DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 6 and 13 recite “the first EL layer A and the first EL layer B each comprise a light-emitting layer.
However, Claim 1 from which Claim 6 and 13 are dependent upon already introduced a light-emitting layer in the first EL layer A . Therefore, it is not clear is the Applicant is trying to introduce another light-emitting layer in the first EL layer A or further limit light-emitting layer of Claim 1.
For the purposes of examination, the Examiner will consider limitation the first EL layer A … comprise a light-emitting layer as referring back to a light-emitting layer of Claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-10 and 12-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2020/0161383 A1) in view of Seo et al. (US 2013/0277655 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Kim (Fig. 1) discloses a light-emitting apparatus comprising:
a first light-emitting device (21); and
a second light-emitting device (22), wherein
the first light-emitting device (21) and the second light-emitting device (22) are adjacent to each other, wherein
the first light-emitting device (21) comprises a first EL layer A (611, 612) and a second EL layer (613, 623), wherein
the second light-emitting device (22) comprises a first EL layer B (621, 622) and the second EL layer (613, 623), wherein
the first EL layer A (611, 612) and the first EL layer B (621, 622) are independent of each other, wherein
the second EL layer (613, 623) is shared by the first light-emitting device (21) and the second light-emitting device (22), wherein
an end surface of the first EL layer A (611, 612) on the first EL layer B side (621, 622) and an end surface of the first EL layer B (621, 622) on the first EL layer A side (611, 612) face each other, wherein
the first EL layer A (611, 612) comprises a light-emitting layer (612a, 612b), wherein
the light-emitting layer (612a, 612b) comprises a light-emitting material (612a), a first organic compound, and a second organic compound, wherein
the first organic compound is an organic compound having an electron-transport property (“electron transporting layer”) [0086], and wherein
the second organic compound is an organic compound having a hole-transport property.
Kim does not explicitly disclose a first organic compound, and a second organic compound, wherein the first organic compound is an organic compound having an electron-transport property, and wherein the second organic compound is an organic compound having a hole-transport property.
Seo (Fig. 1) discloses a light-emitting layer (113) comprises a light-emitting material (124), a first organic compound (120), and a second organic compound (122), wherein
the first organic compound (120) is an organic compound having an electron-transport property (“n electron-transport material having an electron mobility of, for example, 10.sup.−6 cm.sup.2/Vs or higher can be used as the first organic compound 120 (host material)”) [0047], and wherein
the second organic (122) compound is an organic compound having a hole-transport property. (a hole-transport material having a hole mobility of, for example, 10.sup.−6 cm.sup.2/Vs or higher can be used as the second organic compound 122 (assist material)) [0047].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a light-emitting apparatus in Kim in view of Seo such that a light-emitting apparatus includes a first organic compound, and a second organic compound, wherein the first organic compound is an organic compound having an electron-transport property, and wherein the second organic compound is an organic compound having a hole-transport property in order to to contribute to a reduction in driving voltage [0118] and light-emitting element with high emission efficiency can be obtained [0080]
Regarding Claim 2, Kim in view of Seo discloses the light-emitting apparatus according to claim 1.
Kim in view of Seo does not explicitly disclose that the electron mobility is higher than hole mobility in the light-emitting layer.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a light-emitting apparatus in Kim in view of Seo such that the electron mobility is higher than hole mobility in the light-emitting layer in order to contribute to a reduction in driving voltage [0118] and have electron-transport property is higher than the hole-transport property thereof. [0147]
Regarding Claim 3, Kim in view of Seo discloses the light-emitting apparatus according to claim 1, wherein
the first organic compound comprises a π-electron deficient heteroaromatic ring skeleton [“a π-electron deficient heteroaromatic compound “; 0015], and wherein
the second organic compound comprises a π-electron rich heteroaromatic ring skeleton (“π-electron rich heteroaromatic compound “). [0015]
Regarding Claim 5, Kim in view of Seo discloses the light-emitting apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the second organic compound comprises a carbazole skeleton. [0119]
Regarding Claim 6, Kim in view of Seo discloses the light-emitting apparatus according to claim 1, wherein
the first EL layer A (611, 612) and the first EL layer B (621, 622) each comprise a light-emitting layer. (612a, 612b) (622 a, b)
Regarding Claim 7, Kim in view of Seo discloses the light-emitting apparatus according to claim 6, wherein
each of the light-emitting layers is positioned closest to a second EL layer side (613, 623) in the first EL layer A and the first EL layer B. (611, 612) and (621, 622)
Regarding Claim 8, Kim in view of Seo discloses the light-emitting apparatus according to claim 6, wherein
the second EL layer (613, 623) comprises any one or more of a hole-blocking layer, an electron-transport layer, and an electron-injection layer. [0069]
Regarding Claim 9, Kim in view of Seo discloses an electronic device comprising the light-emitting apparatus according to claim 1.
Kim in view of Seo as previously combined does not explicitly disclose a sensor, an operation button, and a speaker or a microphone.
However, Seo (Fig. 10C) discloses an electronic device comprising speaker or a microphone. (mobile phone) [0192]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify an electronic device comprising the light-emitting apparatus in Kim in view of Seo having a sensor, an operation button, and a speaker or a microphone in order to have a mobile phone with reduced power consumption can be obtained. [0192].
Regarding Claim 10, Kim in view of Seo discloses the light-emitting apparatus according to claim 2, wherein
the first organic compound comprises a π-electron deficient heteroaromatic ring skeleton [“a π-electron deficient heteroaromatic compound “; 0015], and wherein
the second organic compound comprises a π-electron rich heteroaromatic ring skeleton (“π-electron rich heteroaromatic compound “). [0015]
Regarding Claim 12, Kim in view of Seo discloses the light-emitting apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the second organic compound comprises a carbazole skeleton. [0119]
Regarding Claim 13, Kim in view of Seo discloses the light-emitting apparatus according to claim 2, wherein
the first EL layer A (611, 612) and the first EL layer B (621, 622) each comprise a light-emitting layer. (612a, 612b) (622 a, b)
Regarding Claim 14, Kim in view of Seo discloses the light-emitting apparatus according to claim 13, wherein
each of the light-emitting layers is positioned closest to a second EL layer side (613, 623) in the first EL layer A and the first EL layer B. (611, 612) and (621, 622)
Regarding Claim 15, Kim in view of Seo discloses the light-emitting apparatus according to claim 7, wherein the second EL layer (613, 623) comprises any one or more of a hole-blocking layer, an electron-transport layer, and an electron-injection layer. [0069]
Regarding Claim 16, Kim in view of Seo discloses the light-emitting apparatus according to claim 13, wherein
the second EL layer (613, 623) comprises any one or more of a hole-blocking layer, an electron-transport layer, and an electron-injection layer. [0069]
Regarding Claim 17, Kim in view of Seo discloses the light-emitting apparatus according to claim 14, wherein
the second EL layer comprises any one or more of a hole-blocking layer, an electron-transport layer, and an electron-injection layer.
the second EL layer (613, 623) comprises any one or more of a hole-blocking layer, an electron-transport layer, and an electron-injection layer. [0069]
Regarding Claim 18, Kim in view of Seo discloses an electronic device comprising the light-emitting apparatus according to claim 2.
Kim in view of Seo as previously combined does not explicitly disclose a sensor, an operation button, and a speaker or a microphone.
However, Seo (Fig. 10C) discloses an electronic device comprising speaker or a microphone. (mobile phone) [0192]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify an electronic device comprising the light-emitting apparatus in Kim in view of Seo having a sensor, an operation button, and a speaker or a microphone in order to have a mobile phone with reduced power consumption can be obtained. [0192].
Claim(s) 4 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2020/0161383 A1) in view of Seo et al. (US 2013/0277655 A1) and further in view of Yamaguchi et al. (US 2019/0031673 A1)
Regarding Claim 4, Kim in view of Seo discloses the light-emitting apparatus according to claim 1, wherein
the first organic compound [0118]
Kim in view of Seo does not explicitly disclose naphthofuropyrazine skeleton
Yamaguchi discloses a first organic compound comprises a naphthofuropyrazine skeleton [0107, 0325].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a light-emitting apparatus in Kim in view of Seo and Yamaguchi such that the first organic compound naphthofuropyrazine skeleton
in order to contribute to improving the element characteristics of a light-emitting element. [0325]
Regarding Claim 11, Kim in view of Seo discloses the light-emitting apparatus according to claim 2, wherein
the first organic compound [0118]
Kim in view of Seo does not explicitly disclose naphthofuropyrazine skeleton
Yamaguchi discloses a first organic compound comprises a naphthofuropyrazine skeleton [0107, 0325].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a light-emitting apparatus in Kim in view of Seo and Yamaguchi such that the first organic compound naphthofuropyrazine skeleton
in order to contribute to improving the element characteristics of a light-emitting element. [0325]
Conclusion
/DMITRIY YEMELYANOV/Examiner, Art Unit 2891