining a manifold (218) that is in fluid communication with a gas inlet (70) (col 3, ln 21-col 4, ln 50; col 6, ln 22-39; fig 2-7b); and
an edge ring (282) including: a cylindrical portion (see fig 6-7b, vertical inner/outer perimeter portion of 282) surrounding the base portion (see fig 2-7b, disc shaped main portion) and having a first end (see fig 6, bottom of 282 in vertical direction) resting on an outer edge of the heat shield (18) and a second end (see fig 6-7b, to left side of 282 in horizontal direction), an inner surface of the cylindrical portion (see fig 6-7b, vertical inner/outer perimeter portion of 282) and an outer surface (see fig 6-7b) of the base portion (see fig 2-7b, disc shaped main portion) defining a first gap (234) in fluid communication with the manifold (218) (col 3, ln 21-col 4, ln 50; col 6, ln 22-54; fig 2-7b); and
an annular portion (see fig 6-7b, portion of 282 extending along recess within 18 along 220) extending radially inwards over the annular recess (see fig 6-7b, recess within 18 along 220) from the second end (see fig 6-7b, to left side of 282 in horizontal direction) of the cylindrical portion (see fig 6-7b, vertical inner/outer perimeter portion of 282), the annular portion (see fig 6-7b, portion of 282 extending along recess within 18 along 220) and the annular recess (see fig 6-7b, recess within 18 along 220) defining a second gap (220) in fluid communication with the first gap (234) (col 3, ln 21-col 4, ln 50; col 6, ln 22-54; fig 2-7b);
wherein a purge gas supplied to the gas inlet (70) flows through the manifold (218), the first gap (234) and the second gap (220), and radially outwards over the annular portion (see fig 6-7b, portion of 282 extending along recess within 18 along 220) (col 3, ln 21-col 4, ln 50; col 6, ln 22-54; fig 2-7b).
Regarding claim 2, the recitation “wherein the purge gas is supplied to the gas inlet while a material is deposited from a showerhead on a showerhead-facing surface of the substrate, and wherein the purge gas prevents the material from depositing on a pedestal facing surface of the substrate”, this recitation is a statement of process expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and intended use which does not patentably distinguish over Lei since Lei meets all the structural elements of the claim and is capable of supplying the purge gas to the gas inlet while a material is deposited from a showerhead on a showerhead-facing surface of the substrate, and wherein the purge gas prevents the material from depositing on a pedestal facing surface of the substrate, if so desired, and does not add structure to the claim. Expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and intended use of a known apparatus does not give it patentable weight. See In re Thuau, 57 USPQ 324, CCPA 979 135 F2d 344, 1943. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus shows all of the structural limitations of the claim. See Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). It is additionally noted that it is well settled that the intended use of a claimed apparatus is not germane to the issue of the patentability of the claimed structure. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the claimed use then it meets the claim. In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235, 238 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 459 (CCPA 1963). Furthermore, “expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim.” See Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666,667 (Bd. App. 1969). Thus, the “inclusion of material or article worked upon does not impart patentability to the claims.” In re Young, 75 F.2d 966, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) (as restated in In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 (USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963)). Therefore, Examiner is disregarding any structural limitations to the apparatus based on process expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof and the process intended to be used with the apparatus. See MPEP 2114 & 2115.
As regards to claim 2, Lei discloses a pedestal (abs; fig 1-7b), wherein the purge gas is capable of being supplied to the gas inlet (70) while a material is deposited from a showerhead on a showerhead-facing surface of the substrate (24), and wherein the purge gas is capable of preventing the material from depositing on a pedestal (18)-facing surface of the substrate (24) (col 3, ln 21-col 4, ln 50; col 6, ln 22-54; fig 2-7b).
As regards to claim 5, Lei discloses a pedestal (abs; fig 1-7b), wherein the upper surface (see fig 6-7b, upper exterior surface of 18) of the base portion (see fig 2-7b, disc shaped main portion) lies in a higher plane at an outer diameter (see fig 6-7b) of the base portion (see fig 2-7b, disc shaped main portion) than at a center of the base portion (see fig 2-7b, disc shaped main portion) (col 3, ln 21-col 4, ln 50; fig 2-7b).
Regarding claim 7, examiner is interpreting “annular sealing band” consistent with the published specification as “a pedestal” ([0098]).
As regards to claim 7, Lei discloses a pedestal (abs; fig 1-7b), further comprising an annular sealing band (a pedestal) arranged on the upper surface (see fig 6-7b, upper exterior surface of 18) of the base portion (see fig 2-7b, disc shaped main portion) wherein an outer diameter (see fig 6-7b) of the annular sealing band (a pedestal) is equal to an inner diameter of the annular recess (see fig 6-7b, recess within 18 along 220) and an outer diameter (see fig 6-7b) of the substrate (24) (col 3, ln 21-col 6, ln 19; fig 2-7b).
As regards to claim 8, Lei discloses a pedestal (abs; fig 1-7b), further comprising an actuator (22) configured to move the pedestal (18) vertically relative to a showerhead to adjust a gap between the substrate (24) and the showerhead during processing (col 5, ln 15-48; col 7, ln 12-col 8, ln 26; fig 2-7b).
As regards to claim 9, Lei discloses a pedestal (abs; fig 1-7b), wherein an upper surface (see fig 6-7b, upper exterior surface of 282) of the annular portion (see fig 6-7b, portion of 282 extending along recess within 18 along 220) lies in a higher plane than a showerhead-facing surface of the substrate (24) (col 3, ln 21-col 6, ln 19; fig 2-7b).
As regards to claim 10, Lei discloses a pedestal (abs; fig 1-7b), wherein each of upper surface (see fig 6-7b, upper exterior surface of 282) and lower surface (see fig 6-7b, surface of 282 below upper exterior surface of 282) of the annular portion (see fig 6-7b, portion of 282 extending along recess within 18 along 220) includes a radially outer portion (see fig 6-7b) and a radially inner portion (see fig 6-7b), wherein the radially outer portion (see fig 6-7b) extends parallel to the annular recess (see fig 6-7b, recess within 18 along 220) from the cylindrical portion (see fig 6-7b, vertical inner/outer perimeter portion of 282), and wherein the radially inner portion (see fig 6-7b) slopes towards an inner diameter of the annular portion (see fig 6-7b, portion of 282 extending along recess within 18 along 220) (col 3, ln 21-col 6, ln 19; fig 2-7b).
As regards to claim 11, Lei discloses a pedestal (abs; fig 1-7b), wherein the cylindrical portion (see fig 6-7b, vertical inner/outer perimeter portion of 282) is parallel to the outer surface (see fig 6-7b) of the base portion (see fig 2-7b, disc shaped main portion) and wherein the annular portion (see fig 6-7b, portion of 282 extending along recess within 18 along 220) is parallel to the annular recess (see fig 6-7b, recess within 18 along 220) (col 3, ln 21-col 6, ln 19; fig 2-7b).
As regards to claim 12, Lei discloses a pedestal (abs; fig 1-7b), wherein outer diameters (see fig 6-7b) of the cylindrical portion (see fig 6-7b, vertical inner/outer perimeter portion of 282) and the annular portion (see fig 6-7b, portion of 282 extending along recess within 18 along 220) are equal (see fig 6-7b) (col 3, ln 21-col 6, ln 19; fig 2-7b).
As regards to claim 13, Lei discloses a pedestal (abs; fig 1-7b), wherein an inner diameter of the annular recess (see fig 6-7b, recess within 18 along 220) is greater than or equal (see fig 6-7b) to an outer diameter (see fig 6-7b) of the substrate (24) (col 3, ln 21-col 6, ln 19; fig 2-7b).
As regards to claim 14, Lei discloses a pedestal (abs; fig 1-7b), wherein an inner diameter (see fig 6-7b) of the annular portion (see fig 6-7b, portion of 282 extending along recess within 18 along 220) is greater than an inner diameter (see fig 6-7b) of the annular recess (see fig 6-7b, recess within 18 along 220) and an outer diameter (see fig 6-7b) of the substrate (24) (col 3, ln 21-col 6, ln 19; fig 2-7b).
As regards to claim 15, Lei discloses a pedestal (abs; fig 1-7b), wherein an upper surface (see fig 6-7b, upper exterior surface of 282) of the annular portion (see fig 6-7b, portion of 282 extending along recess within 18 along 220) is level with a showerhead-facing surface of the substrate (24) and wherein a lower surface (see fig 6-7b, surface of 282 below upper exterior surface of 282) of the annular portion (see fig 6-7b, portion of 282 extending along recess within 18 along 220) extends parallel to the annular recess (see fig 6-7b, recess within 18 along 220) from the cylindrical portion (see fig 6-7b, vertical inner/outer perimeter portion of 282) and slopes upwards (see fig 6-7b) towards an inner diameter (see fig 6-7b) of the annular portion (see fig 6-7b, portion of 282 extending along recess within 18 along 220) (col 3, ln 21-col 6, ln 19; fig 2-7b). As regards to claim 16, Lei discloses a pedestal (abs; fig 1-7b), further comprising a second ring (32) arranged at a distance above the upper surface (see fig 6-7b, upper exterior surface of 282) of the annular portion (see fig 6-7b, portion of 282 extending along recess within 18 along 220) wherein inner and outer diameters (see fig 6-7b) of the second ring (32) are equal to arbitrary respective diameters of the annular portion (see fig 6-7b, portion of 282 extending along recess within 18 along 220) and wherein upper and lower surfaces (see fig 6-7b) of the second ring (32) are parallel to (see fig 6-7b) the upper surface (see fig 6-7b, upper exterior surface of 18) of the annular portion (see fig 6-7b, portion of 282 extending along recess within 18 along 220) (col 3, ln 21-col 6, ln 19; col 13, ln 14-37; fig 2-7b).
As regards to claim 17, Lei discloses a pedestal (abs; fig 1-7b), wherein the annular portion (see fig 6-7b, portion of 282 extending along recess within 18 along 220) includes a plurality of holes (234) extending radially outwards from an inner diameter of the annular portion (see fig 6-7b, portion of 282 extending along recess within 18 along 220) (col 12, ln 64-col 13, ln 37; fig 2-7b).
As regards to claim 18, Lei discloses a pedestal (abs; fig 1-7b), wherein: a lower surface (see fig 6-7b, surface of 282 below upper exterior surface of 282) of the annular portion (see fig 6-7b, portion of 282 extending along recess within 18 along 220) extends parallel (see fig 6-7b) to the annular recess (see fig 6-7b, recess within 18 along 220) from the cylindrical portion (see fig 6-7b, vertical inner/outer perimeter portion of 282) and slopes upwards (see fig 6-7b) towards an inner diameter (see fig 6-7b) of the annular portion (see fig 6-7b, portion of 282 extending along recess within 18 along 220); and an upper surface (see fig 6-7b, upper exterior surface of 282) of the annular portion (see fig 6-7b, portion of 282 extending along recess within 18 along 220) includes a first portion that slopes upwards (see fig 6-7b) from the inner diameter (see fig 6-7b) of the annular portion (see fig 6-7b, portion of 282 extending along recess within 18 along 220) for a first distance (see fig 6-7b) and a second portion that slopes downwards (see fig 6-7b) towards from the first distance (see fig 6-7b) to an outer diameter (see fig 6-7b) of the annular portion (see fig 6-7b, portion of 282 extending along recess within 18 along 220), and includes a plurality of holes (234) extending radially through the first portion (see fig 6-7b) and partially through second portion (see fig 6-7b) (col 3, ln 21-col 4, ln 50; col 6, ln 22-54; col 12, ln 64-col 13, ln 37; fig 2-7b).
As regards to claim 20, Lei discloses a pedestal (abs; fig 1-7b), wherein the gas inlet (70) is located at a bottom (see fig 2-3) of the stem portion (20) (col 3, ln 21-col 4, ln 50; col 6, ln 22-54; fig 2-7b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
13. Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei as applied to claim 3 above.
As regards to claim 3, Lei discloses a pedestal (abs; fig 1-7b), further comprising a vacuum clamping system to clamp the substrate (24) to the upper surface (see fig 6-7b, upper exterior surface of 18) of the base portion (see fig 2-7b, disc shaped main portion) (col 11, ln 20-col 12, ln 19; fig 2-7b), however Lei does not disclose an electrostatic clamping system. However, an electrostatic clamping system and a vacuum clamping system are considered functionally equivalent clamping systems. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute an electrostatic clamping system for the vacuum clamping system disclosed by Lei since they are functionally equivalent and one of an obvious finite choices of clamping systems with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
14. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: all references cited on the attached PTO-892 Notice of References Cited excluding the above relied upon references.
/Jethro M. Pence/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1717