DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-9, 17, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “wherein the second light-emitting device comprises a third electrode, a third EL layer over the third electrode, the second EL layer over the third EL layer, and the second electrode,”
It is not clear as to what is the structural relationship of the second electrode to the rest of the limitations in the wherein clause of the claim.
For the purposes of examination, the Examiner will treat “the second electrode” in this particular wherein clause as not being under the second EL layer.
Claims 3-9, 17 and 19 are rejected as being dependent on Claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6-8, 13-17, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2020/0043983 A1) in view of Hara et al. (US 2016/0190479 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Kim (Fig. 3) discloses a light-emitting apparatus comprising:
a first light-emitting device (subpixels P1); and
a second light-emitting device (subpixels P2), wherein
the first light-emitting device and the second light-emitting device are adjacent to each other (See Fig. 3), wherein
the first light-emitting device comprises (a first electrode 5 in P1), a first EL layer (HlL, HTL, EML(B) in 61)) over the first electrode (5) and a second EL layer ((HTL, EML(YG), ETL in 73)) over the first EL (layer EML (B) in 61), and a second electrode (8) over the second EL layer ((HTL, EML(YG), ETL in 73)), wherein
the second light-emitting device (P2) comprises a third electrode (5 in P2), a third EL layer (HlL, HTL, EML(B) in P2) over the third electrode (5 in P2), the second EL layer (HTL, EML(YG), ETL in 73) over the third EL layer (EML(B) in P2), and the second electrode (8), wherein
the first EL layer (EML(B) in P1) and the third EL layer (EML(B) in P2) are independent of each other (Fig. 3), wherein
the second EL layer (HTL, EML(YG), ETL in 73) and the second electrode (8) are shared by the first light-emitting device (P1) and the second light-emitting device (P2), wherein
a first end surface of the first EL layer (EML(B) in P1) and a first end surface of the third EL layer (EML(B) in P2) face each other (Fig. 3), wherein
the first EL layer comprises at least a first light-emitting layer (light-emitting layer EML(B) in P1)).
Kim does not explicitly disclose the first light-emitting layer comprises a light-emitting material and a host material comprising a mixed material of a first organic and a second organic compound, wherein the first organic compound is an organic compound having an electron-transport property, and wherein the second organic compound is an organic compound having a hole-transport property, and wherein, in the first light-emitting layer, the electron-transport property is higher than the hole-transport property.
Hara (Fig. 1) discloses a first light-emitting layer (113) comprises a light-emitting material ((a light-emitting substance”) and a host material comprising a mixed material of a first organic (“first organic compound with an electron-transport property “) and a second organic compound (“a second organic compound with a hole-transport property”), wherein the first organic compound is an organic compound having an electron-transport property, and wherein the second organic compound is an organic compound having a hole-transport property [0101-0106],
Hara further discloses varying ratio of first and second organic compounds in order to control emition spectrum and maximize energy transfer from the singlet excited state [0102, 0105, 0106].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a light-emitting apparatus in Kim in view of Hara such that the first light-emitting layer comprises a light-emitting material and a host material comprising a mixed material of a first organic and a second organic compound, wherein the first organic compound is an organic compound having an electron-transport property, and wherein the second organic compound is an organic compound having a hole-transport property in order to have the light-emitting layer that can achieve high efficiency [0101] and further to select ratio of first organic compound to second organic compound in the first light-emitting layer such that the electron-transport property is higher than the hole-transport property in order to control emition spectrum and maximize energy transfer from the singlet excited state [0102, 0105, 0106]
Regarding Claim 2, Kim (Fig. 3) discloses a light-emitting apparatus comprising:
a first light-emitting device (subpixels P1); and
a second light-emitting device (subpixels P2), wherein
the first light-emitting device and the second light-emitting device are adjacent to each other (See Fig. 3),
the first light-emitting device comprises (a first electrode 5 in P1), a first EL layer (HlL, HTL, EML(B), ETL in P2) over the first electrode (5) and a second EL layer (HTL, EML(YG), ETL in 73) over the first EL (layer EML (B) in 61), and a second electrode (8) over the second EL layer ((HTL, EML(YG), ETL in 73)), wherein
the second light-emitting device (P2) comprises a third electrode (5 in P2), a third EL layer ((HlL, HTL, EML(B), ETL in P2) over the third electrode (5 in P2), the second EL layer (HTL, EML(YG), ETL in 73) over the third EL layer (EML(B) in P2), and the second electrode (8) over the second EL layer (EML(YG)),
wherein
the first EL layer (EML(B) in P1) and the third EL layer (EML(B) in P2) are independent of each other (Fig. 3), wherein
the second EL layer (HTL, EML(YG), ETL in 73) and the second electrode (8) are shared by the first light-emitting device (P!) and the second light-emitting device (P2), wherein
the first EL layer comprises at least a first light-emitting layer (light-emitting layer EML(B) in 61)).
Kim does not explicitly disclose the first light-emitting layer comprises a light-emitting material and a host material comprising a mixed material of an electron-transport material and a hole- transport material, and wherein, in the first light-emitting layer, an electron-transport property is higher than a hole-transport property.
Hara (Fig. 1) discloses a first light-emitting layer (113) comprises a light-emitting material (“a light-emitting substance”) and a host material comprising a mixed material of an electron-transport material (“first organic compound with an electron-transport property “) and a hole- transport material (“a second organic compound with a hole-transport property”), [0101-0106],
Hara further discloses varying ratio of electron-transport material and a hole- transport material in order to control emition spectrum and maximize energy transfer from the singlet excited state [0102, 0105, 0106]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a light-emitting apparatus in Kim in view of Hara such that the first light-emitting layer comprises a light-emitting material and a host material comprising a mixed material of an electron-transport material and a hole- transport material, and wherein, in the first light-emitting layer, an electron-transport property is higher than a hole-transport property in order to have the light-emitting layer that can achieve high efficiency [0101] and further to select ratio of electron-transport material to a hole- transport material in the first light-emitting layer such that in the first light-emitting layer, an electron-transport property is higher than a hole-transport property in order to control emition spectrum and maximize energy transfer from the singlet excited state [0102, 0105, 0106].
Regarding Claim 6, Kim in view of Hara discloses the light-emitting apparatus according to claim 1, wherein
the first EL layer comprises a first hole-injection layer (HIL in P1), a first hole- transport layer (HTL in P1) over the first hole-injection layer (HIL in P1), and the first light-emitting layer (EML(B)) over the first hole-transport layer (HTL in P1), and wherein
the third EL layer comprises a second hole-injection layer (HIL in P2), a second hole-transport layer (HTL in P2) over the second hole-injection layer (HIL in P2), and a second light-emitting layer (EML (B)) over the second hole-transport layer (HTL in P2).
Regarding Claim 7, Kim in view of Hara discloses the light-emitting apparatus according to claim 6, wherein,
at the first end surface of the first EL layer (HlL, HTL, EML(B) in P1), edge portions of the first hole-injection layer (HlL in P1), the first hole-transport layer (HTL in P1), and the first light-emitting layer (EML(B) in P1) are aligned, and wherein,
at the first end surface of the third EL layer (HlL, HTL, EML(B) in P2), edge portions of the second hole-injection layer (HlL in P2), the second hole-transport layer (HTL in P2), and the second light-emitting layer (EML(B) in P2) are aligned. (See Fig. 3)
Regarding Claim 8, Kim in view of Hara discloses the light-emitting apparatus according to claim 6, wherein
the second EL layer (HTL, EML(YG), ETL in 73) comprises any one or more of a hole-blocking layer, an electron-transport layer (an electron transporting layer ETL), and an electron-injection layer. [0077].
Regarding Claim 13, Kim in view of Hara discloses the light-emitting apparatus according to claim 2, wherein
the first EL layer comprises a first hole-injection layer (HIL in P1), a first hole- transport layer (HTL in P1) over the first hole-injection layer (HIL in P1), and the first light-emitting layer (EML(B)) over the first hole-transport layer (HTL in P1), and wherein
the third EL layer comprises a second hole-injection layer (HIL in P2), a second hole-transport layer (HTL in P2) over the second hole-injection layer (HIL in P2), and a second light-emitting layer (EML (B)) over the second hole-transport layer (HTL in P2).
Regarding Claim 14, Kim in view of Hara discloses the light-emitting apparatus according to claim 2, wherein,
at the first end surface of the first EL layer (HlL, HTL, EML(B) in P1), edge portions of the first hole-injection layer (HlL in P1), the first hole-transport layer (HTL in P1), and the first light-emitting layer (EML(B) in P1) are aligned, and wherein,
at the first end surface of the third EL layer (HlL, HTL, EML(B) in P2), edge portions of the second hole-injection layer (HlL in P2), the second hole-transport layer (HTL in P2), and the second light-emitting layer (EML(B) in P2) are aligned. (See Fig. 3)
Regarding Claim 15, Kim in view of Hara discloses the light-emitting apparatus according to claim 7, wherein
the second EL layer (EML (YG), HTL, ETL in 73) is in contact with the edge portions of the first hole-injection layer, the first hole-transport layer, and the first light- emitting layer. (HIL, HTL, EML(B))
The Examiner notes that (EML (YG) is indirect contact with edge portions of HIL, HTL, EML(B) at least through ETL, CGL under broadest reasonable interpretation of “contact”. Examiner recommends further specifying type of contact i.e. direct physical contact.
Regarding Claim 16, Kim in view of Hara discloses the light-emitting apparatus according to claim 13, wherein
the second EL layer (EML (YG), HTL, ETL in 73) comprises any one or more of a hole-blocking layer, an electron-transport layer (ETL in 73), and an electron-injection layer. (Fig. 3)
Regarding Claim 17, Kim in view of Hara discloses the light-emitting apparatus according to claim 14, wherein
the second EL layer (EML (YG), HTL, ETL in 73) is in contact with the edge portions of the first hole-injection layer, the first hole-transport layer, and the first light- emitting layer. (HIL, HTL, EML(B))
The Examiner notes that (EML (YG) is indirect contact with edge portions of HIL, HTL, EML(B) at least through ETL, CGL under broadest reasonable interpretation of “contact”. Examiner recommends further specifying type of contact i.e. direct physical contact.
Regarding Claim 19, Kim in view of Hara discloses the light-emitting apparatus according to claim 1, wherein
a recombination region in the first light-emitting layer (113 Hara) (EML(B) Kim) is located away from a surface of the first light-emitting layer (113 Hara) (EML(B) Kim) close to the second electrode. (recombination of carriers (electrons and holes) [0102 Hara].
The Examiner notes that since the Applicant did not explicitly identified metes and bounds of “a recombination region” the limitation is considered to be met as long as recombination happens at any region (center) of 113 or (EML(B) away from top surface of 113 or (EML(B)).
Regarding Claim 20, Kim in view of Hara discloses the light-emitting apparatus according to claim 2, wherein
a recombination region in the first light-emitting layer (113 Hara) (EML(B) Kim) is located away from a surface of the first light-emitting layer (113 Hara) (EML(B) Kim) close to the second electrode (recombination of carriers (electrons and holes) [0102 Hara].
The Examiner notes that since the Applicant did not explicitly identified metes and bounds of “a recombination region” the limitation is considered to be met as long as recombination happens at any region (center) of 113 or (EML(B) away from top surface of 113 or (EML(B)).
Claim(s) 3-5, 9-12 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2020/0043983 A1) in view of Hara et al. (US 2016/0190479 A1) and further in view of Yamaguchi et al. (US 2019/0031673 A1)
Regarding Claim 3, Kim in view of Hara discloses the light-emitting apparatus according to claim 1, wherein
Kim in view of Hara does not explicitly disclose the first organic compound comprises a π-electron deficient heteroaromatic ring skeleton, and wherein the second organic compound comprises a π-electron rich heteroaromatic ring skeleton.
Yamaguchi discloses a first organic compound comprises a π-electron deficient heteroaromatic ring skeleton, and wherein a second organic compound comprises a π-electron rich heteroaromatic ring skeleton (“a heterocyclic compound having a π-electron rich heteroaromatic ring and a π-electron deficient heteroaromatic ring”) [0203].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a light-emitting apparatus in Kim in view of Hara and Yamaguchi such that the first organic compound comprises a π-electron deficient heteroaromatic ring skeleton, and wherein the second organic compound comprises a π-electron rich heteroaromatic ring skeleton in order to contribute to improving the element characteristics of a light-emitting element. [0325]
Regarding Claim 4, Kim in view of Hara discloses the light-emitting apparatus according to claim 1, wherein
the first organic compound (“first organic compound with an electron-transport property “)
Kim in view of Hara does not explicitly disclose naphthofuropyrazine skeleton
Yamaguchi discloses a first organic compound comprises a naphthofuropyrazine skeleton [0107, 0325].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a light-emitting apparatus in Kim in view of Hara and Yamaguchi such that the first organic compound naphthofuropyrazine skeleton in order to contribute to improving the element characteristics of a light-emitting element. [0325]
Regarding Claim 5, Kim in view of Hara discloses the light-emitting apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the second organic compound (“a second organic compound with a hole-transport property”)
Kim in view of Hara does not explicitly disclose carbazole skeleton
Yamaguchi discloses a secondorganic compound comprises a carbazole skeleton. [0119, 0173]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a light-emitting apparatus in Kim in view of Hara and Yamaguchi such that the second organic compound carbazole skeleton skeleton in order to contribute to improving the element characteristics of a light-emitting element. [0325]
Regarding Claim 9, Kim in view of Hara discloses an electronic device comprising the light-emitting apparatus according to claim 1.
Kim in view of Hara does not explicitly disclose a sensor, an operation button, and a speaker or a microphone.
Yamaguchi (Fig. 4) discloses an electronic device comprising a sensor, an operation button, and a speaker or a microphone [0253, 0257, 0258 “ a cellular phone “]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify an electronic device comprising the light-emitting apparatus in Kim in view of Hara and Yamaguchi to include a sensor, an operation button, and a speaker or a microphone in order to have a mobile phone with reduced power consumption can be obtained. [0150].
Regarding Claim 10, Kim in view of Hara discloses the light-emitting apparatus according to claim 2.
Kim in view of Hara does not explicitly disclose the electron-transport material is a first organic compound comprising a π-electron deficient heteroaromatic ring skeleton, and wherein the hole-transport material is a second organic compound comprising a π-electron rich heteroaromatic ring skeleton.
Yamaguchi discloses a electron-transport material is a first organic compound comprising a π-electron deficient heteroaromatic ring skeleton, and wherein ahole-transport material is a second organic compound comprising a π-electron rich heteroaromatic ring skeleton (“a heterocyclic compound having a π-electron rich heteroaromatic ring and a π-electron deficient heteroaromatic ring”) [0203].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a light-emitting apparatus in Kim in view of Hara and Yamaguchi such that the electron-transport material is a first organic compound comprising a π-electron deficient heteroaromatic ring skeleton, and wherein the hole-transport material is a second organic compound comprising a π-electron rich heteroaromatic ring skeleton in order to contribute to improving the element characteristics of a light-emitting element. [0325]
Regarding Claim 11, Kim in view of Hara discloses the light-emitting apparatus according to claim 2,
wherein
the electron-transport material is a first organic compound (“first organic compound with an electron-transport property “)
Kim in view of Hara does not explicitly disclose the electron-transport material is a first organic compound comprising a naphthofuropyrazine skeleton.
Yamaguchi discloses a first organic compound comprises a naphthofuropyrazine skeleton [0107, 0325].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a light-emitting apparatus in Kim in view of Hara and Yamaguchi such that the electron-transport material is the first organic compound naphthofuropyrazine skeleton in order to contribute to improving the element characteristics of a light-emitting element. [0325]
Regarding Claim 12, Kim in view of Hara discloses the light-emitting apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the hole-transport material is a second organic compound (“a second organic compound with a hole-transport property”)
Kim in view of Hara does not explicitly disclose carbazole skeleton
Yamaguchi discloses a second organic compound comprises a carbazole skeleton. [0119, 0173]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a light-emitting apparatus in Kim in view of Hara and Yamaguchi such that a second organic compound comprising a carbazole skeleton in order to contribute to improving the element characteristics of a light-emitting element. [0325]
Regarding Claim 18, Kim in view of Hara discloses an electronic device comprising the light-emitting apparatus according to claim 2.
Kim in view of Hara does not explicitly disclose a sensor, an operation button, and a speaker or a microphone.
Yamaguchi (Fig. 4) discloses an electronic device comprising a sensor, an operation button, and a speaker or a microphone [0253, 0257, 0258 “ a cellular phone “]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify an electronic device comprising the light-emitting apparatus in Kim in view of Hara and Yamaguchi to include a sensor, an operation button, and a speaker or a microphone in order to have a mobile phone with reduced power consumption can be obtained. [0150].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 2 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DMITRIY YEMELYANOV/ Examiner, Art Unit 2891